Solani 633: Virginia Flake with Perique

(3.40)
Specially selected red Virginias from the Old belt and ripe, bright Virginias, sweetened with Louisiana perique build up this masterpiece of tobacco blending. Flake slices.

Details

Brand Solani
Blended By R.L. Will
Manufactured By Kohlhase & Kopp
Blend Type Virginia/Perique
Contents Perique, Virginia
Flavoring Apple, Rum
Cut Flake
Packaging 50 grams tin, 100 grams tin
Country Germany
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant to Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.40 / 4
93

48

21

3

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 10 of 21 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 12, 2010 Medium Very Mild Medium Pleasant
633 is a beautiful experience. Perfectly rectangular pressed flakes. It's a uniform, clean, and tidy presentation.

It rubs out easily and quickly, and the moisture content is almost perfect straight from the tin. One flake, rubbed out and dried to your taste, gives the perfect amount of tobacco for a ninety minute smoke. It needs to be kept in an airtight container, or with some foil under the lid, to keep it from drying out too much.

The Virginia dominates the first third of the bowl, with the Perique coming in a little later, but the Perique is not overly heavy. The nicotine content is medium, not too strong. 633 tastes great, not as full as some VaPers. It burns down to a fine white ash.

If there is a downside, it is a mild medicinal odor that it shares with Reiner's Long Golden Flake, both from the same blender. Some might say that it is a very consistent smoke, almost always the same from pipe to pipe. Others might say it is blandly predictable. For these reasons, it is NOT in my regular rotation, but I recognize that it is a favorite of many others.

It is best in large bowled pipes, and it must be smoked very slowly, or you lose the sweetness of the Virginias. Good with coffee in the a.m. on the porch in the sunshine. My wife loves the smell of it!

A good tobacco, worth a try maybe, but only two stars from me for its somewhat bland taste, and the casing.
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 09, 2017 Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
A very nice quality tobacco, but on the boring side. I'm reluctant to be overly critical with all the "Great" reviews, but to me, this just isn't that interesting. Has moments of sweetness but more of dark VaPer. Not a smoke you can light and go work in the garden with, this needs some attention as it can bring some spice and heat. Personally, I seem to be "fidgeting" with this blend to get some consistent flavor without any harshness.

I can't give this one 4 stars as I can think of a group of other 4 star VaPers I like better, ( SG -St James Flake, Dunhill -Elizabethan, Escudo, McC- Beacon Extra, Rattrays- Marlin Flake ),spend your money on one of these instead.
Pipe Used: cob
Age When Smoked: 1 month
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 20, 2013 Medium Extremely Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
If you enjoy VAPers you should try 633. For me, it's not bad, but not good enough to keep around. I put this one in the same category as Orlik's Golden Sliced and Reiner's 71.
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 20, 2017 Mild Mild Mild Unnoticeable
There isn't a Solani blend I don't like to some degree. This was my first taste of Perique and my first flake from Solani.

Rather mild tin fragrance, and as you'd expect a square and rather sticky slab of lightish brown flake bars await.

Picking it apart took ages (I prefer to rub out my flakes) and I was surprised how it took to the light. I expected it to be really moist a la Gawith's finest, yet although it felt quite wet as I dished it out it burnt evenly and without relights.

A very mild Vaper this one. The perique is well in the background and stays there, so I'm no wiser really. There is enough body there to easily finish the tin and return for refills which I did.

Not especially memorable but certainly an all day smoke, as there is undoubted quality in this blend.

Can't say I'd bust a gut to buy it again, although if I had access to a tobacconist that stocked it, I would certainly buy it for the cellar.
Pipe Used: All
PurchasedFrom: SmokeKing (Greens of Leeds)
Age When Smoked: New
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 27, 2013 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Tolerable to Strong
I did not experience any sweetness or fruitiness as described by others. Pepper came through enough to be noticable but not overbearing. Stays lit (rubbed out flake) leaving a nice white ash to the end of the bowl. 633 smokes cool and even all the way through. Mellows towatds the end, and i actually enjoyed it better. For me, its a little bit of a flat tasting blend, aside from the perique. I have a whole tin and will smoke a few more bowls. The end of the bowl may have granted a stay for this tin. I do prefer araomatics, but have other non aros that i turn to now and again. I will smoke a few more bowls and update this review if anything should change. Oh, my Lady did not care for the room note.
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 02, 2012 Medium to Strong Very Mild Medium Tolerable
Tin: From a tin that had been stored for eight months. The hinged, square tin is unique and does not form a vacuum seal. The tobacco is in a plastic bag that is held wrapped with an aggravating sticker that has to be cut. The tobacco is sealed in a bag which is pealed open-unique. The bag was pealed apart and tore-another aggravation. This leaves no way to reseal the tobacco. So it was put in a mason jar.

Tin Aroma: Mixture of bread, hay or cereal.

Appearance: Looks just like Samuel Gawith's FVF. Dark brown, mottled with blonde. A pressed flake in the form of two sets of 1-inch belts that are wound up into two flat coils. Straight out of the tin, it is mostly dry.

Packing: Easily rubs out into small splinters, though which pack readily.

Taste & Aroma: Not really like a strong Vaper, but somewhat bland; somewhat weak musty Perique aroma; close to just a pedestrian VA. Not sour, but not sweet.

In comparison to other VAPERs, the aroma is a mild musty sauteed poblano.

Strength: Certainly not a overly strong Vaper experience at all.

Overall: Packaging was so annoying. 633 provides a cross between a VA and a Vaper profile.
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 31, 2004 Medium Extremely Mild Mild Tolerable to Strong
A bit watery and too delicate when freshly opened, this traditional flake actually improves after opening, gaining some strength and taste. It's a grassy bright virginia with a moderate amount of perique (quite tolerable even if you can't stand the Louisiana leaf) and some notes which can make you think of a very small dose of burley. A decent, well-burning flake... but nothing particular to recommend.
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 05, 2016 Medium Very Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
I opened a 2-year-old tin few months back, and now I began to appreciate it before it's gone. Nice clean citrus, bread-like sweetness of virginia with good amount of peppery perique. It reminds me of Escudo but with more peppery spiciness. The thing is it keeps changing in flavor for all these months and sometimes it gets too dry and spicy on my palate. It is certainly a flavorful Vaper, just not for this piper.
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 08, 2015 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable to Strong
The beautiful, mottled brown flakes come in perfect condition. The slightly sour tin note tells you that there's a fair share of Perique in this blend: it's grassy from the Virginias, but mostly fruity with hints of raisins, prunes and dried figs, yet also slightly musty.

I use the fold and stuff method for filling my pipe. After a thorough charring light I level out the ashes before applying true light.

The rather strong taste is also dominated by the Perique, which gives it a peppery, spicy acidity with a fruity aftertaste. There's almost no sweetness in the smoke, exept when you put aside your pipe it leaves you with a dulcet taste. Personally, I find the content of Perique a little too high like a slightly oversalted dish, a bit unbalanced. The nicotine level of this Va/Per is quite high. It burns down evenly and coolly leaving some greying ash.

The room note is strong, but tolerable.
Pipe Used: Lorenzo Spitfire
PurchasedFrom: www.cigarworld.de
Age When Smoked: Fresh
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 08, 2014 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant
I took a chance on this one, since I don't normally smoke vapers. The tobacco seem to be a good quality and the flakes are easily manageable. The moisture content was right on target when you pop open the tin. It does seem to dry out very quickly, at least with the tin I got anyway. Because of this I dropped it down from a 3 star to a 2 star rating. Otherwise, this seems to be a very good blend. As others have stated previously, there doesn't seem to be too much perique in this, but the virginias seem to pick up the slack somewhat with its sweet taste. The nicotine level is a bit on the low end for me. It does smoke down to a nice ash at the bottom of the pipe. Overall, I would recommend this if you want to give a vaper a go.
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"