G. L. Pease JackKnife Ready Rubbed

(3.05)
Dark fired Kentucky leaf and ripe red Virginia tobaccos, with their deep, earthy flavors, are layered on a central core of golden flue cured for a hint of bright sweetness, then pressed and matured in cakes before being sliced and tumbled to a ribbon form, ready for your smoking enjoyment.

Details

Brand G. L. Pease
Series New World Collection
Blended By Gregory Pease
Manufactured By Cornell & Diehl
Blend Type Virginia/Burley
Contents Kentucky, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Ready Rubbed
Packaging 2 ounce tin
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Strong
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium to Full
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.05 / 4
8

6

5

1

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 10 of 20 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 08, 2014 Overwhelming Extra Strong Overwhelming Overwhelming
Short version: gracious, this is manly.

I light up a bowl of JKRR, and I think, all of us on this forum, whether old or young, black or white, male or female, we're all men here, and this tobacco is an incitement to extreme manliness.

Suddenly all I want to do is chug a couple of handles of Wild Turkey, squeeze off some rounds, club some seal babies, harpoon something endangered, bomb Hanoi, crank up the George Thorogood, copter-hunt some mastadons, scarf a T-bone, litter, bench-press my HumVee, call in some air-strikes and generally get some. That's what a kiloton of Kentucky Dark Fired can do for a guy.

Esthetes and other un-American elements have suggested that there there's some bright-leaf in here, and maybe some sweet Virginias. If there are, I don't want to know about it. I like my tobacco as subtle as a thermobaric charge; this hits the spot and leaves a smoking hole.
Pipe Used: Generally I smoke this with my bare hands.
PurchasedFrom: Adnan Khashoggi
Age When Smoked: Jail bait.
36 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 25, 2014 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable
The dark fired Kentucky is the star. Perhaps it's a little less spicy than some grades of DFK, but it has enough to satisfy the desire for it. It's very earthy, woody, mildly nutty, floral, herbal, vegetative, dry with a light sour barbecue essence. The red Virginia is earthy, woody, ripe tangy dark fruit sweet, and lightly bready in a support role. The bright flue cured Virginia offers a mild tart citrus, with milder grass and floral notes in the background. Experienced smokers will notice that the processing melds the tobaccos so that you always notice the individual components, which undergo a little fermentation. This mixture is not as complex as it seems because the Kentucky often overshadows the other tobaccos, but it burns smoother than many blends with this high a percentage of Kentucky. The plug version seems to be just a little sweeter and tangier than this ready rubbed version, but it’s not a night and day difference. Has a medium nic-hit. The strength is in the center of medium to strong, while the taste is a step past that center. No chance of bite, and has a few rough edges. This product needs a little dry time. It burns very clean, cool, and slowly, requiring a number of relights. Leaves a little moisture in the bowl, but no real dottle, though you will have to stir up the bottom a bit to burn it all up, unless you really dry it out. Has a mostly consistent flavor. The pleasant after taste lingers a little. Has a strong room note. Not an all day smoke.

-JimInks
22 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 08, 2014 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant
I much prefer this ready-rubbed version of JackKnife as I am lazy and have no ability to chop up plugs correctly.

My impressions of JackKnife - Deep and earthy in flavor, with a healthy pegging of the strength meter. I do believe that Pease made this blend to age well and I look forward to trying more in a few years. I found the fresh JackKnife that I smoked to be just a little "green" in overall flavor presentation. A nice Burley/Virginia combo using quality leaf.

Pipestud
Pipe Used: Ruthenberg, Weaver, Shurwood, Barling
Age When Smoked: less than 6 months
21 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 08, 2016 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
For what it’s worth, my comments on Jackknife Ready Rubbed in based on just a two bowl sample given to me by a pipe club friend. My feelings are almost identical to my comments regarding the plug. There is a subtle underlying sweetness that accents the very earthy tone of this blend. I find it a tad bit sweeter, but I expect that it is due to the fact that the sample was for some time prior to my encounter. The same cigar notes are there, but unlike my experience with the plug four or five years ago, I now doubt that there is any java leaf in the blend. To me, this is really a Burley blend with the Virginia playing a lesser role. JPP is somewhat reminiscent of an American version of a Gawith Hoggarth Burley Virginia. JRR is cool burning, even when pushed, however I wouldn’t recommend it unless you are sitting in the recliner!
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 03, 2013 Very Strong None Detected Full Pleasant to Tolerable
Not a big fan of Kentucky or of strong nicotine-laden tobaccos here...

Anyway, it's good: intense flavour, earthy, nutty and stout. Burns a bit hot, but not too much.

What knocks me off is the nicotine: I have to smoke this in a small bowl and only once in a while, or it will make me sweat.

Not bad, anyway! If you like the genre, it certainly deserves your attention.
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 28, 2013 Strong None Detected Full Pleasant to Tolerable
I added this blend to the database so that reviews for it wouldn't be mixed in with the plug version and now realize I forgot to add "New World Collection" to it, thereby making it hard to locate. The best laid plans. I'll shoot an email to correct this.

As for the blend, I much prefer this sorta-broken flake to a plug any time, and I had more success loading and keeping lit than the plug version. That said, this dries out very quickly in the tin and should be jarred upon opening. The flavor is very similar to the plug, and I found the same earthy, tobacco-y upfront flavor here with the hint of sweetness. This very subtle sweet character didn't show up with each puff, however. It was fleeting. It seemed as though just about the time I was about to wear out from the deep Kentucky flavor, the lemon VA would kick in to console me. Basically this is a blend for those enamored of the taste of tobacco and aren't interested in nuances. This is a bold blend, full tasting, and robust. Not quite what I'm looking for, but well worth a try. I could use a bit more virginia in this one, but it's still a well-done blend and produces the kind of flavors that were intended.
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 21, 2013 Strong None Detected Full Tolerable
EDIT 11-28-2016

I am primarily returning to this review to correct one misconception had on the original review. After finishing an 8 oz can of this, I can attest that there is nothing soapy about this.

A forum friend had sent me the sample below and the best I can surmise is that the baggie that he sent me must have been in close proximity to a soapy blend or perhaps in a jar that formerly held a soapy type blend.

I had never previously thought this possible, but another friend of mine despised the Ennerdale he bought and sent me the remainder of the four ounces he purchased. Along with it, he included a bunch of samples of some C&D bulks he bought. I'll be damned if every sample did not taste a little like Ennerdale. This is what I believe must have happened somewhere along the way with the first sample of JKRR that I received and reviewed below.

This is a problem with reviewing samples sent in baggies. I apologize for any confusion that caused.

ORIGINAL REVIEW 11-21-2013

I tried the plug and found that me with a knife and a plug combines to create a terrible cut of tobacco. I muscled through the two ounces I bought and wasn't super impressed, but blamed myself rather than the tobacco.

Well a forum buddy sent me some of the RR and I am glad that he did. This is much better. Odd thing that I never tasted with my attempt at the plug is a bit of a soapy taste that is there in the first quarter of the bowl or so.

Needless to say I really enjoyed it and smoked the rest of the sample while deer hunting last week. I even shot a doe while puffing on some. So maybe the ladies like it as well. I will definitely buy more of the rr and avoid the hassle of the plug.
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 19, 2019 Very Strong None Detected Full Pleasant to Tolerable
G. L. Pease - JackKnife Ready Rubbed (New World Collection).

Obviously, similar to the plug version. But this lacks the tough preparation of a plug!

The tin contains a plug which has been reduced to the perfect consistency to smoke. Well, perfect for me; looks like a coarse broken flake/VERY chunky ribbons. The aroma sets the precedent for the upcoming smoke: robust. As my hydration's perfect it's a case of, imminently, load and light!

A bowl ignites, easily, and gives a delightful smoke. Like it's twin, JackKnife Plug, the Kentucky is at the forefront in the smoke, but the fire-curing doesn't subcleef or monopolise the smoke. It isn't a harsh, bitter, or fiery experience; full, not 'toxic'. The Virginia gives a some dark fruitiness, but I note none of the more 'vibrant' Virginia qualities; I don't identify any citrus/grass/hay. Because of the cut it gives a slow burn, cool smoke, and remains free from bite throughout.

Nicotine: I know a few pipers who like to eat rubbish nonstop throughout their smoking day; good idea with this, it will churn an empty stomach! Room-note: not too bad.

JackKnife Ready Rubbed? A definite winner, to me. So, four stars it is:

Highly recommended.
Pipe Used: Meerschaum
PurchasedFrom: Smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: 22/12/18
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
AC
Mar 19, 2018 Strong None Detected Very Full Tolerable
I love American-English blends, most of them found in the great Cornell and Diehl blenders. Still, I decided to buy JackKnife once more (this time ready rubbed), for I had not smoked it in years.

I loved the Ready Rubbed JK in most respects. The reviews on this page describe very well its rich and intense character. However, something was missing for me. I went to bed, and at around 3:30 AM I woke up and I had the solution.

The next day, I added a pinch of C&D's Latakia to my JK bowl, and this became a heavenly smoke!
Pipe Used: BP JUM Bullmoose
PurchasedFrom: smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: fresh
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 08, 2015 Strong None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable
Hard to follow Hedgehog's review...

This was good. Strong but good. However, it didn't send me, and I didn't finish the tin. It wasn't the strength, just the flavor. For my money, Triple play is the way to go.
Pipe Used: Various
Age When Smoked: new tin
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"