Mac Baren Capstan Gold Navy Cut Ready Rubbed

(3.71)
Notes: A light, bright flake of famous refinement and antiquarian origins, here in ready rubbed form, Capstan Gold, like its medium bodied Blue sibling, was originally created by W.D. & H.O. Wills of Bristol during the latter half of the 19th century. Suffice to say, it's no accident this smoking mixture has survived as a favorite to so many generations. Produced by Mac Baren since 2006.

Details

Brand Mac Baren
Blended By Mac Baren
Manufactured By Mac Baren
Blend Type Straight Virginia
Contents Virginia
Flavoring Fruit / Citrus
Cut Ready Rubbed
Packaging 50 grams tin weight
Country Denmark
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.71 / 4
12

5

0

0

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 17 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 03, 2023 Medium None Detected Medium Very Pleasant
It smells citrusy ...and fruity...the taste is tangy and sweet and develops more tastes later in the bowl .
A first class blend...I prefer rubber cause I find flakes moist and like to smoke right away.
As a side note I rate Amphora Virgina very highly more plum smell .
This smokes so smoooooth!
I find the nicotine levels just right.
It is a top world class tobacco.
Just enjoy !
Pipe Used: Chacom Bienne
PurchasedFrom: Vancouver
Age When Smoked: 1 year
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 17, 2014 Mild to Medium Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
This review is virtually the same as the one I posted for the flake version, because I tasted no discernible difference between that and the ready rubbed. The only differences are that this is easier to pack because it is ready rub cut and burns a little faster.

A moderately sweet and easy rubbed out flake with a little sugar and some citrus toppings complimenting the tart and tangy, citrusy Virginias. The Virginias offer a bit of grass, some hay and bread, plus a pinch or two of earth, and wood. Has a light floral quality as well. The strength and nic-hit are a couple of steps past the center of mild to medium, while the taste almost reaches the medium mark. No chance of bite or harshness. A rather uncomplicated blend that burns slightly less than at a moderate pace, cool and clean with a smoothly, tart and tangy sweet consistent taste from start to finish. There are several kinds of Virginias in this to create a well balanced blend. Requires a few relights, leaves little moisture in the bowl, and will burn to ash. Has a lightly lingering, pleasant after taste and room note. An all day experience that works for the smoker who wants a gentle, sweet flavor without the most of the earthy characteristics darker Virginias provide.

-JimInks
26 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 18, 2016 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Very Pleasant
Mac Baren - Capstan Gold Ready Rubbed.

It's been awhile since I had the Blue Capstan's so I can draw no comparison; that doesn't matter though, this is great in its own right.

It's badged Ready Rubbed so that could mean it's virtually a shag, mid-sized ribbons, or even practically a broken flake; this mixture's a little thicker than your standard ribbons, yet it's not quite what would qualify as a broken flake, so for now I'll leave it as very chunky ribbons!

There isn't too much aroma from the tin, it's just a straight Virginia smell: a little citrusy, slightly grassy, and slightly hay like.

The moisture's great, and as you'd expect, the colour's a medium brown. So, onto the actual smoke:

The ribbons aren't so big as to need crumbling, or rubbing. They are however, thick enough to give a cool smoke, and a slow burn. It lights easily and then, straight away, gives a good Virginia flavour: I wouldn't say it's exactly 'Full', there's not enough going on for it to accomplish that title, but it's quite a rich, sweet, strong and grassy Virginia flavour. If I think of how a Virginia should taste, this sort of flavour is what would come to mind. I don't get any added tastes highlighted on my palate; there's nothing I wouldn't expect from a high quality Va. The nicotine's quite mild to me, I wouldn't say it's mild only, but definitely no more than medium.

Rating this is simple; it is after all, one of the best straight Virginia's I've had: Highly recommended.

Four stars.

Pipe Used: Peterson Donegal Rocky #221
PurchasedFrom: The Danish Pipe Shop
Age When Smoked: New
14 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 25, 2014 Medium to Strong Mild to Medium Medium Strong
I prefer this blend over it's blue step brother, although it is nice in it's own right. The gold is smooth and sweet, satisfying dose of vitamin N and doesn't get boisterous if smoked all day. This is in the top 5 of RR VA blends for me, its become a regular for me and shall remain that way.
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 18, 2017 Mild to Medium Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
Mac Baren's has done a very good job with Capstan Navy Gold's replacement with the same namesake. Not nearly as rich and creamy as the Wills original, but then, there are decades of differences in the fermentation process which makes well aged Virginia leaf so much more wonderful than it is fresh.

Mac Baren captured, for the most part, the mysterious top note that the original was famous for. An enhancement for the Virginia, which is a little rough around the edges, but one can tell that Mac Baren made sure to use the finest specially processed leaf available. It is a reliable smoke and I will certainly add a few tins to my cellar for aging. Not really as stout in the strength department as I personally enjoy, but on down the road would be a perfect blend to goose the nicotine strength by beefing it up with, say, Five Brothers or some other strong Burley that doesn't deliver much of its own flavor.
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 29, 2020 Mild to Medium Extremely Mild Medium Unnoticeable
As mentioned in more than one post, I attend a pipe club at times that meets on Sundays. The nice part of this is that we all from time to time bring in blends that others have not tried. This is one of them and I was graciously given a good three pipe bowls of this infamous blend from a HUGE friend of mine we shall call Big “L”. From what I have read prior to 2013, Capstan was off the US market for 18 years (1995). There is an excellent article by the Dutch Pipe Smoker, June 12, 2013 that talks about the history of this blend, https://dutchpipesmoker.com/2013/06/12/oh-capstan-my-capstan/. There is a good amount of folklore that this 2013 blend has a higher sugar content. I have heard this from my fellow pipe clubbers and there is also an excellent review by Mork that goes into further detail. I had an unsmoked Missouri Pride Corn Cob that I decided to use to provide me the best possible review I could do which will probably be a lot shorter than the preceding information that I have provided. This is a medium-dark rubbed out flake that loads easily into the pipe and has the usual nice sweet grassy hay smell of the tobacco. It took me about 3 matches to get her going. The topping on this one is very light, not even noticeable to me. It has that fantastic smooth, creamy, Virginia taste and produces quite a bit of white smoke to my surprise. As I have never to my knowledge had this before I cannot ascertain if there is any difference between the years, regardless this is an excellent tobacco. P.S. All of my fellow pipe clubbers are “HUGE” friends. 🙂
Pipe Used: New Corn Cob
PurchasedFrom: Gift
Age When Smoked: 7 years (2013)
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 07, 2019 Mild to Medium Extremely Mild Mild to Medium Tolerable to Strong
I recently purchased a few tins from Smokingpipes when they mentioned that they had stock from 2013 on the shelf. I'm not usually patient enough to let tins age that long, so this gave me a quick start.

I enjoy the Gold Flake so I was happy to find that this is basically the exact same goodness in a much easier to load form.

Opening the tin and removing the top paper, I found it packed full of grassy goodness. The tin note is grassy like I want a pure VA to be. The moisture level was great and didn't require any drying. It's easy to pack and stays lit.

The taste has some citrus notes and is not very complex. Its consistent through the bowl and smoked well in a variety of pipe shapes.

Wife is not a fan of the roomnote.

With the age on it, its a great smoke. I compare it favorably to the flake. It does burn quicker than the flake so it requires some attention. I've always preferred the Gold over the Blue versions, but that is just me.
Pipe Used: various
PurchasedFrom: Smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: 6 years in tin
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 20, 2019 Mild to Medium Very Mild Medium Pleasant
I really liked the flake of this blend and honestly did not think the ready rubbed would be as good....but I would be happy to buy this version, especially since I was lucky enough to get some of the 5 year aged tins that were being sold recently.

That being said, buy the fresh version and and confidently cellar it for a few years for an amazing tobacco that is smooth and tasty without any hint that it would bite.
Pipe Used: Savinelli Autograph, Ardor, Dunhill
PurchasedFrom: Smoking Pipes
Age When Smoked: 5 years
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 25, 2018 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
This tobacco is very good! Its got that sweetness about it, without having to even try. This would be an all day tobacco if it weren't for the price. I give this a thumbs up for taste, and aroma. Its not pretentious, its just straightforward good Virginia tobacco. Enjoy a bowl!
Pipe Used: Chacom 93 amber stem
PurchasedFrom: Smoking Pipes
Age When Smoked: 5 years old
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 02, 2016 Medium Extremely Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Delicious grassy Virginia with a light citrusy flavor on the back end. This is a definite all day smoke for me, mostly through the hotter months, as I prefer English blends once the leaves start to fall. I like the ready rubbed version better than the flake, as it's just less work and I don't expect any real revelations as this ages, so no need to bother with the flake here. Highly recommended for all who enjoy a light Virginia tobacco flavor.
Pipe Used: Various briars
PurchasedFrom: Local B&M
Age When Smoked: New
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 16, 2023 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Very Pleasant
Upon opening tin I was greeted by a hay fragrance with a nice lightly woody, light bread and a faint earthiness and pleasant citrus aromas. This was slightly damp so I dried for an hour each time and I have smoked it in my Peterson Killarney B10, La Roca Canadian and various cobs.

It is pre rubbed into long strips and packed easily. It took a bit more to get it lit but once lit it burned slow and cool and had less relights than normal. The smoke was medium, creamy and full. It burned to white ash. Had a very light amount of moisture in the bowl at the end. Had a very pleasant room note.

Upon lighting I was greeted with a very pleasant, mild tobacco flavor that was pleasant which was highlighted by a really pleasing hay, mild fresh bread flavor with a light touch of earthiness that had in the background a pleasing tangy citrus I tasted as a lemon with no bitterness, that ended with a very pleasant sweet honey flavor that sticks around after each puff and one cab taste a while after the smoke is finished. A pleasant experience. A wonderful mild tobacco that is not overly complex but is pleasing and comes across as a quality tobacco with a medium nic hit. While not complex it isn’t one dimensional either. It is well done and can be an all day smoke. Doesn’t bite. Compared to the blue this is slightly sweeter less earthy. This would be a perfect morning tobacco, a great tobacco in hot weather, on a picnic or doing chores or just for enjoyment.

This is a favorite that will be part of my regular rotation. A pleasing smoke that will see lots of use. A 4 out of 4 stars. While the blue is a bigger favorite of the two I will be enjoying plenty of this.
Pipe Used: Peterson B10, Laroca Canadian, Cobs
PurchasedFrom: West Virginia Smokeshop
Age When Smoked: 1 year old can
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"