Savinelli Doblone d'Oro

(3.61)
The choicest Virginias, burleys and dark fired Kenyan leaf are enhanced with an impeccable addition of spicy perique, then aged to perfection before being spun into enticingly beautiful, zesty coins. A delightfully vivacious and flavorful smoke.

Details

Brand Savinelli
Blended By  
Manufactured By Mac Baren
Blend Type Virginia/Perique
Contents Burley, Kentucky, Perique, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Curly Cut
Packaging 100 grams tin
Country Denmark
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium to Strong
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium to Full
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.61 / 4
35

9

5

0

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 49 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 06, 2014 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium Pleasant
Nice coins, fairly dry and smokeable without needing further drying. Reminds me of MacBaren's Dark Twist with a bit of Perique added. No country of origin or blender listed on the tin but I'm guessing MacBaren.
Pipe Used: Sav. Onda Canadian, Radice Rhodesian
PurchasedFrom: smokingpipes
Age When Smoked: new
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 09, 2014 Medium to Strong Extremely Mild Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
The Virginias are tart and tangy citrus sweet with a little tangy dark fruit, grass, some earth and a touch of honey, bread and acidity. The dark fired spicy, woody, floral, herbal, vegetative, mildly dry and sour Kentucky is an important player, adding some flavor depth and strength. There is a fair amount of raisiny, peppery, plumy, earthy perique that plays well with the Kentucky spice that may tingle the tongue of a fast puffer. The lightly nutty, earthy, woody burley is less than a condiment. There are a very mild rum and anise topping that work well with the tobaccos, and doesn't sublimate them. The strength and taste levels are closer to medium than they are to full. The nic-hit is medium. Won't bite or get harsh, but fast puffing may result in a light tongue tingle. It does have a few small rough edges. The tobacco is coin cut, but very easy to break part or fold and stuff as you please. It's reminiscent of Mac Baren's Three Nuns in several ways, which is no surprise since Mac Baren manufactures both mixtures. It's a little stronger and spicier, and more nuanced than the current Three Nuns (and a little less spicer and sweeter than the old VaPer version). Consider this to be a hot-to-trot kissing cousin to the new Three Nuns, and closer to the VaPer Three Nuns than any of today's or past productions. The varietals are a little dry out of the tin. Well balanced and complex, it burns clean and fairly cool at a lightly slow pace with a deeply rich, very consistent mildly tart and tangy sweet, spicy, lightly savory flavor that translates to the pleasantly lingering after taste, and a lightly stronger room note. Leaves just a little dampness in the bowl. Requires a couple more than an average number of relights. Not quite an all day smoke, but it is a repeatable one.

Update 3-1-2021: I have noticed that this blend was changed after 2015. The perique content was lowered a mite, and the dark fired Kentucky is a more prominent varietal. I would say it is virtually a lead component. The Virginias are close to the lead at times. The perique is now a condiment, and the blend no longer resembles VaPer Three Nuns. Some of my previous observations remain the same.

-JimInks
81 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 08, 2016 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant
Without question, the finest of the Savinelli blends, I enjoyed the Burley/Kentucky strength that others here found to be too much. I did not. The Virginia/Perique element was bolstered by it and the presentation forced me to buy several more tins for the cellar. I think this one will age beautifully for me. If you have smoked Dunhill's de Luxe Navy Rolls, try to envision that leaf with added Burley and you will pretty much get the picture of what Doblone d'Oro is all about.

Pipestud
43 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 13, 2015 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
Summary: A mature Virginia/Perique mixture, Savinelli "Doblone d'Oro" mixes stabilizing Burleys with dark-fired leaf, producing a powerful balanced smoke.

Most Virginia/Perique mixtures fall on the sweet side of the equation to the exclusion of many other flavors, which fits those who want a well-behaved all day smoke for light stimulus. Savinelli "Doblone d'Oro" goes Wagnerian on that formula by adding dark-fired leaf, using darker Virginias balanced with Burleys for a broad and full flavor, and amping the Perique to make a moderately hard-hitting smoke with a balance of flavors.

At first light, the characteristic "VaPer" taste emerges, with the peppered fig flavor of the Perique clashing with the Virginia to produce a lemony aftertaste, but then the Burleys rise and the dark fired leaf wings in to support them, broadening flavor but keeping its balance. The sweetness recedes, and the Perique marches to the front, waving its sword of mixed indole alkaloids, while the dark fired simmers and tones down the flavor from its lighter notes of lemony and grassy Virginia.

If you have tried Orlik "Golden Sliced," Escudo "Navy De Luxe," or the near-twins Newminster "No. 403 Superior Round Slices" and Peter Stokkebye "Luxury Bullseye Flake," you are familiar with the Virginia/Perique format. Savinelli drops the idea of making a purely piquant mix and instead creates a full range of flavors which complement each other, taking this type of blend from its sugary origins to something which can be enjoyed alongside other intense tobaccos. The result can be a savory all-day smoke without the relentless high note that makes most VaPers fall short of full enjoyment.
41 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 05, 2016 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
This is an outstanding smoke. Smoky, earthy, notes of tangy dark fruit, mildly sweet and spicy, mildly nutty. Very well rounded with a good deal of strength. Rich and satisfying. 25 stars.

Medium to strong in body. No added flavoring. Medium to full in taste. Burns perfectly. Love this stuff.
Pipe Used: MM Little Devil Cutty, Little Devil Acorn, Marcus
PurchasedFrom: Mars cigars and pipes
Age When Smoked: fresh
29 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 27, 2014 Medium Strong Medium to Full Pleasant
This is a delightful tobacco. Sweet grassy back drop from the Virginia while the dark fired Kenyan tobacco gives it some strength. The Perique adds some spice to make it interesting. A great all day smoke. It comes out of the tin ready to smoke. It is stimulating without tongue bite and never boring. I am surprised not more people are trying this. With its availability, cost, and undeniable flavor it is an easy 5. it could easily become a classic that a whole other generation will decry it's passing in later years. Rated an easy 4.

Pipe Used: any number. It is a very forgiving tobacco.
PurchasedFrom: Smoking Pipes
Age When Smoked: June 14 and ready to go.
23 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 19, 2016 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable to Strong
Quite possibly the best use of Perique I've experienced. I like Dark Fired Kentucky, and that sets a wonderful backdrop for the nicely balanced Perique to sit against.

In the tin, it looks much like any MacBaren roll cake, albeit quite a bit drier. The smell is even faintly reminiscent, although much more robust. I think of this as what I wish any of the MacBaren roll cakes were actually like. Or maybe like MB roll cakes for a palette that likes deeper tobacco flavors.

The other tobaccos are present but really only serve to balance out and mute the intensity of the dark fired Kentucky and Perique. It ends up being a very likable and agreeable smoke, for me at least. There's a hint of VaPer, but it's not subtle like say Escudo. It's nowhere near as sweet as many VaPers either. The Kentucky gives it a similar base flavor to MacBaren HH Old Dark Fired, but this is more multi-dimensional and complex with the Perique. Speaking of, that Perique note is excellent, among the finest I've had. Strong fig note, a touch of spice, and by no means bitter.

All in all, I give it a highly recommended to those that like fuller flavors. Complex, brooding, curious; this is a very nice blend to fire up, sit back, and contemplate. Reasonable nicotine hit as well, not 1792 or Irish Flake intense, but not wimpy either.
20 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 05, 2015 Medium to Strong Very Mild Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
Doblone d’Oro is one of several stellar blends released over the past few years by Savinelli. IMO, all of this series are not only good but they are also fairly original without being "out there".

Popping a 1 year old tin of D d’O, the seal seemed good but the mosh of “coins” inside was hardly an auspicious beginning. They were simply piled and smashed into the tin, and they were rather dry. I guess one could say that they come ready for smoking, were it not for another quirk of this blend, which I’ll get to, anon. Tin note is the well-aged, lightly fermented tobaccos listed, with an overall scent of brown raisin bread. The VAs are grassy and hay-ish; the Perique is vaguely fruity; the KY is earthy, subtly smoky and piquant. The “nuts” from the KY/Burly are well roasted. Despite the inviting tin note, I will say right away that D d’O was somewhat rough and muddled when smoked straight out of the tin. For me, it only came into its own after I jarred it for a couple of months, then rubbed it out and blended it before smoking it, and my recommendation is based on these stipulations. Given this prior consideration, D d’O is wonderfully fragrant from first light, and it only gets better as it gathers itself, down the bowl. It is strong enough, yet it is elegant. Sip and sniff it lightly and enjoy the ride. The tobaccos are first quality, and the delicate topping is a perfect complement to the blend, IMO. Spices from the Perique and the KY come across almost like a fruity Oriental, only slightly musty, while the VAs are deep, old hay, semi-sweet and with more punch than I expected, based on the predominant scents and tastes. The lot is deep like KY, with substantial overtones. What I like best about this blend is the nonchalant way its delicate nuances emerge from such a serious, substantial, well-melded blend. The lot both concentrates and smooths out down the bowl. Strength builds gradually until it’s past medium. Tastes are greater than medium, and no need to chase them. Room note is nice, especially in view of the Perique and the KY. There is plenty of thick smoke. Aftertaste is the best of the smoke. It handles, packs, lights and smokes like a dream, from beginning to end.

Approached with respect, Doblone d’Oro might be a nice introduction to VA/Bur/Per, also KY. Once aged, rubbed out and blended, it’s complex without complications, a comfortable, satisfying smoke, like the best of the old “Premium” blends. Bravo. 4 stars.
Pipe Used: various briars
PurchasedFrom: Liberty Tobacco
Age When Smoked: 1 year ib the tin; 2 mos. in a jar
18 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 15, 2017 Strong None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant
Savinelli - Doblone d'Oro.

I got this on a recent trade with my buddy Gentleman Zombie, Franck, cheers pal!

In the tin the blend looks a lot more reminiscent of Mac Baren's Roll cake, rather than one of the better formed roll cakes such as Dunhill De Luxe Navy Rolls, or Escudo Navy De Luxe. As well as some coins the tin includes ribbons (lots more of these than coins), so it doesn't require lots of time to fill a bowl.

To me, the smoke has a fairly full flavour. There's sharp/lively Perique, nutty Burley and a touch of mild Virginia, but it's the Kentucky that elevates the flavour: as the bowl burns there's an amelioration of the Kentucky, and as this develops the smoke becomes fuller. At first the flavour's more of a traditional VaPerBur one, but after a quarter everything changes. If I use the ribbon parts to fill a bowl with it tends to burn a little quick, but by scrunching the actual coin pieces (few as they are) I get a longer smoke. I get no tongue bite from S.d.D, but if I chug it the smoke feels warm.

The nicotine feels strong (I have less tolerance for Lady N since ditching cigarettes a year ago), and the room-note's quite pleasant.

This is a good quality smoke, not one I could have as a go-to, but a very decent blend. Cheers Franck!

Recommended.

Update,07/03/17: I'm loving this as a morning smoke, ergo, raising the result to four stars!

Highly recommended.
Pipe Used: Altinok Meerschaum
PurchasedFrom: Traded with Franck
Age When Smoked: Tin badged June 2014
17 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 26, 2015 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium Tolerable
Edit 1/8/2016

This is an example of why I now don't give 4 stars to blends of which I only smoked a small sample. This is still a good blend and I certainly don't regret buying two tins of it following my last review of it. I did recently finish one of those 100g tins. I do like it for the reasons disclosed below, but think it falls a little below the other VaBurPer blends for which I have awarded four stars in the past.

The reason is likely more my personal preference for a heavier Kentucky, or burley presence in these blends. This is a well-balanced blend to be sure, but it is a little lighter in body than my favorite ones.

Original Review 1/26/15

It is interesting how I came to get a hold of this one. A friend of mine and I both took advantage of a groupon to get Trevi 320's from BnB tobaccos. Later when we got together for a smoke, he asked me which Savinelli Tobacco I chose. I had a blank look on my face. Apparently when ordering I missed the fact that the pipe would come with a free tin.

Anyway, he gave me a sample of this one that he chose. I was irritated I missed out on a free tin, but then really irritated after I tasted how fantastic this blend was. This is right up my alley of blends I like. Rich in perique and Dark fired Kentucky it is earthy and spicy. The Virginia is the perfect complement to this blend bringing just the right amount of sweetness to the little coins.

It is a well-balanced blend that is a little like Three Nuns, Newminster superior rounds or even Strang. I liked it so much I ended up ordering two more tins, one of which, I plan on aging.
16 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 03, 2018 Medium to Strong Medium Medium to Full Pleasant
When I was stationed in Germany in 1957 I was introduced to Three Nuns and smoked it daily until it was no longer available. I have tried every new version on the Nuns and none was like the old Bells. Many of the tobaccos were very good but not like the old tobacco. This is not the same but to this piper’s taster it is very close. My palette is not as refined as some of the reviewers, but to me this tobacco is a bit stronger and has a heavier aftertaste in the mouth. The perique seems a tad less, but for me this is as close as one can get to the old blend of yore. Also please remember that I am basing this review on my memories from the past.
Pipe Used: Various Briars
PurchasedFrom: Mars
Age When Smoked: Sept 2015
14 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"