Scandinavian Tobacco Group (STG) Half & Half Regular

(2.15)
An equal measure of dark and bright traditional American granulated tobacco from Denmark.
Notes: Originally from an American Tobacco 19th century formula. Originally, it was a local Virginia favorite for both cigarettes and pipe tobacco. From https://halfandhalfpipe.com/hhp-home/ : Half and Half is a timeless mix of loose cut Burley and Virginia tobaccos with flavorful notes of Cardamom, Coriander and Maze. Enjoy this smooth, easy-going smoke again and again.

Details

Brand Scandinavian Tobacco Group (STG)
Blended By Scandinavian Tobacco Group)
Manufactured By Scandinavian Tobacco Group
Blend Type Aromatic
Contents Burley, Virginia
Flavoring Anisette, Other / Misc, Spices
Cut Ribbon
Packaging 50 grams pouch, 14 ounce tin
Country Denmark
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

2.15 / 4
7

13

14

19

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 41 - 53 of 53 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 15, 2016 Medium to Strong Medium to Strong Medium to Full Pleasant
Smoking a bowl while writing this review. This blend is its own animal. Strong, somewhat dry, sour maltiness (think orange rind and bittersweet cherries) and a spiciness that stays pronounced throughout the smoke. The anise note is there, but acts more like a garnish. Midway down the bowl the blend became a tad sweeter. Some might mistaken the mix of sour maltiness and peppery aftertaste for bite. Which is more noticeable on the roof of the mouth rather than a sharpness on one's tongue. Smoking out of a cob it got hotter at the bottom, but slowing down between draws kept things cool and in check. I can't say I like H&H or hate it. This is a no frills blend that will be offputting at first to those who prefer aromatics. It does get some getting use to. The room note won't have you running for the hills either. The virginias aren't terribly sweet but the nuttiness of the burley makes up for that. I recommend airing out on parchment paper overnight then jarring. Which is what I will do once done with this review. Hopefully H&H will get sweeter and mellower with age. Just remember to take a leisurely pace with this one. To avoid the dreaded nip, tamper and sip. Not my favorite blend, but something to smoke once in a while.

Pipe Used: Corncob
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 26, 2016 Very Mild Mild to Medium Mild Pleasant
Interesting tobacco. The pouch note smelled like light tobacco with a slightly fruity smell with a bit of something I can put my finger on. Maybe the licorice/anisette?

Wasn't too moist. Loaded into the pipe well, lit perfectly and stayed lit with no issues. A bit of tongue bite during first light, but after that it didn't bite at all. Slightly sweet flavor that increases around mid-bowl. There is a hint of licorice, not just in flavor but in mouth feel, that I assume is from the anisette. It's interesting and not too overpowering. Not much tobacco flavor, just light sweetness from whatever topping was added. I didn't detect cherry, but it did remind me of fruitcake with a hint of burley smoke and some licorice. It's not a bad tobacco, but it's not one that I would make sure I have in stock.
Pipe Used: Cob, Billard
PurchasedFrom: Gifted
Age When Smoked: New Gifted
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 13, 2015 Mild to Medium Medium Mild Pleasant to Tolerable
I have only been seriously piping for about two years after some early attempts 10 to 15 years ago when I tried at one point the terrible Captain Black and foolishly shag cut Bugler. Since then I started with some bulks and then happily moved onto tins. However, I am also going through a couple of the OTC pouch blends. After all these are the tobaccos that the men we admired smoked of yore and are the signature pipe tobacco aroma.

The cut is kind of a coarse broken ribbon, of mostly a medium brown with some brighter leaf. It's undoubtedly moist, but the stew of humectants, accelerants, preservatives, and flavorings is undoubtedly a miracle of industrial chemistry. One match is plenty to get this going so there is no charring light, it is instant ignition. It smokes steady, with a medium volume of smoke at a moderate pace. It is very tolerant of abuse, and no matter the ferocity of puffing I can't induce tongue bite or steam and little gurgle. Those factors are alarming- natural combustion cycles don't produce those results. Practically speaking, it means it smokes well outdoors, without much attention, and can be smoked when active. I like it when I'm up on my tractor. If it is pushed hard you'll generate the synthetic burning of the various treatments, but that at a pretty low level.

The taste is okay. It seems that it is treated with anise/licorice that seems to blend to cherry liqueur that is quite boozy. It is somewhat sweet and nutty, but the sweetness has a sour, musty, and even slightly pungent quality that reminds me of black walnuts, not just the nut meat but the green walnut hulls. There is also a distinct clay-like taste. The aroma is somewhat pleasant.

Overall, it's okay. The natural tobacco flavors are muted, burley is no doubt present but I would never pick up the Va half of it. The flavoring is interesting, but the entire experience of the smoke is artificial from the toppings to the burn. It will do in a pinch and I would buy it again, maybe as a change of pace once a year. I need something to smoke up on the tractor.
Pipe Used: Cobs
PurchasedFrom: Corner store
Age When Smoked: Fresh
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 29, 2015 Mild Mild Medium Tolerable
I like half of it and hate the other half. If you like smoking cough syrup this is for you. I would not waste your money.
Pipe Used: Cob
PurchasedFrom: B &M
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 07, 2015 Extremely Mild Medium Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
My first OTC blend. As I'm admittedly not a fan of aros usually, I've decided to give this a try just to see what the history has been about. My tin is of the Lane Limited production for those who have seen this blend change hands. What I found upon opening the twelve ounce tin was a decent enough ribbon cut. Kind of unusual tin note. I still can't name that smell. But it's kind of sweet yet a tiny hint of almost vinegar. The tobacco is sufficiently dry enough to smoke with little to no preparation. Lights very easily. Decent white pleasing smoke billows. Maybe a touch on the light side of that compared to what I normally gravitate to. But for what it is, I'll accept it. The taste is of the average aromatic to me. Sweeter than I prefer. But not bad in any way. I did not find the cherry taste at all. I did find a little anisette and perhaps I kept thinking I got a mild honey taste. End result being pleased for what it is. I'll keep it around just to flirt with from time to time when I need a break.
Pipe Used: Tony Warner poker
PurchasedFrom: Smoke shop in Massena New York.
Age When Smoked: Less than six months on store shelf?
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 17, 2013 Medium Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Tolerable to Strong
I have smoked only a handful of bowls of this tobacco. The pouch smell is OK, as are the moisture and burn qualities. I like the initial puffs, as they still give off that "crisp" sensation. But it goes away about 10 minutes later. What's left is the closest I've experienced of smoking a cigarette in my pipe. If you don't know what that means, good for you. For those of you that do know, you might consider it unpleasant. It's just not what I want when I smoke a pipe, so I can't recommend it... Period.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 15, 2016 Mild Mild to Medium Very Mild Tolerable
Smells of cherry in the pouch. The smoke tastes of anise, this fades to an ashy cigarette like taste. Smokes cool, like the pouch says. Slight tongue bite. No nicotine or gurgle. Pleasant to retrohale. Good about staying lit. Minimal dottle.
Pipe Used: MM cob w filter,
PurchasedFrom: Convenience stuff
Age When Smoked: Fresh
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 28, 2016 Mild Very Mild Mild to Medium Tolerable
For real H&H reviews and description, please see Scandanivian Tobacco Half&Half. This must have been done in error.

Although I do get a kick when people read aromatic, they use it across the board and rate the flavoring more than what is actually there.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 04, 2016 Medium Strong Medium to Full Strong
It is easy to buy a horrible tobacco when you have to get one from a gas station or grocery store. You often get what you pay for. In fact, other than the readily available Prince Albert which I feel is worth the cost and does a decent job as a pinch hitter, this one is not worth the purchase.

The flavor was reminiscent of a hospital or some Vic's Vapor Rub. It was just gross.

Unless you want to revisit memories of Grandpa in hospice; best to avoid.
PurchasedFrom: Uhle's
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 27, 2016 Very Mild Medium Extremely Mild (Flat) Unnoticeable
Bought this on a road trip when the store didn't have my brand. Not my favorite it has a citrus, fermented apple smell to it and it tastes like smoking an ashtray.
Pipe Used: Missouri meerschaum legend
PurchasedFrom: Out of town store
Age When Smoked: Fresh
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 24, 2016 Mild None Detected Mild Pleasant
I last tried this many years ago. It came in a small card box with a plastic bag of product inside. There was no evidence of casing at all and the appearance was of a mixture of darker, ribbon cut with light torn leaf. It was what the box said - a half and half mixture of dark burley with bright Virginia. Mild and neutral with an 'outdoorsy' smell of autumn leaf-fires. Packed and burned well. However, this clearly is NOT what the blend is now.
Pipe Used: "Dr. Plumb" bent
Age When Smoked: As purchased
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 16, 2015 Mild to Medium Medium Mild to Medium Tolerable
Not as bad as some of the reviews lead you to believe. It's straightforward and relatively mild. Burns hot if you push it but smoke slow and it's really an ok smoke. Been around for a loooong time so it has some redeeming qualities. Good to have around for the occasional "reset" smoke after you smoke a lot of the fancy sophisticated blends out there. Don't notice a ton of cherry aroma or flavor but there is a fruity casing applied.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 16, 2015 Mild Medium Medium Tolerable
I purchased this tobacco today for the first time from my local smoke shop. The notes form the pouch give off a chemical cherry cough syrup smell with a hint of fake chocolate. I smoked this from a cob it lit well smoked cool but the overall flavor was of artificial flavoring. I blended this with some my mixture 925 and the flavor was still unpleasant.
Pipe Used: Corn cob
PurchasedFrom: Smoke shop
Age When Smoked: New from pouch
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"