D & R Tobacco Rimboché A.P.

(3.50)
A flavorful blend of the finest flue cured gold leaf tobaccos and a rare Acadian perique. This product intended exclusively for use a pipe tobacco.
Notes: "A.P." stands for Acadian Perique.

Details

Brand D & R Tobacco
Series Rimboché
Blended By Mark Ryan
Manufactured By D&R Tobacco
Blend Type Virginia/Perique
Contents Perique, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Ribbon
Packaging 40 grams tin, 3.5 ounce tub, 14 ounce bag
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant to Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.50 / 4
10

7

1

0

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 18 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 20, 2020 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Super dry without being dust. I loaded a bowl then breathed through the pipe for a couple of minutes to introduce some moisture. The Virginias are sweet and somewhat citrus like with a floral quality every so often. The spice of the Perique is noticable, but not intense. I do feel it toward the back of my throat and it definitely tickles the nose in the retrohale. I plan on pressing some. In my opinion, this stuff is a hidden gem.
Pipe Used: EMC Prince
PurchasedFrom: smokingpipes.com
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 13, 2016 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
The flu-cured gold leaf Virginias are a little grassy with some earth and wood, and mild amount of tart and tangy citrus and tangy dark fruit. The Acadian perique offers tangy pepper with a little prune, raisins, plums, and fig, and are evident in every single puff as a contrasting supporting player. The tobaccos meld well to create a very consistent, deeply rich flavor with a slight smokey quality, and is more a dry smoke rather than a sweet one. There are no toppings. The nic-hit is a couple of steps past the center of mild to medium. The strength is a slot past that, barely missing the medium threshold. The taste is medium. Dry out of the tin, I recommend a little hydration for best effect. It brings out the flavors a little more, and slows the burn rate a mite. Requires almost no relights as it easily burns to ash, leaving virtually no moisture in the bowl. I’ve smoked bowls without a relight. Has no dull or harsh spots, and will not bite. Has a peppery, slightly woody, lightly lingering after taste, and makes nice clouds of smoke. The room note is a tad stronger. Can be an all day smoke for the veteran, and is repeatable in any case.

-JimInks
36 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 17, 2012 Mild to Medium Extremely Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
I tried this tobacco out in RYO. It makes a really great smoke! Nice peppery taste with some light hints of fruit. Very smooth and no flavor overpowers the other. For making a smoke it really gives you a unique cigarette smoking experience. This has become my daily smoke. Its a little more expensive than the other tobaccos for RYO but well worth it imo.
16 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 07, 2017 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant
A really nice spicy smoke. The Virginias offer a little sweet hay and very little else. The Perique is the main player. A tart note of dark fruit with an underlying note that at times taste like coffee and at others a strong tea. Quite spicy. There's a mild earthiness from one of the two components. I can't tell which. This is a first class smoke.

Medium in body and taste. No added flavoring. Burns very well.
Pipe Used: MM Little Devil Cutty, Little Devil Acorn, Marcus
PurchasedFrom: smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: fresh
13 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 25, 2014 Medium to Strong None Detected Full Tolerable to Strong
This pipe tobacco is highly underrated! It comes fairly dry in tin, bag, and bulk so I added a little bit of distilled water to it. I love the fact that this stuff comes dry because when you add water to the tin which weights 1.41oz you end up with almost 2oz of tobacco.

Everything about this tobacco's profile is dense, that is, a thickness to it in both taste and aroma. The Virginia tobacco in it is pressed and fermented in the Perique style and gives the "Acadian Perique" a profile similar to McClelland's Cajun Black - spicy, lightly tangy with fruit notes.

The blend is very well balanced as none of the elements in the blend overwhelm the others. However the smoke aroma offers a slight sting to the nostrils while the flavor is smooth and and rich. This blend does not overwhelm the smoker like the D&R Picayune (which is also fantastic). It is more mellow with notes of spice however.

It is often compared to a VaPer (Virginia/Perique) blend but that even misses the mark somewhat. Try it out and discover a blend nobody is talking about but will give you many evenings of pleasure with a glass of bourbon or a cup of coffee.
Pipe Used: Ben Wade Freehand
PurchasedFrom: In bulk, at Indian River Tobacco Traders in Grand Rapids MI
Age When Smoked: 32
13 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 25, 2018 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
The pouch note is a an agricultural earthy. The cut is a medium wide chopped ribbon. There is a mix of tan and dark tobaccos. It was delivered on the dry side of what I might consider ideal. I smoked it as delivered. Having smoked a few pounds of "on the dry side" D&R tobbacco, I packed it a little firmly and did not hydrate it.

Smoked, I did not find this as compelling as Picayune. It grew on me though. The Virginia presents as mostly hay and grassy. The perique is the star attraction, and it is a dark fruit with some pepper on the snork. The combination is pleasant, and it was a an easy smoke. It stayed lit and had a consistent flavor to the bottom of the bowl.

This one is easy to recommend.
Pipe Used: various pots - mostly Grabows
PurchasedFrom: gift from a friend
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 15, 2012 Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Dear All,

Well, the late summer 2011 I was gifted of a tin of this. It came from the US, this is nothing we can find in Europe, and something not so common to find in the US as well as I can see…

Very much easy to me endorsing in full the review dated APR09/2011 by the esteemed Kilmarnock Piper re: the brother S.J., since I have got the same identical impressions regarding this one with the Acadian Perique.

Nice tobacco, very natural and good quality leaves. Bright & golden ribbons with some brown specs. Nice dose of vitamin N, a dry sweetness, some fruitness. I have also rolled a fag, and was near to fall crying … thinking of those good English Virginian cigarettes of old. Nice tobacco, indeed.

I've not doubt that I would buy this if available in my Country but… this is not a VaPer of the like I intend to be for use in a pipe. Don't ever think it's a brother (even a cousin) of some Escudo or SJF. This is something else, a bit far from what we Continentals are used to do with. Good in a pipe, even better in a fag.

We are just talking of pipe tobaccos here, right ?
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 23, 2017 Medium None Detected Medium Unnoticeable
I find this a very good Va/Per blend. The low price for a one pound bag is a bonus as well. I also like how D&R dates the bags when they were packaged.

Good quality tobacco , comes dry so hydrating it is recommended, more so for slowing down the burn rate as I found the flavor just as good dry. No bite, just a slight sting from the spice of the Va. & perique. Could easily be a all day smoke for Va./Per fans. It reminds me of Sutliff Tobacco Company - Match Dunhill Elizabethan Mixture ( I have never smoked the original so I cant compare it to that tobacco ) but I like Rimboché A.P. more . If you are looking for a nice budget friendly Va./Per give this a shot.

I think hydrating then aging it would really make this tobacco shine.
Pipe Used: SMS Meer billiard, KW, YB
PurchasedFrom: Smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: Packaged in Oct. 2016
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 08, 2020 Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
I like Rimboché S.J. I have smoked quite a bit of it over the years. On one order for Rimboché S.J., I mistakenly clicked the button for Rimboché A.P. instead. It was a fortuitous mistake.

Rimboché A.P. has the same characteristics as Rimboché S.J.--the smoke is full, the mouth feel is pleasant, the nicotine level is adequate (in the upper reaches of mild to medium). Rimboché A.P. is a bit spicier, though, and I really enjoy that difference. I consider both to be excellent smokes and recommend them. Rimboché A.P. has become a daily and (almost) an all day smoke for me.
Pipe Used: various
Age When Smoked: fresh to 3 years
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 04, 2019 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable
This one is tasty, but it does not last long enough. That could pretty much be my whole review. I really like the flavor I get from this. It is exactly the flavor you seek in a VaPer. Sweet and slightly peppery. To me, it really comes out after you smoke the first third and carries through to near the end. No problem there.

The problem is, depending on the pipe you choose, this may only last about five to ten minutes. The wise choice is to pack a very large bowl, but then the nicotine will work into you to much. (at least it did for me) I can't fault this too much as the tobacco is coming to you at the perfect moisture level and perhaps, I should just be packing it tighter, but I really don't like packing my bowls tight. This is probably the reason that all my favorite Vapers come in flake form. It slows the burn down and allows me more of that wonderful flavor for a longer amount of time.

But, make no mistake, this one is a winner.
Age When Smoked: 3 yr 1 month
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 13, 2018 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
D & R Tobacco - Rimboche A.P.

The blend has a coarse appearance, but includes a couple of twiggy bits. Sadly mine arrived crispy to the touch.

The Perique dominates the smoke. The Virginia only offers a speck of flavour, it's the tangy, fruity, Perique which is the most prominent taste. Because there's a large amount of Perique it requires a gentle technique to keep it in line; with too much force the smoke becomes vinegary, a tentative technique means the Perique doesn't 'run riot'. The burn from Rimboche is quite fast, but in all fairness the condition it arrived in can take responsibility for that. I get no added flavourings, it seems natural to the core.

Nicotine: medium. Room-note: not the best!

Rimboche A.P.? I'll remove a point for the dryness, but the flavour's still worth a recommendation:

Three stars.
Pipe Used: Mastro Geppetto
PurchasedFrom: Smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: Not stamped, but I opened it after a week
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"