The Country Squire Tobacconist Shepherd's Pie

(3.57)
Frog Morton, eat your heart out! A decidedly English-style tobacco that is incredibly kind to the mouth and packed with flavor! A generous helping of latakia is accompanied by noticeable Turkish Izmir, ribbon cut Virginias, unflavored black cavendish, and a dash of soft burley. A complex blend and a non-aromatic treat!

Details

Brand The Country Squire Tobacconist
Blended By Caleb Crawford/Jon David Cole
Manufactured By The Country Squire
Blend Type English
Contents Black Cavendish, Burley, Latakia, Oriental/Turkish, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Ribbon
Packaging Bulk
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant to Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.57 / 4
15

3

3

0

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 10 of 12 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 21, 2019 Mild Extremely Mild Mild to Medium Tolerable
When McClelland closed up, I was caught off guard. My favorite blend of theirs, Frog Morton's Cellar was no more and by the time I had heard about the closing, my opportunity to hoard was lost. I had heard that Northwoods and Shepherd's Pie were close. I tried Northwoods first and while it is a good blend, I hesitate to compare it to FMC. I finally tried Shepherd's Pie a couple of months ago. It definitely is closer to FMC than Northwoods, but in my opinion, it's got it's own thing going and I like it better. I had a chance to try all three side by side and I confirmed my thoughts: Shepherd's Pie > FMC > Northwoods.

Shepherd's Pie is a nice mild English with a touch of sweetness from the Cavendish. In spite of the mild taste, it has a decent complexity. Definitely an English crossover reminiscent of the beloved FMC.
Pipe Used: Various Briars, Cobs
PurchasedFrom: The Country Squire
Age When Smoked: Fresh
19 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 28, 2019 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
This a wonderful mild to medium English. There is a defined sweetness from the Cavendish and the Virginias that continues through the entire bowl. This is balanced by the sec dryness of the Turkish and Latakia. They also convey a slight spiciness and a very pleasant body and creaminess to the smoke. I don't detect any of the burley, but it may be contributing to the body as well.

As BlackAdderLXX said, even though it's no lat-bomb, it is complex and very well balanced.

I've been lamenting the loss of Dunhill Aperitif much more so than Frog Morton. This definitely has a similar flavor profile of a medium English with some Cavendish and Virginia sweetness as Aperitif does. This is a very worthy replacement for me, and I find it much more satisfying in every way than any of the Frogs.

Nicotine is mild side of medium, and this is a very easy smoke with perfect moisture in my package of it. Very similar to Dunhill English blends for ease of packing a bowl and just sipping. Well behaved with a tolerable room note for an English.
Pipe Used: Cobs, meerschaums
PurchasedFrom: Country Squire
Age When Smoked: Fresh
13 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 25, 2019 Mild None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
I liked Frog Morton, but this is better; and it fills the same niche. If you like a flavorful, easy to smoke English that is not boring, try this one. You won't be disappointed.
Pipe Used: Dunhill Shell Prince and similar
PurchasedFrom: The Country Squire, Jackson MS
Age When Smoked: New
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 23, 2019 Medium to Strong Medium Medium Tolerable
This is a great English tobacco with good proportions of Latakia and other goodness! The flavor is most reminiscent of a FM blend weirdly enough FMOTT but more smooth on the palette!
Pipe Used: Rattrays Goblin
PurchasedFrom: Country Squire
Age When Smoked: 7 Months
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 02, 2021 Medium Mild to Medium Medium Tolerable
A fantastic mild English. Buttery and a little sweet, with some smokiness. Some compare this to FMC, and while it’s in the ballpark, I actually like SP better, as the flavors are a bit more ‘blended’ together and it does not have the sharp whiskey undertone of the Frog. Not as bold or flavor forward as Northwoods, this is one that I reach for when I can’t decide on what to pack.
PurchasedFrom: Country Squire
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 26, 2022 Very Mild None Detected Mild Pleasant
Wow! I get a HUGE burst of jasmine or incense. Simply refuses to bite or get hot. There is very little Latakia to my taste, the orientals dominate. Delicious and utterly unique; there is nothing like it in my rotation.
Pipe Used: MM Cob
PurchasedFrom: TCS
Age When Smoked: Fresh
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 03, 2022 Mild None Detected Mild to Medium Tolerable
To give you a hint from where my below impressions are coming from; I favor aromatic blends, although I am finding I enjoy English/Scottish blends more frequently, which I could not stand when I first started smoking a pipe. I have been trying more of the English/Aromatic combo blends, which I have found being more and more of that I am reaching for for my everyday smoke

Opening the bag what I smelled was a lite note of Latakia and the background was, with none of them overwhelming the other...

The flavor I tasted was mostly the Latakia, with some of the Orientals and the Virginia (maybe sweetness from the Cavendish, but that may be my imagination). Although the Latakia was dominant in both smell and taste it was not overwhelming, I would call this a mild English blend. To describe this as creamy would be proper... I may have found another blend to add to my daily rotation!

It arrived semi-dry, so absolutely no drying time was needed. Was able to light this without issue and few relights. I did not have any tounge-bite with this blend.
Pipe Used: Rattray Goblin 99
PurchasedFrom: thecountrysquireonline.com
Age When Smoked: new
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 30, 2021 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
More than just a Frog Morton substitute, I enjoyed this blend very much. I have had the opportunity to smoke several of the Squire's blends and have found them all to be top notch.
PurchasedFrom: The Country Squire
Age When Smoked: Fresh
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 05, 2024 Mild to Medium None Detected Full Pleasant to Tolerable
I disagree with the reviews that say that the Latakia is the main component in this blend. I am getting far more Turkish Orientals than anything else. It has an incense like quality and a sweetness down to the last puff. The Latakia is condimental and adds wonderful depth and smokiness. It's so tasty and so complex that my affections for this mixture have evolved over time. I liked it the first time and I like it even more now. Easily a four star blend.
Pipe Used: Briarworks C22 Billiard
PurchasedFrom: The Country Squire
Age When Smoked: New
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 05, 2024 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
First, a qualifying statement on the order of this matter. Although I make no presumption of being the font of expertise, I have indeed had the pleasure of experiencing an assortment of stylish English Oriental tobaccos. And to be more direct on this point, they are my most preferred class of English inspired crafting. I could write volumes touching upon the satiating enticement bestowed from a solid base English that has been colorfully enhanced by the inclusion of more pronounced Oriental leaf. Typically, what one receives with these types of involved amalgamations is a wondrous celebration of native tobacco grandeur.

So, now appears one of these archetypical English Orientals, one that I had been most eager to explore. Over the course of several trial sessions, I have evolved with an appreciable position as to the individual merits of this particular blend. And with that, from their collection of original non-aromatics, The Country Squire Tobacconist submits for reflective importance their rendition of this chosen English specialty.

Entering as a medium intensity and arguably full-flavored option, properly served up is their very own Sheperd’s Pie. No, this is not the traditional dish of minced meat, mashed potatoes, and mixed vegetables, although there is much to be said about the delight of that entree. Rather the Sheperd’s Pie of discussion is an interesting compote that is equally tasteful. Consisting of extended Latakia, Oriental Izmir, mixed Virginian, a touch of perfecting Burley, and the harmonizing influence of basic Black Cavendish, Sheperd’s Pie is often compared to the Frog Morton series of products. Yet as a tenet of unbiased objectivity, I do not do those types of relative analogies with my commentaries, but I thought it was worth mentioning for those who might deem that particular factoid significant.

Even though the tobacco appears to be of mixed configurations it is primarily a ribbon cut production. Upon the discernment of its visual appearance, what one gathers is a wholesome piling that is of dense and grainy aspect. Explicitly, there is an opulent display of variegated warmhearted hues that cast an almost orange luster on the surface. Mixed within are the delightful offsetting pigments of bright tan/beige, gingerbread, coffee, improved browns, smoky umber, and of course sheer blackness. Optimally, Sheperd’s Pie comes prepared with a drier level of moisture which facilitates an immediate and easeful smoke-ready condition.

The pouched nose of this bulk offering encounters somewhat dignified, or perhaps posh is the better term to accurately describe its character. In general, the rousing aroma is flushed with assorted herbal spicing that emanates a brighter vegetal nature. Underlying this seasoned air, a cultured stand of dominant woodiness censored with an equal footing of fruited must form the foundational essence. Further annotations of mild pungency, modest tart, distant sugar, and basic citrus fill the perimeter of its naturally occurring bouquet.

Initially to put it in concise terms, the overall presentation is well balanced and exceedingly smooth. The tasteful fusion of Sheperd’s Pie’s rich streams is utterly level and thereby rendered in a seamless flow. Texturally, the registration is buttery in feel and hosts a slightly sweeter woody nature, as all leaf varieties generally endow some facet of woodiness. In an enlivening demonstration of intriguing complexity and substantial depth, the phasing of tiered flavors is proficiently rounded and therefore quite savory. Overall, this amply bodied blend discloses a thoughtfully crafted tobacco that is full-flavored with a range of compelling spices. Moreover, the smoking experience reveals subtle movement in nuancing that plays creatively well within its creamy mellowness and genuinely smoky profile.

Without wasting words, Sheperd’s Pie steady bottom-line persona calls attention to the contribution of the residing Virginian leaves. In particular, a toasty and darkly spiced wood permeates the width of the base line character. It tends to be highly seasoned and conventionally sweet in disposition. Aiding and abetting this solemn note, the blend casts some semblance of a dimmed citrusy grass that is hemmed with supportive glazy tang. Additionally, a mesh of reduced caramelized sugars, faint black tea, and some general tarty floral further garnishes the Virginia’s primary appeal.

Within the experienced registration, however, it is the ornate Latakia that seems to rise to the forefront of character in the weight of the middle band of flavor. Judging from its darker sweeter smoothness, I have deduced that the particular strain that has been enfolded has experienced some progress with aging. What avails is a fairly prominent projection of burnt sulfuric wood, soured tartness, and settled char. Complementing this base element are embellishing attributes of smart fig, smoky incense, a bit of darker herbaceous tincture and a streak of earthen pungency that is of a gentler nature. Generously added per The Country Squire’s admission, the Cyprian is neither overbearing nor brazen in its commenting but does offer some reposed enriching depth to the standard taste profile.

Expertly partnering with the Latakia, the strain of Izmir resides aptly on top of the forward notation. The leaf displays a drawing registration that is tendered mostly in musty exotic spices and sweeter-sour wooded undertones. What seems to prevail mostly is an herbal affinity and with that the remarking is colored with brushes of thyme and sweet peppery paprika. Finally, I do consistently experience a thread of greenish lemon hoppiness, which might sound strange, but it is nonetheless how I would best describe this impression.

Existing as an essential ornamental complement, the series of Burley peeks through with a guarded inference. All but very well hidden, the attendance of the strains projects a further sweetening brown sugared nuttiness while offering earthy oaken wood is the principle note. Elegantly bundled within this background presence is some amplified relish of a distinct black licorice accent, reserved zestful spice, average mulled sourness, and little bit of raisin-like fruitiness circulating within the highlights.

As to the influence of the Cavendish, not so much to mention other than a donation of basic earthy sugar, and smoky wooded tang. As the sessional bowl makes way through a slower burn, an emission of thick plumes of blue-gray smoke release, lustering the room with a seasonable resonance of sprightly herbaceous kindling. The quality of smoke that is produced is indeed creamy in texture as it rolls off the palate with eased graces. In terms of its sheer magnitude, the blend’s expired presence bids modesty in perceivable girth and weightiness. Moreover, captivating accents of sweet natured tang, a bit of grass, pungent tarty Latakia spice and a tapered stream of zesty smokiness expand its politely contained character. Presumably, Sheperd’s Pie’s spent aroma could be deemed as tolerable to actually pleasing in receptivity.

It is sufficient to say that Sheperd’s Pie accommodates a smoking experience that evinces optimal mechanical performance for the duration of the session. Initially the tobacco falls easily into the chamber of the pursuing bowl and proceeds to load perfectly. With the ensuing ignition, the blend gets quickly under way in an exhibition of considerate burn temperatures while maintaining a nicely consistent cone. And given the mixed ratios of the recipe, I find the managed nicotine response to be categorically mild to medium in the degree of felt significance.

Last, this one comes suitably adaptable to a generously proportioned briar or a more ambitious cob. Sheperd’s Pie embodies all the fineries of a classic English Oriental most conclusively. With a memorable demonstration of the individual leaf standard attributes, this blend emits a true reflection of that referenced native tobacco grandeur. Scoring exceptionally favorable on genre specifics, the mixture engenders a relaxing, yet charismatic occasion centered in mellowed palatability. Therefore, as a fashionable offering, The Country Squire’s Sheperd’s Pie can be a rewardable day long diversion in the choosing. So, there you have it, the final word based upon an informed formal assessment and, of course, a little bit of my own personal sentiments. Objective Scoring: (basis: flavor, standard genre/leaf attributes & mechanicals): 199/236 ? 2.8 WAVG. Subjective Rating: (factored for likeability & cost): 3.5 Pipes.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"