Samuel Gawith Best Brown Flake

(3.39)
A firm favourite for the pipe smoker looking for a medium strength, gentle and slow burning tobacco. Manufactured using hand-stripped flue cured Virginias with no flavours added, Best Brown will reward with a cool, sweet smoke with a delectable aroma and good sidestream. Mild to medium.

Details

Brand Samuel Gawith
Blended By Samuel Gawith
Manufactured By Samuel Gawith
Blend Type Straight Virginia
Contents Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Flake
Packaging 50 grams tin
Country United Kingdom
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant to Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.39 / 4
158

98

29

7

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 91 - 98 of 98 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 28, 2006 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium Pleasant
I have to agree with Pipepundit. This is a very pipe choosey flake. My first few bowls of this were uneventful. Then I tried it a dublin which I reserve for Cob plug. (Interestingly, I picked up NO tonkin flavoring crossover). I keep the cake in this pipe a little thicker at the bottom, as in conical. Best Brown sings in this pipe. A little sweet, a little nutty, a little caramel (very little) at times, and very smooth. If it smoked this well in more of my pipes it would be my all day flake, replacing Full Virginia. Recommended. Highly recommended for those with the patience to let this flake pick it's own pipe. Smoke it up.

Oh yeah, almost forgot.. . in reference to FVF, my experience is that Best Brown comes, in bulk at least, more uniformly sliced. It also rubs out to a better consistency for me. I tear the 6 inch flakes into fourths and rub it out all the way. I also pack it lightly and it burns like a dream. A one match affair.

(just out of curiosity, what the hell is a unilateral tobacco?)
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 07, 2005 Medium None Detected Medium Tolerable
While I can understand how it might bore a more pyrotechnically inclined smoker, I really must say that Gawith BBF is a fantastic flake. It starts off a little bland but just gets richer as the bowl progresses. I detected much of the natural VA sweetness of FVF here, but also a sort of chocolate/malty undertone that reared its head now and again. Sure, this isn't Marlin Flake so lets not compare them. BBF is, however, a very mellow and enjoyable flake, probably my new go-to when I want a mild, natural tasting VA. Recommended!
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 03, 2005 Very Mild None Detected Mild Pleasant
Notes: I smoked a few tins as well as several ounces of the bulk, from various vintages in several pipes. I prefer it in my Ashton Size 2 Billiard.

Appearance: A light brown to dark nut brown 6" flake, neither loosely nor firmly pressed.

Aroma: Soft sweet plum, a hint of ketchup, walnuts.

Taste: Very subdued. Mild, slightly bitter tobacco taste. Old, dusty, nutty flavor, like dry soil. Coaxed with careful smoking into a slightly sweet nuttiness redolent of walnuts and cashews. Acidic ketchup flavors are present, promising for aging prospects. Very, very mellow, at times as quiet as smoking hot air and requiring your attention to bring out its best.

Comparisons: More nutty than Dunhill Light Flake, Less sweet than Rattray's Marlin Flake or others for that matter. On the dry, nutty end of the spectrum of Virginia flakes, as opposed to the toothsome sweet ones.

Bottom Line: For lovers of Virginia flakes, a requisite. For those who prefer the subtle, nutty tasting flakes this will be a winner. Those who require more flavor or sweetness will be disappointed. A gentle, quiet, easy to smoke tobacco of the highest quality.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 12, 2005 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Very Pleasant
I'm very convinced that this is the flake version of Kendal Plug. I'm not 100% positive, only because I'm not on Gawith's production floor cutting flake. Anyway, there are striking similarities between the two.

Kendal Plug's aroma and flavor are more concentrated, and I believe this is because its left in a pressed block, rather than further processed into flake. I found BBF to be a bit more reserved in many respects, though it can burn a little cooler than Kendal Plug from time to time.

The sweet, rustic notes are there. The great colors and aromas are there. It's very good tobacco. But given a choice between BBF and Kendal Plug, I'd stick with the plug. I don't really see the need to keep both around. However, I have had some magical bowls of BBF that make me want to store some away.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 29, 2004 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant
Like Inquisitor, I find this a difficult blend to smoke.

When it's in the zone it's incredible. Sweet, smooth, and complex. But I have a real problem finding the right humidity for this tobacco. Too wet and it bites fiercely and makes for a very unpleasant smoke. Too dry and it's nearly flavorless.

I've only hit "the zone" a few times and that's what keeps me trying. After this tin is done I'm going to hold off for a while and let another tin I bought age for a few years to see if that helps.

For those that can figure out how to make this flake burn well, this may be your ultimate VA flake. For me it's a real challenge.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 21, 2004 Medium Very Mild Medium to Full Pleasant
I am normally not of the opinion that wine needs time to breathe, nor that most tobacco- particularly Virginia flakes- needs to be dried out. Some of our brethren here recommend almost ritualistic preparations for flakes that I, for one, deem perfectly suitable straight out of the tin. Marlin Flake, Astleys No. 109, and Hamborger Veermaster are perfect as is, Dunhill Light Flake tends toward the dry side, and some of the Cornell & Diehl blends are already positively ashen. Still, I hear the endless litany- leave it on the dashboard at the beach, dry for a minimum of three days, stick it to the wall of a tandoori oven, and-get this- run it through a coffee mill. I can't for a moment imagine what they would do to prepare a bowl of Best Brown Flake. It is downright gooey.

Still, it's not that much of a bitch to light, and it encourages a slow, steady pace that is rewarded by a mystifying smoke that may run from intruiging to bland, depending on one's mood. A much better all day recomendation than its fuller sibling, Full Virginia Flake, to be sure, but still a flake I reserve for occassional use. Used in this manner, it finds a place in my rotation, where it provides a nice change of pace.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 17, 2002 Medium to Strong None Detected Full Pleasant
I'm not a huge VA smoker , but this is one that I enjoy . It has a medium spicy taste and aroma for me . It is one of my regular tobaccos that I reach for when in the mood for a VA .
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 19, 2001 Strong None Detected Medium Tolerable
This is the second S. Gawith blend I have tried, and it is something of a shock, moving to this from 1792 Flake. If 1792 can be described as "overwhelming", than I would describe B.B. Flake as "average". The taste, while very nice and fairly complex, never really breaks out. The nicotine content, however, makes this a satisfying smoke for after a meal. The smell in the sample bag is mildly perfumy and soapy, with a hint of sweetness as well. The tobacco cames in 4" flakes, mostly medium and darker brown with a few lighter veins; the overall effect is medium brown. The flakes are on the moist side, a bit sticky to the touch but by no means excessivly moist. They rub out with difficulty, due to the moisture, but pack quickly when rubbed. The tobacco lights easily, and burns well during a bowl. I used a group 3 Dunhill Shell Briar for my first bowl of this blend. In the first third, the flavor starts off pretty good. It is medium in fullness and richness, but there is a decent level of complexity that increases as the burn continues. There is some sweetness, but it stays in the background, and I don't notice any of the perfumy note I smelled earlier. There is no bite at all at this point; the smoke is smooth and "firm", if that makes any sense. The flavors overall aren't spectacular; rather, the effect is one of subtly and quality in an "average-tasting" blend. The smoke is nice blown out through the nose, when it takes on a slighly spicy note. In the second third, I notice that it is easy to smoke this too hot. Even when smoke hot, however, it does not bite. The flavor is richer now, with a bit fuller taste and more complexity. It is still not overly flavorful, but smoked slowly, the subtle variation is more easily appreciated. One reviewer described the taste as "earthy", and I would agree with that, though it isn't the only flavor present. The sweetness is a bit stronger here, but I still would not call this a sweet tobacco. If I draw deeply on the pipe, the flavor is rich and substantial, almost like unsweetened chocolate without the bitterness. Moving into the last third, the nicotine is becoming more obvious. While not as strong as 1792 Flake, this is still a blend with some kick. The sweetness is stronger than at the start, but the other flavors aren't much more intense. The smoke is still smooth and bite-free, and there is no moisture right to the bottom. Overall, this is a high-quality, medium-flavored Virginia tobacco with some nicotine punch. The flavors are always subtle and "average", but they are very well-blended and not at all boring. If you're looking for a semi-sweet, middle-of-the-road Virginia with no bite, you may want to try this one. Don't use a huge bowl, though, unless you're sitting down! I plan to keep some of this around for when I'm in the mood, but normally I like Virginias with more intense flavors.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"