The Country Squire Tobacconist Cherokee

(3.46)
Our signature blend. A precise mixture of the choicest Virginias pair with toasted cavendish to create a semi-sweet blend that has a fantastic tobacco flavor. An excellent daily smoke!

Details

Brand The Country Squire Tobacconist
Blended By  
Manufactured By  
Blend Type Aromatic
Contents Black Cavendish, Cavendish, Virginia
Flavoring Nougat
Cut Ribbon
Packaging Bulk
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Very Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.46 / 4
7

5

1

0

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 10 of 13 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 22, 2015 Mild to Medium Very Mild Mild Very Pleasant
This is my first time ordering from The Country Squire. After reading a comment on a pipe forum, I decided to give them a try. After some reviews I decided on my first order, which consisted of Cherokee, Parson's Blend and Second Breakfast. Placed my order, 3 days later at the most, I received it. Before receiving it, I did have a question. Emailed Jon David, he could not have been more helpful and friendly. I can tell that service is very important at this shop. Anyway, after a long debate on which to try first, I decided on Cherokee. All I can say is WOW! This tobacco is highly rated for a reason. I have tried A LOT of tobaccos, from famous name brands to local B&M blends. But this one is truly something special. It is better than tobaccos that are triple the price. It is so smooth, creamy and sweet. Even with my tendency to have a fast cadence, it never became hot or gave me tongue bite whatsoever. Excellent tobacco with just a hint of sweetness, none finer. Could easily become my new daily smoker. If you are reading this and are thinking about trying it, do it! You will not be disappointed...and I haven't even tried the other 2 yet...can't wait. Thank you very much Jon and I look forward to doing more business with y'all very soon...
Pipe Used: MM Cob, Briars
PurchasedFrom: The Country Squire
Age When Smoked: Fresh
15 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 05, 2019 Mild to Medium Medium Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
The Virginias offer a lot of tart and tangy citrus, grass, a little tangy dark fruit, earth and wood along with a drop or two of honey. They are the lead components. The toasted black cavendish adds some sugar and, well, toast in a strong support role. The rich, creamy nougat sublimates the tobaccos quite a lot, though it doesn’t totally drown them out. I sense a hint of honey as well as a light fruitiness that seems to be cherry, but it's overwhelmed by the nougat. The strength is in the center of mild to medium, while the taste is a step below the media threshold. The nic-hit - not often very evident in aros of this kind - is mild. No chance of bite, harshness or rough edges. The tobacco is a little moist, but I saw no need to dry it. Burns cool, clean and a tad slow with a very consistent sweet, creamy flavor from start to finish that translates to the pleasantly lingering after taste and room note. Leaves just a little moisture in the bowl, and requires a few relights. An all day smoke. Three and a half stars.

-JimInks
13 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 13, 2015 Mild Mild Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
This blend was a gamble, as I had never heard of the "Old Country Squire" - and do most online ordering thru P&C or Holts. This Cherokee is truly a great mild aromatic - in which the tobacco flavor is noticed (vs. most aromatics, which, while possibly very good smokes, are more dessert than tobacco [i.e. Molto Dolce - an excellent but truly sweet blend]). Burned a bit hot, but I'm heavy and quick on the pipe. I did dry it out a few hrs before filling the bowl, but it burned evenly w/ no tongue bite. Definitely going into regular rotation. If you like Lane 1-Qish blends, give this a try for more of a true tobacco-aromatic experience.
Pipe Used: Kaywoodie bent billiard
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 18, 2018 Mild Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant
A light aromatic I can see why Cherokee is the most famous of the Squire's House Blends. The flavor I get is definitely a light nougat, but it does not overpower completely the Virginias which are still noticable.

The virginias come through while the cavendish seems to be carrying the flavor.

If you smoke it too hot it can bite a little. But I had no issues as long as I paid attention to what I'm doing. A little moist to my taste straight out of the jar, but I gave it about 30 minutes of airing and it light great and burned wonderfully.

I really enjoy this one as a morning smoke with a cup of coffee to start my day. I Prefer Choctaw as the Tobacco notes come through more but this is still a classic that everyone should try.
Pipe Used: Cob, Morgan Bones
PurchasedFrom: Country Squire
Age When Smoked: 6 months
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 12, 2018 Mild Medium Mild Very Pleasant
I'm a big fan of Jon David and Beau's "The Country Squire Radio" podcast. JD is a top-notch proprietor and there's a reason this blend is highly recommended.

Cherokee will bite if you are heavy handed, but I found that if I sip it right on the edge of going out, the flavor palette blossoms. The mellow Virginias are up front on the draw and are followed by sweet Cavendish with notes of honey and nougat. Burned dry. Low-nic. A truly all day smoke.

If you like nougat aromatics, this is a must try.
Pipe Used: Peterson System 302
PurchasedFrom: The Country Squire
Age When Smoked: Fresh
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 11, 2015 Very Mild Very Mild Mild Very Pleasant
Great daily smoke. Very mild. Pleasant room note. Enjoyable any time of the day. Not a big nicotine hit. Just a great go to smoking tobacco.
Pipe Used: Neerup 3 Brandy
PurchasedFrom: The Country Squire
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 07, 2020 Mild Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant
John David Cole of the country squire continues a legacy started by the Reeves family. Some of their blends date back to the original owner and this is one of them. This is a staple aromatic blend that will not goop up your pipe and leave your hands feeling like glue. The flavor is very pleasant and its easy on the mouth. If you are looking for a nice blend to start on or an all day smoke that your significant other will adore give it a try.

Pipe Used: Corn Cob, Comoys, & Dunhill
PurchasedFrom: TCS
Age When Smoked: New
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 09, 2018 Mild Mild to Medium Mild Very Pleasant
A good crowd pleasing aromatic with a light casing that offers plenty of flavor with no bite. I have gone back to it many times over the years but it has never hit the spot for me, doesn't mean it isn't good though, there are many who smoke nothing else and love the flavor profile. I believe if you lean more toward the aromatic blends you must give it a try, 40 years of being a best seller for a smoke shop such as the The Country Squire has to speak to something magical.
Pipe Used: Various Italian Briars
PurchasedFrom: The Country Squire Tobacconist
Age When Smoked: Fresh
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 13, 2023 Mild Mild Very Mild Pleasant
The smoke is cool and mild, bursting with burnt summer wood. Reminds me of a hot afternoon in a National Park, perhaps somewhere in the Kentucky hills. I smoked a modest bowl this afternoon in April wandering Eastern Washington. It definitely seems 'weak' to me, though the tobacco smells of candied, summer hay soaked in watered down whiskey.
PurchasedFrom: Country Squire
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 04, 2022 Medium Medium Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Bag note is a Cherry with some heavy fruit and nougat. The smoke is less Cherry and some earthiness and some fruit cake.and nougat. Performs well and is pretty mild. Very Good but not like Rivendell or Old Toby.
Pipe Used: Cob
PurchasedFrom: Country Squire
Age When Smoked: New
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"