G. L. Pease Meridian

(3.41)
Meridian - balanced, poised and sophisticated. Cyprus latakia is layered with fine Virginia tobaccos and small leaf Orientals, then pressed, sliced and tumbled into ribbons. More savory than sweet, with classic structure, medium body, and captivating complexity, Meridian is the perfect companion for a mid-day stroll or with the afternoon tea.
Notes: Meridian is the third entry in the Old London Series. A classically styled blend that's wonderful when young, but with a good backbone for longer aging. It's a medium-full mixture, with flavors that evoke memories of some of the great latakia blends from days gone by. Red and orange Virginias are joined by a generous, but not overwhelming measure of Cyprian leaf, for a wonderfully earthy foundation. The spicy/sweet Oriental tobaccos add fullness, and an exquisite aroma. Not as "big" or as full as Westminster, but similar in style. An excellent blend for a relaxing afternoon smoke, or as a delightful "amuse bouche" before dinner - Meridian was introduced in October, 2010.

Details

Brand G. L. Pease
Series Old London Series
Blended By Gregory Pease
Manufactured By Cornell & Diehl
Blend Type Balkan
Contents Latakia, Oriental/Turkish, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Broken Flake
Packaging 2 ounce tin, 8 ounce tin
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.41 / 4
28

21

4

1

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 10 of 54 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 01, 2010 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant
I'm no expert on GLP tobaccos and haven't nearly the experience of a lot of smokers, but this is the first one that I haven't had to spend untold numbers of hours figuring out! I've found GLP tobaccos to be the ultimate in complexity but this one's complex nature is more "quiet" and subdued.

Sort of a pressed ribbon cut, this is a beautiful mahogany color in the tin with a measured snootful of orientals present. It loads easily and burns serenely and completely. The orientals take center stage along with just the right amount of latakia. With my limited experience, I place this somewhere between Westminster and Charing Cross - not in strength but in style. But where Westminster was somewhat "confused" and murky, this one has an unusual clarity within its subdued nature. Where Charing Cross was forward and heavy in taste (wondeful taste!), Meridian is balanced and mature in its leanings. The complexity is there but it's not an in-your-face complexity like a lot of GLP blends. In other words, this can be a "set and forget" blend or it can be one for contemplation. Few tobaccos rise to both occasions as this one does, and those few tend to be at the very top of my rotation. Meridian is now one of those few.

Very enjoyable to the taste buds and quite an achievement, this blend receives my highest recommendation. Mr Pease feels this is a wonderful afternoon "aperatif"-style blend. I feel this is an all-day smoker, as it shines no matter the time of day.
42 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 17, 2011 Extremely Mild None Detected Mild Pleasant
I always prep for smoking a new blend to review by drinking a glass of Orange Juice. The acidic nature of the juice is a palate refresher. I don't know, maybe I got a dud slug of OJ, but Meridian sure seemed light and airy to me. I may have gotten my Vitamin C hit from the juice, but I got little Vitamin N hit from Meridian. The low dose of Latakia and ramping up of the Orientals left this one with a nice, delicate flavor devoid of strength.

Bottom line; if you like a little Latakia and a healthy dose of Oriental leaf that is light, a bit spicy and not too sweet, then Meridian may be something you will enjoy.
28 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
MDP
Apr 11, 2012 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Tin date: January 11, 2011

Open date: October 3, 2011

Finished tin date: end of October 2011.

Cut: short, broken flakes

Color: deep chestnut with flecks of lighter oriental leaf

Tin aroma: deeply of Latakia and earth

Loading: required thorough rubbing to burn the way I prefer

Lighting: middling, takes a charring light or two

Burn: slow, even, dry; relights were common

Ash: medium-fine gray and dry

Dottle: none

Smoke: dense, gray and brown clouds in volume; luscious

Palate: happy and clean

Latakia scale: 4 (0=undetected, 10=all-dominating)

Pipe: performed acceptably in group 3-6 pipes of various chamber shapes used. Shone in pots and deep, conical bowls

Performance: almost dumb-dumb proof

The blend that wiped away my tears for that absentee, Penzance.

Think of everything wonderful about Penzance. Now, eliminate the less pleasant attributes of the same. Add availability, and you have Meridian. This is not to say this blend was created to emulate or imitate Penzance. The connection just clicks for me.

The Latakia in Meridian is no wall flower here, but no where near dominating or even the main actor. It is soft and without edge, providing flavors of forest earth, pine campfire, and faintly of morel mushrooms. Meridian is more about the oriental leaf: sweet, barely acrid, and spicy (not peppery).

The Virginias and orientals work up some kind of sweet cream undertones that reward the slow smoker. It is amazing how smooth a mixture this spicy, woodsy, and smokey can be, but Meridian delivers. Meridian is not a "sweet" blend, however. Remember: earth, dry, leather, spice, cream and smooth.

Only the softness of the Latakia and cut remind me of its sister blend, Chelsea Morning. Meridian is WAY under the radar and for no immediately apparent reason.
21 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 21, 2011 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
I tried this blend about 6 months ago and found it a little too spicy for me, as I find many of the GLP blends, so I just cellared the tin. I just retried it and found my initial light greeted by some Latakia smokiness, no Orientals. I had recently finished a pipe full of Rattray's RR, now that has Orientals and much earlier I finished some of H&H's Larry's blend , now that has Orientals. As I progressed through the bowl, I noticed some spicy heat, no sweetness ( Virginia's, really!) but maybe some creaminess and a lot of earthy tones and yes, at a slow sip Orientals but mostly bland earthiness. This is not for me, bland ,spicy smoke. Back to the cellar with this one, 1 1/2 stars, OK I'll give it a 2. ( Reminds me of C&D's "Sunday Picnic", see review)

I wish this site would set up an exchange system that I could trade my two tins to one of you 4 star pipesters!

Updated 10/16/11- I think I need to adjust my fast smoking style more so when I smoke GL Pease blends. First, this tin now has 10 1/2 months on it and it has really improved. Next, at a slow sip the spicy heat is very controlled and finally the flavor is definitely Oriental with only a light amount of Latakia. Yes, more savory, creamy, salty and complex, like smoked Provolone cheese. I have to bump this up to 4 stars and no I don't want to trade my remaining tins! I think this will age wonderful and I will keep it for my Oriental hit to my rotation.

Just a quick comparison of Pease Blends: Haddo's Delight- whiskey topped , light latakia, fruity (2), Chelsea Morning- Light latakia, fruity (4), Meridian- Medium Latakia, creamy bacon Oriental flavor (4), Lagonda-Medium Latakia- Campfire flavor, light Oriental (2), Quite Nights- Heavy Latakia- Campfire flavor with Creamy Orientals (4), Odyssey- Heavy Latakia- Campfire flavor dominates , light orientals(3).

I would say all of these are 3 & 4 star blends, the numbers (#) indicate my personal preferences when compared to "only" these 6 blends
19 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 09, 2011 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
I have smoked the majority of Pease blends and while I enjoy some of them, I don't have any in my regular rotation...until now! The tin description is dead on in that it is a true combination of sweet and savory. Its more savory than sweet, but the underlying sweetness makes it for me. I can only imagine that as Meridian ages it will become even richer and sweeter, but there is no need to wait. I find Meridan to be somewhat complex and each flavor note is perfectly balenced. Meridain is one of those blends that after many tins you may find yourself still finding new flavor notes. The tin moisture is almost perfect. This medium English can be smoked all day. If you like a complex mixture that leads with good quality Virginias and Orientals with Latikia playing a supporting (but still there to be noticed)roll than Meridian is well worth the purchase of a few tins. Highly recommended!
14 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 23, 2010 Strong None Detected Very Full Tolerable
My first thought upon lighting this up was "Wow, Pease has recreated Penzance!" But that would be doing Meridian a disservice. As much as I love Penzance I think it can be one dimensional. Throughout the bowl it tastes mostly like...Penzance. Considering how good Penzance is that isn't necessarily a bad thing, but sometimes you like things to change and develop a little more as you smoke.

To my tastes Meridian is certainly an orientals-forward blend (and what wonderful orientals they are). But throughout the smoke the latakia will take center stage at times, and every so often the sweetness of the virginias comes through. It ranges from spicy to toasty throughout.

Maybe this difference arises because Meridian is not a packaged as a regular flake tobacco like Penzance. That is fine with me, because I can never get Penzance to pack/light/smoke without difficulty. Meridian is sliced traditionally and tinned in a more ribbon/broken flake type of form and it is much easier to pack and keep lit.

I'm fairly sensitive to Vitamin N, so there was plenty of nicotine punch for me. Heavyweights might not have enough here, I suppose.

It looks great in the tin; a beautiful mixture of light to dark brown ribbons, with a toasty, oriental aroma. Moisture level seemed close to smoking readiness.

My only complaint is that at times it was really putting the burn on my nose and sinuses (no tongue bite, though). Perhaps I did not dry it enough, although there was very little moisture in the bowl. It smoked down to a nice, dry ash. I think it simply needs more aging time in the tin to smooth out (it was tinned this month). Regardless, I'm sure time will be very kind to this blend.

If you're one of those Pease haters I doubt this blend will change your mind, or if you're one of those Va/Per guys that seems compelled to test an oriental/latakia blend just so you can say you dislike it, please spare us. But if you like English/Balkan style blends you'll be happy with Meridian.
13 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 09, 2015 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable
Dark red and light brown, and what looks to me like, a mix between ribbon cut and crumble cake. There are a few bright yellow and black leaves mixed in the tin as well. It smells rich, earthy, tangy, with a hint of smokiness. The smoke is creamy and well rounded. The flavors are savory but not overpowering. It's amazing to me how the GLP blend descriptions (web-site or tins) are able to describe their tobaccos, not only in a way that makes you want to try their tobacco, but also in a way that perfectly describes the experience one will have while smoking it. The smoke does taste earthy, savory, woody, not sweet (well maybe a little), musty (in a good way), a little tang and some smokiness. I would even say it is a bit 'doughy' at times. It is definitely a great balkan blend. Quite an enjoyable smoke....one that does seem to be more of an early in the day type smoke, when a strong latakia blend is not warranted...I would call this a medium latakia blend. GLP...I am a fan!

The more I smoke it, the more I enjoy it...and maybe I have too many favorites already, but this has been added to my favorites list after completing another bowl. Just good stuff!
Pipe Used: Bent Billard, Dublin, Egg, Acorn, Corn Cob
PurchasedFrom: Pipesandcigars.com
Age When Smoked: Aged 6 months to 1 year
10 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 06, 2018 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Tolerable to Strong
This stuff is great. Unlike Quiet Nights (which makes me giddy and, honestly, I find a bit bloated), Meridian seems to have the right proportions in every sense of the term English blend. It has more character and backbone than Chelsea Morning (which, in my opinion, is also very good but can become slightly boring) but it never gets unruly. It smokes calmly, full of flavor and with a subtlety that makes it quite different from Westminster or Maltese Falcon (my favorite Pease blends). If Westminster in many ways purports to be an alternative to the bygone London Mixture, then Meridian is a very close relative to Standard Mixture Medium. If you like English blends in the most traditional and canonical sense of the term (and everything it implies) this one is for you. Nice, satisfying, not really complex but far from simple. Highly recommended.
Pipe Used: Parker Special Bruyer
PurchasedFrom: Joshua Ward.
Age When Smoked: N/A
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 04, 2015 Mild None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable to Strong
As a huge fan of both Chelsea Morning and Gaslight, and as a fan of Quiet Nights, I figured I'd be a fan of this. I am, but not as much as I thought I would be.

This is loaded with orientals and latakia, with the Virginia staying well in the background for structure. There weren't that many bright notes like the brighter Virginias in Chelsea Morning and Quiet Nights provide, so the complexity was focused on a bit narrower band. It's potent in terms of oriental and latakia flavor, though not in terms of nicotine. Overall, it's woody, smoky, and a little spicy.

It'll be interesting to see how this ages, once the latakia tones down a bit and the orientals start to meld a little more seamlessly. For now, I find myself turning to Blackpoint when I'm looking for something in this range of fullness, Chelsea Morning when I'm looking for something lighter, and Gaslight when I'm looking for something bigger.
Pipe Used: Lots of them
PurchasedFrom: smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: One year
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 29, 2014 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
I like all types of tobacco and can find good in any blend if there is something good to find. However, I admit that I am more of a viper fan these days and blends with latakia then to be towards the bottom of my like list. I smoke them and enjoy them but not often. However, this blend I found to be very enjoyable and very well done.

First off, this blend by GLPease in his Old London Series, is a rough cut flake with some ribbons running through kit and is composed of tobacco running from khaki colored up to a dark brown in color with no black or very dark coloring like most latakia blends. The tin note is a musky and rich smell similar to fresh peat. I found it a little to moist for my liking so I set it out to dry for a couple of days in the house. After refining it a I found it to be must right and easy to load in my pipe. It lights very easy and produces a very rich and flavorful smoke that is easy on the palate, does not bite, and smokes nice and slow with a fine steely colored ash all the way down, it leaves very little dottle at the bottom of the bowl and tends to smoke nice and dry. This blend focuses on the Orientals with the latakia there in the background but not dominating the flavor at all. It is not sweet but it is rich in flavor. The room note will not make enemies but it will not attract fans either, thus would have to be considered pleasant to tolerable. I found myself enjoying it very much and pretty much concentrated on smoking this tin to the bottom. I would have to say, this is one of the better blends of it's kind on the market. It is a four star blend for sure and I would highly recommend it. Even if you are not a fan of English blends I think most would find this blend enjoyable.
Pipe Used: briar, corn cob, meers
PurchasedFrom: Pipesandcigars.com
Age When Smoked: 6 months
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"