War Horse War Horse Green

(3.00)
From P&C's web site: War Horse Green uses the same base tobaccos as War Horse Bar, but with a unique and decidedly more aromatic top note than the original. There are notes here similar to a number of European tobaccos, but made here in the US. Give this singular take on Euro-style blends a try. We think you'll be back time and again.

Details

Brand War Horse
Blended By Russ Ouellette
Manufactured By Sutliff Tobacco Company
Blend Type Virginia/Burley
Contents Burley, Kentucky, Virginia
Flavoring Anisette, Other / Misc
Cut Krumble Kake
Packaging 50 grams tin
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Strong
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Medium to Strong
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium to Full
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.00 / 4
9

11

3

3

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 9 of 9 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 13, 2016 Strong Strong Full Tolerable to Strong
A companion to the new War Horse Bar, it has the same constituent tobaccos. The dark air cured Virginia is tangy dark fruity, toasty, boldly earthy and woody with a little smokiness, sugar and floralness, and fair amount of spice as the lead component. The floral dark fired Kentucky also has a bit of smoke, herbs, vegetation, sourness, nuts, earth and wood, and a touch of cocoa along with a little spice. It is a supporting player. The burleys offer a lot of earth, wood,nuts and bread in the third slot. Almost equaling the burley is the tangy ripe, fermented, sugary dark fruit red Virginia, which also offers some tart and tangy citrus, earth, bread and wood. The toppings are the very richly sweet, incense/floral, and fairly perfumy heliotrope along with a deep anise extract, and a tonquin-like essence. They do sublimate the tobaccos a lot; more so than the toppings do for the Bar. They also work well together to create a compatible contrast to the varietals. The strength and taste levels are not quite as strong as the Bar, and I would rate them as strong for this plug. The nicotine content is just past the medium threshold. It won’t bite, and has no dull or harsh spots even when pushed. It has few rough edges. The plug has a little density, but is easily broken apart to suit your preference. It’s a little moist, but needs no dry time. Packs well and lights with no trouble. Burns a little slow, cool and clean with a very smooth, very consistent sweet, earthy floral flavor from top to bottom as it easily burns to ash. Requires a few relights, and leaves very little moisture in the bowl. The after taste pleasantly lingers while the strong room note is a little sweet, spicy and very floral. It’s not an all day smoke, though some experienced smokers may consider it to be one, especially if they use a small bowl. Will ghost a briar, and no meer is safe either.

Designed to be in the same family as Condor, this is not a copy of it. There are several differences. This is a little stronger, a little more floral, perfumy, sweeter and spicier. You won’t mistake this for being a Condor clone, but it may appeal to those who smoke it.

-JimInks
47 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 05, 2017 Medium to Strong Medium to Strong Full Pleasant
I do not like aromatics, I tried the reboot of warhorse ready rubbed and loved it. I waited a year and tried green. I have yet to try bar, but I got free shipping on my order. This is an addicting tobacco that burns into pure ash. I have not had any dottle yet after six bowls, mind you the early Peterson meerschaum lined bowls had briar bottoms. The tin note smells like black licorice and play dough, both of which I love! My daughter took a wiff and told me to try it and I love it. I've had it four days now and I'm already considering buying more.
Pipe Used: 1916 Peterson Meerschaum lined billiard
PurchasedFrom: Pipes and Cigars
Age When Smoked: New
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 15, 2018 Medium Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
This comes as a pressed krumble kake as opposed to a cross-cut krumble kake such as penzance.

Topped with tonquin and anise, the latter much more noticeable in the aroma than the taste. I do not find this floral at all, and I can definitely see the resemblence to condor, albeit this blend is much less scented.

Breaks apart from the square block fairly easily. This is one of the most bite free tobacco blends I have ever tried. I get a faint nougat taste, with a fairly sour red virginia (a good one) backed up by plenty of kentucky.

Can be overy astringent on the nose, so I would recommend a longer straight pipe which keeps the smoke away from one's face.

Seems like a few decades have been rolled back...
Pipe Used: basket and cob
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 06, 2016 Strong Medium to Strong Very Full Pleasant
Oh Gawd, this blend is GOOD!!! If you're expecting CONDOR, forget it - not nearly as floral, IMO (contrary to JimInk's impression), but every bit as flavorful and strong.... satisfying in every way you expected! Destined for classic greatness! Age will only make this more AMAZING!
Pipe Used: Nording Nickel Apple
PurchasedFrom: P&C.com
Age When Smoked: New
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 20, 2023 Strong Strong Medium to Full Pleasant
20230219 - Incredible jar note, mainly get five spice, star anise in particular. Loaded into a Dublin meer, and I get the same thing in the smoke, along with a strong sweetness, maybe some birch beer, sarsaparilla, maybe lilac. Mouth watering. In nearly all aspects, I prefer this to War Horse Bar, not least of all for the consistency of the plug. Much easier to break apart and rub out into fine shag. The flavoring lasts well into the smoke, mainly the star anise and wintergreen, whereas in the bar the topping fades rather quickly. Somewhat less biting as well. There's no getting past the topping, either you love it or you don't; I do. I could see loving bar and hating green, or loving green and hating bar, so I recommend trying both whatever the case may be. Easily on the short list for my favorite so far, and one of the first I'm considering buying in bulk.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 24, 2022 Medium Medium to Strong Full Pleasant to Tolerable
This tobacco strongly smelled like licorice, sort of a vanilla, and a little playdough when I first opened the tin. After a week in a jar it mellowed out. The tobacco comes in a cake, but breaks apart really easy. I rub the tobacco out before loading the bowl. It packs easy, and takes two matches to light it up. I like to smoke it in the morning when I'm walking my dogs. I like to smoke it when I sit on the back patio in the afternoon. It's a good warm weather smoke. The room note is pleasant as far as I know. The licorice, and floral tastes kind of subside during the midpoint of the smoke. A sort of almond cherry flavor can be tasted as the licorice fades, then the Kentucky slowly takes over. The tobacco burns well and does not crash like a lot of aromatics do at the end of the bowl. On occasion War Horse Green seems to draw hummingbirds. If this tobacco is similar to Lakeland style blends, I think I have found what I enjoy. This tobacco doesn't make my clothes stink, doesn't smell like cigarettes, and does not leave a foul taste in my mouth. So there is less complaining from my better half; of course I only smoke pipes outside. I highly recommend this pipe tobacco.
Pipe Used: Falcon Genoa (Hunter)
PurchasedFrom: SmokingPipes.com
Age When Smoked: New
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 11, 2021 Mild to Medium Medium to Strong Medium to Full Pleasant
If you enjoy Russ Ouellette's War Horse Bar, you'll probably enjoy the green version as well.

For reference, here's my review of the red version: https://www.tobaccoreviews.com/blend/10735/war-horse-war-horse-bar#review112776

In the tin, you're greeted with the familiar scent from the red version. It's this mysterious after-shower aroma. I really don't know what it is, but I love it. It's one of those scents that would give me nostalgic memories if I smelled it out of the blue in 10 or 20 years. It just brings a smile. And that's even before the first light.

The main difference from the red version that I can tell is that the green one is stronger in the topping and a bit less in the Kentucky. But make no mistake. This is not a classic aromatic blend. It's still fairly strong, even if not like the red, doesn't bite, and is not goopy or anything. If you want to keep smoking a medium-full-bodied blend with a bit of a kick and a wonderful non-offensive topping, this might be the blend for you.

The spiciness is not felt as strongly compared with the red, although it does sneak in towards the second third of the bowl. The fruit sweetness, on the other hand, is very much still there, alongside the body of warm layer and wood notes from the Kentucky and a bit of cocoa from the Burley.

Despite its current genre in tobaccoreviews.com, I would actually define this as an aromatic although, as I wrote above, it's far from your typical aromatic.

I've smoked this blend in different situations. Working, walking outside, socializing, and sitting on my couch. It's suitable in all situations and is pleasant for those around you. The relative complexity should just be enjoyed. Don't over think it.

Medium-full body, a notch mild-medium strength.

As with the red version, this can be smoked in every shape and size, but I get the most out of it when smoked in a small bowl. In particular, my small apple-shape WDC pipe gets the best result. Both blends also look the same, smell about the same, and behave the same in the bowl.

Some people prefer this version over the red one. But as much as I like the green, the red bar wins. Whatever I get in this version I already get in the red plus more. But don't let the comparison take away from the green. It's still a fantastic blend and deserves the full rating.
Pipe Used: Medium-size billiards and Lovats, small apples
PurchasedFrom: pipesandcigars.com
Age When Smoked: New
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 18, 2023 Medium Strong Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
Every now and then there's a blend that strongly evokes childhood, dreamy memories and War Horse Green activates a sort of Proustian reverie, much like Nightcap, but on the other spectrum.

Whereas Nightcap is a full meal, War Horse Green is a tasty but full dessert or liquor. This has to be my second choice in favorite blends right after Nightcap.

No doubt, after opening the tin, I knew this was going to be a favorite and lighting my first bowl, the sweet taste clung to my lips and continued to appear now and then encouraging me through the evening.

I agree with some of the other reviewers, War Horse Green has a very medicinal, old fashioned taste that pulls me back to Grandmother's house. It evokes memories of Woolworth's, when I was a little boy my mother took me shopping in Upstate New York.

If you want a deeper, more nuanced review there's plenty. I am not a connoisseur but I do want to encourage you to give this blend a try if you like sweet black licorice, smokiness, stirring evocative experiences bordering childhood memories.

I have nothing but positives to say about this blend, it leaves me feeling very satisfied and happy.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 04, 2021 Strong Medium to Strong Full Pleasant
Powerhouse in both taste and strength. Has strong Lakeland feel but not like the Gawith has. Easy to rub out and pack. Comes on strong and stays that way.
Pipe Used: Algerian Dublin briar
PurchasedFrom: Gift
Age When Smoked: Unknown
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"