Samuel Gawith Squadron Leader

(3.37)
Samuel Gawith Squadron Leader pipe tobacco epitomises the traditional English tobacco. Blended dark and bright Virginias, together with Latakia and Turkish leaf results in a perfect, medium bodied product which gives a rich and slow burning smoke.

Details

Brand Samuel Gawith
Blended By Samuel Gawith
Manufactured By Samuel Gawith
Blend Type English
Contents Latakia, Oriental/Turkish, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Ribbon
Packaging 50 grams tin
Country United Kingdom
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant to Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.37 / 4
290

176

65

11

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 31 - 40 of 542 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 25, 2014 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
There isn't much that I can say about this tobacco that hasn't already been said in previous reviews. It is one of the most perfectly balanced English blends that are out there today, and all of the hype is most definitely warranted. I am not one to jump on a bandwagon, but when it's good, it's good. This stuff is AWESOME. No tongue bite whatsoever, even if you get a bit too crazy with the puffing. The latakia is present but definitely not overwhelming. The other tobaccos have plenty of room to make their presence known. It is a wonderful candidate for an all-day smoke. If you like English blends at all, you want this in your pipe. Buy more than one tin, because a single tin just isn't enough.
Pipe Used: LHS Purex, Sasieni
PurchasedFrom: JR Cigars, Statesville, NC
Age When Smoked: Fresh
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 06, 2014 Mild None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
My only regret with SL is that I didn't try it before, as my taste buds took a real pounding from all the heavy Latakia mixtures. The best way, for me, to try Latakia light English tobacco is to stop smoking for a few days, a reset of sorts and then smoke slowly. The tin artwork is great, the smell in the tin is of subdued Latakia some sweetness and an exotic bouquet. It lights easy and burns to a white ash. The mixture reminds me a bit of Presbyterian Mixture but with more Latakia and stronger Virginias and Turkish. A balanced smoke, that I consider an Oriental/"Balkan" mixture.

Virginia lover

7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 03, 2014 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Tolerable
I'm a "long time listener, first time caller" to English blends. After much research, I thought I would start with SL as it has so many, and overwhelmingly positive, reviews. And I admit I'm a sucker for the biplane on the tin. I was a bit put off by the smell from the tin. It wasn't really bad, just unexpected. Added to the woody smell is a bit of a funk. It burned very well, maybe because of the uniformity of the ribbon cut. So I was surprised when I found something that I can only describe as a twig. Not a problem, Just wondering how it got through the system. This definitely has the woodsmoke flavor English's are known for. Easy smoking, no bite, lots of smoke, and stays lit. I'm not sure if I will become an English smoker, but there's nothing wrong with this tobacco. And I now know what an English tastes like. Based on other's reviews, it probably doesn't get much better than this, so I will return someday or maybe try Frog Morton Cellar for a twist on an English.
Pipe Used: Peterson System
Age When Smoked: Fresh from tin
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 11, 2014 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable
A medium-strength Latakia mixture, also containing perique. The smell is fruity and floral. The taste is unique - dry and dark, with a hint of fruit and spice, no doubt from the perique. It is well balanced, and medium-bodied. This is in my regular tobacco rotation.
PurchasedFrom: http://mysmokingshop.co.uk
Age When Smoked: New
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 02, 2014 Medium None Detected Medium Unnoticeable
Beautiful Tin Art-I understand that back in the gap it would have been embossed (bet that looked sweet).

The tin note is scrumptious, and I sense a faint cocoa-like scent. I know that makes little sense, but I got it day one nonetheless.

Upon opening the tin, I reminisce over Willie finding that Gold Ticket, as the pricey gold foil peels back to reveal a compressed block of high quality ribbon. Its densely packed, professionally cut and appearing heavier than 50 gms normally feels to me.

I have burned this without drying-due to great moisture- just springy and slightly tacky upon compression. I find for me this burn well when stuffed, it doesn't burn hot, requires few if any relights. It becomes slightly sweet than slightly sour, moderately high Vitamin N, but solid and good all day long.

I especially like the retrohale. Good quality dependable smoke-which is understandable with its loyal following.
Pipe Used: Bent BC Egg w/9 mm filter, Mizz Meer
PurchasedFrom: Pipes Cigars.com
Age When Smoked: 1 Year
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 08, 2013 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
I'm somewhat of new pipe smoker transitioning away from aromatics and all-Virginia tobacco to English blends. I made the mistake to start of my English blend experience by sparking Dunhill's Nightcap (a VERY good tobacco but way too much Latakia for my taste). Anyways..

So here's my thoughts, as I opened the tin, I noticed that the tobacco was a bit moist, not "wet" as some users described to be. Upon light, I immediately noticed the virginias with a bit of the Latakia as an undertone (like a seasoning). My description was a nice sweet, tangy, hay or glass-like flavor (which was quite tasty actually) with a bit of spiciness, pepper, and saltiness from the Latakia. Everything complimented each other (like any other good tobacco). As I started moving to the mid-bottom of the bowl, the Latakia definitely became more pronounced, the tobacco started giving me stronger flavors of oak, leather, pepper, with a subtle sweetness to it. The vitamin N definitely started hitting me at the near bottom of the bowl. The tobacco smoked all the way through, leaving me with all white ash (although I had to relight a few times).

Overall, it was a very pleasant experience, a great introduction to English blend tobacco. If you're curious about trying English blends, I would definitely start with this one. It's very gentle smoke with lots of flavor. She is a bit hard to keep lit (at least for me), so maybe a little drying might work for this one. I experienced absolutely no bite, it was very cool smoke. I can definitely vouch for all the great reviews of this tobacco and keep this one as one of my "favorites".
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 16, 2012 Medium None Detected Medium Strong
Every time I see people praise SL I can't help but laugh. This tobacco is exact replica of cheap communist-era Eastern European cigarettes. Very cheap Orientals and Lat, but only people who had the "opportunity" to smoke Eastern European cigarettes would know it.

Giving credit where credit is due - it's the only one of the SG tobaccos that is non-aro and therefore could be smoked right out of the tin.
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 24, 2020 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
EDIT [By the end of the tin, I was hungry for more. Gonna have to up this one to 4 stars]

I wanted to do something special for my 300th review, so I decided to finally pop open the much revered/hyped tobacco with a soaring biplane on the tin. In my case, this tin marked the one year anniversary of buying it in Japan, which at the time was the only place that had any!

Cracking the warning seal in a language I couldn't read, revealed some distinct vapors of a smooth English tamed with sour Virgina raisens, that all came together into what I would describe as soft cured leather. The tightly packed, slightly damp ribbons, pressed nicely into my pipe, took a second to light, but smoldered for a good long time. What came next was a very smooth smoke that was unable to bite and delivered a modest nicotine burst. The flavor was fairly one note, yet certainly enjoyable, retaining that previous leather profile.

If you are looking to take a break from a heavy Latakia, charcoal forward English like Nightcap, this may be the perfect plane to board and take your maiden voyage into relaxation. Squadron Leader certainly lived up to the hype and is understandably hard to find, though the product isn't so unique, you shouldn't feel bad if settling on other fine imports of a similar ilk.

*While in Tokyo I visited a few tobacconists, and I definitely recommend a trip to Ginza KIKUSUI. It was fully stocked and staffed by extremely knowledgeable English speakers who came across as traditional butlers ready to serve your every question and need.
PurchasedFrom: Ginza KIKUSUI
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 30, 2019 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable to Strong
I am quite a Newby. So please forgive any errors! This is an English blend in fact it seems to be the quintessential example of that group. I've tried early morning pipe and red rapparee but I prefer this. As it seems less harsh. I can taste the Latakia and I believe the virginias. It burns slowly and did not bite me.

Sadly SWMBO hates the smell so I only indulge when she won't be round for awhile.
Pipe Used: No name Turkish meerschaum
PurchasedFrom: Durham Market tobacconist
Age When Smoked: Just bought
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 30, 2018 Mild to Medium Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant
First I should point out I am new to a pipe some views should be considered naive that is to say I am unable to talk abou they types of tobacco tasted.

First being a fan of WW1 if I can say that without glorifying war. That packaging is amazing who doesn’t want to see a bi plan on the tin.

Initial smell reminds me of a well peated single malt , much like a Talisker.

The initial light is easy and smooth took a single false light then a proper light . The taste reminds me still of talisker , large earthy notes with a pleasant aroma.

Smokes on a. Lorenzo spitfire
Pipe Used: Lorenzo spitfire
Age When Smoked: Newish
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"