Samuel Gawith Best Brown Flake

(3.39)
A firm favourite for the pipe smoker looking for a medium strength, gentle and slow burning tobacco. Manufactured using hand-stripped flue cured Virginias with no flavours added, Best Brown will reward with a cool, sweet smoke with a delectable aroma and good sidestream. Mild to medium.

Details

Brand Samuel Gawith
Blended By Samuel Gawith
Manufactured By Samuel Gawith
Blend Type Straight Virginia
Contents Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Flake
Packaging 50 grams tin
Country United Kingdom
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant to Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.39 / 4
158

98

29

7

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 41 - 50 of 292 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 18, 2014 Mild None Detected Very Mild Unnoticeable
I love Samuel Gawith tins with Squadren Leader and Skiff being personal favorites so I was excited about this one after reading the reviews. But after bowl after bowl, smoked just about every way possible I have come to the conclusion BBF is not for me. I rubbed it out, I dried it out. I smoked it from the tin. I've broke some up and stored it in a jar and gave it a few weeks. I rolled and stuffed it, with all these methods in different pipes. I found BBF VERY one diminsional and lacking in variation and taste. The sweetness is tasty when it hits you, but comes off too mild, and subtle for my taste. I found myself working to hard to get something out of this blend.

I will celler it and come back to it later to see if some time has helped it. I love Virginias, and though VA blends are traditionaly mild, this was not what I was expecting. This was more mild than medium though it is listed and promoted as a medium strength. After trying BBF I went back and re-read some of the reviews and noticed others have experienced It's more on the mild side as well.
PurchasedFrom: JR Cigars
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 22, 2011 Mild to Medium Very Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Having read the reviews on this site, I ordered a 50 gr tin, which I have almost emptied by now. Opening the tin was a disappointment - albeit expected as I had previously tried the FVF from the same producer. The slices seem to have been thrust into the tin with a coal shovel. Moisture way too high (a few hours drying time is highly recommended). Next disappointment is the stronly varying thickness of the slices and the fact that they are 'burned' together quite a lot. This means you have too much preparation before you can fill the bowl of your pipe to avoid cluttering and endless relights. When you finally get there, the taste/strenght/smell is after all quite pleasant - but not outstanding compared to many other flakes, I know of. My favourites will still be Dunhill Flake, Solani 633, Solani Silver and a few others - all of which presents you with quality leaf and packing to justify their relatively high prices. As for BBF: Now I've tried it, but I honestly do not concur with the general 'hype' - for me it is a no go.
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 27, 2011 Medium Mild Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
Probably one of my favorite VA flakes. Easy on the tongue compared to McClelland offerings.

I opened a tin of this back in 06/08, and the moisture content 3 years later is still perfect. Tin aroma reminds one of fresh cut hay. Easy to enjoy as long as it is dried out a bit.

You will enjoy a rich, leathery smoke out of this flake, straight forward tobacco flavor, with just a hint of Lake spice.

Paired well with a Johnny Walker Gold.
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 27, 2009 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Update 09-20-2009: More smoke this tobacco and more I appreciate its incredible purity and quality. Dante Alighieri said: "nulla è più buono dell'uovo col sale" (transl. nothing is better than an egg with salt)he meant that the simple things are things better.

Smoking BBF I can understand why.

Original review: This is a wonderful Virginia! I agree completely with both the caption on the tin and with the previous reviewers. What I was pleasantly impressed is the high quality of the leaf and its perfect maturity and seasoning. The smoke is smooth, cool, velvety, with deliciously sweet taste, aroma and flavour of grain and delicate herbs. Smoking it is very relaxing, highly recommended.
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 04, 2009 Medium None Detected Mild Tolerable
OCT. 2009 UPDATE: Upgrading to four stars. With more experience with this blend, and having smoked some well-aged BBF, this is now easily a four-star weed. I'm applying the same rule to this as I do to FVF: only smoke it aged, never green.

ORIGINAL REVIEW: Remember the job of the court jester? He tasted the King's wine to be sure it was good and that it wasn't poisoned. That's the kind of service I wish I had for BBF - a jester to smoke the first half-bowl for me so I can start half way through.

The flakes are just a bit too moist from the supplier. Took a while to get it to burn consistently because I didn't let it dry first like I should have. Finally it settled down, but unfortunately to a rather one-dimensional taste.

After my hypothetical jester has smoked the first half of the bowl for me I'll gladly take over. That's when the flavor begins. Typical sweet flavors and richness come in if you nurse it carefully.

Is it worth smoking a boring smoke for a half hour in order to get at the good part? I guess it depends on my mood. It gets three stars because patience really pays off with this one.
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 29, 2008 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Tolerable
Sweet, grassy, easy smoke. I piggyback Best Brown Flake onto most of my orders now.

What's it like? More virginia-y than Golden Sliced - akin to Mac Baren Virginia number 1 but no honey topping I guess.
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 08, 2002 Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
A favourite amongst smokers of the Gawith range, it is very similar to its more robust cousin Full Virginia Flake. Brown Flake is perhaps creamier and smoother, a natural Virginia no doubt, but with a very discreet chocolaty undertone when smoked (for many reviewers this undertone is referred to as a ?soapy? taste). Medium strength, the flakes are visually very attractive, a light brown hue with some darker strands, with a softer texture than FVF. On opening the tin you are greeted by the natural aroma of tobacco. There is no ketchup-like scents (e.g. McClelland?s Vas.) or dry raisins/molasses whiff (e.g. Dunhill?s Light Flake and some Rattrays Vas.). Brown Flake is very tightly pressed, making it a little bit difficult to rub it out, pack (it is easy to clog the bowl if not done carefully) and light. But once this is achieved the smoking experience, without being out of this world, is very nice, very sober and long lasting. For an experienced smoker this flake may be on the dull side, but if trying to break away from aromatics it is an excellent example of what smoking a natural pipe tobacco means. As with virtually all Virginias puffing slowly is advised, though I don?t find Brown Flake to have a tongue biting tendency on its own. Not my first choice for a straight Virginia smoke, but definitely a recommended natural and friendly tobacco.
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 21, 2001 Medium Extremely Mild Medium Tolerable
Best Brown can best be described as a medium strength english style flake that comes off as something less than ho-hum at first glance. It has a very finicky personality and many have given up trying to figure this one out. Don't plan on making any final thoughts on this tobacco until you've smoked at least a dozen bowls - for it is difficult to know. If Best Brown was a person, he/she would be very shy and not likely to warm up to you until you earnd its trust.

I smoked quite a bit of this before stumbling onto the fact this tobacco smokes far better in broken flake form than rubbed up. Just as well because it doesn't rub out very well to begin with. It helps to take a bit of the tobacco and let it get dry as a bone, pulverize it and use on top as a fire starter. I keep some set aside just for this purpose.

What Best Brown looses in initial excitement, it more than makes up for in subtlety. It's somewhat one dimensional in taste, but is never boring. Similar tobaccos include Rattray's Brown Clunee and F&T's Special Brown Flake. This tobacco also doesn't change much with a DGT technique. In fact, it's better smoked beginning to end. It burns to a very fine soft white ash and makes only a gradual shift from beginning to end. DGT tends to muck up the flavors and once it starts getting good again, it's over.

This tobacco does have a very mild honeydew sweetening, but really doen't show itself until more than half way through. Tin aroma isn't real noticable until you've had it bulked up in a jar for awhile. Room note is pleasant and doesn't recieve any complaints. Since the tobaccos used are are african virginias, the taste is much more subtle and less earthy than their american counterparts. Stronger in nicotine, there is also little or no bite provided you don't over do it.

I wouldn't term this as an all day smoke, but one could smoke it almost exclusively if willing shell out the pesos to do so. I would say its more suited to veteran smokers, but those with lesser skills should also find it enjoyable as an occasional smoke. My number one caution with this flake is not to dismiss it right off and try it in many different pipes. There is no rhyme or reason, but Best Brown definitely has a preference for some pipes and not others. Again, she is a fickle beast. Take some time to get to know it and you may find this becomes one of your staples, as it has become one of mine. Highly recommended!
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
MM
Jul 01, 2022 Medium None Detected Medium Tolerable to Strong
This tobacco is almost nearly perfect. Tasty and sweet. High quality leaf that comes in a broken flake form. I find the slight problem with Best Brown is its inconsistent burn but taking away a star from the four would be an unfair penalty. A highly satisfying delicious treat that always delivers.
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 29, 2020 Mild None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
As a true Virginia lover, I tend to think of BBF like I would of a - very - nice guy. Not the most complex in the room, not the tastiest, not the deepest, but always - very - nice. It's my reset button between bowls of Blue Capstan and FvF, the Virginia I enjoy without thinking. Goes well with a nice walk, a book or a movie, and never fails you. I'd have given 3.5 Stars if I could. I won't mention the flake form and moisture level as I always crumble my flakes down to small strands and let dry a bit if needed.
Pipe Used: Stanwell Poker
PurchasedFrom: Berlin
Age When Smoked: 9 Years
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"