War Horse War Horse Green

(3.00)
From P&C's web site: War Horse Green uses the same base tobaccos as War Horse Bar, but with a unique and decidedly more aromatic top note than the original. There are notes here similar to a number of European tobaccos, but made here in the US. Give this singular take on Euro-style blends a try. We think you'll be back time and again.

Details

Brand War Horse
Blended By Russ Ouellette
Manufactured By Sutliff Tobacco Company
Blend Type Virginia/Burley
Contents Burley, Kentucky, Virginia
Flavoring Anisette, Other / Misc
Cut Krumble Kake
Packaging 50 grams tin
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Strong
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Medium to Strong
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium to Full
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.00 / 4
9

11

3

3

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 26 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 15, 2018 Medium Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
This comes as a pressed krumble kake as opposed to a cross-cut krumble kake such as penzance.

Topped with tonquin and anise, the latter much more noticeable in the aroma than the taste. I do not find this floral at all, and I can definitely see the resemblence to condor, albeit this blend is much less scented.

Breaks apart from the square block fairly easily. This is one of the most bite free tobacco blends I have ever tried. I get a faint nougat taste, with a fairly sour red virginia (a good one) backed up by plenty of kentucky.

Can be overy astringent on the nose, so I would recommend a longer straight pipe which keeps the smoke away from one's face.

Seems like a few decades have been rolled back...
Pipe Used: basket and cob
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 13, 2016 Strong Strong Full Tolerable to Strong
A companion to the new War Horse Bar, it has the same constituent tobaccos. The dark air cured Virginia is tangy dark fruity, toasty, boldly earthy and woody with a little smokiness, sugar and floralness, and fair amount of spice as the lead component. The floral dark fired Kentucky also has a bit of smoke, herbs, vegetation, sourness, nuts, earth and wood, and a touch of cocoa along with a little spice. It is a supporting player. The burleys offer a lot of earth, wood,nuts and bread in the third slot. Almost equaling the burley is the tangy ripe, fermented, sugary dark fruit red Virginia, which also offers some tart and tangy citrus, earth, bread and wood. The toppings are the very richly sweet, incense/floral, and fairly perfumy heliotrope along with a deep anise extract, and a tonquin-like essence. They do sublimate the tobaccos a lot; more so than the toppings do for the Bar. They also work well together to create a compatible contrast to the varietals. The strength and taste levels are not quite as strong as the Bar, and I would rate them as strong for this plug. The nicotine content is just past the medium threshold. It won’t bite, and has no dull or harsh spots even when pushed. It has few rough edges. The plug has a little density, but is easily broken apart to suit your preference. It’s a little moist, but needs no dry time. Packs well and lights with no trouble. Burns a little slow, cool and clean with a very smooth, very consistent sweet, earthy floral flavor from top to bottom as it easily burns to ash. Requires a few relights, and leaves very little moisture in the bowl. The after taste pleasantly lingers while the strong room note is a little sweet, spicy and very floral. It’s not an all day smoke, though some experienced smokers may consider it to be one, especially if they use a small bowl. Will ghost a briar, and no meer is safe either.

Designed to be in the same family as Condor, this is not a copy of it. There are several differences. This is a little stronger, a little more floral, perfumy, sweeter and spicier. You won’t mistake this for being a Condor clone, but it may appeal to those who smoke it.

-JimInks
46 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 09, 2017 Medium to Strong Medium Full Tolerable
This is a very addicting tobacco. Now I prefer the green to the red label BAR by the same company. Firstly, it is not quite as overpowering nicotine wise. The green label IS pretty strong, though. Id rate it a notch below full-on-strong. A bit like Bosun Cut plug compared to something like gawith's 1792. But it is above medium in nic hit. The taste is full, flowery (in a good Victorian sort of way) and the smokey tasty flavor of the dark cured leaf is present all the time. Its a rich very satisfying plug -- though as someone else said, its not really a true plug. Its more a cross between a krumble cake and a plug. I used a sharp knife to simply shave the amount of tobacco i needed and it smoked easily from there on. (The red Bar is harder to keep lit IMHO). This is a new classic id say. Im ordering more.
PurchasedFrom: 4noggins
16 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 27, 2016 Strong Mild to Medium Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
Like War Horse Bar, the overall impressions come more from the flavoring than the tobaccos, although hints of the Kentucky come through and the underlying VAs are just continually present here. Part of the flavorings are much milder versions of the cocoa, with hints of coffee and tonquin, found in the Bar. There is also a hint of the same flavor found in Condor Longcut, and perhaps a hint of menthol in the aftertaste. I found the flavors milder than those in the Bar, if a bit more varied.

The bar seems to be between a plug and a heavily-pressed crumble cake, but it breaks apart fairly easily. The N is well-hidden at first, but it does sneak up on you throughout the bowl. Unless you already smoke ropes and other heavy-N blends, this isn't an all day smoke. It lights easily, but does need a relight or two more than usual after the first half of the bowl.
Pipe Used: briars, cobs, and meers
PurchasedFrom: pipes & cigars
Age When Smoked: 3 months after purchase
12 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 27, 2016 Medium to Strong Medium to Strong Medium to Full Pleasant
Ironically this arrived a few days after another sample of a notorious tobacco. Enthusiasm runs high for the re-boot of the War Horse bar of old, and the "green" version crumbled easily from the cake -- sorry, it is more like a cake than a plug -- and fell into the pipe. Lighting it up brought a strange sense of deja vu. This flavor was so familiar... so distinctive... and the room note so similar... what could it be? The answer is "Mixture 79": a straight-up Burley seasoned with anise, wintergreen and floral elements. The same flavoring is here, as is the "toasted marshmallows" room note that family and friends prefer to the usual miasma of mundungus and roasted Burley. Underneath that onslaught of flavoring, the Burley makes itself known, with a sweet harmony from Virginia tucked up inside and then a top crest of the Dark Fired Kentucky. The result tastes like pan-seared Burley with an aftertaste of Virginia, and is not brutally strong like the original, but serves as a good solid after-dinner smoke. If you like aromatics, this top note is pleasant and room note is cheesy but inoffensive. For those who are hoping for the original, this blend is not the bulldozer that the War Horse bar was, but it is a good casual smoke that will not put you on the floor but will not wimp out either. Let us hope it can be achieved at normal domestic prices instead of boutique sticker shock, and this could be a regular smoke.

Thanks to Pipes Magazine forum member "cosmic" for this sample.
10 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 20, 2017 Medium to Strong Medium Full Very Pleasant
While I find this topping a little less "perfumey" than the one on WH Bar, it's also a bit stronger and sublimates the natural tobacco flavors to a greater extent. It's those natural flavors that make me like Bar as much as I do. I find them to be delicious. Can barely taste them here. Not a bad smoke, but I'll take Bar over this every time.

Medium to strong in body. Full in taste. Flavoring is medium. Burns fairly well.
Pipe Used: MM Little Devil Cutty, Little Devil Acorn, Marcus
PurchasedFrom: pipesandcigars.com
Age When Smoked: fresh
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 24, 2017 Medium to Strong Medium Medium Tolerable
I very much enjoy Condor and as this blend was an attempt to catch the general flavor profile of Condor, I was eager to try it. As others have said, this is not a copy of Condor, rather has a heft and manner that are certainly in the same genre. Whereas the predominate flavors I find in Condor are pine and anise, War Horse Green is cocoa and anise. I enjoyed War Horse Green quite a bit, but it doesn't scratch the Condor itch. The cake has a nice flaky texture that is easily broken apart for packing and the tobacco smokes cool and easy. As its own thing, this is a nice tasty scented tobacco that I think most lovers of Lakelands would enjoy.
Pipe Used: Peterson meerschaum Rhodesian
PurchasedFrom: smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: fresh
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 03, 2017 Mild to Medium Strong Medium to Full Pleasant
Whew! i was not expecting or ready for the initial blast of wintergreen even though i had read the reviews prior to purchase. My brownie arrived in the tin under a round black piece of paper inside the usual Dunhill like white wrapper liner surrounding the bar. At first it seemed very hard and pressed but as i started cutting with my giant Frost Cutlery Pig Sticker i use for plugs it started crumbling and made it easy to just tear a piece off and rub out. The first light blasts you with root beer and wintergreen and an exhale of licorice. I was thinking I've had this flavor before but where? Then it hit me, Mixture 79!! Even if you hate 79 i would try this as the tobacco is much more forgiving than the Burley used in 79, that Burley is sharp and gets bitter fast, this stays smooth and has sweet spots mixed with the strength of the Dark Fired. This is a really love it or hate it blend, i should have started with the unflavored version but i am really starting to enjoy the marshmallow taste and aroma the toppings provide. But still this is not my cup of tea, i am teetering on two or three stars, i would recommend it to someone who loves floral, Lakeland type blends but i will not purchase the Green again, i would go with the Red....
Pipe Used: Cob dedicated to Aromatics
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 17, 2019 Very Strong Strong Very Full Strong
War Horse - War Horse Green.

Although it's badged as a plug, fear not. WHG isn't a plug like 3P's or Revor, where a sharp blade, or even a coffee grinder are a requisite. Yes, it's a plug, but more of a firm kake than a steadfast plug. A bowls worth can easily be removed from the block by hand, and then it crumbles perfectly; the hydration aids this, being spot on. In the aroma the anisette comes over strongly.

The smoke? Imagine banging something mildly floral/Lakeland, like St Bruno, on steroids, and then you'll get the idea! The anisette governs the added flavourings, with a floral underscore. Of the tobaccos I get far more fiery Kentucky and coarse Burley, than fresh Virginia; FAR MORE. The burns decent, once it's burning it goes reliably, steady, with the number of relights being easily left uncounted; it needs none unless left to sit unattended! I notice, if puffed in a voracious manner, the smoke creeps above warm and tends to bite; so a gentle technique ameliorates the enjoyment!

Nicotine: loads. Room-note: urgh.

War Horse Green? A very heady smoke, considering the strong Kentucky and potent topping. Albeit, I'll happily recommend it:

Three stars.
Pipe Used: Altinok Lee Van Cleef: Friday pipe
PurchasedFrom: Smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: 4 months
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 25, 2017 Medium Medium Full Tolerable to Strong
The plug smells quite intensely of anise and chocolate, it can be peeled off with just the fingers, a knife is not essential. It comes in a good moisture level to smoke straight away.

Lights easily and produces a full bodied but smooth smoke of medium strength where the dominant aromas are a sweet mix of anise (or rather anisette, the anise flavored liqueur) with tonquin or vanilla, cocoa and a whiff of mint. At least this is what I am getting. I am not a great fan of anise (I do not particularly like pastis, ouzo etc.) but here the anise is smoothed out by the sweeter vanilla-like aromas and I really like War Horse Green. As I smoked down the bowl I tended to forget the toppings and taste the tobacco better. And what I get most is the dark-fired Kentucky.

It burns slow, cool and dry and to the last shred to a fluffy grey ash. Room aroma is sweet but quite strong, it’s not a discreet room note.

The anisette flavouring reminded me of Half & Half, which I did not like, and that was some 25 years ago…
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 26, 2017 Medium Strong Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
First of all, this is not a plug at all, which is made with whole stripped leaves layered and compressed. This is a crumble cake, which is made of cut tobacco that is compressed. In this case, unlike a plug, the cake falls apart easily and can be rubbed out basically to dust with your fingers.

I'm a big fan of lakelands, specifically GH&Co's scented flakes. I also love 1792 flake, and like Condor. This is nothing like any of those. The flavor and scent here tastes and smells like cleaning chemicals to me. In the tin this smells like Juicy Fruit gum, and when smoking -- especially early in the bowl -- the chemical taste kind of ruins the experience, it reminds me of chlorine. Like when you accidentally get pool water up your nose or in your mouth. Sweet chlorine, but chlorine nonetheless.

All that said, it smokes very well and the actual tobacco components have a nice body and flavor. Maybe whatever is in the topping on this one just doesn't agree with my palette for some reason as it seems well regarded by other reviewers, but for me this was a disappointment.

1.5/4 stars
Pipe Used: Cobs... definitely cobs
PurchasedFrom: P&C
Age When Smoked: ~6 months after purchase
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"