The Country Squire Tobacconist Parson's Blend

(3.65)
Meet Parson's Blend... developed for the parson himself! One of our dear customers, who happens to be an Anglican priest, asked for a blend that his wife would let him smoke indoors and that also would not lead to tongue bite. Parson's Blend is our effort to deliver these characteristics in a mild, aromatic blend that leaves your mouth feeling soft and smooth and fills the room with a delicious, warm note. Customers often say that Parson's Blend's smoke is "thick"; our experience is that it leaves you in the midst of a very pleasant cloud. Delicious and crowd-pleasing!
Notes: Founded by Jim and Gwen Reeves in August of 1970, The Country Squire has been a Mississippi fixture and mainstay for over 40 years. As Mississippi's oldest tobacconist, we feature over 20 unique and interesting house pipe tobacco blends.

Details

Brand The Country Squire Tobacconist
Blended By  
Manufactured By  
Blend Type Aromatic
Contents Black Cavendish, Burley
Flavoring Fruit / Citrus
Cut Coarse Cut
Packaging Bulk
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Very Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.65 / 4
13

3

0

1

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 10 of 17 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 05, 2018 Mild Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
Parson’s Blend is one of the Country Squire’s more popular aromatic blends and I can clearly see why. Although, I have to admit that I was put off by the fruity aroma of the pouch note which to me smells excessively sweet. But as a few others have mentioned, once properly lit the peculiar fruit flavor sits comfortably in the background of the entire bowl and it creates a rather pleasant room note.

The taste of Parson’s Blend is definitely on the sweet side of the spectrum and what comes through is a fine balance of mild nutty burley, plum, a hint of clove and a light vanilla/caramel finish. Perhaps, the crowning achievement of Parson’s and the hardest thing to describe, is just how well this mixture is blended. The flavor is incredibly consistent throughout the bowl with zero in the way of weird off flavors. Moreover, Parson’s has an extra gear and gains a stronger, woody tobacco taste near the end of the bowl. The shift in flavor strength was a pleasant suprise and a testament to the quality of the burley at the core of this American style aromatic.

Parson’s Blend benefits greatly from being dried down, but as always this is a matter personal taste. Depending on the weather, 30 minutes usually does the trick for me but I do live in a drier climate.

Definitely the best aromatic that I have had from the Squire so far. It's mild but it's quite flavorful.
16 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 22, 2014 Mild Mild Mild Very Pleasant
From the Mountain Rambling Rusticator:

I smoked this for the fist time, in a briar Canadian, while walking the dogs in the snow on a spectacular bluebird day here in the mountains of Colorado. From the first puff I knew this would be a new favorite and a new addition to my Top Shelf list of tobaccos. This smoke evokes a pastoral stroll in a bucolic meadow. It's as soft as a Lab's ear, as comfortable as a favorite pair of jeans, and as congenial as an old friend. Four stars all the way.
Pipe Used: Briar Canadian
PurchasedFrom: The Country Squire, Jackson, MS
Age When Smoked: Newly acquired from the tobacconist
13 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 28, 2019 Mild to Medium Medium Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
The aspects of the nutty, woody, earthy burley and sugary black cavendish are fairly sublimated by the toppings. It’s hard to define those toppings, but I notice a little plum, caramel, clove, and a few drops of vanilla in addition to another non-citrus fruit. The strength is a step past the mild mark, and the taste is a slot past that.The nic-hit is very mild. Won’t bite or get harsh, and has no rough edges. Burns cool and clean at a reasonable rate with a very consistent sweet and lightly creamy flavor from start to finish. Leaves little moisture in the bowl, and requires an average number of relights. Has a short lived, pleasant after taste and room note. An easy going all day smoke. Three and a half stars.

-JimInks
10 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 13, 2014 Mild Mild to Medium Medium Very Pleasant
The two best qualities associated with Parson's blend, excluding it's fruity taste, is its delightful aroma and the voluminous amount of smoke this blend produces. As the description notes, this blend was created to be smoked in the house at the approval of the wife or girlfriend. If your significant other is hesitant about your pipe smoking, then this may just be the blend to win them over. A soft but flavorful fruitiness makes this blend a great after dinner smoke. While fruit and spices are the main attractions of Parson's Blend, it's flavoring does not detract from the natural tobacco taste. I no point felt I was smoking a "syrupy" aromatic. Great blend that will have a place in my cellar for years to come.
Pipe Used: Savinelli Bing's Favorite
PurchasedFrom: The Country Squire
Age When Smoked: Freshly Mixed
10 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 05, 2016 Very Mild Mild Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
I am not normally an aromatic smoker. Lately I have been on a big bold kick, smoky and chewy dark fired kentucky, big burleys, bright sweet virginias, peppery zippy perique, etc.

This blend surely surprised me. It is a gentle, comfortable smoke. If I had to describe it in one word it would be "soft". Soft in the manner of your favorite old flannel shirt, your best four legged friend kind of soft.

I got no bite at all, with a mild and unassuming light fruity sweetness. It burned clean leaving very little behind with none of your usual aromatic "goop". Quite a bit of fairly heavy smoke and an uncomplicated and thoroughly relaxing tobacco. As a bonus, this won't flog you with a bunch of nicotine either. This is the first aromatic I can honestly say made me sad when the bowl was empty.

Some reviews here mentioned cocoa and vanilla. I got none of that at all, just a nice soft rounded fruitiness that I couldn't quite put my finger on.

If I were ever to decide to become a dedicated aromatic smoker this is the blend that would convert me. As it is, I will keep this on hand for those times when I just want to sit on the porch, relax and watch the kids play with the dogs. I will definitely be ordering this again when my 2oz taster runs out.
Pipe Used: Falcon
PurchasedFrom: The Country Squire
Age When Smoked: Fresh
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 28, 2020 Mild to Medium Extremely Mild Mild Very Pleasant
This was a part of my first purchase from The Country Squire. All of the tobacco I received from The Country Squire had the appropriate moisture level. No wet goopy tobacco here! It packs and burns well with few if any relites. No hint of tongue bite. The casing was light, perhaps a little too much so. As the bowl progressed, the fruity casing diminished even more.. Not a bad, smoke, but I expected more based on other reviews
Pipe Used: Hilson Volcano and others
PurchasedFrom: The Country Squire Tobacconist
Age When Smoked: New
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 07, 2020 Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
I am not a regular Aromatic smoker but this is no regular Aromatic.

Usually I can be found far away from people smoking some quality Balkan or English because they tend to not be too bystander friendly. I am simply not a big fan of Aromatic blends but there's something special about Parson's Blend.

The aroma from the pipe is very pleasant. People actually come around to find out what it is I am smoking, yet it still has enough complexity in the Virginias to thoroughly enjoy the smoke. They say this is a crossover blend but I think it stands on its own. It's sweet yet savory. There is body to the flavor and while smoking it, you know you are smoking something unlike many Aromatics. It's not gloopy at all and requires very little drying time. The smoke is thick and creamy thanks to the Burley which adds some strength and it's very easy to keep lit. It burns very cool.

The toppings are subtle and seem "natural" in flavor. I don't know how else to describe it. Like the opposite of some of the Sutliff blends out there which burn your tongue and leave a tar like coating on the inside of your pipe. It's kind to your mouth.

It would be very easy to smoke this one down to the bottom of the bowl without even knowing it so be careful not to harm your pipe. There is ZERO tongue bite even if you are really chuffing. Not harsh and leaves a nice aroma on your clothing.

This is a very satisfying blend and one of the few aromatics I really enjoy.

Solid 4 from me. I will never be without some of this blend in my cellar as long as it's made. If I am going to be around people, this is usually the blend I have in my BaccyFlap.
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 12, 2015 Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Medium to Full Very Pleasant
Being a routine Country Squire Radio listener, I knew early on in my pipe smoking adventure that one day I would eventually have to give the world renowned “Parson’s Blend” a shot. I must say, I have not been disappointed. This blend of tobacco gives off large plumes of bellowing smoke that fills the air with a beautiful aromatic scent that almost everyone enjoys. It burns cool and does not leave any signs of tongue bite. I’ve put it through cobs and briars with much success. If you enjoy aromatics or you’re looking for a smoke that the misses won’t mind, I recommend this blend!
Pipe Used: Cobs and Briars
PurchasedFrom: The Countery Squire; http://www.thecountrysquireonline.com/pipe-tobacco/parsons-blend-fruit-and-burl
Age When Smoked: Upon Shipment
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 26, 2020 Mild to Medium Mild Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
I’m relaxing in my armchair with a bowl of Parson’s blend in my Savinelli 104 smooth finished Churchwarden. I take out a long “Por Larranaga” cedar match and initiate my False Light. Suddenly my senses of taste and smell transport me back to my grandparents small orchard. The dark cavendish offers up smells of apple, pear, and muscadine grapes. This fruity bouquet wafts over me. In the background hints of vanilla and a smidgeon of clove flit playfully around. The burleys are ever present lending their ability to slow the blend’s burn rate down giving a cooler no-bite smoke. The Country Squire’s website explains “How the blend got it’s name”. One of theirr dear customers, who happened to be an Anglican priest, asked for a blend that his wife would let him smoke indoors and that also would not lead to tongue bite. Parson’s Blend is the Country Squire’s effort to deliver these characteristics in a mild, aromatic blend that leaves your mouth feeling soft and smooth and fills the room with a delicious, warm note.
Pipe Used: Savinelli 104 Churchwarden
PurchasedFrom: The Country Squire, 1855 Lakeland Drive (The Quarter Shopping Center) Suite C 10 Jackson, MS
Age When Smoked: Bulk and freshly blended.
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 13, 2017 Mild Medium Medium Very Pleasant
Another great blend by the Country Squire, this blend lives up to the expectations of those wives who don't stand stronger blends in da house 🙂 It's a really good mixture, with a fruity (but not syrupy) taste, easy to pack and to light. The room note is really pleasant, no tongue bite even if you draw too fast. The Aromatic Squire blends are blends which are... "reassuring", in the sense that, as soon as you decide to have a bowl of them, you'll know it will be a great experience.
Pipe Used: Bent Apple US
PurchasedFrom: The Country Squire shop
Age When Smoked: Fresh
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"