Holger Danske Royal Navy Flake

(3.21)
Virginia tobaccos matured under high pressure with discreet flavor of aromatic fruits. Burns down coolly and emphasizes the natural sweetness of the flakes.

Details

Brand Holger Danske
Blended By Planta
Manufactured By  
Blend Type Straight Virginia
Contents Virginia
Flavoring Fruit / Citrus
Cut Flake
Packaging 50 grams tin
Country Germany
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant to Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.21 / 4
15

11

8

0

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 10 of 15 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 13, 2014 Medium Extremely Mild Full Very Pleasant
Holger Danske - Royal Navy Flake.

The unlit flakes give a wonderful hay like Virginia aroma. They are of an excellent thickness and have a great moisture content, making them absolutely splendid for preparation as no extra airing time is required. When it comes to lighting it up the moisture level makes it perfect, taking to the flame brilliantly on the first try! The smoke from this is simply amazing, it has a great nicotine level (about the same as Orlik Golden Sliced) and can be inhaled about as easily as a cigarette can be. I get a very delicate plum/berry taste in the background but if you just relax and don't overly concentrate it's a simple and sublime full Virginia flavor. The actual thickness of the smoke is very reminiscent of Sam Gawith Full Virginia Flake, as is the taste. With tongue bite I don't get any from the very cool smoke and the burn is incredibly even for the whole bowl. It's a brand I had not tried as it's not overly popular but I will get it again and hope more people try it .... brilliant!

Highly recommended.
Pipe Used: Davorin Denovic Morta
PurchasedFrom: Smoke King
Age When Smoked: New
11 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 08, 2012 Mild Extremely Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
This is as lovely and honest a flake as you're going to find. On an aesthetic and technical level, this is a solid 4-star flake, second to none. It also has a flavor to match. Thus RNF belongs in the same elite company as FVF, Erinmore and a handful of others. And to my taste buds, this is the best of them all (that I've tried so far, that is).

The presentation of this flake is unparalleled. Opening the tasteful little tin and removing the descriptive paper insert (of quaintly questionable grammar) reveals a tobacco leaf sticker securing folds of golden foil embracing mottled brown slabs of compressed leaf. The aroma is subtle but distinctive, a dew-dappled meadow strewn with sour plums. Picking up one of those slabs reveals just how delicate they are as they separate into interlaced strips, like the tenderest corned beef (as I recall from my meat eating days of yore).

On a technical level, the moisture level is perfect, absolutely perfect. Once you put flame to the flake, it burns perfectly too: it lights easily; it stays lit without a problem; and it burns to a talcum-fine, platinum-gray ash with no dottle.

But though a well done presentation prepares your taste buds for the gustatory treat that follows, the proof is in the putting of the smoke into your mouth. It does not disappoint. It's a delightfully clean, pure tobacco flavor. This is not a buttery, sweet virginia. Instead it has a very dry, smooth, subtle tang that gently tickles the tastebuds with delicate hints of citrus, umeboshi, and hay. It may come across a bit mild, as some reviewers have noted, but it still has a richness and fullness within that mildness (like, say, quality minimalist music). This is a flake for those who prefer their sherry medium dry.

I find the reviews below accurate, all of them. It simply comes down to a matter of preference. That's why I think that any virginia flake lover looking for a good, pure, honest smoke owes it to themself to give this one a go, just on the chance that Holger Danske's RNF may be The One they're looking for -- one they may have otherwise missed because this sublime little flake flies under the radar.

(And I have no clue why it's called a Navy flake. I thought 'Navy' suggested rum or something. I've come to the conclusion that, as far as tobacco is concerned, it means nothing.)
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 25, 2004 Very Mild Extremely Mild Very Mild Pleasant to Tolerable
This blend isn't quite the "Navy Flake" I had in mind. Many of the reviewers have noted a "tangy" taste. But, I more readily identify with the "lemony" descriptive above. Not at all sweet, nor mellow, this flake rattles the tongue and will make you pucker.

I think our briar bretheren who don't have a sweet tooth and require some strength in their smoke will enjoy this Royal Navy Flake. And, for what it's worth, I found the tin art to be kind of neat.
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 27, 2010 Mild to Medium Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
I simply loved this, nice dry flakes, almost like a cake tobacco, very lemony with a solid sweetness and VA grassiness...a very pleasant surprise for me, a lovely summer VA flake...top stuff. It's not a typical Navy Blend, just more of a straight VA flake. This is very well priced here in the EU. Will buy again for sure.
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 12, 2012 Mild Very Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
I bought this one to dip my toes into the realm of navy flakes, there seems to be a few out there with some modifier of this soubriquet and picked this out at random. Certainly, upon receipt of the tin within a larger internet order, I was immediately impressed. Such a cute little thing too, with it's shiny gold and child like compactness. Even after popping the cork on it, as it were, it gave me a certain warmth to see the blanket like gold foil and the leaf shaped sticker. After this veritable introduction that almost seemed like the first moves of a game of pass the parcel, I half expected to see frankincense and myrrh at the bottom, even the Baby Jesus wouldn't have been a total surprise. Okay, so none of that would have fitted, but I think I got the next best thing.

I have to say, initially, I struggled to place the smell, it almost had wafts of a sickly bolognese scent. Only after much inhalation did I discern it properly, good tangs of pineapple with hints of mango. I was also impressed by the neatness (not something that normally charms me) of the flakes as they lay oh so correctly in the tin. It seemed almost wrong to disturb them from their slumber. Nevertheless, faint heart ne'er won fair maiden and, feeling much like the prince that woke sleeping beauty, promptly rubbing some of it after gently waking it, I endeavoured to pack it into my pipe, never too easy with a flake, even if the lighting was a stroll through a very picturesque park. And ooh la la, that sweet, light taste with hints of lemon, just so relaxing and chilling. The room note slips into obscurity, but only a very minor downside, barely worthy of mention.

Sorry if I've made this sound like a fairy tale worthy of a Disney movie, but it seems like this tobacco has it all. So well packaged, so fantastically smelling, so delicately, so sweetly tasting. Perfectly cast as the four star leading lady if you ask me.
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 09, 2003 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
The tin says "Elegant", and I have to agree. This is a bright and lively pure virginia flake. Despite what one may have heard, or even read, there is nothing that even resembles a casing on these flakes. The aroma in the tin is sweet and slightly fermented natural virginia, not any so called "rum puch" concoction. The presentation upon first opening the tin is second to none, absolutely magnificent. This is one of my favorite summer (virginia) smokes. The taste does lean more towards the tangy end of the virginia spectrum, but not overly so, meaning there is still a good amount of virginia sweetness here. The smoke is silky smooth and dry. I personally have never been bitten by this, though I get the impression that it could nip the tongue if not respected. I feel that this is an often overlooked and underated virginia flake, and I recommend it whole heartedly.
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 16, 2016 Mild to Medium Mild Medium Pleasant
A fantastic Virginia with a sweet fruity topping as opposed to rum or honey you find in other navy flakes. The topping enhances the grassy Virginia perfectly. The flakes are uniform in size and the moisture level in the tin was perfect just slightly on the dry. Smoke half a flake in a small bowl not too loosely for the best experience.
Pipe Used: Several
PurchasedFrom: MySmokingShop
Age When Smoked: New
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 08, 2013 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Edit: I'm putting this up to four stars. It's consistently enjoyable every time I smoke it.

For a long time I have wanted to try a straight VA and I was about to buy Gawith's Full Virginia Flake when my Tobacconist made the Suggestion of this. He said there was less of a bitter tangy taste and that there were only two left (In my area of Japan). So I bought it for a dollar more than the Gawith. Good salesman haha.

Opening the tin is a beautiful display of Flake that is at just the right moisture level for me. I didn't detect any casing and it broke up rather nicely. I had about a three hour drive home ahead of me and packed a bowl for the road.

From the get go the flavor was wonderful. Not too overpowering, but consistently engaging. It burned very cool, as I've heard that VAs don't usually, and had a nice even smoke. The middle portion of the bowl was exceptionally delicious and by the end it had burned into a nice even ash. I loved it so much I packed another bowl in my MM.

This probably won't do much for the Latakia lovers or the heavy tobacco flavor feinds, but for a person looking to get into VAs or even outside of Aromatics, this is a great starter. To me it's like the older more refined brother of Orlik Golden Sliced.

Give it a try.
Pipe Used: Alexander Briar Poker, MM Great Dane Egg
PurchasedFrom: Kawarada Tobacco
Age When Smoked: 5 years
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 08, 2018 Medium Very Mild Mild to Medium Tolerable
I consider my self a virginia flake lover so this blend was on my list.once the tin opens a sweet grassy smell comes out.the bright/brown flakes are in perfect shape and moisture so rubbing and packing are easy without drying time needed.lights up easy and a few relights are needed.while smoking the flavours are pleasant and natural.virginias are mainly grassy,citrusy,hey with some peppery notes.the light topping adds some sweet and plumy notes without being overwelmed┬░ making the experience very pleasant.generally the flavours are natural and very balanced.burns normal and medium hot to perfect ash with a lot moisture left at the filter.nicotine level is almost medium and the aftertaste is sweet and grassy.no chance of tongue bite.the room note is a typical tolerable virginia smell.this is a pleasant all day blend simple and natural that will satisfy you for sure.
Age When Smoked: Fresh
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 10, 2020 Mild to Medium Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
The pouch note is a sweet Virginia flake smell. All dried fruits and a little hay. I cannot identify what the topping is but it seems to be fruity. The flakes are thin and neat. They rub out nicely(my preferred method of preparation)

I find it needs a little drying time - for me about 30 minutes. It takes the flame well and left no dottle.

This is a very good medium Virginia flake. I find it similar to capstan blue. But maybe a little milder.

But if you like the capstan I think you will like this. Give it a try.

Pipe Used: MM cob and others
PurchasedFrom: On line GQ tobacconist
Age When Smoked: Just bought and now 4 months old
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"