Missouri Meerschaum American Patriot

(3.23)
American Patriot is a highly unusual type of blend to find in a pouch. This is a latakia based blend, enhanced by quality Virginia leaf, and the exotic influence of Turkish Smyrna, with just a touch of burley for excellent burning characteristics. A light top note of Kentucky Bourbon makes for a nice addition to the aroma, but is undetectable in the flavor. For a superb value in an English style blend, light up a bowl of American Patriot.

Details

Brand Missouri Meerschaum
Blended By Russ Ouellette
Manufactured By Sutliff
Blend Type English
Contents Black Cavendish, Burley, Latakia, Oriental/Turkish, Virginia
Flavoring Bourbon
Cut Mixture
Packaging 1.5 ounce pouch
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Extremely Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant to Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.23 / 4
16

12

6

1

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 10 of 35 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 02, 2014 Mild to Medium Very Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
The bourbon topping is very light and tasty, and doesn't detract much from the tobacco. The burley is a minor player, nutty sweet with a touch of earth. The Virginia is a little grassy and mildly citrusy. The cavendish adds some sweetness, helping to push this blend into the "American English" category. The Cyprian latakia is a moderate addition; a little smokey and woody. The same is true of the Oriental/Turkish Smyrna, which also produces a hint of sweet spice. Well blended, you get the entire range of flavors in nearly every puff. Burns at a reasonable pace, cool, clean, and dry with no bite or dullness. Leaves little moisture in the bowl, and needs few relights. The nic-hit is almost medium level and the mixture is a repeatable smoke during the day if you so wish. Gets three and a half stars.

-JimInks
36 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 16, 2014 Mild to Medium Very Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
I have smoked Russ Ouellette’s other very good OTC style blends like Angler’s Dream and Old Tartan but I think that American Patriot, the first of the MMC blends I have tried, is the best I have smoked thus far. American Patriot is an “American English” style light aromatic. The Smyrna for me is what makes this lightly sweet, smoky blend. The proportion of Latakia is perfect and the touch of Burley adds just a slight nutty background flavor. I have spent the afternoon smoking AP out of both a cob (of course!) and a briar. I prefer the cob but either way you can’t go wrong. It comes pipe ready with no need to dry it and burns with no bite. I could just barely get a hint of the bourbon scent and little to no taste of it in the pipe. AP could be enjoyed by aromatic and nonaromatic smokers alike. AP is could be one of those “set it and forget it” type all day blends for some folks. I would rate AP based on how it stands up to other pouch/OTC style blends and this blend offers a lot of “bang for the buck.” AP is at price point similar to other OTC blends but in terms of flavor, complexity (compared to OTC blends) and the fact that this offers little or no PG like other OTC’s, American Patriot is the easy hands down winner!
Pipe Used: Cobs and a briar
Age When Smoked: New
36 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 08, 2014 Mild to Medium Very Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
I was surprised by this tobacco because this tastes more like a tinned blend. I think it's well blended and I can taste bourbon in this, its mild and not overpowering in anyway and I normally don't like blends with alcohol. I also get a slight smokiness from the Latakia and a sweetness from the Virginias and the topping. This didn't burn hot and I didn't get a bite. Burned nice and even and was surprisingly smooth. I enjoyed this blend very much.
23 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 17, 2015 Mild to Medium Very Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
I was sent the full line of the Missouri Meer blends to sample and review and I must say that American Patriot topped the lot. I loved the flavor of the Latakia and Smyrna in the background. The bit of liquor topping was not off-putting and managed to enhance the smoke without overpowering it. And, if you like a little punch with your smoke, American Patriot delivered again with the smattering of Kentucky.

Pipestud
16 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 23, 2014 Medium Medium Medium Pleasant
I get in the mood for Latakia once in a while, but it's not something I like to smoke all the time, or not even very often. To me, Latakia is like Dewayne (The Rock) Johnson...no matter how you dress him up, or down, any place he goes, he will be noticed. Latakia has always been a bit too much "in your face" for me. But I was determined to have an open mind, to do a fair evaluation on this blend. I took a big swig of tea, a deep breath and opened the pouch. As I expected, I was immediately hit with the smokey blast of Latakia, but not really as bad as I thought it would be. I could actually smell some other components, like a little sweet Virginia, something a bit on the spicy side, and some sort of sweetish liquor... maybe Bourbon? I took a few deep sniffs to get the full effect, and I was surprised. This may not be as bad as I thought. It was certainly complex, and not really unpleasant. Like the other blends, it appeared to be rubbed flake (or I just don't know what all the different cuts are...). It packed and lit well. After the first few puffs, I got to thinking it really isn't so bad. It actually tasted like a slightly milder version of Seattle Pipe Club's Mississippi River blend. I found myself actually starting to like it. The flavor and aroma was smokey, of course, but not too bad. It reminded me of my smoker when it just starts to settle down to nice coals and smokewood. The room-note was a little smokey, but not unpleasantly so. Around the middle of the bowl, the whiskey flavor moved a bit more to the front, making for an interesting change. There was also a little more spiciness, sort of like the cedar trees after a light morning rain. This continued all the way to the bottom of the bowl. There was never any bite, and it smoked nice and cool. This is a good medium smoke, and would be great for beginners wanting to try a Latakia blend, so they could ease into it. Fans of Mississippi River will love this. It will never be my favorite, but I plan to keep some around for the occasional Latakia experience. Of all the Latakia blends I have smoked, this one is the best to my taste, by far. I actually enjoyed it......
Pipe Used: Missouri Meerschaum Mini
PurchasedFrom: pipesandcigars.com
Age When Smoked: new
16 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 18, 2015 Mild to Medium Very Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
This is a very good blend. A nice surprise. The Orientals are very tasty and smooth enough that I have no problem with the retro-hale. They lead the Latakia which is applied moderately. The Cavendish and the Virginias add an ample amount of sweetness. The bourbon topping is light and pleasant. I would have no problem paying more for this. When you consider the price this is an easy 4 stars.

Mild to medium in body. Medium in flavor. Burns great. A masterful blending job.
Pipe Used: MM Country Gentleman, MM Mark Twain
PurchasedFrom: pipesandcigars.com
Age When Smoked: fresh
10 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 07, 2018 Mild to Medium Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
A simple, yet lovely blend! I got granted a pouch of this as I'm on a "Drunken Tobacco"-Trip (alcohol flavored blends) and being the Corn Cob lover I am I couldn't help myself but to try this blend.

The unburnt aroma is sweet, slightly malty and spicy with a smoky undertone. It doesn't smell of Whiskey too much, but if you know it's in there you can associate the malty note with it.

I know it's close to being heresy, but my first bowl was in a clay pipe. Now I've smoked it in clays, briars and - of course - Corn Cobs and have to admit: This one shines in Cobs! The sweet, corn-y aroma the Cob gives underscores the tobacco excellently.

In the pipe the Latakia is rather mild, but everpresent! "Semi-Aromatic" blend with good balance between malty-sweet, slightly alcohol-ish topping and spicy-smoky and earthy tobacco. Not really complex, but interesting enough to keep one entertained and satisfied. Great smoke for when you're doing something. Pack a bowl, clench the Cob and you'll have a good half hour of pleasure. Definetly a repeatable smoke and some may even handle this as an All-Day-Smoke.

For being what it is - an 'every-mans-smoke' for a cheap price but with excellent value - 3,5 stars
Pipe Used: Clays, Cobs, Briars
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 15, 2014 Mild Extremely Mild Medium Pleasant
This is great! This tobacco finds the perfect blend of virginia, latakia, burley and casing. All of the components contribute without overpowering the others. When first lit, the latakia is right there, then it blends right in without disappearing. I like latakia so this was pleasing to me. I don't generally like aromatics, so I was concerned about the casing. It is unobtrusive but contributes to pleasant room note. My wife hates my Balkans, but I don't expect she will mind this. Not to say this is a balkan, far from it. What it is is a smooth all day smoke that has a round flavor that almost seems creamy. It is light, but has great flavor. I will buy more.
Pipe Used: Diplomat cob
PurchasedFrom: Pipes and cigars
Age When Smoked: Fresh out of the pouch
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 12, 2015 Mild to Medium Extremely Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
Typical mottled color with an old OTC bag aroma. Review is based on 2 3-bowl samples I got from 2 different internet friends on the same day (that was cool!). Thanks, friends! A bit of latakia aroma as well but mostly good old fashioned codger burley goodness.

An "American English" with the burley in the lead, and the virginia locking horns for second fiddle with the latakia. But burley ruled the show as far as noticeability. On the other hand, the addition of Turkish Smyrna was a masterstroke and gives the blend the extra oomph of sweet and sour with spice. That elevates this blend ahead of your run of the mill American English. I wouldn't have minded a hair more latakia but there are other blends to satisfy that. I guess there is a bourbon topping to this one as well, which I missed in the taste but think I caught in the room note. I could see this one being tinned - it's quite good and strikes me as a step up from most OTC's, to which it seems to fall in line with regarding comparisons. But like Angler's Dream, this is a step up, and deserves 4 stars. Again, it's cheap! If you enjoy American English blends, you must give this one a try.
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 04, 2016 Mild to Medium Extremely Mild Medium to Full Pleasant
Not much more to add.... great stuff ! However.... very irritating not to be able to buy in bulk or tins. Hate buying & emptying each 1.5 ounce clear plastic baggie into my jar... feel like a dope dealer with all the baggies on the table! ..... . I'd be buying a lot more if I didn't have to buy it in such small quantity units. [ Hope Russ or someone at MM is reading this ] But can't find fault in what has become my favorite all day blend.
Pipe Used: savinelli oom paul
PurchasedFrom: pipes & cigars
Age When Smoked: fresh
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"