Reviews: 57186 Tobaccos: 4908What's NewLoginRegister
Product Image

-

Edgeworth Sliced was introduced on the American
market in 1903. This unique pipe tobacco contains
high quality Tennessee and Kentucky white Burley
tobaccos, expertly blended for particular smokers
who want a personalized flake. Years of aging and
unique manufacturing processes ensure a richer
flavor, and a longer, cooler smoke. Pressed blend
made with pipe Burley and fire-cured tobacco.

Notes: Pipe Tobacco Hall of Fame Inductee.

BrandEdgeworth
Blended ByLane Ltd.
Blend TypeUnknown
ContentsBurley, Kentucky
FlavoringNone
CutFlake
Packaging50g Tin, 100 g tin
CountryUS
ProductionUnknown
Product Image
Strength
Medium
Flavoring
Extremely Mild
Taste
Medium
Room Note
Tolerable

Favorite Of 2 Users

3.1
58 reviews
Reviews
4 star:
25
3 star:
17
2 star:
12
1 star:
4
Sort By
Please login to review this blend.
furious Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
furious (29)
★★★★
Mild Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant

Note: this review is for the Edgeworth Sliced of yore manufactured by Larus and Bro. out of Richmond, Va.

I recently won a tin of circa 1955 Edgeworth Sliced on that auction site that was in pristine condition still in its original cellophane. Once opened, a very rich aroma of molasses and soft burley greeted me. I took extreme care in extracting two quite dessicated flakes and rubbing lightly before packing in a 1937 Flame Grain Kaywoodie billiard. After charring light, prodigious clouds of white smoke billowed forth announcing a high quality leaf and mellow sweet and nutty notes from this classic blend. Now I know what the old timers were raving about back in those days of yore. Burned clean and cool all the way down to the heel. Since I only have this one tin, I will be savoring it occasionally for years to come. Please, by all means pick up some if you have the rare opportunity. You will not be disappointed!

Please, for the love of God, Russ Ouellette, Tad Gage, McClellands, Fred Hanna, somebody with real blending know-how who might happen to come across this review, find a way to recreate this wonderful blend. Hell, I'll even send you a sample to experiment with!!

2 people found this review helpful.

DK Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
DK (557)
★★★★
Medium Extremely Mild Medium Pleasant

It's taken me close to a year to finish this tin, which is a rare bit of good and careful planning on my part. I have one tin left and no idea when/if I'll find another of this, the finest burley I've ever smoked, bar none... and probably my deserted island tobacco, assuming I could find enough to last!

I have no idea how old the tin was. But the tobacco was still at typical (for other blends) tin moisture, which was how I preferred to smoke it. It has an incredibly round texture on the tongue - no roughness as most burleys have. Kind of nut-like in flavor. I think strongirish nailed it with "oatmeal", but the predominant flavor is good old tobacco. Rich, friendly, mild-but-robust tobacco. No figs, plums, dried fruit or other "reviewer-type" flavors. This is a blend for those that are simply in love with the taste of tobacco and for those who find burleys monodimensional and boring. Well, actually, this one IS monodimensional, but its dimension is exactly where I want to be.

Being a fan of both Solani and Wessex burleys, I'm aging several tins of both to see if they can come close to replicating this fantastic slice. I'm crossing my fingers! If you love burley and come across a tin of this, don't hesitate!

2 people found this review helpful.

DrT999 Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
DrT999 (149)
★★☆☆
Medium Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable

From a very old sample, likely ca. 1949, this needed a bit of rehydration. On the one hand, I can agree with those who found this a deep, rich smoke, reminding more than a little of unsweetened molasses. Unfortunately, no matter how gently I smoked it, it bit like a great white shark. Without that extreme bite, I would have rated it a 4 star, but with it, I had to downgrade it quite a bit.

1 person found this review helpful.

JimInks Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
JimInks (566)
★★★★
Medium Mild Medium Pleasant

This is as tasty a smoking experience as you can get if you like burleys, and even if you don't! A deep, almost intense molasses taste that leaves room on your taste buds for the nutty burley notes. The flake breaks apart rather easily, and burns cool and slow, especially if you cube-cut it. It gives off lots of smoke when you puff, and leaves the nicest after taste you can imagine. I can't imagine why this tobacco was discontinued. "We wuz robbed," sez I! I sure hope somebody brings it back someday, but if that happens, darn near every burley smoker and their brothers will hoard the heck out of it.

1 person found this review helpful.

Deleted Account Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Deleted Account (485)
★★★★
Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant

Too bad this nice flake, in the big blue 100gram tin, has gone the path of many long gone yet great tobaccos. I smoked this for years and was quite sad to see it go. The quality of this leaf yielded a wonderful medium flake. Since the formula to UF has been dumbed down, and I don't like Wessex, I really have not found, and quite honestly, stopped looking for a replacement. This flake burned very cool, had a nice aroma and solid flavor, plus produced a wonderful volume of smoke. Will not pay the prices for old tins of the stuff so this is a Eulogy of sorts. I knew ye well and I miss you friend.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

samcoffeeman Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
samcoffeeman (27)
★★★☆
Medium Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable

First bowl review of the Lane version of Edgeworth Sliced: This is a gorgeously packaged flake tobacco. I like how they are neatly lined up in the tin. The tin aroma is slightly sweet and fruity, a sign of things to come. The flakes rub out easily. No drying time required here, perhaps from age(not sure how old the Lane era tins are). The tobacco lights right up after 1-2 charring lights. Throughout the thoroughly enjoyable smoke, the elegant classic tobacco flavor takes a backseat to a rotund mouthwatering fruitiness that develops. No tongue bite, smokes cool and dry. It has such a sweet fruity character, there is a debate over whether this is flavored or not(some say molasses?). I wish I knew for sure, I find it hard to believe this tobacco could carry such a flavor naturally. Indeed it would be some kind of magic if it was indeed untainted by some topping/casing.

Overall: Very enjoyable. Early impressions are good on this one, although i consider myself a non-aromatic smoker and am somewhat disappointed that this may be indeed flavored.

I also have a tin of the original Larus Bro&Co I am saving for a special occasion.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

babysinister Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
babysinister (46)
★★★★
Medium to Strong Mild Medium Pleasant

The flavor engages all the tastebuds at once and provides a smoky and flavorful burley-forward blend. The best burley I've tasted. Complex and easy at the same time, what a paradox. I like the way the flavor gets right under your tongue but does not neglect the palate. I agree with an earlier reviewer: what were they thinking when they discontinued this blend?? I would pay extra for this one.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

Denevei Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Denevei (58)
★★☆☆
Medium to Strong None Detected Medium Tolerable

Edgeworth Sliced has been on the American market for over 10 years. Such a brand consistency say, to me, that there is some real success here. The blend is a burley, made of both Tennessee and Kentucky burleys leaf. The tobacco comes in a nice presentation; a nice, mottled flake which is mostly a medium brown with flecks of lighter and darker color. The aroma is nutty with a note of sweetness to it. The slices lend themselves well to being balled up and stuffed into a pipe rather than being rubbed out. Each time I first light a bowl of this tobacco I ask myself why. To me, both the charring light and the early flavor is harsh, and filled with tongue-bite demons. However, this smooths out after perhaps five to ten puffs. Once settled, the nutty flavor and subtle, edgy sweetness of the burley comes through. Deeper into the bowl the flavor is downright creamy and smooth, with the nutty overtones playing softly with an undertone of sweetness almost surprising for a burley blend. The smoke can sour is overpuffed, so smoke this one slowly and easily. The smoker should be cautioned that, like other burleys, this one has a high nicotine content. In addition to the sourness noted previously, heavy puffing will cause a nicotine high, which, to me, is rather unpleasant. However, this is avoided by a gentle smoke. In my opinion there are better burley blends. MacBaren's Navy Flake comes immediately to mind.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

strongirish Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
strongirish (232)
★★★★
Mild to Medium Very Mild Medium to Full Pleasant

I am smoking a bowl of this elegant tobacco while I am writing this review. My first thought is whomever made the decision to drop this wonderful blend from being made anymore should be taken out and waterboarded over and over again! Why would nayone that loves pipe smoking and has a sane brain cell want to discontinue this nector? I love this blend, I think it is the ultimate burley produced. It has a sweet and fresh honey like aroma in the tin or baggie in my case and is composed of slices or flakes of a beautiful medium brown tobacco. It just looks rich and tasty. I have tried it fresh and undried and also dried and both ways it is just a great smoke. I prefer it fresh, it is then a wonderful flake to be rolled up and put into the pipe and once lit, it becomes a nice slow burner with the oatmeal/honey taste with a rich and creamy taste that is just a joy to relax with. Dry it is much faster burning but has all the same charactoristics. It burns very dry and stays consistant all the way down the bowl to a dry grey ash with little dottle. They should bring this one back! For any burley lover it is just mana from heaven. What a shame it is no longer with us, but if you can find it, I very highly recommend trying it as you will have smoked the best burley has to offer.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

paulw Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
paulw (32)
★★★★
Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Medium Pleasant

edgeworth sliced was very good, alot better than it's ready rubbed blend or it's cavendish blend, wessex burley sliced is pretty darn close, solani burley flake was a disapointment, go with wessex!

Nobody has rated this review yet.

The Gentle Smoker Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
The Gentle Smoker (11)
★★★☆
Medium to Strong None Detected Medium Tolerable

I bought a tin of this on a gamble about 2 weeks ago on ebay. Paid some $30 for a 50g tin which should be some 30-35 years old.

I got it in and it was still sealed up (not vacuum, but I don't know if they vacuum sealed this back in the days).

Upon opening all was as it should be. I opened the paper gently to find a wonderfull row of slices with a very sweet tobacco smell. Not artificial, just the smell of aged tobacco. Extremely good. I got 2 slices out with my knife and found them quite dry (but not dried out). As they are slices, I like 'em a little dry, so I saw no problem in loading a bowl up (I'm a smoker, not a collector :-))

The first few puffs were next to flavorless, but as the tobacco was tamped and re-lit, I got rewarded with a sweet virginia taste of exceptional proportions. Nice mellow taste and I can understand why this tobacco is a classic.

Half-way down the bowl I got a sharper undertone, but the sweet finesse never went away.

I like it, although I'm not a real virginia lover.

Did I pay too much? Obviously, but the experience is well worth it. Still have some 12-15 bowls left in the tin, and they will happily be smoked away.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

colt25314 Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
colt25314 (41)
★★★★
Strong Extremely Mild Full Very Pleasant

Has anyone noticed the older you get the more things seem to vanish? Has anyone else noticed it is almost always the good high quality things that seem go first? Nowhere has this been more true than with pipe tobaccos. Remember Bell's Three-Nuns; Dunhill amd now Edgeworth? At the same time there has been an explosion of high quality pipes from the best artisans to ever grace the face of the Earth. One of my favorites was Bill Taylor, the man behind Ashton pipes. We lost him this past September. He figured out how to make a trditional English pipe to as close to perfect as we will ever see. The best that could ever be said is so and so is almost as good as Bill was. No one will ever exceede him. The good news is there are plenty of young carvers out there like Lasse Skovgaard. This young man will make you a custum very high grade pipe to your specs at a very reasonable price. Heck, he will even stamp your name on it if you like. I bought three such pipes from him that I designed and he brought to life.

The thing is, I have all these wonderful pipes and am running out of choices to fill them with. Plenty of pipes and ever decreasing supplies of my favorite blends of which Edgeworth was my everyday tobacco of choice. To those who facy burley, you'd be hard pressed to find a blend as good as Edgeworth.

If anyone knows of a true substitute, please let me know. I have one tin left and dare not open it. For if I do I will have to come face to face with the fact that I will never partake of such a wonderful blend again.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

doc'spipe Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
doc'spipe (187)
★★★★
Medium to Strong Medium Medium to Full Pleasant

I certainly bemoan the loss of Edgeworth Sliced. A true benchmark for Burley flakes. I still have some left - about enough for a half dozen medium sized bowls - from a tin I purchased a good 20 years ago! It hasn't held together as slices any more, more of a crumbled flake, but boy is it ever so good! I remember when I first smoked it I found it very strong and a bit dizzying. It took me by surprise as I wasn't prepared for its strength of character. Originally, I bought it thinking it was the same as Edgeworth Ready Rubbed (which I enjoyed and presently only remember its wonderful room note) and found out it was ERR's more mature, street smart relative. Basically forgot about it but decided to revisit it after all this time after reading the reviews on this site. My sample was taken from its tin long ago and re-hydrated in a thick zip lock since it was very dried out. I put it away and promptly forgot about it. That was maybe 10 years ago. The sample in the zip lock was dry to the touch, but not at all decomposed to dust. There was little aroma emanating from the bag. Upon first light, however, it woke up from its deep slumber. There was a slight, soapy taste that immediately brought back memories of old. I dislike any Lakeland-type essence, but this soapy presence with Edgeworth, in my opinion, was part of the appeal. A beautifully stout, spicy, yet sweet taste immediately overwhelmed my palate. It is such a shame that this is no longer being produced. The taste is spicy rich and very full flavored - chocolaty even. I don't know if chocolate was ever added by the blenders (I believe it was said to have been molasses), or perhaps it is the chocolate-like flavor of good Burley (made better with age), but it is delicious.

I will ultimately finish what little I have remaining. I will spread it out over time and most likely savor it in smaller bowled pipes to stretch it as far as enjoyably possible. I take this over Mac's Navy Flake and Peterson's University Flake in a heart beat! If you can come by any, don't hesitate on it - grab it up! ...what a smoke...what a pity.....

UPDATE 4-19-10: I just purchased and received an unopened tin of ES from our fellow piper pipestud's consignment shop. I couldn't wait to open it and I am on my second bowl (2 flakes each) as I write this update. First off, the label on the tin had the Lane Ltd. distribution seal and atop it, a price label that read $16.95. There was another price label beneath it but I couldn't peel away the first to see the price. I am suspecting from the price label that this was from the time of this tobacco's last run before being discontinued (maybe 5-6yrs old?). The beautiful flakes were well packaged within a nice plastic bag wrapping and they were as pliable as if just produced. The tin aroma was nearly identical to Wessex Burley Slice (there was a light, "alcohol-soaked citrus" smell which only translated into the first several puffs upon lighting) and after smoking my 2 bowls, nearly identical in taste. There is also a much more pronounced nicotine kick with this tin of ES, similar to what I first experienced with this blend. As I stated in my original review, I bemoan the loss of Edgeworth Sliced. I would have to agree, however, with the Wessex claim that theirs is "the" substitute for ES (but in my opinion closer to the Richmond original than the Lane version manufactured by Orlik, and therefore, making WBS much better overall) - a claim I am quite happy about! Although Wessex Burley Slice is more reminiscent of the old ES from Larus Bros., and favored by me over the Orlik/Lane version, the Orlik/Lane version is quite good and recommended, however, Aged Burley Flake is by far a superior Burley and favored over ES and BS.

UPDATE 7-20-10: I noticed a while back that ES was listed on Orlik's website (st-group.com) as one of their manufactured tobacco brands. I contacted the company as to its availability in the USA. I received a reply stating that it was being pulled from production as it was only manufactured for distribution in Denmark and its sales were not high enough to justify its continued production. I noticed shortly thereafter that its listing was removed from their product range. I wrote back stating that its sales would most certainly skyrocket if re-introduced to the USA, but I have yet to hear back from Orlik concerning this.

UPDATE 9-29-10: Still no reply from Orlik - I didn't really expect one. Something I would like to share, however. Coming home this evening after teaching, I decided to mix some Solani Aged Burley Flake and Wessex Brigade Campaign Dark Flake. It was a 50/50 mix, folded and stuffed into a bent group 4 Dunhill Cumberland. After the first puff, I would have sworn I loaded some Edgeworth Sliced instead! This has been the closest to the taste of the ES of old that I remember - even closer than Wessex Burley Slice (which is a very close match). It has the spiciness that the original ES had (so does WBS) but without the harshness that is sometimes present with WBS. Try it, you might like it!

Nobody has rated this review yet.

Clarkus Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Clarkus (26)
★★★☆
Medium to Strong Very Mild Medium Tolerable

Why on earth did they quit making this stuff. It was good quality and I always kept a tin around because it was handy to carry around and provided a good burley smoke. I smoked the Edgeworth made in Richmond - not the English version.

Does anyone know of anything at all like this? I've been having cravings for it lately.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

Man O'Weed Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Man O'Weed (1)
★★★☆
Medium Mild Medium Pleasant

I initially found this tobacco disappointing, but it grew on me after I gave it some tin time in the cellar. I still have a few tins cellared, which I do look forward to smoking. For now, I'm biding my time, so this is something of a preliminary review.

In a nutshell, this is a decent smoke that improves with age, going from rather coarse and unexciting in its youth to a tobacco of substantially greater character and refinement after a few years of cellaring. Like virtually all Burleys, it derives much of its flavor from the added sugar, which was added with a sparing hand in the tins I've smoked. If you like your Burley on the sweeter side, you might find this a bit too austere, but that could well be a virtue for those who prefer Burley of more Spartan character.

As of this writing, I can't say I especially bemoan the extinction of this Euro version of Edgeworth Sliced. I certainly wouldn't chase after it, paying the high prices it commands in some auctions. For all its virtues, it's not the epitome of Burley flake. For example, I consider Wessex Burley Slice to be a superior tobacco in every respect. And for those who recall the original Edgeworth Extra High Grade Sliced, manufactured by Larus & Bro. Co. of Richmond, this version will appear as a pale counterfeit whose only provenance in connection with the original is in name only.

Nevertheless, it's a better than average Burley flake, and it does improve noticeably with age, so I do expect it be a tasty smoke when I open and smoke some of the stash that has been aging in my cellar. If my expectations pan out, it will be my pleasure to update this preliminary review with more glowing praise.

Update: 2009, August 7 --

After burning a bowl of Edgeworth today, I'm happy to say that the weed has unquestionably mellowed after three years of jar time (opened and jarred 3.33 years ago, on April 4, 2006). If it deserved three stars then, I'd give it maybe another half-star now for having smoothed out its rough edges quite a bit.

Flavor-wise, it still leaves a LOT to be desired, but it has good, solid Burley flavor, albeit pretty light. The nicotine content is low enough that I can smoke a Group 6 bowl and get only a mild buzz.

The jar is going back into the cellar and I'll see how it develops, but I've smoked enough Burley over the past 4+ decades to know that this tobacco isn't going to change significantly anytime soon. As for the remaining unopened tins, I intend to leave them alone for at least another 5 years, but in truth this stuff will still be developing 10, 15, even 20 years down the road. There's just not enough sugar in there to quicken the pace. In the meantime, if you're looking for a more deeply flavored Burley flake that is a joy to smoke now and will age more rapidly, try Wessex Burley Slice...which also has the advantage of being readily available, as it's still in production as of this writing.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

hagen Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
hagen (91)
★★☆☆
Medium to Strong Mild Mild to Medium Tolerable

it's okay, no more than that. lacks depth: it's all about the nuttyness and the wee bit of added sweetness of a caramel-like sort. a tendency to harshness in the throat. very narrow flavour palette.

don't try relights.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

Frosty Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Frosty (37)
★★★★
Medium to Strong Very Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant

Gosh, I miss this! I only smoked a few tins, when the powers that be found out I liked it and immediately quit making it. Buttery, smooth, creamy, wonderful - what else can I say about my dear departed friend? Edgeworth Ready Rubbed is like a distant cousin. It was quite strong in nicotine for me, and the Burley was top shelf. If you ever get a chance to try this, and you love Burley, you will be delighted.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

GeoLogger Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
GeoLogger (16)
★★★★
Medium Mild to Medium Medium Pleasant to Tolerable

It is too late to do anything to promote this blend, this is an obituary. This fine friend of many spent around 100 good years on this old world; comforting the weary or careworn, providing cheer, and helping folks like me start a day off just right. Perhaps others smoked this one all day, or it was their apertif. This is the only burley blend I ever smoked with any regularity, if you call first pipe of the day every day regular. This ol gal will be sorely missed, sorely missed, by countless adoring friends and I am proud to have been one.

I actually had warning this would happen and got a few tins put up. I have now almost finished my last tin. I am scared of the new production - but I am going to try it I guess. Times change and we move on. I am going very soon to have to find a new first smoke of the day. I have been looking for a year now and nothing permanent has landed - but it will. Things always work out.

P.S. If you have a tin you can spare...

Nobody has rated this review yet.

wosbald Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
wosbald (111)
★★★☆
Strong Mild to Medium Full Tolerable to Strong

The tin aroma of these impeccably formed flakes is of fertile earth and slightly musty hay: a barnyard scent. The beautifully swirled, mottled flakes are presented edgewise (no pun intended) and give a most attractive presentation.

This is a full, round, oaky burley with a creamy body. It is difficult to say whether the purported VA is actually present. The molasses casing supports the fullness without flatting the flavor excessively.

An rich, elegant, and satisfying burley blend. A narrow to medium gauge chamber seems to work best.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

BEN Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
BEN (58)
★★★★
Medium Extremely Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable

I recenty acquired a 7+ year old 100 gram tin of this, and I am very surprised this is no longer made! This, IMHO, has to be one of the best Burley Blends ever! I smoke this out of a Dunhill Group 5 "Quaint" and was in heaven! Rubbing out was a breeze, pack and light. It did require several relights, but I was rewarded with a wonderful, rich flavor, copius amounts of smoke, and was instantly relaxed! My partner says this smells very musty in the room, but that does not bother me! Also, as a side note, I did not find the nicotene content in Edgeworth Slices to be at all overwhelming, I thought it was quite nice. Of course, I smoked Dunhill Nightcap as an all day smoke for years, so I might have a higher tolerance! If you can find this wonderful tobacco, chances are you will pay dearly for it dollar wise, BUT, it is WELL worth it!!!! HIGHLY Recommended!!! 10 stars!!!

Nobody has rated this review yet.

RCUSElder Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
RCUSElder (244)
★★★★
Medium Extremely Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable

Disclaimer: I managed to pursaude a friend to sell me a couple of tins from his personal stash. These tins have at least 5 years of age on them. Also, this blend is no longer available by this manufacturer. I hope the new blender, Wessex, does this blend justice.

Appearnace and Tin Aroma: Beautiful golden brown to mohogany slices that are 1"x 4" in a rectangular 100g. tin. the aroma is grassy-haylike typical of burley, and yet due to the age, some fig notes are also apparent. I think i smell a bit of molasses?

Packing and Lighting: I experimented with different ways to pack and settled on the fold and stuff method similar to MacBaren's. Rubbing it out seemed to make it lose density in the smoke as well as lose the earthiness of flavor that I like so much. Since my tins are aged, they seemed not to need any drying before packing. 2-3 lights max.

Initial Flavor: The earthy, grassiness of Burley is in the forefront. Va is firmly there too, but mainly as support.

Mid-Bowl: This is Burley nirvana! Smooth, nutty, sweet, earthy, etc...

Bottom of Bowl: If smoked too quickly, it can get a little bitter. If smoked gently, aaahhh, delicious to the last puff with a nice gentle, but firm, build up in strength.

Overall: If you are a burley lover as I am, this blend is a classic! It is much easier to get a consistent delicious ride as opposed to cubed burley or even ribbon burley. The age also helps considerably. There is nicotine strength in this blend, so eat well before smoking. Even though I still smoke Balkans and Fuller English blends as my regular staple, this blend satisfies quite nicely and is generally my mid-morning smoke. The room aroma is tolerable as well. My only hope is that wessex will not hurt this blend, as they have taken this classic over. Meanwhile, I have to figure out a way to snag some more tins of the original before they become just a memory! Enjoy...

Nobody has rated this review yet.

Cactus John Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Cactus John (34)
★★★★
Mild to Medium Extremely Mild Medium Pleasant

This to me is almost a perfect tobacco. I don't know why they stopped making it. But I want to put in my 2 cents about it anyway. I wont go into any detail about it since you can't get it anymore. If that changes in the future I'll come back and up date this. The only thing I'll say is the closest tobacco I've found to this is Butera's KINGFISHER. It has a little perique in it though. But pretty much the same tobacco with a little perique. So if you like perique and your looking for a substitute for this tobacco try Kingfisher.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

Black Seamus Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Black Seamus (56)
★★★★
Medium to Strong Extremely Mild Mild to Medium Tolerable

I'm going to miss Edgworth Sliced. I won't belabor you with an extensive review, as many others have covered this fine tobac in great detail.

In short, then, this is an excellent example of what a non-aromatic Burley blend should be. If you enjoy Burley, get yourself a tin of this before it's gone completely. It will be worth your trouble.

I find Mac Baren's Burley London Blend to be similar in flavor and in burning characteristics, so all is not lost, but I sure wish someone would bring this one back.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

Dougster Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Dougster (31)
★★★☆
Mild to Medium Extremely Mild Medium Tolerable

I was given a sample of this blend which I greatly enjoyed. I am smoking the last pipefull right now and I am saddened that this classic tobacco has gone out of production before I really had a chance to enjoy it much.

This is a really good burley smoke with grassy and woody flavors. There seems to be some kind of very light topping which imparts a subtle soapy taste midway through the bowl which is in no way disagreeable to me. If this were still produced I would tend to keep some of this on hand. Overall a very pleasant tobacco, flavorfull but not bitey or overly strong.

But since its gone, I'd suggest trying GL Pease Barbary Coast instead, it evokes the same delicious grassy type flavor but is even better than Edgeworth Sliced in my opinion.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

Hemlock Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Hemlock (57)
★☆☆☆
Medium Extremely Mild Mild Tolerable

At first glance, it seemed to be some well aged, slightly oily leaf, mahongany in colour. Very little noticable casing and a subdued aroma, somehwat like the pages of an old book.

I had high hopes for this blend, as I seem to enjoy burley in many of the blends in the rotation. However, I was disappointed in the bland, colourless flavour and aroma. It tasted like smoking some unidentified cellulose found by the roadside-- maybe a shard of an old wagon wheel. Maybe it was my particular tin, but I can not recommend this as blend to seek out.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

Pkloop Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Pkloop (41)
★★★★
Medium Extremely Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable

Without a doubt my favorite Burley. An absolute classic that every pipester should try if they can. The other reviewers here have done a fine job describing this excellent weed. I am hording 15 tins of this and will open maybe 1 per year. This is my desert island smoke!

Nobody has rated this review yet.

Elric Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Elric (34)
★★★★
Medium Very Mild Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable

I finally broke down and, with some trepidition, opened one of the tins I'd been hording. While I enjoy Burley blends, I find many of them to be, quite frankly, pretty dull. This blend certainly does not fit in that gross generalization.

The physical characteristics have been discussed ad naseum so I'll dispense with that portion of the show. The tin aroma was almost reminiscent of a navy flake but had the expected grassy undertones. The flakes are fairly stout and put up a noble resistance to rubbing out. They do, however, light quite a bit easier if subjected to such harsh treatment.

After the match, there is a subtle sweetness to this blend. Not overwhelming like an aromatic, this manifests itself more naturally and is quite pleasant. Edgeworth Sliced burns evenly and requires minimal relights. Despite the moist nature of this blend, the bottom of the bowl was fairly clean. Surprisingly, I didn't note the strength mentioned in other reviews, and I'm fairly sensitive to such things, nicotine wimp that I am.

In the spirit of full disclosure, I do suspect the tins I purchased had some age on them due to the B&M's predominantly bulk clientele. I'd be interested in trying a slice from a known recent tin for comparison. In any event, this is highly recommended stuff. It's a pity Edgeworth Slices won't see better availability on this side of the pond.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

Pipeline Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Pipeline (206)
★★☆☆
Medium to Strong Mild Medium Tolerable

My first impression of the tin aroma immediately upon breaking the seal is a casing reminiscent of the current production of Three Nuns. I think Three Nuns smells like bacon, but what I think I am noticing are curing sugars, such as Molasses. Hence, how the three connect in my olfactory sense. Molasses is often used to cure bacon and it has been suggested elsewhere that Molasses is involved, at least historically, with Edgeworth Slices.

In actually smoking Edgeworth, it is really unique. It really does not remind me much of anything else in pipe tobacco blends in smoking it. In the tin aroma, I also detect chocolate undertones, as I also do with Stonehaven, Royal Cavendish Perique, and Barbary Coast. I doubt cocoa has been added to any of the above mentioned (compare to Bob?s Chocolate Flake for the difference- it is added in Bob?s).

Edgeworth is a species for a method or philosophy toward processing tobacco that is more from an age past.

I do not taste the presence of flue-cured leaf. The fire-cured leaf is really a unique treat that should be respected on its own merits and for its undeniable strength.

If someone else were smoking this and I did not know they were smoking a pipe, I would say that they were puffing on a mild cigar with Indonesian or Dominican leaf, perhaps with a flavor-enhanced wrapper that is ever so lightly imbued.

I do not recommend rubbing this out for reasons of maintaining the reasonably cool smoking quality inherent, though careless puffing is not advised. I also only pack one flake for best burning.

I cannot say that I have fallen in love with this, but it is worthy to keep around when the mood arises. I am going to play with blending this flake with other leaf to add what is missing for my tastes.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

Master Merlin Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Master Merlin (11)
★★★★
Extremely Mild None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant

Slices of Burley, burley, burley!!!!!!What more can I say. If Your a burly lover then this is the stuff for you. Lets just call this a High grade Burley. What I like most about this is that i can just toss a few slices into a pouch and hit the road. Being slices, thy hold their PERFECT MOISTURE CONTENT, for quite a while. Also easily rehydrated with a disk, if left too long. When fully rubed out, this blend tends to burn hot if not handled with restraint. however, if you simply brake up the slice and fill your bowl that way......PERFECTION!!!!!!. Upon the first touch of flame to tobbacco, a smooth creamyness hits the palate, which then settles down into a nice even toned smoke. great for an all day. 10

Nobody has rated this review yet.

Darth 69 Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Darth 69 (75)
★☆☆☆
Very Mild Mild to Medium Extremely Mild (Flat) Tolerable

Here is another example of a burley product that is just not flavored enough. A flavored flake of burley with a touch of dark fired leaf, a classic "Navy" tobacco in ingredients and presentation. The flavor though really is very flat. The dark fired leaf can be sensed in smell and slightly in the smoke but other than that extremely bland. Despite this it seems to be rather adequately cased (possibly with molasses)to the degree it impedes the burn a little. To the point this would be much better if the flavoring was made more concentrated but used less of with more sweetness to round out the flavor. As it stands I just can't enjoy this tobacco.

- Not recommended

Nobody has rated this review yet.

Briarabbit Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Briarabbit (116)
★★★☆
Medium Extremely Mild Medium Tolerable

Wonderful Kentucky and Tennessee White Burley Tobacco leaves are aged in wooden hogs head casks with a sweetener. The tobacco is then pressed into large cakes and sliced. That pretty much sums up Edgeworth slices. Nothing fancy. Made just like they were at the turn of the last century,only now I'm sure some African Burley is being used in the process. A natural tasting burley smoke that starts off well,and turns bland about the third of the way down. Take yourself back to the day of the white fleet,and enjoy a bowl of this natural tasting pipe tobacco goodness.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

Mr. Dottle Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Mr. Dottle (162)
★★★☆
Strong Very Mild Medium to Full Tolerable

Another great burley whose flakes have great presentation in the gold foil and light blue tin but ES is not for the faint of heart. ES is the strongest burley blend I have smoked to date and, for me, it gushed plumes of blue and gray smoke that must have been reminiscent of the ?Donora Death Fog.? The sweetness and nuttiness are there but it is more of a heady smoke than a sweet smoke and, IMO, is best enjoyed after a full, heavy meal. Popeye would love this stuff!

I rate this tobacco 9.85 out of 10

Nobody has rated this review yet.

Pagercat Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Pagercat (41)
★★★★
Medium to Strong None Detected Full Pleasant to Tolerable

I've been smoking this blend for over a year now so I think it's high time I wrote a brief review of it. Edgeworth Sliced is my favorite Burley. This is not a smoke for the beginner or the aromatic smoker...this is a real man's tobacco! Big thick pungent leathery slabs of dark brown high-grade Burley all wrapped up in gold foil. The slices are on the moist side, a bit sticky and very pliable. They rub out great and fold very well. One slice folded twice seems to make a perfect fit into most pipes.

The flavor starts out sweet and grassy. Slow burning and requires very little relights. Smokes down to a fine white ash. The strength increases as the bowl winds down yet never loses it's sweetness. The nicotine content is quite high and smoking this on an empty stomach may cause a head rush and upset stomach.

I like a bowl of this with fresh coffee every night after dinner. One folded flake in a standard billiard can last up to two hours of nice cool smoking pleasure.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

Spike Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Spike (296)
★★★★
Medium to Strong Extremely Mild Medium to Full Tolerable

What a genius! I didn't even know this was Burley. Tastes like most other sliced tobaccos. If folded and smoked slowly it smokes full flavored and a long time! An excellent if somewhat uniform smoke.

10/23/04: My tin has really dried up over time. The tin being a press-on lid doesn't seal very well. This still smokes very well even bone dry. A very fine Burley. Very smooth, mild flavor and plenty of kick. Not an all-dayer by any means but really good when desirous of some nice Burley.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

Esoxhunter Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Esoxhunter (60)
★★☆☆
Medium Extremely Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable

October 2004

Like several of the above reviewers, I am a not-usuually-a-Burley-guy smoker who makes an exception for ES. It has a mellow-sweet, nutty, straightforward flavor, largely without the "soapiness" that I sometimes associate with Burley tobacco--perhaps this is a function of the added Virginias? The light brownish/yellow flakes look and load terrific(ally). I would have rated it higher, but I am not an all-day smoker and this is simply too light as a regular evening smoke for me.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

Deleted Account Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Deleted Account (485)
★★☆☆
Medium to Strong Extremely Mild Mild to Medium Tolerable

Very nice tin.

Very nice olfactory presentation....smells like sweet grass.

Nicely cut flakes....rubs out well.

Nicotine content is considerable.

This is not a straight burley....but mixed with some VA I believe.

Packs well....smokes ok....clean light and burn but less volume of smoke than I prefer.

I love Virginias but love the Burleys too....Id rather smoke Peterson's University flake....I like this flake since it reminds me of some cigar characteristics, UF that is....this flake is just ok.

I smoke cigs now but plan on leaving them behind come Oct 2004...I like to have a few tins to fall back on and unfortunately this is not one...I like it but just does not have enough complexity of flavor or fullness of smoke volume for me.....I will rotate between University Flake and Dunhill's Light Flake.

But everyone has different taste..give it a try...I found this at JRs for 9 bucks..shipping included..for a 100g tin.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

Beer Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Beer (296)
★★★☆
Medium to Strong Extremely Mild Medium Tolerable

Usually the equation classic stuff=good stuff is true. OK, recently we had some downhill decline for some legendary names (Three Nuns, Capstan and most Dunhills come to mind), but sometimes you can still have a taste of the old staples. Edgeworth Sliced is one of them! This is simple, unpretentious, good and honest pipe tobacco: a burley flake (with maybe a bit of Virginia) that never disappoints, and which is fine either for casual or contemplative smoking. The 100g tin contains an attractive array of flakes which can be easily packed folded or rubbed out, according to your taste. The smell is nutty, with traces of hay, perfectly natural (no honey topping a-la-MacBaren, luckily). Once lit, the tobacco burns cool and regularly: even if hasted, it never bites and rarely becomes bitter. You always get a satisfying nutty, earthy taste: it's not excessively robust, but it's great as a medium smoke. No harsh edges, just plain smooth traditional burley: earthy, meaty, rustic and old fashioned, but not unrefined. It is not as sweet as Mac Baren's Navy Flake (but the true taste of burley comes out better because of this), and not as sweet, filling and rich as GLPease Barbary Coast (which I find even better: the difference between a honest traditional tobacco and a masterpiece made by a modern master). Anyway, there are days in which I could smoke tons of this tobacco, with just a bowl of Balkan for variety. Ah, and it leaves your pipe perfectly natural: no stale smell, no goop, just ash. Perfect as a "diet" for pipes which have seen too many aromatics or high sugar Virginias!

Nobody has rated this review yet.

Pounder 5000 Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Pounder 5000 (178)
★★★★
Medium None Detected Full Tolerable to Strong

This stuff is the real deal. It joins the ranks of great, hot-weather baccy's with the likes of Macbaren Nave Flake, and Orlick's Golden slices. Unlike the others I detected absolutely no flavoring at all. Just buttery, rich burley. This burned cool and went down great with an ice cold mug of Budweiser, while sitting in the porch shade on a 98 degree day. In a corn cob of course! Can't get much more American than this. The taste isn't terribly complex, and yet I haven't gotten bored with this stuff yet. I guess good old fashioned, unadulterated tobacco still goes a long way! By the way, this has some decent nicotene content as well.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

Jakob Kiilerich Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Jakob Kiilerich (118)
★★★☆
Strong Extremely Mild Full Tolerable

This is a strange flake indeed. Upon opening the tin, it smelled like Va... I'm normally not into pure burley, but this one had a nice smoothness and coolness to it. The typical earthy and nutty undertones which is typical of these blends are complimented with a thick, sweet and full taste. Maybe due to an extra long maturing process?

If you are a beginner in the world of pure burley blends, this one may be a good approach, but watch out! It can make your head spin if you puff it too hard!

I cannot smoke this every day, but when i need something strong and different from my usual Va-flakes, this is the one i return to.. An all-time classic..

Jakob Kiilerich, Denmark

Nobody has rated this review yet.

batfastard123 Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
batfastard123 (10)
★★★☆
Medium to Strong None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable

I normally don't like burley, but this is an exception, it's also nice to know some of the tobacco was grown right here in Tennessee. I like to take this tobacco out when I have company, the way it is packaged always starts a conversation. Say, what is that you are putting in your pipe? The way it is packed would also make this a great "carrying around" tobacco, it doesn't take up much space in a pocket. The tobacco smells good in the tin, it is packed in rather well and takes some effort to get the first couple of slices out, after that it's easy access, some people rub out this tobbaco, I just wad it up and stuff it in the pipe, it lights well and stays lit pretty easily, it tastes good on relights, I really like the flavor of this tobbaco, mild and kinda buttery, it packs a pretty good nicotine kick. The room note is not bad. it leaves a white ash and little or no dottle. I had no tongue bite with this blend. A good smoke for me when I want a change from English blends. All in all I would say a mellow smoke, 8 out of ten. I keep this around at all times.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

pxi106 Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
pxi106 (17)
★★★☆
Mild to Medium Mild Full Tolerable

Really wavered on the review to give to this one. I really love the stuff, and it's become part of a ritual with the morning coffee on the am commute to school.

Problem is, for me it's undescribable. It's dark, intense, voluminously smoke-producing and otherwise utterly undefinable. Sometimes I think I taste pine needles and sometimes I don't taste anything but creamy smokiness.

I really encourage people to try this old fashioned blend. It's worth it

Nobody has rated this review yet.

augiegus Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
augiegus (48)
★☆☆☆
Very Strong Mild to Medium Medium Pleasant

This tobacco looks excellent. I love most burley blends. It has historical pedigree. Most reviewers I listen to like it. So I should be all about this stuff, right? Dead wrong for one it was too strong for me, and second too bland. After smoking a bowl of this I was woozy and sweating... very unpleasent. I really think that the problem must be me. A fellow pipe smoker told me once he could not smoke certain danish tin blends for something was added to those blends that made him ill. I figure the same must be with ES and me.

Dizziness aside the taste did lil for me. I'll admit I like burley that clunks my tastes buds on their lil heads with "nuttiness", and could never detect any with this. I am too wary try to nurse it for it just is not meant to be.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

Darwin Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Darwin (101)
★★★★
Medium Extremely Mild Medium Tolerable

11/02/2003

Edgeworth Slices is a burley that many Virginia flake smokers will love. Its flavor is smooth and nutty with just enough sweetness. I stuff my pipe with intact flakes and it burns like a high quality Virginia flake. Highly recommended for both burley and Virginia smokers.

07/14/2010

I was able to get my hands on 14 tins of Edgeworth Slices a couple of years ago from a friend who was able to react faster than I when this wonderful blend was discontinued. Fortunately for me he didn't prefer it. I have been smoking about a tin a year which is not difficult with both Wessex Burley Slice and Solani Burley Flake 656 now readily available. They are all three excellent burley flakes. If you're mourning the loss of Edgeworth Slices give the Wessex and Solani a try. My preference is for the Solani, but I understand the Wessex is true to the Richmond version of Edgeworth Slices. I also like the Wessex version very much, it's just that the Solani is one of my top 5 tobaccos of all time. There's nothing like a high quality burley flake.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

Stormrider Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Stormrider (14)
★★★☆
Medium None Detected Medium Tolerable to Strong

Since I like Burley blends with just a hint of natural sweetness, I had to try this one. Opening the tin revealed absolutely delicious-looking slices that reminded me of chewing gum and seemed to invite a "real" taste. In fact, I broke off a small piece and placed it in my cheek. I was rewarded with a burst of nutty, naturally sweet flavor, followed by a tremendous nicotine rush. Of course, this is not a chewing tobacco, and I am not a chewer, but I had to try it just once. Put my nose in the tin and smelled nutty Burley with a hint of molasses and that "soapy" note. Wanting to keep it smoking cool, I folded two slices (again, chewing-gum style) into my meerschaum, crumbled a little on top to get it lit, and tried to puff as slowly as I could for the next hour. I like lots of smoke, and puffing this one too fast WILL scorch your tongue. Flavor was very similar to MacBaren's Burley London Blend with a little less sweetness (not that I would classify BLB as an aromatic) and a lot more nicotine. I smoke cigars on occasion and had to put this bowl down for a couple of breaks because my head was spinning. Room note was also more cigar-cigarette-ish, which I don't care for. I also tasted that slightly soapy flavor which so many have mentioned, but on its way down the bowl, it transformed into a creamy, buttery-nutty flavor something like cashews or macadamia nuts. I suspect that will improve with age, and will let the rest of the tin sit for a few months before trying it again. It also blends well with Pease Barbary Coast (thanks for the suggestion, RobAtHome) and MacBaren's BLB. I will probably keep this one as a blender in the long run.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

BriarLaw Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
BriarLaw (85)
★★☆☆
Strong Medium Full Tolerable

A very high quality flake that has clearly undergone a well-honed aging process. Mottled bright/brown in color. A bit on the dryer side. A strong clean natural tobacco smell.

The flavor when smoked, however, was a bit much for me. Not for the faint of heart or new pipe smokers. Fairly serious nicotine content. This tobacco is all Burley, but in a strong sort-of-way. Not drug store Burley by any means.

Perhaps a good tobacco for a veteran Latakia smoker looking for something without the Latakia. Just too strong for me.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

Paddy Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Paddy (125)
★★★☆
Medium Mild Full Pleasant

This is a beautiful burly flake with a light sweetener. I keep this on hand and smoke it for two reasons: 1. It provides the unadulterated taste of extraordinarily good burly; and 2. It is probably the best tobacco for me when breaking in a new pipe (along with Mac Baren Symphony). Both build an excellent cake quickly, and the strong burly flavor provides satisfaction while nursing a new briar. Highly recommended. Paddy.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

Uisqebaugh Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Uisqebaugh (3)
★★★★
Medium None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable

First, let me admit that I am a burley fan. When I first started on pipes, I thought all burleys were only used in poor-quality, drugstore blends. I rapidly learned that I was wrong; burley has the same spectrum as beef. From greasy, bitter cuts to high-quality filet mignon.

Anyways, when it comes to burleys, I love this stuff. The flakes burn just fine if stuffed directly into the pipe. They smoke slowly and last a very long time.

The taste is reminiscent of a good cigar, in my opinion, only smoother. Like a cigar, if smoked too much, it will leave a film on one's tongue.

When I first opened the tin, I detected a weak molasses odor. Whether this was actual molasses, or simply a by-product of the manufacturing process, I don't know.

The room note is gentle. It definitely is tobacco, but it is not harsh like a cigar. Instead, it can be better described as a "sweet cigarette" odor. it's not an odor which will make people around you smile and compliment your pipe. On the other hand, it is not one which will make your spouse yell "Smoke that damned stuff outside."

All in all, I think this is a good blend for fellow burley lovers.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

RobAtHome Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
RobAtHome (25)
★★★☆
Strong None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable to Strong

Edgeworth Sliced and Pease's Barbary Coast are the tobaccos I go to when I want burley. Edgeworth is more rugged and straightforward, while BC is more tempered and refined. Both have their place, and while I smoke a lot more BC, I like the Slices too.

Edgeworth was my first flake tobacco, and my first trials with it were mediocre, head-spinning experiences. Of course, I did a lot of things wrong with it. Once I learned HOW to smoke this tobacco, it became a rewarding blend.

In the tin, very few tobaccos are as impressive looking as Edgeworth. Peeling back the gold-colored inner paper reveals 4" x 3/4" strips packed edge-on into the powder-blue tin. Light and dark tobaccos swirl across the surface. I've compared the tin aroma to date-nut bread - nutty, with a sweet date-sugar/molasses smell.

The flakes rub out easily, pack and light well. Smoked slowly, it's dry, nutty burley all the way from first light to the heel. The molasses-like flavor surfaces from time to time. The flavor is fairly monochromatic, but that's not a bad thing as the tobacco is of good quality. The flavor intensifies as it burns toward the bottom of the bowl.

Edgeworth can finish a little ashy, like most burleys. However, it does finish up less ashy than most. Nicotine content is substantial, but not completely overwhelming. Depending on your nicotine tolerance this may or may not be an all-day smoke. Room aroma is straight tobacco, nutty and faintly cigarette-like.

One hint: Edgeworth layered on top of a half-bowl of Barbary Coast in a big pipe is about as close to Burley Heaven as one can get. BC provides complexity, Edgeworth provides its nutty strength, and the marriage of the two is wonderful.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

Tantric Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Tantric (263)
★★☆☆
Medium Extremely Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable

In my opinion this is a medium to strong burley, with a marked grassy undertone, difficult to smoke. It is a very popular brand. I have tried the flake version a number of times. Personally, it is not the type of tobacco I like, but I do acknowledge the quality of the blend. I find the flakes difficult to rub out and to pack. They are rather stiff, as if glued together by some kind of dried resin. It is a flavoursome smoke, but I find it a bit dry and hot and a number of times I have felt it has scalded my tongue.

Pure Burley has always seem to me a difficult weed to deal with. I very much like Larsen?s Kentucky Gold, Pease?s Barbary Coast, and every now and then Haunted Bookshop or even Prince Albert. ES, I believe, is better than the latter but not as good as the former. Not a bad room aroma, it is a smoke I enjoy with a bit of bourbon, as a change of pace regarding Va. or English mixtures.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

Pipestud Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Pipestud (1005)
★★☆☆
Medium to Strong Extremely Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable

After reading TillmanJ and Eulenberg's favorable reviews of Edgeworth slices, I figured I should give it another shot. My first attempt at this weed lasted about half a bowl before I dumped it - which, in retrospect, was not being fair.

I reopened the tin and discovered the flakes were much dryer than when I first popped the lid. I rubbed a couple of flakes out and carefully loaded up in a well broken in Jacono Billiard. Remembering how this blend bit the first time, I began puffing VERY SLOWLY. My patience was rewarded in several ways. The strong soapy note I detected several months ago was gone. The Burley taste was very evident too. The flavor, as I remembered it a few months ago when the flakes were moist, was muted. Not this time.

I just finished a second bowl this morning and have decided to finish the tin. Not the most elegant Burley I've ever smoked, but we are slowly becoming friends!

Nobody has rated this review yet.

Eulenburg Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Eulenburg (193)
★★☆☆
Medium Mild Mild Pleasant

Is there any Virginia in this?

I always thought of it as a burley blend: sun-cured Tennessee and fire-cured Kentucky, elegantly married in a beautifully elaborated flake. It has been topped with some English-style Earl Grey Tea scent.

The flavour has always seemed a bit bland to me, indeed in the Baren Navy Flake family, although the topping here is more definite, and the Kentucky gives it a mild kick which the Baren lacks totally. I am surprised some people were bitten by this: a most unBurley thing to do.

Although not a burley fancier, I cannot condemn such a beautifully worked, mild flake, and I must say that I do appreciate a blend like this when I have a cold. Nice tin, too.

An old American classic.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

JClark Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
JClark (26)
★★☆☆
Strong None Detected Medium Tolerable

I recieved a free sample of these slices from a far more seasoned pipe man when I bought my last new pipe. The sample was enough for 4 bowlfulls. The slices are visually very attractive, with a subtle tobacco aroma. I was personally quite surprised by the amount of nicotine strength in this blend, and was pleased by the relaxing effect that smoking provided. The smoke itself, however, was quite dull. I enjoyed the flavor, but lost interest after about the halfway point down the bowl. I did not taste a nuttiness from the burley, but instead a creamy almost butter flavor. Toward the end this became quite sour for me, and the last third of the bowl was very unpleasant. This will bite if one does not respect it, but if smoked slowly bite was never a problem for me. I may, in the future, purchase some of this, but I'm not in any hurry.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

Noorrmm Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Noorrmm (193)
★★★☆
Medium to Strong Extremely Mild Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable

Beautifully cut slices of mostly Burley, with some Va. and just a tad of topping. A whole word different in effect from Ready Rubbed, much more refined in character. Could be compared to MacBaren Navy Flake, although the Edgeworth has more Burley, and IMHO, burns cooler.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

lustra Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
lustra (170)
★☆☆☆
Medium None Detected Medium Tolerable

This blend simply proves to me that I'm not really a Burley smoker (unless you're talking Barbary Coast by GL Pease.) I love the cut and burning characteristics of these beautiful flakes, and appreciate the mild, nutty flavour and lack of bite. Ultimately, though, I find this tobacco a little too monochromatic to keep my interest, and a little raw. I sometimes get a significant biter aftertaste as well. Just not my cup of tea. If you like Burley, you'll probably love this stuff.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

Sykes Wilford Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Sykes Wilford (35)
★★★★
Medium to Strong None Detected Full Pleasant

This has become one of my absolute favorite blends, especially for the first couple of bowls of the day.

Attractive long pressed flakes are packed tightly in the 100g tin (I've never seen a 50g tin). Colors range from the light Burleys through mid-range brown Virginias to almost black.

There isn't much to the tin aroma-- slightly sweet, but also hints of a grassy nose...sort of like fresh mown grass.

The flavor is superb-- gently sweet, slightly nutty and a little grassy. It does seem like there's just a hint of perique in there too, but of that I'm not entirely sure. The flavor is well balanced and smooth in spite of the richness.

I generally don't go for Burley blends, but this one is definitely a keeper. Fantastic stuff!!

Nobody has rated this review yet.

tillmanj Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
tillmanj (73)
★★★★
Very Strong None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant

Tin Aroma: This has the clean and bright aroma of a virginia flake. It reminds me of Full Virginia Flake in aroma. there is little to no burley scent.

Physical Characteristics: 4" long, wide flakes that come pretty moist. They rub out nicely if allowed to dry out a bit before smoking, but I prefer to fold them over on themselves and roll them up for smoking. I am always taken with how pretty the swirls of different colored tobaccos are in the cross section of this blend. This is, aesthetically, a very pleasing blend. The packing is easier than one would expect from a flake, and the burn is smooth and even, leaving a light grey ash.

Notes: upon first light there is a pleasant amalgamation of virginia and burley flavors. The virginias shrink away pretty quickly though, leaving a very creamy, nutty burley flavor. The stoved virginias lend the burley some heft, which is a charge that is often levelled at burley blends; they lack body. I have always though that what Burley lacked in body, it made up for in cool subtlety, but if you have always thought burley was 'thin', you ought to try this blend and see what it is like. About one third of the way through the bowl, an earthy taste/sensation begins that I can only find a corollary to in cigars. I have not yet encountered another pipe tobacco that develops this attribute, but it would probably make this a good blend for those pipe smokers who come from the ranks of cigar smokers. This cigar-like quality persists for the rest of the smoke. I find this flake to be an excellent hot weather smoke, both indoors and out. I tend not to smoke much of it during the cooler months, but I sure go through it in the summer. This is a high nicotine blend, and can give the unwary quite a little buzz. It will also bite the crap out of you if you are not careful. Do not be fooled by the burley taste and gleefully puff away like a steam train, as you do with your bulk ribbon burley. There is plenty of stoved virginia in here, just waiting for it's chance to bite you.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

Sceny Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Sceny (66)
★★☆☆
Medium None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable

Well, after my experience with Ready Rubbed, I nearly decided to not try this burley tobacco at all. But, readying the Novocain for my tongue, I packed and lit a bowl of the small sample I purchased, determined to at least make an effort to give this tobacco a fair trial. I'm glad that I did; while by no means my favorite smoke, this blend is remarkably accessible to a burley hater such as myself. In the bag, I detect a musty, fairly normal tobacco aroma. The sample came as partially rubbed-out flakes, mainly dark browns with some scattered medium brown as well. The moisture level was average, and packing was fairly easy. I chose a smaller pipe, and left the flake about half rubbed out when packing. It lit easily and burned well, with an average number of relights despite the flakes. For the first third of the bowl, the nutty flavor of burley was all I noticed: medium fullness, medium strength, and medium taste. Unlike Ready Rubbed, there is no bite at first with this blend; actually, it is fairly smooth for a burley. The taste of the smoke isn't bad; not as full as I usually like, but actually somewhat flavorful. In the second 1/3, the flavor develops, becoming fuller and more complex. There's a hint of sourness on my tongue, and even a trace of sweetness. I still am not noticing any of the normal burley harshness or bite, and there is no moisture thus far. Moving on to the final part of the bowl, and the mild complexity and fullness has developed even more. The burn is clean and dry, and the only bite I've noticed has been when I smoked too fast. This has a remarkable number of different flavors, given the fact that it is pure burley. Overall, I was pleasantly surprised by this blend. While obviously not as full as an English mixture nor as complex as a mature Virginia flake, this is still a refreshing and satisfying smoke. It isn't my favorite style of tobacco, but it is by far the best burley blend I've ever tried. I don't plan to buy a tin of this, but I should have no problems finishing my sample. If you like burleys, I would certainly recommend you try this blend.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

farndog Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
farndog (22)
★★★☆
Very Strong None Detected Full Strong

Edgeworth slice is one of the few burley tobaccos I will smoke. It comes in about 4" flakes that are easily cut into cubes or rubbed out. The tin aroma is nice and has a pleasant burley green smell. It packs nice and lights up with a couple matches. The flavour is buttery and creamy, like good burley can be. The drawback to this tobacco is that it can generate a nicotine buzz pretty quickly, and can turn into an unpleasant taste if you overpuff. With patience this is an excellent tobacco and is best in a tall, narrow pipe.

Nobody has rated this review yet.