Samuel Gawith Best Brown Flake

(3.39)
A firm favourite for the pipe smoker looking for a medium strength, gentle and slow burning tobacco. Manufactured using hand-stripped flue cured Virginias with no flavours added, Best Brown will reward with a cool, sweet smoke with a delectable aroma and good sidestream. Mild to medium.

Details

Brand Samuel Gawith
Blended By Samuel Gawith
Manufactured By Samuel Gawith
Blend Type Straight Virginia
Contents Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Flake
Packaging 50 grams tin
Country United Kingdom
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant to Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.39 / 4
158

98

29

7

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 151 - 158 of 158 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 30, 2005 Medium Very Mild Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
Yum. BBF has a pleasant mild haylike aroma which is nice; not in a strong grassy sense, but just there. I particularly enjoy the natural sweetness present. You can tell that there are no detectable additives; just pure and natural virginas. BBF is lighter in flavor than FVF and leave a more dry but refreshing aftertaste in one's mouth. I highly recommend this tobac.

Update April 2005:

If Mr. Pease begins Montgomery's tin description with "Virginias, Virginias, Virginias!", then BBF's should begin with "Wow, Incredible, The Best!" Sorry, but BBF, in my very humble opinion, is still the gold standard for Virginias.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 12, 2005 Mild None Detected Medium Pleasant
After reading many favorable reviews of this tobacco I decided to give it a try. My first impression after a few bowls was "so, what's the big deal here?". I just couldn't detect anything but the mildest and monochromatic flavor and aroma... burning dried grass was more impressive.

But right around the time I got through half the tin I came to see the light. Maybe it took awhile for the dedicated pipe to "take" to this tobacco but once it finally did, I couldn't smoke enough of this stuff. This became one of my favorite "all day" type of smokes although the price has redefined the term "all day" to mean "once a day".
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 20, 2005 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
BBF is a great yet difficult tobacco to appreciate. It requires your attention and the right pipe.Its charm is most of the time hidden under a decent and cool smoke. It provides though some sudden bursts of incredible taste unmatched by most other VAs. It is one of my top favorites and a must in my cellar.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 12, 2005 Medium None Detected Medium Very Pleasant
A home run in every category and in its class I have yet to find its superior.

Update: All around in my top Virginia blend category. If this is topped with an aromatic additive, it is utterly unobstructing to real tobacco enjoyment.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 15, 2004 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
On the seventh day, after making coffee, God packed a bowl of BBF.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 22, 2004 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant
oooheeeee!!! I am presently on my 1st tin of this magical weed. I am taken to another place far away where the experience of smoking this transcends. This is one remarkable tobacco. It comes is post it note style slices and falls apart easily enough to rub out without any difficulty. Relatively easy to pack once rubbed out. Flame hits weed and you are off. The flavours are delicious and the spicy side is up front. It is hard for me to believe there is no perique in this blend. I am sold. This stuff along with Paul Olsens MOB 111 have been my big finds the past few weeks. Pipe smoking has reached a new level for me. 5 out of 5.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 06, 2003 Medium to Strong Medium Medium Pleasant
I just recently discovered this wonderful flake. It isn't terribly complex, but it is steady and flavorable. It has a sweet, almost chocolate-like favor. (Chocolate is a strange word to use for tobacco, but that's as close as I can get.) It's a lot like Full Virginia Flake, but it's not as strong, which is a big plus for me. Relax, smoke it slowly, and it will grow on you. I'm already adding this to my cellar.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 16, 2002 Medium Extremely Mild Medium to Full Tolerable to Strong
I am a Virginia fan. I am a VA fanatic. The richer the VA the better IMHO. This Samuel Gawith flake fits right in to "genre" of rich virginia flakes. Others have found this to have a "soapy" taste. After a couple of tins, I have not yet found there to be any soapy taste at all.

This flake is similar to the S. Gawith Full Va Flake but a little lesser in strength. It seems to me though that there is an additional subtle sweetness, maybe a little vanilla that adds to the appeal of the flake.

This is a little tough to light but once this is accomplished Best Brown burns completely to a fluffy white ash leaving the pipe walls clean.

I love this stuff. I give it a five x five.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"