Samuel Gawith Grousemoor Plug

(2.96)
The smell of the tobacco is almost that of a flavored tobacco. When it's burning it produces a very sweet aroma at the beginning and then dissipates into a less evident, and yet pleasant, aroma. The taste is also very sweet, without being irritatingly so. Highly recommended if you're after a traditional British Virginia that is serious and yet sweet.

Details

Brand Samuel Gawith
Blended By Samuel Gawith
Manufactured By Samuel Gawith
Blend Type Aromatic
Contents Virginia
Flavoring Other / Misc
Cut Plug
Packaging 50 grams tin, bulk
Country United Kingdom
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Strong
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium to Full
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

2.96 / 4
9

10

6

2

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 20 of 27 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 09, 2015 Mild to Medium Medium to Strong Medium Pleasant
The Virginias are more detectable in this plug form than in the ribbon cut; very grassy and more tart than tangy citrusy with some earth, wood, bread and tangy dark fruit. The toppings are a mix of Lakeland and fruit (seems like sour lemon, orange and a touch of plum), though I only notice a little of the Lakeland (especially when compared to the regular Grousemoor), and not very often once past the first quarter of the bowl. The other toppings seem a little more subdued as well, and I attribute that to the extra fermentation caused by the pressing of the tobacco into a plug. There is a minor sour hit and many tart and tangy notes amidst the sweetness. In plug form, the power is lightly diminished compared to the ribbon cut version, but it’s also a little more well rounded, which is not uncommon. The strength is a step below being medium. The nic-hit is a rung lower than the strength level. The taste is medium. Burns clean, cool and a little slow, and though some prefer to dry it, I do not. Leaves a little moisture in the bowl, but no dottle. Requires some relights. Because it is less aromatic than the ribbon cut, the flavors are a little less intense and more appealing to those opposed to the other manufacture. The after taste lingers a touch less, too. Has a pleasantly lingering room note. It will ghost a briar. Not an all day smoke.

-JimInks
10 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 25, 2011 Medium Medium Medium to Full Tolerable
As a lover of Lakeland style blends, Grousemoor is my favorite Lakeland plug. The plug arrives moist and cuts very easily with a sharp knife. I prefer to smoke it as a small cube cut.

The Lakeland flavoring seems to go in "reverse" direction for me as the scent is much stronger during the first half of the bowl and falls farther back as the bowl nears the end. My opinion of scented tobaccos is that if you don't like the flavor of the scent, it won't matter all that much as to the quality of the tobacco unless the underlying tobacco is really poor. This baccy is of high quality and burns nice and slow. One reviewer described the taste of cookies and I agree. However, those cookies have some floral scent too. It's very tasty. It is hard to smell the room note while smoking it, but my wife was having a bowl and I was surprised to find it to be only tolerable. Unlike 1792 (another SG I like) this blend is nearly as strong, but much softer and sweet. A very unique taste that I'm not sure if I could smoke daily, but excellent just the same. It is a shame that SG doesn't seem to want to capitalize on meeting demand because it is great stuff! Highly Recommended!
10 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 18, 2014 Mild to Medium Medium to Strong Medium to Full Pleasant
I've already posted a review on the regular Grousemoor. I'm not sure if the Plug version is even being made any more. I was able to secure a chunk from a prolific poster of precipitous proximity (there, I have exorcised my alliteration urges for the day). I don't recall what I paid, although I recall it was a bit steeper than most pipe tobacco purchases. Still, I am grateful for having had the chance to get it, as I like this even more than the regular Grousemoor. This is like Grousemoor squared. Not much stronger, but the flavor is a bit more pronounced, and everything I like about its regular sibling is present in spades. If you enjoy the regular Grousemoor and haven't yet had a chance to try the plug version, I recommend you try some if the chance arises. Not everyone will like this, and I see that some prefer the non-plug version more, but for me, this is like bliss with a side of contentment.

Der...I actually finally mustered enough brain power to check SG's own website. Among the blends they list is Grousemoor Plug. While that isn't 100% confirmation they're still making it, I'd wager that they wouldn't list it if they didn't still make the stuff (it's not under any archive or "greatest hits" listing). Now, as to how you go about getting some, well, that's another story.
PurchasedFrom: oh...you can figure that out.
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 03, 2014 Medium to Strong Strong Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
The smell of Grousemoor Plug in the Mason jar is of strong sweet perfume. I know right away it is a Lakeland style blend. I am able to break up the plug using my nails. I prefer to break it into small pieces than rub out a little to get it lit. Whenever I first light Grousemoor Plug, the first taste I get is a sweet floral taste, but I can’t quite describe the exact flavor. Grousemoor Mixture has always been one of my favorite blends and I prefer it to the plug version. The reason is because the plug is much stronger and the flavor of the Mixture is more pleasurable to the end of the bowl.
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 05, 2015 Medium Medium Full Pleasant
Sam Gawith - Grousemoor Plug.

Now, I must admit that after I had sampled the regular Grousemoor I held quite low expectations for this plug version but upon my first puff I found myself intoxicated by the fresh taste! Don't get me wrong, there are one or two minor faults, the first one being the good old Sam G' niggle of moistness! To prepare mine I slice a few thin flakes and then allow them some airing time before crumbling them.

Once in the pipe it lights relatively easily leaving behind a pure white ash. I find the added taste nowhere near as imperious as the regular ribbon version. It has a subtle lemony taste that is less dominant than in the ribbon version but still gives it a good freshness. I disagree with the description where it says "the taste is very sweet". It is quite sweet but the sprightliness of the lemongrass by far outweighs the sweetness. I find the nicotine is at a very amenable amount for me, being not too strong or too little. It takes its time in burning. I don't find myself requiring a refill after a short while, instead it's a good slow smoke to spend quality time with.

I expressed my prior assumptions based on the ribbon version at the beginning and it brings a good old saying to mind.... Never assume as it makes an ASS out of U and ME! Four stars.
Pipe Used: Mr Brog
PurchasedFrom: My Smoking Shop
Age When Smoked: New
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 05, 2012 Medium Very Strong Very Full Pleasant to Tolerable
Grousemoor -- the tinned, shredded leaf version -- became one of my favorites from my first bowl. So when the opportunity arose to get Grousemoor plug I had to give it a go. I actually purchased a pound of the stuff (the minimum I could purchase at the time). I figured I was bound to love it in its more "pure" form. As Jason stated "I wanted to be beaten severely over the head with that floral goodness - and the plug delivered." However, I don't agree with his next statement: "If you like Grousemoor, you'll love Grousemoor Plug."

It came in one giant block, which is fine -- I love the ritual of slicing my flakes. When I first sampled it, I was struck by how intense the flavor was -- I, too, thought I had wanted to be hit on the head with the flavor, but I was surprised when I realized that maybe being assaulted by it wasn't the best way to appreciate it. One may love the taste of capers or marmite, but shoving a handful in your mouth may not be the best way to appreciate them. (Not that this tastes anything like capers or marmite, BTW.) Or, like Pernod, which is too strong a flavor by itself, and really needs to be diluted to appreciate it. Sometimes too much of a good thing really is too much.

A word of advice: Do not give this a try until you have tried the tin version. In short, this is Grousemoor on steroids, so much so that the two versions are almost unrecognizable siblings: The tin version has a strong yet still subtle flavor to it, one that complements the tobacco; this one overwhelms any tobacco flavor.

Aging helps. My first scrapings from the giant slab gave me a flavor that was sharp and "young", like fine wine that hadn't fully aged yet. The plug has now been aging for almost two years, and it's finally starting to mellow so that the flavor is more rounded and mature. I like it more now that it's mellowed a bit from the aging. Indeed I look forward to working my way through the block over the upcoming years. To fine-tune Jason's assertion, perhaps if you love Grousemoor, you'll like Grousemoor plug.
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 07, 2015 Medium Medium Medium Very Pleasant
Not at all like I anticipated. Not only was the leaf difficult to prepare and load, the flavor presentation was nothing like Grousemoor. It reminded me of Mick McQuaid Plug, but was much more crude in performance. And Lord have mercy, this strong fellow will ghost the peewaddle out of your pipe!

2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 21, 2012 Medium Medium to Strong Medium to Full Pleasant
I like this more than Grousemoor Mixture, as the flabouring seems more subdued. The tobacco itself is wonderful and complex. If the topping was cut in half, this would be a great smoke. Cut off a few slices and add to some Medium Virginia Flake.

Like Earl Grey tea, this may have many devotees, but it's just a little over the top for me.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 18, 2010 Medium to Strong Medium Medium to Full Pleasant
A thick heavy, resinous plug with a deep floral, incense-like scent. The leaves peel off easily and can be cut or rubbed to your preference. Difficult to get going but once it starts it burns surprisingly well and rewards the smoker with plumes of floral white smoke. A full bodied perfumed flavour like nothing else. Not something I can smoke all the time but an absolute delight when I'm in the mood.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 25, 2010 Medium to Strong Medium to Strong Full Very Pleasant
Outstanding experience! Easily my favorite smoke.

The plug form allows a nice control over the texture of the tobacco itself. VERY useful when trying to match a bowl shape/size/dimension for optimum burn.

I don't understand anyone saying it tastes like soap. I've had my mouth washed out as a lad several times. Nothing similar there at all. It does have a strong floral SCENT which is very similar to that of fine French milled soaps.

It has a bit of virginia tang that couples with a balancing sweetness.

The floral essence is quite strong in the nose, and does enter a bit into flavor. Not soapy at all! More along the lines of the rosewater that dances in turkish delight candy.

It is a VERY VERY moist brick that ages quite well. Less surface area makes the flavor stay vibrant, yet after a time becomes more unified.

Because it is so moist, it cuts quite easily with a stiff sharp knife.

Generally, I slice strips/flakes across the grain about 2mm thick first thing in the morning, and lay them out to dry during breakfast. After loading the pipe, the rest go into my pocket tin to be used throughout the day (if luck is with me).

Expect to relight unless it's quite purposefully dried.

This has been a consistently enjoyable blend for me.

I can understand however, that it is not universally loved. It is VERY distinctive and not at all similar to many other tobaccos.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 18, 2004 Medium to Strong Extra Strong Overwhelming Tolerable to Strong
Holy monkey crap -- superconcentrated industrial-strength Grousemoor!

The plug version of one of Gawith's most notorious tobaccos is not for the faint of heart. Not only is the tobacco about three times stronger, but the floral taste is overwhelming; it never gives way to the natural tobacco flavor the way the ribbon version does -- hell, it doesn't even leave your mouth for about an hour after you've smoked it. If you hate Grousemoor, avoid this stuff like plutonium.

On the other hand, after smoking this, the ribbon version will seem like a stately, ever-so-slightly flavored smoke...!
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 20, 2020 Mild to Medium Medium Medium Pleasant
Jar not is fresh apricot with a lemon haze. I've already reviewed Grousemoor Blend, so this is quite close. Plug is the easiest I've had to date to slice and rub out. Lighting takes a few goes to get going. Flavour profile is very similar to the blend but here we have a lemon curd rather than a drizzle cake. Others have said that the plug isn't as strong nic as the blend but I found the plug packs a bit more. Very enjoyable experience and can be blended with the ribbon cut of the Grousemoor Blend to tweak the flavour profile. Gorgeous, mad and well worth a try if you are looking for a genuine aromatic that burns clean and leaves very little dottle at the bottom of the bowl.
Pipe Used: Various
PurchasedFrom: GQ
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 27, 2019 Mild Very Strong Medium Pleasant
Excellent stuff, this is a fairly loose plug of bright leaf, drenched in a sweet, creamy, fruity topping. It cuts fairly easily with a sharp knife, and I suggest cutting it thin and not rubbing it out: just load up your pipe and put the crumbs on to as kindling.

The pitfall to this bright Virginia plug is tongue bite: even with the lighting match I can feel it coming, which is actually a useful shot across the bows. To enjoy this plug, and it is delicious, is an exercise in peaceful, slow pipe smoking. Keep it ticking over very gently and you'll be rewarded with a sweet flavour of bread, lemon and sultanas, and bystanders tend to compliment the aroma. If you drive it at all hard it will sting your tongue like a wasp.

The plug is at risk of falling apart, and doesn't seem to last long, much like the Revor plug which is also quite loosely pressed. Nicotine content is restrained but adequate. Interestingly the heavy casing does not seem to have ghosted my falcon bowls.

This stuff is very similar to Erinmore, and bystander has told me it smelt just like what his grandfather smoked that came in a red and yellow tin. The topping here is even stronger than Erinmore, and it has more of a risk of bite, but it's a very enjoyable smoke for the summer months.
Pipe Used: Falcons
PurchasedFrom: Mysmokingshop.co.uk
Age When Smoked: New
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 26, 2018 Medium Mild Full Pleasant
Hey where is that sweetness from the Virginia's it's lemon orangy tangy plum my nose burning but it's my sinuses maybe to sensitive.... But wait it's quarter of the bowl and suddenly I'm getting earthiness sweetness of that fine Virginia's in every sip and this tobacco is meant for sipping like every other fine ones. This is second experience with SG's plugs first was Canon which confuses me but this is straight forward. Plugs needs preparation time but the moisture content are just a step over which I like. It cuts with a little effort with a sharp blade and I packed it without rubbing too much burns find needs some relights though but Oh man! What a reward you get in every sip... Two thumbs up and 4 stars all the way. Best Virginia's experience. Bravo Sam!
Pipe Used: Savinellie rusticated
PurchasedFrom: GQ Tobacco UK
Age When Smoked: 6 months
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 02, 2012 Medium Medium Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
This plug is very moist. I tried it almost a year ago and it was way to moist to smoke. I stored some but left some in a zip lock bag to come back to. I just found the bad and the moister level was almost perfect. 20 min. drying time made a great smoke. The VA is top quality and the lemongrass like flavoring had was not as strong. This is a good quality aromatic.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 04, 2012 Medium Medium to Strong Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
I liked this brick of tobacco even more than the tinned ribbon stuff. Much darker and more intense, this was a much stronger smoke than the other stuff. Sweet with some earthiness, it made for a satisfying smoke. The only thing I didn't like about this tobacco was that it was so moist it was impossible to keep lit. I could dry out the tobacco for hours and it was still too damp to burn well. If I could get the hang of drying this out sufficiently I would give it four stars. A rich and pleasant blend.

Soli Deo gloria!
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 01, 2010 Medium Mild to Medium Medium Very Pleasant
Grousemoor is really a very nice smoke. My two favourite tobacco's are #1 Cob Plug and #2 Grousemoor.

Grousemoor is a lighter smoke than Cob. It has a nice flavour and room note. As I type I am puffing away on a pipe-full of Grousemoor and enjoying it very much.

I find that Grousmoor has a cool even burn with little or no moisture nor nicotine but has a lovely after taste.

Thank you Sam & Co.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 15, 2010 Medium Medium to Strong Full Pleasant to Tolerable
This is a true Lakeland plug. The flavoring is not overwhelming, but it has a definite floral, scented thing going on, and won't be everyone's cup of tea. That said, the tobaccos are top notch, and you can taste them through the flavoring. I liked my first bowl, and will continue experimenting with it. I do get a bit of tongue bite from this, but I also get the same level of bite from Best Brown Flake, and typically lighter Virginias all give me a bit of bite unless they are very carefully blended and either cased or stoved or have cavendish added.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 28, 2010 Mild to Medium Strong Full Pleasant
I had some tinned Grousemoor a short while back and really dug it. I'm into the whole floral/hippie scented thing, so keep that in mind. Anyhow, I heard that the plug version is even stronger as far as the Grousemoor essence goes, so I started seeking. This stuff is REALLY hard to find right now (both tin and plug). With the help of a friend I finally found a source and ordered a 4 oz chunk. WOWZERS! I sure heard right when I heard that the plug version is more Grousemoor-y than the tinned version. It's exactly what I wanted (the tinned Grousemoor is very good but only lightly flavored/scented). I wanted to be beaten severely over the head with that floral goodness - and the plug delivered. If you like Grousemoor, you'll love Grousemoor Plug. It's not for everyone, but it's a delicious treat for those that swing that way.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 03, 2007 Mild to Medium Strong Medium Pleasant
Very sweet and very floral, I wouldn't call it soapy because soap doesn't taste good. This is sweet and floral and leaves a wonderful taste in your mouth and a friendly aroma in the air. The plug arrived very wet and sticky. It is the easiest of the plugs to slice, but it's so wet when you rub it out you can press the tobacco into a ball and it'll stay. That's my only complaint is having to let it dry out for a few hours before smoking. It burned well and cleanly though it did leave some dottle in the bowl but that doesn't bother me. The floral notes lessen throughout the bowl but they do not go away. I like this because it tastes exactly how it smells, it's sweet, and the flavor doesn't disappear like your typical aromatics. This is becoming one of my favorite smokes!
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"