Dan Tobacco Sweet Vanilla Honeydew

(2.89)
A fine ready rubbed blend of selected bright and sweet Virginia leaf delicately scented with smooth vanilla.
Notes: Due to EU regulations, this is renamed and sold in those countries as "S.V.H."

Details

Brand Dan Tobacco
Blended By Michael Apitz
Manufactured By Dan Tobacco
Blend Type Aromatic
Contents Virginia
Flavoring Honey, Vanilla
Cut Ready Rubbed
Packaging Bulk, 50 grams pouch, 50 grams tin, 100 grams tin
Country Germany
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Very Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

2.89 / 4
32

47

24

10

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 21 - 30 of 113 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 31, 2017 Medium Medium to Strong Medium Very Pleasant
Smoked a 6 years aged tin dated 8/11 tin notes are thick vanilla and maple syrup and Virginia looks really very golden and very shiny textured. Burst of flavors from the very first charing light and remained till the end of the bowl. Really very very good tobacco flavor and a very nice room now.. highly recommended.
Age When Smoked: 6 years of age tinned
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
TEO
Oct 04, 2017 Mild Medium Medium Pleasant
An outstanding honey and vanilla aromatic with a mellow blending of a smooth flavouring and excellent quality Virginia leaf.

I smoked it fresh, a little dried out and aged and I still have a glass jar plus a sealed tin of this product and I still like it as much as years ago.

I don't smoke that much aromatics but I like vanilla and this Virginia blend along with Borkum Riff's Admiral's Kentucky Flake are the best balanced vanilla blends I' ve tasted.

The flavour out of the tin reminds of hot cookies, coconut, honey and vanilla. It transfers to the bowl but remains in the background as the fresh, very sweet Virginia develops body and taste. Flavouring never shadows the herbal quality of this good Virginia, it burns reasonably slow and cool and doesn't bite.

A fine tobacco indeed even for those who stick to natural or English mixtures.
Pipe Used: Savinelli Oscar and others
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 11, 2009 Mild to Medium Extra Strong Overwhelming Very Pleasant
This is a strong aromatic mixture. It smells great, true vanilla and coconut. But don´t trust this light appareance, this blend bites like anyone. Not only tongue and mouth, but lips even!! It doesn´t matter if you smoke slow. If you can support the bitting it´s a true candy but not for me.
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 30, 2021 Mild to Medium Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
Imagine any light Va flake by K&K and add a light topping of vanilla. I have mixed feelings about this tobacco. On the one hand, it isn't flavored any more heavily than the standard continental flake that is doused in a little bergamot. On the other hand I associate vanilla with aromatics, and I've never been a big fan of aros because the tobacco is a bit on the thin side generally and you have to gently nurse the flavor out of them.

So here were have a decent Va flake with a little sauce. Honestly this is kind of what aromatics should be.

It's just not what I'm looking for in a Va flake. It's not the topping per se, as I smoke a share of tobaccos that are topped with this or that, but for this type of tobacco I want something more natural.

If you smoke aros predominantly, this may be your gateway to a better quality of tobacco. If you don't smoke aros at all, this might be the aro for you.

For me I don't love or hate it, but it's not something I'd go out of my way to smoke again. 2 stars, but I wouldn't argue with anyone who felt it was worth 3.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 13, 2020 Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
This is a favorite of mine when I want what I’d consider a dessert blend. This one is very sweet and burns very well requiring maybe one relight. The room note on this guy is phenomenal and the contents you can tell are top quality. A very cool, dry smoke considering it is cased and just a great smoke. There aren’t too many straight Virginia’s on the market that have a topping but this one is worth trying and ages very well.
Pipe Used: Paul’s Pipes Bent Apple
PurchasedFrom: Online Consignor
Age When Smoked: 19 years
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 30, 2016 Mild Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
I'm not an aromatic blends fan, but I consider this tobacco very good to smoke sometimes. Expecially in the summertime, I add some vanilla tobacco to my EMs, trying to obtain some light, cool and a little bit less demanding smoke for the morning and to me Sweet Vanilla Honeydew has the best flavour fo all. 3,5/5 in my personal rating system.
PurchasedFrom: Hobby Fumo, Milano (Italy)
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 13, 2013 Medium Medium to Strong Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
I absolutely enjoy this Sweet Vanilla Honeydew tobacco from Dan Tobacco. I've recently tried other vanillas but none were able to match their smell. The pouch smells just as the name states, but the smell actually translates to the taste. It is a smooth, mild smoke, burns just right, and leaves a pleasant taste in the air and mouth. One of my new favorites.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 07, 2013 Mild to Medium Extremely Mild Very Mild Tolerable
I both the new tin last week. I thought this could be one of my favorite. Upon finishing 3 bowls, I could not stand not to write this review. This is the worst aromatic I have ever experienced and There is nothing you can detect so called sweet, and vanilla. It left me so bitter and sour though I smoke very gentle with my fresh pipe. The room note is horrible. I threw it to dust bin. Stay away from this overrated tobacco.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 14, 2011 Mild Mild to Medium Mild Very Pleasant
I love aromatics and test them all. Then I came back to SWH, and smoke a full tin in a few days. This blend is very well balanced without exceeding with vanilla, and fall into mac barens and other brand's sickness. Honey is dominant over vanilla here, and the room note reminds of candies. Not like with danish blends, but quite almost. I am very sorry for those that cannot enjoy a tin of Sweet vanilla Honeydew, because they are missing an experience. Just like the Da Vinci from Dan, the Blue Note, the Autumn Evening, the W.O. Larsen Vintage, and all the rest of first class aromatics, this blend is top quality. Expensive, unfortunately. Not too mild in strength.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 23, 2009 Mild Medium Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
I traded with a friend for a sample of SVH, and boy am I glad I did! It now ranks at the top of the few aromatics that I enjoy smoking!

SVH uses Virginias rather than burleys as its main constituent. Which means that it tastes like tobacco, which is more than I can say for some other aromatics (Captain Black comes to mind). The virginia has it's own natural sweetness that comes through despite the casing. The honey/vanilla flavor and aroma is phenomenal. It's sweet, but not too sweet.

Packing and lighting is a breeze. I had no issue with tongue bite even when smoking at a "medium" pace. It smokes dry, and doesn't leave any dottle behind, which is great since it's an aromatic.

I will definitely purchase more of this in the future, and will probably age a couple tins for 1 year and 5 years respectively to see how the blend reacts. The virginias will hopefully only get better!
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"