Peterson Irish Cask

(2.92)
A rich blend of cavendish, Zimbabwean, orange Virginia, Thailand burley & black perique, matured in oak sherry barrels. New Tin Description (Irish Cask): A blend of Virginia leaves from Eastern Carolina, Malawi and Brazil is mixed with a dark brown Cavendish tobacco.
Notes: Previously know as Irish Oak.

Details

Brand Peterson
Blended By Peterson
Manufactured By Scandinavian Tobacco Group
Blend Type Aromatic
Contents Cavendish, Virginia
Flavoring Sherry
Cut Ribbon
Packaging 50 grams tin, bulk
Country Denmark
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium to Strong
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium to Full
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

2.92 / 4
81

94

54

24

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 253 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
KRL
Jun 27, 2014 Mild None Detected Very Mild Very Pleasant
I fell in love with it. It was an adventure smoking it, has a mild taste it's like medicine for your soul. Started out with a hay-like Virginia taste, continued with a hint of Perique, burned with a single match most of the times, leaving white ashes. Reminded me of my childhood, of warm autumn evenings. I really enjoyed it after a hard day's work, my GF loves the spicy scent. One of my favorites so far.
Pipe Used: 9 pipes of various types
PurchasedFrom: http://pipatorium.internettudakozo.hu/
Age When Smoked: 29
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 02, 2012 Strong Very Mild Medium to Full Pleasant
A freshly opened tin reveals tangy woody and dry grass aromas with an upfront sweetness and background pepper note. Over time the tanginess and pepper notes remains with the sweetness becoming more darker and chocolate-like.

It is mostly ribbon cut with strands of varying length and thickness. There are equal quantities of darker to lighter leaf – darker oily maroon strands (Cavendish?) are mixed with golden orange to rusty-brown strands with occasional small cuts of dark- brown broken flake (Perique?). I estimate the Perique content is 3–5%.

The smoke starts off like a lighter Va-Per and is quite sweet, often with a floral fragrance, but soon develops a more robust and peppery taste. The flavour builds down the bowl, and mid-bowl the smoke transforms into more nutty and wood-like flavours. Overall the flavour is dominated by Virignia and Burley, but it is very much a unique blend (and I wouldn't say this is a classic Va-Per). The perique is detectable and adds spice but the taste overall is dry-nuttier (from the Burley) and woody with a subtle fragrant sweetness that alternates between floral notes and earl grey tea. It has a decent nicotine content that can be quite strong at times.
43 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 13, 2013 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Tin note is sweet bread and a hint of Virginia hay. Presentation is typical Peterson fine ribbon. Moisture content was not bad, almost just right as is. A short dry time of ten minutes is recommended. Takes a match well and requires few if any relights.

Initial note is cavendish forward on the charring light - not in an aromatic way, but rather natural cavendish, analogous to Luxury Bullseye Flake if you dropped a rubbed-out cavendish core right on top of the bowl. I detect no Perique until about half way through the bowl when I can sense the spice in my sinus cavities. But perique content is light. Virginias assert in final half of the bowl and, in the final third it all comes together marvelously. I like blends like this that change flavors as the bowl progresses. I found, in the final quarter of the bowl, that the cavendish reasserts as pleasantly sweet.

The tin describes this blend as Virginia, Cavendish and Perique. But the description in the box at top also state's burley as an ingredient. If there is burley present, it's blended harmoniously as I don't pick it up as a dominant or distinct flavor.

While not generally a fan of Peterson blends (University Flake excepted), I really enjoy this one. An excellent VaPer hybrid for those who prefer very light Perique. A nice change of pace for smokers of PS Luxury Bullseye Flake. May not satisfy the hard core VaPer smoker but I find it a nice diversion from the main rotation. Very pleasant smoke.

As a side note, I'm surprised many found this blend medium-to-full in strength and taste. Despite the strong name, "Irish Oak", I found it very light as compared to a traditional VaPer and would highly recommend it to those just newly experimenting with this type of blend, or those who prefer a lighter blend.
38 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 21, 2002 Medium Extremely Mild Medium Pleasant
Whew! Is this blend ever loaded with perique! If you like that Louisiana specialty, then get some Irish Oak running thru your veins. If, on the other hand, you prefer your perique to be in the background, tiptoe away from this stuff!

The strange thing about this tobacco is that you need to smoke the first quarter of a bowl before the perique starts to take over. By the bottom third, well, a perique lover will be having a near orgasmic experience. As for me, the last third of the bowl was so overwhelmingly perique, I couldn't taste anything else in the blend.

Recommended for those with a bad head cold and need to clear their nasal passages.
29 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 07, 2012 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable to Strong
This blend is extremely VA, with the Cav, Bur, and Perique being very great supporting components.

Upon opening the tin, I was slapped in the face with bright, fresh and sweet tobacco aromas.

It's a difficult packer, being that there are several different cuts here, so tread carefully?

This is a very new experience for me. This blend offers a light of very thin flavors, not that they are lesser, but the golden/orange VA's are really giving this blend a light, almost airy flavor. The other components come out to play, but in a way I've never smoked before.

The cav lends its sweetness, mellowness and depth while the Perique helps give Irish Oak its name. As the bowls gets about halfway, the flavor and aroma are very close to charring wood. Different. Pleasant, but different. You can definitely get the oaken sherry barrels essence here.

One thing this blend brought to my attention, I clearly have the wrong smoking schedule. This tobacco is very much a sit down, relax, have a cup 'o tea and take a break from life. Whereas my other tobaccos scream "WAKE UP! WE'RE READY FOR THIS!"

Peterson is also new to me, so this too was purchased (like 221b Black Shag) partially due to the negative remarks on tobaccoreviews. I had to try it for myself.

Am I satisfied? OOOH YEEES.

Not something I am going to smoke every day, it's a good change of pace blend, so it will sit contently waiting.
24 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 25, 2006 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium to Full Very Pleasant
Irish Oak is pretty much over-the-top wonderful. My review is from a tin I have aged for two years (and likely the tobacconist had for a year or more on the shelf).

This does and has it all for me: High-quality tobacco, real tobacco taste, little or no glucose added, loads easily, lights quickly, burns to a clean ash, rich & wonderful flavors, complexity, tongue-bite free, intoxicating aroma and little gurgles. This is good whether you have eaten something sweet or savory prior, during and after smoking Irish Oak.

If you don't like abundant Perique or heavy nicotine, Irish Oak is not for you. If Burley and Cavendish in a Virginia/Perique blend put a crimp in your shorts, Irish Oak is not for you. If you buy bulk blends exclusively, sorry.

If you like Germain's Royal Jersey Perique and want more Perique and a cooler climate, try Irish Oak (same with Dorchester, Dunbar, 633, Long Golden Flake, Golden Sliced, Luxury Navy Flake or MOB 111). If Tilbury turns your worm gear and you thought, ?If only it had Perique and more Virginias,? get some Irish Oak. If you are a bit frustrated with harshness, H,O, and heat from Escudo or Pease's non-oriental Perique blends...Irish Oak.

Short bowls, tall bowls, small bowls, large bowls, narrow and wide, severely tapered and straight-sided bowls, indoors, outdoors, daytime, nighttime, anytime, Irish Oak is the mixture that works. Smoke it in a clean bowl or use it to clean a funky bowl.

A touch of sweetness and mustiness from Virginias (as others have noted); perilous with Perique; nutty, deep Burley; with mellowing Cavendish create a dance on the edge of danger that manage to excite and not execute. One of my ?desert Island blends.?

If Peterson blends were made by Murray, Sons Ltd. and now have gone to Scandinavia as have Dunhill?s, I worry that this will loose its edge. We?ll see, but the early reports are not encouraging.
21 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 14, 2018 Medium Extremely Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
The tartly citrusy, mildly grassy Virginia and Virginia cavendish also sport some tangy dark fruit, hay, wood and earth as the lead components. The nutty, woody, earthy burley is a supporting player that often competes with the aforementioned varietals for attention. The raisiny, plumy, lightly spicy perique is fairly mild, and never gathers any potency. The sherry topping doesn’t sublimate the tobaccos overly much. The strength and taste levels are medium. The nic-hit is closer to medium than it is to mild. Won’t bite or get harsh. Burns cool and clean at a reasonable pace with a touch of inconsistency in flavor (mostly caused by the perique, which waxes and wanes). Leaves little dampness in the bowl, and requires just a touch more than an average number of relights. Has a pleasant, lightly lingering after taste and room note. Not an all day smoke, but can be repeatable at times during your smoking day. Not as complex as expected. Two and a half stars.

-JimInks
19 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 12, 2013 Medium Very Mild Medium to Full Tolerable
Being relatively new to smoking a pipe, I wanted to try a few different blends from aromatique, to english and then this. I was a little skeptical of the tobacco at first, not recognizing the smells that came through my nostrils as I cracked the tin and took a wiff; I've grown quite accustomed to the smell of cigarette tobacco and cigars and have never experienced such a bouquet. I was a little shocked when the flavours tasted almost nothing like the smell of the raw tobacco, it was just strong enough to keep me interested and had a variety of flavours from a nuttiness to a nice spicy note towards the bottom of the bowl.

Needless to say I was immediately satisfied with my purchase. I will be buying this tobacco again after this tin is done.
16 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 07, 2013 Mild to Medium Extremely Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
What I like most about this blend is the patience it has taught me. Yes, it is temperamental; if you get it too hot it will bite. Too cold and it will gurgle or burn out.

I'm about a half of a tin in and I can't find consistency between bowls, but I don't think that is a bad thing. One bowl gives me perique overdose, the next may give me a cool oak flavor. The room note reminds me of walking into a cabinet makers shop. Sawdust cut from premium hard wood for furniture making; it brings back memories of working in a shop back in my younger days.

This blend is not for everyone, but I happen to enjoy it a lot.
14 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 12, 2014 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
I've been smoking Irish Oak for more than two years. I must admit that the first couple of bowls left me unimpressed. I was thinking of just finishing the tin and that's it. But then this tobacco got hold of me completely. The virginias up front is what I love about it. Sweet tasting quality tobacco. The perique is subdued and will only let you know it's there in between puffs. The moisture level out of the tin is perfect for me, packing is easy once I got used to the fine cut. Lighting is easy as well, and it's stays lit once it's going. This is a lovely pipe tobacco all round, you will know that you are smoking quality. Due to a shortage locally, I've been without IO for months until last Saturday when I purchased 10 tins. I've been digging deep into the first open tin, just can't get enough. This is a unique product and once you have grown the taste for it, you will never want to be without it. Highly recommended
Pipe Used: Sasieni Old England
PurchasedFrom: Curiosity Hut
Age When Smoked: Unknown
12 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 12, 2006 Medium to Strong Mild Medium to Full Tolerable
I was lucky enough to procure an old tin of this wonderful tobacco on a recent trip out of state. The tin I have has the actual "Irish Oak" tree on it and says made in Ireland. This is proably the best tobacco of the genre that I have sampled to date. This really is what Dunhill's Elizabethan Mixture should have been.The tin aroma is quite pungent. There is a definite Perique presence in the blend.It is a beautiful ribbon cut- mostly blond tobaccos with a few chunks of darker leaves. The SHERRY essence is not apparent to the nose. Upon 1st light one is greeted by a wonderful tangy/fruity essence that warmly envelops the Virginia and Burley in the Blend. After a minute or so of smoking, the Perique pokes its head out and adds a slightly sour/piquant note to the flavor. It took only 2 matches to keep lit and smoked cool all the way down.The flavor did not change much throughout the smoke, but really was quite relaxing. This is a contemplative blend. It is reserved and understated. This is not a Perique lover's dream nor is it a Latakia lover's nightmare. It is simply a timeless classsic English type blend. The Sherry oak barrel aging process does seem too lend a certain something to the experience. An excellent foray into the past blends of yesteryear. 4 of 4 stars.
12 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"