The Country Squire Tobacconist Shepherd's Pie

(3.55)
Frog Morton, eat your heart out! A decidedly English-style tobacco that is incredibly kind to the mouth and packed with flavor! A generous helping of latakia is accompanied by noticeable Turkish Izmir, ribbon cut Virginias, unflavored black cavendish, and a dash of soft burley. A complex blend and a non-aromatic treat!

Details

Brand The Country Squire Tobacconist
Blended By Caleb Crawford/Jon David Cole
Manufactured By The Country Squire
Blend Type English
Contents Black Cavendish, Burley, Latakia, Oriental/Turkish, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Ribbon
Packaging Bulk
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant to Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.55 / 4
14

3

3

0

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 10 of 17 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 20, 2019 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
The smoky, woody, earthy, musty sweet Cyprian latakia may be the star component, but this blend is not a lat-bomb.The dry, woody, earthy, floral, mildly spicy, sour Izmir is a supporting player. The Virginia provides some dark fruit, earth, wood, grass and a little citrus in a secondary role. The nutty, woody earthy burley acts mostly as a condiment. The same can be said for the unsweetened sugary, toasty black cavendish that tames some rough edges. The strength is just past the center of mild to medium. The nic-hit is in that center. The taste is a step past the strength level. Won’t bite or get harsh. Burns cool and clean at a moderate pace with a sweet and mildly savory, consistent flavor that translates to the lightly lingering after taste. Leaves little moisture in the bowl, and requires an average number of relights. Can be an all day smoke.

-JimInks
19 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 21, 2019 Mild Extremely Mild Mild to Medium Tolerable
When McClelland closed up, I was caught off guard. My favorite blend of theirs, Frog Morton's Cellar was no more and by the time I had heard about the closing, my opportunity to hoard was lost. I had heard that Northwoods and Shepherd's Pie were close. I tried Northwoods first and while it is a good blend, I hesitate to compare it to FMC. I finally tried Shepherd's Pie a couple of months ago. It definitely is closer to FMC than Northwoods, but in my opinion, it's got it's own thing going and I like it better. I had a chance to try all three side by side and I confirmed my thoughts: Shepherd's Pie > FMC > Northwoods.

Shepherd's Pie is a nice mild English with a touch of sweetness from the Cavendish. In spite of the mild taste, it has a decent complexity. Definitely an English crossover reminiscent of the beloved FMC.
Pipe Used: Various Briars, Cobs
PurchasedFrom: The Country Squire
Age When Smoked: Fresh
19 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 28, 2019 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
This a wonderful mild to medium English. There is a defined sweetness from the Cavendish and the Virginias that continues through the entire bowl. This is balanced by the sec dryness of the Turkish and Latakia. They also convey a slight spiciness and a very pleasant body and creaminess to the smoke. I don't detect any of the burley, but it may be contributing to the body as well.

As BlackAdderLXX said, even though it's no lat-bomb, it is complex and very well balanced.

I've been lamenting the loss of Dunhill Aperitif much more so than Frog Morton. This definitely has a similar flavor profile of a medium English with some Cavendish and Virginia sweetness as Aperitif does. This is a very worthy replacement for me, and I find it much more satisfying in every way than any of the Frogs.

Nicotine is mild side of medium, and this is a very easy smoke with perfect moisture in my package of it. Very similar to Dunhill English blends for ease of packing a bowl and just sipping. Well behaved with a tolerable room note for an English.
Pipe Used: Cobs, meerschaums
PurchasedFrom: Country Squire
Age When Smoked: Fresh
13 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 25, 2019 Mild None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
I liked Frog Morton, but this is better; and it fills the same niche. If you like a flavorful, easy to smoke English that is not boring, try this one. You won't be disappointed.
Pipe Used: Dunhill Shell Prince and similar
PurchasedFrom: The Country Squire, Jackson MS
Age When Smoked: New
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 03, 2019 Medium Mild to Medium Mild Pleasant
When I think of sitting back and having a relaxing mild smoke, this is my go to. It tastes exactly how it smells, not to complex on the palate and as smooth as butter.

Smokes pretty cool, I tend to get a lot of smoke out of this one. Leaves a beautiful smell around.

I will update after I smoke it with some age.
Pipe Used: Sav 111
PurchasedFrom: Country Squire
Age When Smoked: New
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 23, 2019 Medium to Strong Medium Medium Tolerable
This is a great English tobacco with good proportions of Latakia and other goodness! The flavor is most reminiscent of a FM blend weirdly enough FMOTT but more smooth on the palette!
Pipe Used: Rattrays Goblin
PurchasedFrom: Country Squire
Age When Smoked: 7 Months
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 02, 2021 Medium Mild to Medium Medium Tolerable
A fantastic mild English. Buttery and a little sweet, with some smokiness. Some compare this to FMC, and while it’s in the ballpark, I actually like SP better, as the flavors are a bit more ‘blended’ together and it does not have the sharp whiskey undertone of the Frog. Not as bold or flavor forward as Northwoods, this is one that I reach for when I can’t decide on what to pack.
PurchasedFrom: Country Squire
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 26, 2022 Very Mild None Detected Mild Pleasant
Wow! I get a HUGE burst of jasmine or incense. Simply refuses to bite or get hot. There is very little Latakia to my taste, the orientals dominate. Delicious and utterly unique; there is nothing like it in my rotation.
Pipe Used: MM Cob
PurchasedFrom: TCS
Age When Smoked: Fresh
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 03, 2022 Mild None Detected Mild to Medium Tolerable
To give you a hint from where my below impressions are coming from; I favor aromatic blends, although I am finding I enjoy English/Scottish blends more frequently, which I could not stand when I first started smoking a pipe. I have been trying more of the English/Aromatic combo blends, which I have found being more and more of that I am reaching for for my everyday smoke

Opening the bag what I smelled was a lite note of Latakia and the background was, with none of them overwhelming the other...

The flavor I tasted was mostly the Latakia, with some of the Orientals and the Virginia (maybe sweetness from the Cavendish, but that may be my imagination). Although the Latakia was dominant in both smell and taste it was not overwhelming, I would call this a mild English blend. To describe this as creamy would be proper... I may have found another blend to add to my daily rotation!

It arrived semi-dry, so absolutely no drying time was needed. Was able to light this without issue and few relights. I did not have any tounge-bite with this blend.
Pipe Used: Rattray Goblin 99
PurchasedFrom: thecountrysquireonline.com
Age When Smoked: new
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 26, 2021 Mild Mild Mild Pleasant
So sweet creamy mild English blends may be my least favorite type of blend outside of aromatic blends. And this blends completely embodies this. However this statement is a statement of my personal preference and not a judgement of the blend itself. Infact this blend seems to be of very high quality, balance and depth while being a very easy going smooth smoke.

This blend brings smokey sweet flavors of toast, cream, honey, wood, and some coco.

Burns easy and cool, no complaints. I just personally do not enjoy mild English blends but this should be a slam dunk win for those that do.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"