Samuel Gawith Full Virginia Flake

(3.47)
Samuel Gawith Full Virginia Flake is for lovers of pure pressed Virginias. Created in the heart of Lakeland, the hot-pressed blended Virginias take on a delicious and distinctive dark colour that creates a pipe smokers dream, a feeling of calm, serenity and anticipation of the next pipeful. A "must have" for all Virginia lovers. Medium strength.

Details

Brand Samuel Gawith
Blended By Samuel Gawith
Manufactured By Samuel Gawith
Blend Type Straight Virginia
Contents Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Flake
Packaging 50 grams tin, 250 grams box, bulk
Country United Kingdom
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant to Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium to Full
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.47 / 4
394

119

72

20

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 10 of 20 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 03, 2014 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant
I'm not a huge fan of straight Virginias, but I enjoy quality VAs and VA/Pers now and then. Given the hype surrounding this iconic VA, I gave it a try.

Tin note was interesting, not great. Hay and fresh grass, but not very vibrant. Kind of flat, even a bit sad. Flakes were damp and limp compared to others I've tried. Burn was lousy despite using multiple approaches. Plenty of relights and more than one bite.

Maybe this would be better with some age, but compared to other VAs of similar age, it just struck me as a lousy tobacco. (Admittedly, I could be approaching this the wrong way, but I have not found similar blends this fussy.) It also seemed like a lot less care goes into the packaging than with other brands. I'd be OK with that for the right price or a quality tobacco, but that wasn't my experience at all.

Bad tin? Bad day on the Gawith factory floor? Maybe. I'm not planning to buy any more of it though. Life's too short and there are better VAs out there, in my non-expert opinion.
15 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 16, 2003 Medium to Strong None Detected Extremely Mild (Flat) Tolerable
I don't get it, I just don't get it!!! I've read hundreds of notes singing the praises of this flake..."Oh, it smokes so cool", "Yum, it tastes sooooooo good", " I am smoking it right now in my Abbott & Costello, who's on first pillow shaped cardboard freehand and I'm having an epiphany and my life is now complete and I will go to join my maker right after I tamp this down"! Well, here's my thing. I Don't Like This Flake!!! I like other Va/flakes. I like other Va/flakes from S.G.. I've tried it in many differt pipes...don't like it! I've been ageing my stash for over 4 years under a good vacuum and have sampled it every one of those years to monitor its progress...don't like it! I have folded whole flakes, rubbed it out corsely and fine, broken it into manageable pieces, cut it into cubes...don't like it! Smoked it wet, smoked it dry, smoked it in-between...Don't like it! Don't think it has much aroma. I find that it doesn't burn very well for me. I can't taste it very much 'cause the Tongue-Bite demon tends to rip my mouth to shreds no matter how slowly I sip. Don't like it! If anyone feels that I'm hiding my true feelings about this Flake, feel free to e-mail me and I will endevor to be more clear. In conclusion, for a long time I had massive feelings of inadequacy over this (Everyone likes it...what's wrong with me?!?). However, after a year of intensive therapy I now believe that I'm OK and you are all Pod-People!!!
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 25, 2010 Medium to Strong None Detected Very Full Very Strong
I could have saved some money & just purchased a couple of cheap cigars. I really didn't like this stuff, I tried every way in the world to enjoy it thinking maybe it was my packing/smoking method or my pipe. Smoked it slow, smoked it fast, did the 50% method, did the folding method, tried it in a car, tried it at a bar...I realize a lot of people like this tobacco, and I will say, without apology, that I am not a fan.
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 07, 2021 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant
I can't get this stuff to smoke well for me. I've been trying for ten years now. I'm a Virginia veteran, but there's something about Sammy G's flakes that make them almost fire-proof. It's a damn shame, because it's a really fine tobacco. Really fine. But it's not worth the 6 months of dry time needed to get it flammable. Granted, people smoke it moist, as I have, but it really only opens up when it's dry and stays lit on its own, which is as often as the ocean catches fire (maybe that's a bad analogy...). Nevertheless, you get really wonderful floral tea notes and matured grass/hay/leaves when the planets are aligned on the fifth Sunday of the harvest moon at 291 feet above sea level standing on one foot twenty-nine minutes before the cock crows and it's finally smoking well for about fifteen seconds.
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 20, 2022 Very Mild Mild Mild Tolerable
This tobacco used to be one of my favorites, though I'd never gotten around to reviewing it. Perhaps three years ago several of the 250 gr boxes became available and I purchased approximately 40 of them as I'd been meaning to put away a good amount.

When I opened the first box I was met with something unfamiliar and altogether different from what I was expecting. Everything was different---not a single dimension left unchanged. The cut of the flake, the quality of the leaf, the depth of flavor.

I thought I'd got a bad box and opened another. Same thing. The earlier FVF was thinly sliced, moist and almost completely dark-brown to black and had a wonderful depth of flavor fresh out of the box. The current production were thicker cut, dry and flat, straw and hay--looked like something a German company would make.

Many of the other flakes and plugs have suffered the same fate. I've just rub out a portion of the new RB Plug and it's a ghost of its former self. It's all straw and hay, airy and thin, not like the rich punchy Virginia of old. A real shame, frankly.

I've lost the desire to purchase any more Samuel Gawith tobacco, though I understand that many younger smokers, not having sampled the earlier confection, don't much mind, and even some seasoned smokers don't seem to detect much difference.
Pipe Used: Every size and shape
PurchasedFrom: Every vendor imaginable
Age When Smoked: Prior to, and after 2015
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 16, 2018 Mild None Detected Mild Tolerable
Overrated Hype Blend! Wet (albeit beautiful flakes) that needs a whole days worth of drying minimum to smoke, that’s only a decent Virginia blend at best. In an oversized tin with a skimpy ration of overpriced Virginia flakes that’s half water weight. No Thanks!
Pipe Used: Cobs, Briars, and Meers
Age When Smoked: 1 year
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 07, 2017 Extremely Mild None Detected Extremely Mild (Flat) Unnoticeable
Maybe it's just me ? Does anyone else feel ripped off?

I bought two tins after reading the reviews on this page, a waste of money. The flakes are beautiful dark brown nice and thick heavy even. Don't you know I was ready for a good smoke. Tin note only added to my anticipation, sweet fruity aromas I have never seen a more mouth watering presentation . After drying (which you have to do) appox. an hour or so it was time to light up. I rubbed out for easy lighting and packing and stroke the match. Absolutely no taste. Where is the citrus, grassy hay, even the " essence of Lakeland " was not noticeable. If you ever smoked cigarettes , you just paid almost ten dollars for some. Will not buy again. Will stick to Pete Stokkeby Luxury Navy Flake more flavor and cost less
Pipe Used: AGED briars
PurchasedFrom: Smoking Pipes
Age When Smoked: Fresh
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 13, 2022 Strong None Detected Extremely Mild (Flat) Pleasant
I realy wanted to like this tobacco but to me its just flavourless. I have smoked other virginias that were said to be mild but none have been as bland as FVF. I have tried it at various moisture levels and in different pipes but all my efforts were futile. Maybe there is something wrong with me as so many seem to love it. The nicotine content is quite potent tho wich surprised me considering how mild the taste is (to me)
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 18, 2017 Mild to Medium Very Mild Medium Tolerable
I don't get it. This is a monochromatic, boring Va flake. The moisture level is not bothersome to me, and it works fine either fully rubbed or fold and stuff, though smoking it in flake form requires more relights. I am convinced that pipe smokers are indeed human beings, subject to the same Laws non-pipe smoking humans are; namely Human Nature. Not every new version of tobacco is worse than the original (though distan ... err, discontinued blends makes the palate grow fonder), and plenty of tobaccos' fan fair exceed the actual product and people jump on the band wagon. Like this one. A bunch of hoopla over a rather boring Va is what FVF is.

Yea, it is a good, quality tobacco (in a world of many good tobaccos), but it is an incredibly boring smoke. I'll finish the tin, grudgingly and in bored fashion, but I'll not be replacing it with another. There are only so many bowls of tobacco you can smoke a day, and there are far, far too many other Va tobaccos with more complexity and personality, capable of delivering everything FVF has, and then some, to bother with this one taking up any of that precious and limited time ...

The Gawaith Lakeland Essence/Soapy Flowers is MOST DEFINITELY present in this flake. It is quite light, more noticeable early in the bowl while going slow, but is ever present throughout the smoke. I point that out not to be contentious with the reviewers that say otherwise and none is present, but because people can tend to be more sensitive to things they have an aversion to. So, if one does have an aversion to the Lakeland Flowery Soap, it is most definitely there in this flake. I don't have an aversion to it, and its presence is actually a redeeming quality trying to provide at least some dimension, and melds quite well with the Va in its lightness. But, redemption aside, this is a 2-2.5 star tobacco for me that gets a 1 star rating for being way overhyped ...
Pipe Used: Nuttin' but Cobs for me ...
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 03, 2016 Medium None Detected Mild Tolerable
Summary: a solid hay-flavored Virginia mellowed by stoving, but still sweet and with bite if puffed rapidly.

Stoved Virginia is both an ingredient in classic English mixes and a blend type on its own, favored for its sweet gentle flavor. Unlike the darker stoved/pressed varieties, "Full Virginia Flake" retains its bright sweetness, hay-like flavor and hints of citrus. It smokes cool and mellow, with medium Nicotine dosage, and will only bite if puffed rapidly. It is also one-dimensional without much internal variation, like a cigarette. "Full Virginia Flake" serves its genre well and will delight smokers who want something slow and sweet to puff on.

Thanks to Pipes Magazine forum member "aggravatedfarmer" for this sample.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"