BriarWorks International Bacon Old Fashioned

(2.00)
From Laudisi: Bourbon, citrus and smoky dark fired make this perfect for sippin'. Drink responsibly.

Details

Brand BriarWorks International
Blended By  
Manufactured By Cornell & Diehl
Blend Type Aromatic
Contents Cavendish, Kentucky
Flavoring Bourbon, Fruit / Citrus
Cut Ribbon
Packaging 2 ounce jar
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium to Full
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

2.00 / 4
1

6

4

8

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 8 of 8 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 10, 2016 Mild to Medium Medium Mild to Medium Tolerable
Canadian Host, orange peels, liquid smoke, and Virginia tobacco. My problem is that I like to drink an Old Fashioned occasionally, so trying to smoke one seems counterproductive to start with.

I smoked samples of this before I bought a jar of Pete's Beard, and was immediately turned off. I've had more terrible whiskey aromatics than good ones anyway, without the awful addition of smoke flavor and way too much citrus. Somehow Briarworks managed to replicate the taste of cheap whiskey the morning after. I wanted to brush my teeth and shave my tongue while I was smoking.

Between the two blends, I'm pretty well soured on Briarworks. No offense to whoever loves this stuff, you can smoke it all, I won't be competing for jars of it.
Age When Smoked: fresh
11 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 07, 2019 Extremely Mild Extra Strong Overwhelming Overwhelming
You know when you are so sick you throw up and it comes through your nose. And you can taste it like a retrohale? That's what this taste like. Vomit
Pipe Used: Cob
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 01, 2017 Mild Mild to Medium Medium Tolerable
To make this short, this is the worst tobacco I ever get smoked! I find the taste far from "bacon". It reminded me of being a young student again, smoking some ciggy-butts from the day before, the morning after...
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 29, 2019 Medium Mild to Medium Medium to Full Strong
BriarWorks International - Bacon Old Fashioned.

Hmmmm, not one for my rotation!

As it says, it is indeed a ribbon cut blend. However, sitting underneath the cap to mine was a tobacco leaf about 2 inches long. Huge! It's mostly a medium brown, with good hydration, and a perplexing aroma; peaty, sharp, citrusy, whiskey!

Messy; this word suits the flavour for me. Out of the tobaccos the Dark Fired leads, giving a deep smokiness. The Cav' isn't anywhere near as strong in the smoke. The tobaccos are ok, but the topping doesn't compliment them well, at all. The smokiness is a contradiction to the sharp citrus and acidulous whiskey, so the taste becomes a mess. On the plus side it burns well, back on the lower side of things it bites me.

Nicotine: medium. Room-note: rank.

Bacon Old Fashioned? LOL, I'll stick to having my bacon on a sandwich, not in a pipe! Not recommended:

One star.
Pipe Used: Altinok Lee Van Cleef: My Friday pipe
PurchasedFrom: Smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: New
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 08, 2022 Mild Medium to Strong Medium to Full Tolerable
I bought this bc it was suggested to me to try. I liked the packaging, the components are on point for me, and the label art. And who doesn’t like bacon? I have been waiting to write this, because it’s hard to describe what I experienced.

Aside from being nice looking, this one was rough for me. I’m sure some folks like this, or it wouldn’t exist. The base of the blend would be an unremarkable sort of manly all day blend. That said, the fruit topping is like an orange liquor and the bourbon is reminiscent of old crow. Which is a whiskey best drunk under a bridge. The combination is bizarre. It’s smoky and sour with a fruity note that doesn’t come through as sweet. The bacon smokiness is kind of chemical, like liquid smoke for barbecuing. I’ve never had an old fashioned cocktail, so maybe I’m missing something. Not sure what else to say. Sample with caution.
Pipe Used: Cob
PurchasedFrom: Local b&m
Age When Smoked: Fresh
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 20, 2018 Mild to Medium Extra Strong Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
This blend is just flat out bad. If you do dare to smoke this, I would highly suggest you smoke it in a cob. This blend will leave an orange skid mark in a briar.
Pipe Used: Corn Cob
Age When Smoked: Fresh
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 11, 2017 Medium to Strong Strong Medium to Full Strong
10/1/2021 - update---

I found the rest of the jar from below... 4 years later. I decided I'd brave another bowl to see if age ad somehow done anything to improve this blend.... umm.. no.

2017 Review

The jar note took me back. The first thought was old socks or something rotting. I decided to go ahead and give it a smoke. It was not as bad as the tin-note but the "old fashioned" flavor was missing and all I got was "liquid smoke".

I tried it again a few days later to be sure it just wasn't a bad day on my part and had the same exact experience.

I don't know if I mix this in with something else if it can be saved, but I'll never buy another jar for sure.

Pipe Used: Cob
PurchasedFrom: Smitty's Cigar and Tobacco
Age When Smoked: 6 months
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 28, 2022 Mild to Medium Mild Mild to Medium Tolerable
This is by far the most unsmokable blend I’ve tried. The tin note is awesome. Bacon, smoke, citrus, yum. The taste is like MOLDY old books (not in a good way) and smoky vomit. In fact, the first time I tried it, it was a jar a friend of mine had for a long time. I figured he didn’t store it correctly. Turns out he did. It just tastes that way. Very disappointed considering Briarworks makes one of my all time favorite blends (country lawyer). Most of their blends are so-so. But I’ve not come across one I couldn’t finish… in any brand really. I’m considering throwing out the contents so I can use the jar for something else.

Stay away. Grab some Briarworks unsweetened tea or country lawyer instead! Those are great!
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"