Mac Baren Three Nuns Green

(3.29)
The wrapper leafs of this blend are hand picked Virginia leafs. The inner part consists of Virginias, dark fired Kentucky and perique tobaccos. The Three Nuns Green pipe tobacco is produced according to old English tradition.

Details

Brand Mac Baren
Blended By Per Jensen
Manufactured By Mac Baren
Blend Type Virginia/Perique
Contents Kentucky, Perique, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Curly Cut
Packaging 50 grams tin
Country Denmark
Production No longer in production

Profile

Strength
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant to Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.29 / 4
7

8

2

0

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 8 of 8 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 11, 2018 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
The earthy, dark fruity, lightly grassy and wood, lightly acidic, tart and tangy citrusy Virginias form the base of the blend. The very woody, earthy, dry, herbal, slightly sharp, fairly spicy, smoky, mildly floral dark fired Kentucky competes for attention with the Virginias, and mostly takes a little of the lead. The raisiny, spicy, plumy perique runs third place here as a condiment. The strength level is just short of medium while the taste barely makes that threshold. The nic-hit is in the center of mild to medium. No chance of bite or harshness, and has no dull moments. There is a little inconsistency in the flavor because some coins have more dark fired Kentucky than others, and there’s some loose cut tobacco along with the coins. The tobacco is lightly moist and the coins are pliable to suit your packing preference. Burns cool and clean at a reasonable pace, and will burn to ashes. Leaves little dampness in the bowl, and requires just a tad more than an average number of relights. Has a very pleasant, lightly lingering after taste and stronger room note. Can easily be an all day smoke. Three and a half stars.

-JimInks
29 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 05, 2018 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
The coins tend to fall apart a bit too easily, but many can still be folded to prevent a faster burn. The VAs take the forefront, but the Kentucky is easily tasted throughout the bowl. The mild Perique is the third fiddle, most noticeable in the final 3rd of the bowl. Lights easily and keeps it going. An easy smoke. I expect the tins will improve with age (only 2 months on this tin). I look forward to cracking the next tin next summer.
Pipe Used: cobs, meers, & briars
PurchasedFrom: Smoking Pipes
Age When Smoked: 2 months
12 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 05, 2018 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable
Mac Baren - Three Nuns Green.

The coins are quite broken, so it's an easy blend to load with. My tin was a little dryer than I'd have preferred, smokable, but I like a blend to be slightly damp to the touch.

Lighting up a bowl's easy-peasy, and it gives a decent smoke. The Virginia and Kentucky form the majority of the flavour, hence why I'm marking medium to full for taste. But the flavour isn't over fire-cured, and too acrid; more of a 'smoky-nuttiness'. The Perique's easily the lightest ingredient; it needs to be 'looked' for more than the others. The burn's good, maybe a little fast due to the hydration, but consistent. I've been smoking only this today and haven't had a bite from it.

Nicotine: medium. Room-note: not a fan.

Three Nuns Green? A nice enough smoke but not a 'brilliant' smoke. Three stars:

Recommended.
Pipe Used: Altinok Lee Van Cleef: My Friday pipe
PurchasedFrom: Smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: One month
11 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 12, 2019 Medium to Strong Mild to Medium Full Pleasant to Tolerable
Smoked out of tin, smells and tastes bready and grassy with white pepper too. The spiciness sits on your lips and is welcome especially in colder climate. I only noticed the strength when I dedicated some time to a full bowl. An interesting VAPer which I reach for more than Escudo during winter. Can be inconsistent though.
Pipe Used: Bones short bent bulldog
Age When Smoked: less than a year
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 15, 2018 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
I picked up a tin of the new Yellow and the new Green to try.

I tried the Green after trying the Yellow earlier.

Presentation: Very small coins. Much smaller than LBF or the other coins I'm used to. The tin is tightly packed when opened. The coins in my tin were almost impossible to extract intact, they seemed to be stuck together and come out broken. Tin note was spicier than the yellow and I could smell the periques/kentucky over the Virginia in this one.

Prep: The moisture seems about perfect straight from the tin, it did seem a little drier than the yellow version. Was easy to pack the broken pieces, but was unable to get a complete coin out to fold.

Lighting: Char light, tamp, and then one light got me through the bowl. On charring it puffed up more than the yellow version.

Taste: Completely different experience from the yellow. The KY seemed to steal the show here staying in front of the Virginias. Definitely some spice from the periques in the background. Much earthier and darker feeling than the yellow. VAPer lovers I think will love this one.

Burn: A little bit hot in the bowl, but in the Canadian never required a relight. Burned down to ash with minimal moisture in the bowl of my Castello Canadian.

Overall impression: I really prefer this one to the yellow version. I have not tried the current version of regular Three Nuns to compare it to. With the curly cut and more complex flavors (spicier, fuller) I could see this one being a regular smoke.

I'm going to jar the rest of the tin and I'll update if the taste changes with some aging.
Pipe Used: Castello Canadian
PurchasedFrom: Smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: Fresh from Tin
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 30, 2020 Mild to Medium Extremely Mild Mild to Medium Unnoticeable
Niece neutral smell of fresh tobacco reminds me Old Gowrie. I did not expect miracle , and received exactly what I expected. Not very nice coins burns well, not too much relights is needed. Moisture is accurate, for me could be even more wet. Taste is little peppery, after perique probably. Absolutely recommend this tobacco as very nice average neutral.
Pipe Used: Stanislaw
PurchasedFrom: etrafika.cz
Age When Smoked: new
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 03, 2020 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
Very wholesome, darkish tin note with dried hay virginia complemented by rich grass - the net effect is actually very close to the smell of snus. Smallish coins, about the size of a thumbnail. Unlike many other reviewers, I had no particular problem with the coins being already broken upon opening the tin; I could always find enough whole ones or broken tobacco, depending on how I wanted to fill my pipe.

And herein lies 3N-Green's greatest strength; unlike other coin or flake tobaccos that I have sampled, Green is good regardless of how you do or don't rub it out, and regardless of the moisture level too. Rub it out and you get a fast, good, clean, virginia base wonderfully complemented by the darker tobaccos to produce a very wholesome, no-nonsense smoke. Stack the coins in the bowl and it requires a bit more effort to get the pipe going (especially if the coins are still somewhat moist) but the result is even more rewarding - the same taste but in a more long-lasting, flavourful, somewhat darker version, with wonderfully thick and wholesome smoke.

Would recommend foremost for fans of virginia who would maybe like to try a little bit more 'oomph' in their tobacco, and will surely be buying again when in the mood for some good, wholesome coin tobacco.
Pipe Used: Gasparini, Chacom, corn cob
PurchasedFrom: The Danish Pipe Shop
Age When Smoked: Fresh from tin
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 28, 2023 Medium to Strong None Detected Mild to Medium Tolerable to Strong
I finally got around to opening this tin. Typical tin packing, but the coins popped up nicely when encouraged. The coins are small and broke when folding into the pipe, making an easy light. I got sweet DFK nutty goodness on first tastes and it settled down into lovely Virginia flavor. The perique is a background note providing enjoyable spice. I now wish I had tried this sooner, before production ceased, as I would add some tins to the larder. Recommended, if you can find it.
Pipe Used: Peterson spigot E11
PurchasedFrom: SmokingPipes.com
Age When Smoked: 3 years
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"