Cult Blood Red Moon

(3.14)
This dark, decadent blend combines fire-cured cavendish, bright Virginias and burleys with the delicious aromas of natural Royal Ann cherry and dark chocolate. A bit sweet, extremely rich, and unquestionably smooth.

Details

Brand Cult
Blended By  
Manufactured By Scandinavian Tobacco Company
Blend Type Aromatic
Contents Burley, Cavendish, Virginia
Flavoring Cherry, Cocoa / Chocolate
Cut Coarse Cut
Packaging 50 grams tin
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Medium to Strong
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Very Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.14 / 4
62

32

22

11

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 10 of 127 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 12, 2014 Mild to Medium Medium to Strong Full Pleasant to Tolerable
This is a wonderful cherry aromatic. Not your typical blend. This is in my opinion a perfectly balanced blend of flavors. The cherry flavor is great. Not artificial tasting. The chocolate is very creamy and mixes perfect. This is a harmonious smoke. I love this blend more and more every time I smoke it. It is easily my favorite aromatic. Most aromatics don't taste as good as the description, this one does. The tobacco used is also top notch and is not hidden under all the casing and flavor. It is a wonferfull mix of tobacco and flavor. If you had given up on cherry in the past, heck, if you had given up on aromatics period, this may change your mind. Best flavor ever.
Pipe Used: All grades of briar, MM cobs
PurchasedFrom: PipesandCigars
Age When Smoked: fresh tin and aged. its all good
51 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 02, 2014 Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Medium Very Pleasant
I'm impressed. Right off the bat this is the best cherry blend I've smoked and I'm not a big cherry blend lover. It's a blend all it's own. It gives me the impression of "old school" yet it's like a modern day twist. It's as if that blend your grandfather smoked was updated and brought into this century. Or something like steampunk, the old mixed with a futuristic twist on realilty. The only negative thing I find is in the tin there is a strange medicine like smell along with the cherry. However it doesnt carry over to the smoking experience. Although not much the bottom of the bowl was wet.

This blend is similar to Drew Estates "7th Ave. Blonde" in the since the fragrance packs a whallup and it's rich sweetness stays with you. The taste and fragrance? Imagine a rich cherry and chocolate flavor. It's as if they mixed 7th Ave Blonde with the chocolate of Central Park Stroll. It's good and holds a great flavor along with it's cherry profile in both taste and room note. I recommend this to any pipe smoker who likes aro's or use to smoke aro's and gave up on them. This is a good one to have around. I couldn't imagine a cherry blend getting better than this one.
Pipe Used: Corn Cob. Washington
PurchasedFrom: pipesandcigars.com
36 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 03, 2017 Mild to Medium Medium Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
The nuttiness from the burley is not very noticeable; the earth and wood are a little bit more so. The Virginia is processed in the cavendish style with a little grass, honey, toast, and tangy citrus, and plays just a little lower than the burley does. There's a little brown sugar from the black cavendish as a supporting player. The cherry flavor is okay, but not deep, and I got a sour note or two, plus a little syrup near the finish. The chocolate underscores the experience. Won't bite, but can get slightly warm if puffed like a steam engine. Barely has any nicotine. The strength almost reaches the center of mild to medium, while the taste is a step past that mark. Burns at a moderate pace with a fairly consistent sweet flavor, though the toppings weaken just a mite as you get toward the finish, It will leave some moisture in the pipe, but no dottle, and requires a few relights. The after taste is okay, but the syrup distracts. An all day smoke. Two and a half stars.

-JimInks
35 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 09, 2014 Very Mild Strong Full Very Pleasant
I have tried aromatics in the past, and decided that other than an occasional smoke when the mood hits me; I would avoid them. Cult came as part of a sampler pack, and I knew nothing about the blend. I chose it out of curiosity from the name, and later learned it was a cherry blend. I decided to crack it open, and was quickly blasted with the smell of cherry cordials. The tobacco packed easy, lit easy, and burned all the way down to fine ash. There is a little goop left over, but it is very little compared to most aromatics. The room note is absolutely amazing, and unlike most aromatics I've smoked; you taste cherry and chocolate. I suggest this blend to anyone wanting to try an aromatic, and highly suggest this blend to aromatic smokers.
Pipe Used: Dr. Grabow Savoy
PurchasedFrom: Pipesandcigars.com
Age When Smoked: New
26 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 06, 2016 Very Mild Medium to Strong Mild Very Pleasant
Cult - Blood Red Moon.

Like many, I first heard of this through the Dagners on YouTube, and as I've recently been enjoying more aromatics compared to usual (especially Lane's Dark Red) I thought I'd give this as bash.

There's no confusing what this is flavoured with: I always crack a fresh tin open over my waste paper bin and even at that distance my nose got a strong assault of cherries! It comes as no shock (with it smelling so strongly) that it's too damp, but as that's nothing out of the ordinary for a stronger aro I won't hold that against it.

On with the smoke: if a top end cherry aromatic is what you're looking for you've found it here. Although the cherries are the more formidable of the extra flavours the taste isn't bitter: the chocolate takes any harshness out of the scene and replaces it with a silky creaminess. Other than the Cavendish I can't really detect much flavour from the other two tobacco's, it's quite a gloopy/sticky taste: vanilla-Cav, chocolate, and cherry. The nicotine's exactly as you'd expect from a cherry aromatic: very mild, and the room-note is also to be expected: cherries!

I think everyone should try this at least once; the best cherry blend ever.

Highly recommended.
Pipe Used: Peterson Kapp Royal #03
PurchasedFrom: Smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: New
23 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 01, 2015 Mild to Medium Medium Medium to Full Very Pleasant
About once a year I get the urge to smoke a cherry blend for something different. This time I picked this blend as I just kind of liked the name and it has been getting decent reviews. It comes in a 1.75 oz tin and upon opening the tin aroma just bursts out into the room, a rich chocolate cherry note that smells like a cherry liqueur or like cherry cordials. It is pretty moist but will dry out somewhat by leaving the tin open in the room a few days. It is also a nit sticky so needs to be packed somewhat loose or you lose the draw. It is a loose riff cut in a mix of browns from medium up to very dark. This is one of the mildest cherry blends as far as tongue bite, you would have to puff like a mad man to get tongue bite so that is a large plus over other cherry blends. It is fill of flavor with a base of cherry and the chocolate giving it a rich fullness. It does not get too strong burning down and leaves a fluffy light grey ash. It does get rather moist towards the bottom of the bowl but if patient it can be smoked all the way down. Now, here is the great thing about this tobacco, the room note. It is very pleasant, it does hand heavy in the room but it smells great. You can smell the cherry and the chocolate and yet you can smell the base tobacco. It is not cloying at all. I would recommend this tobacco to both aromatic lovers and non aro lovers. It is a great after dinner smoke as it can become a desert. The only thing I don't like about this blend is it is way to moist and sticky. Other than that it is one of the better cherry blends on the market.
Pipe Used: briar, meers, corn cobs
PurchasedFrom: pipesandcigars.com
Age When Smoked: 3months
19 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 08, 2014 Very Mild Strong Mild to Medium Pleasant
I used to smoke Cherry tobaccos years ago. So I thought I'd give Cult a try. There's not too much goo and it burned well. It is very Cherry and I guess that's good for those that are looking for that. The flavor is so strong I have begun blending it in other offerings to make a more acceptable room note for my wife. Probably won't be smoking it much on it's own, though it's not bad at all. Just not my cup of tea.
Pipe Used: Cobs and occasionally briar
PurchasedFrom: Pipes and Cigars
Age When Smoked: Fresh from the tin
14 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 12, 2018 Mild Strong Very Full Very Pleasant
If anyone would have told me that after so many years of pipe smoking that I would be smoking a cherry blend, I would have told them they were nits. I have been a flake smoker for years and even the thought of smoking something not a flake was a reach, but then a cherry blend that was not a flake, forget it.

This stuff tastes great, I am not going to wax poetic about this flavor or a hint of boysenberry or such, the flavor is pronounced and it keeps getting better the longer you smoke it. The cherry flavor starts right off the bat and the chocolate shows a little later. The flavor lasts the entire bowl, no weak spots at all/ It burns very cool, there is no moisture left in the bowl and it burns to a fine ash. People around you really enjoy the room note. If you ever thought about trying an aromatic, this is the one. If you are an aromatic lover, grab some quick.
Pipe Used: Various Willmer AAA Straight Grains
PurchasedFrom: smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: Fresh
12 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 11, 2016 Extremely Mild Very Strong Full Pleasant to Tolerable
I'm not sure my tin was filled with the same tobacco as all the other reviews? Upon opening the tin, the cherry topping was very....there. It smelled nice, lets give it a go. Perfect moisture right from the tin, packed well, lit well, burned well all the way to the bottom nice and dry and no tongue bite. Gobs of thick white smoke. Only thing is the "cherry" was like a strong air freshener, soapy, perfume laden, wax candle.......terrible.....nasty.....and I enjoy aromatics, usually. The most artificial cherry flavor and aroma I have yet smoked. I would say don't believe the hype, but almost all of the other reviews done so far have a very different slant to their comments. Maybe I'm doing something incorrectly *shrug*?
Pipe Used: Vintage Meerschaum bent egg
PurchasedFrom: Smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: About 1 year
12 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 17, 2016 Mild Medium to Strong Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
Pipe tobacco smokers seem to invariably fall into one of two camps: those who enjoy aromatics and those who don't. The reality is more complex. What it comes down to, I find, is that there is a very vocal anti-aromatic crowd who tend to view aromatics as somehow "impure."

Now I am one who enjoys a good straight Virginia,. I also enjoy Latakia blends, from Frog Morton's Cellar, original Frog Morton, Plum Pudding, etc., but I also enjoy a good aromatic.

Now, there are indeed many poor quality aromatics that leave one wanting, feeling like one has smoked a bowl of hot air that only has the effect of biting the tongue. But they aren't all like that. (I've also had some Latakia and other blends that have left me feeling like I have a sinus cold and a sore throat, but there too, they aren't all like that.)

Cult Blood Red Moon is an example of a really good aromatic. What's more, it's a good example of a good cherry flavoured aromatic. In fact, it was unbelievably good -- though with the caveat that it was only good for the first half of the bowl; after that it degrades.

It is worth noting that when I say "cherry" what I mean is sour cherry or possibly black cherry. There is a certain tart sweetness to it, both in terms of the room note and in terms of the flavour -- and yes, it absolutely translates into the flavour, at least for the first half of the bowl.

As for that room note, it's delightful. Pretty much that classic pipe smoke scent that most people think of with pipe tobacco.

It isn't easy to get tongue bite with it, so that's a plus -- and I can't say the same for MacBaren's cherry offering. Like I say though, you could porbably just pack half a bowl of this and that would be all you'd want, since after that, it loses it flavour and becomes a little ashy.
10 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"