Boswell Pipes & Tobacco Railroad Station

(3.20)
A rich, flavorful latakia blend with a nice cool burn.
Notes: Stronger than Northwoods, with lots of latakia.

Details

Brand Boswell Pipes & Tobacco
Blended By  
Manufactured By  
Blend Type English
Contents Black Cavendish, Latakia, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Ribbon
Packaging 2 ounce tin, bulk
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant to Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium to Full
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.20 / 4
6

6

3

0

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 10 of 15 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 19, 2015 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
Alright Boswells railroad station is a blend that simply does not get the hype like northwoods does. Now to me this blend is better then northwoods. Railroad station is a black Cavendish, latakia and Virginia blend. The smell of this in the bag is a good woodsy earthy note. The smoke of this blend does have a bit of a sweetness to it from the Virginias and black Cavendish, but the latakia keeps it running with the smoky taste. This blend was a real surprise to me mainly because it is not discussed as much and not even really described on boswells menu. I honestly think this is their best blend period. Northwoods is good but pretty much stays at the same level the whole smoke. The railroad station has some things going on because of the Virginias added. I would highly recommend this to anyone who enjoyed northwoods or a good English blend.
Pipe Used: Straight Billiard, Rusticated Tomato
PurchasedFrom: Boswell pipes
Age When Smoked: Fresh
11 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 22, 2014 Medium to Strong Medium Full Tolerable to Strong
Excellent step-up in Latakia from Boswell's Northwoods. Flavorful, not overbearing. No afterbite. Smoky aroma in pouch makes the thought of opening it one of life's "great expectations."
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 27, 2010 Mild to Medium None Detected Very Mild Tolerable
I love Boswell's Northwoods. It's so delicious, but could be a bit stronger for my taste. So when I recently called Boswell's and asked Dan for a stronger blend, he suggested Railroad Station 965. He said "It's got a lot of Latakia in it", so I was sold. I assume this blend's name refers to Dunhill's My Mixture 965, but I've never smoked that blend, so I can't make the comparison.

RR965 does indeed have a lot of Latakia in it, but not so much to be overpowering. It's "tangy-ier" than NW, but still smooth and easy to smoke. I can detect black cavendish along with the Lat. It's a great blend, and I have no idea why no one on TR has reviewed it before now, nor why it's not listed on Boswell's website.

If Northwoods tastes like a fresh-baked loaf of bread with a little orange peel in it, RR965 replaces the orange peel with a little Bloody Mary mix. Enjoy.
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 08, 2017 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant
Let me point out that Boswell's has at some point dropped the "965" from their labeling of this blend. That said...

My first reaction to the bag note was to instantly take another three or four deep whiffs, shake my head slowly, and smile. So rich in quality Latakia but without that typical leathery affront. The sweetness of the Virginias and Cavendish come through in perfect balance with that smoky Latakia overtone and it stays consistent throughout the bowl. It produces billowy white smoke and has a wonderful aftertaste. The ash is fine and powdery. The room note smacks lightly of incense and is quite nice.

With most English blends, even the great standards, I have found something lacking, but I find nothing missing from this English experience. It's totally satisfying to me. This is an unsung hero blend. It's pricey, but one bowlful and you will know why. Highly recommended for English fans. (Your mileage may vary.)
Pipe Used: Missouri Meerschaum Country Gentleman
PurchasedFrom: J M Boswell's Handmade Pipes
Age When Smoked: Fresh
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 05, 2019 Medium Extremely Mild Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
A very nice English, Latakia presence is dominant but not over powering to the smoke, but complementary. The virginia's and cavendish round it out nicely and provide for a very rich, relaxing experience - you will like this blend if you like: Ashton Artisan Blend, Hearth and Home Black House, Cornell & Dhiel DaVinci
Pipe Used: David Jones, 2012
PurchasedFrom: Boswell's
Age When Smoked: 1 year
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 03, 2017 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant
I must provide a disclaimer right up front. I love Boswell Pipes and Tobacco. I love the work ethic of the Boswell family, I love the customer service and I think the pipes are among the best in the world. Railroad Station is a solid great tasting Latakia blend (As I have learned more over the year(s) the term English isn't really the right descriptor for a tobacco with Latakia). Railroad Station is similar to Northwoods but I do like Northwoods better. Tin note is latakia with some grassy sweet notes from the VA's and Cavendish It has a smooth mouth feel and presents with the smoky sweetness you would expect from a Lat heavy / VA blend. This is no lat bomb by any means. It is super smooth and tasty. I get a toasty note midway through each bowl that persists to the end along with that great smoky campfire flavor. This is not a super complex blend but it is a great tasty all day smoke, light on nicotine and delicious.
Pipe Used: briars and cobs
PurchasedFrom: Bosewell Pipes and Tobacco
Age When Smoked: out of the tin
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 08, 2017 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium to Full Strong
Very good blend, definitely recommended for english blend smokers. It's very similar to Northwoods (almost too similar), but it has a bit more latakia added, and less sweetness than Northwoods. To my taste, it's too similar to Northwoods to justify purchasing both (unless you just want to compare the two). In other words, if you want a blend significantly different than Northwoods (i.e., much stronger/more latakia), I can think of other places to go. BUT, again, for what it is, this is a great blend, like all Boswell pipe blends.
Pipe Used: Comoy's straight billiard
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 14, 2017 Medium to Strong None Detected Full Very Pleasant
I just love Boswell tobaccos. J.M.and Dan are a pair of steely eyed tobacconist! I love northwoods but railroad station is just that much better. A little sweeter with more smoky flavor. I noticed another reviewer found it less flavorful than Northwoods. That guy needs to try again. Even Dan says it's more big on flavor and strength. Frankly I just can't find anything wrong with Dans blends. His aromatics may not be as flavorful as others but his English blends are without peer. His pipes I am told are also outstanding (note to self, get one). If all the tobacconist in the world were kidnapped by aliens but Dan Bosworth I would be able to smoke what I love with no problems at all. If you enjoy smoky flavor in your English blends this is a must try!!
Pipe Used: Mostly briars but also cobs
PurchasedFrom: Boswell.com
Age When Smoked: New and old
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 17, 2010 Mild Extremely Mild Very Mild Pleasant to Tolerable
I must disagree with the previous reviewer.

Being a big fan of boswell pipes and of their northwoods english blend I asked if they had something a little less aromatic as an english offering and the guy on the phone said they had this 965 whihc was a strong english blend.

when it arrived with my pipe i loaded it up and tried it out.

Its actually less sweet but that was the only good part.

Its very mild, even go as far to say on the same side as thier mild english.

Not the strong english i was expecting at all.

I assume its just virginia and latakia but it is too mild, even more so to me than Frog Morton, for me to order again.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 29, 2022 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Strong
Entering our destination comes Railroad Station the fourth provisional entry of JM Boswell’s English style tobaccos that I have embarked upon for sampling trial. Most likely this one has the honors of being the fullest of their eight original presentations. Touted as a rich flavored Latakia blend, the recipe brings together a very generous volume of powerful Cyprian, assorted Virginias, and a modest portion of Black Cavendish. As a result, I would summarize the experience gained as a venture into tangy, moderately sweet, and spicy deep woodiness.

This blend happens to be available in tin or bulk, my sampling was representative of the latter of course. I will say that, with consistency, when Boswell loads up a baggie to send you a couple of ounces, its every bit of that and then some. In particular, the received pouch of the bulked variety was bulging with a plentiful amount of tobacco, thank you sirs!

Looking on now to the pouched stated, one will perceive an ominous dark mass of primarily dissimilar ribboned tobaccos. An overwhelming midnight blackness casts a heavy weighted shadow atop scant patches of yellow, red, and dark burnished brown strands of varying thickness and girth. Judging from appearances, rough estimate suggests that the recipe upholds at least 50%-60% Latakia, maybe 20% Virginia and the balance comprised by modest Cavendish. Chiefly, Railroad Station counters a pithy and sincere vestige that foretells of what should a forceful and full-flavored undertaking.

Furthermore, visual inspection reveals that the Virginian mixture encompasses portions of yellow, Red, and possibly a bit of stoved based upon observation. Overall, the quality of the varietals used show to be well selected and nicely processed altogether. Lifting a sample pinch, the texture feels somewhat dense and nearly coarse bestowing a nominal level of collective moisture from within.

As one would imagine the nose on the mixture presents not even the slightest degree of modesty. Just removing the pouch from the outer mailer, the penetrating odor of strong tobacco whirls with unrelenting immediacy. Sampling the olfactory registration, a fat, seedy, buttered note of campfire pungency smacks one’s senses. Underneath this grand affronting, a volume of earthy sharp tartness and hardened spicy wood looms over a distant herbaceous sub-current and muted sugar. There is no mistaking that Railroad Station intends to make good on its inherent vigor.

Packing my best Savinelli proved to be an easy undertaking as the smoke-ready tobaccos wanted to cooperate very accommodatingly. Given its wide and deep bowl, the Group 6 Bruyere 315EX generally serves as an optimum vessel for experiencing the full range of an English blends taste profile. Well to be honest it wasn’t until I diverted my trials over to a series of English-designated cobs that I can honestly say Railroad Station finally confirmed its true disposition. With that the flavor aptly opened up revealing the nuances of its standard character once and for all.

By natural course, the focus of the principal flavor keys upon the featured component of the Cyprian. Namely, the compelling taste profile largely comes down to Latakia, Latakia, and more Latakia, no gest. Dominating about 80% of the flavor, the Cyprian brings a hefty body of densely dark and musty charry earthen tones. Its essential spirit is amazingly leathery and excessively woody. Accenting attributes that comprise the strain’s basic flavor standards take the form of some peak sourness, bold funk/pungency, and a very smoky proclivity. There is also a minimal bit of sweet fruitiness and herbal spicing but overall, the Latakia, make no mistake, is insistent, weighty, and intense in magnitude.

Residing in a much more meeker complimenting posture, the Virginia struggles in desperation to find a calling. Circulating in the lower background, being almost drowned by the massive frontage of Latakia, the assorted Virginian strains provide a modest remarking of tang, cultured sweetness, and fairly strong floral spice. There is a degree of maturity to its taste all the same. And although traces of grass attempt to shine through, like the Cyprian, the Virginia tends to step more on woodiness as the basis for its foot printing. Highlighting takes on distinct tea notes and some sugary caramel and mild sourness as well.

As to the Black Cavendish it functions mostly as a facilitator of the taste fusion or perhaps corralling some of the Cyprian boldness in forbearance. Even with exercising much effort, the strain is exceptionally hard to record. At times, however, a natural soiled woodiness and an inkling of smoky zest do surface bringing a hint of diluted sweetness most likely from some form of sugar-based casing.

Railroad Station demonstrated model performance with respect to certain critical mechanical properties. The blend burns exceptionally cool and even in a gradual tempo. The vapors produced are of impressive volume, creamy thick clouds of greyed masking. The resultant room note is ostensibly bold and potent. In practical terms, its character is no-holds-barred, bringing a strong heavy waft of pungent sourness and smoky herbal spicing. A thickening takes the form of dense charred wood and earthen stodgy must. Showing incredible tenacity for permanence, Railroad Station’s magnanimous room note is not for the weak stomached.

Additionally, for what it is, the blend fared well on flavor attributes. To say that Railroad Station is a well-balanced English might be somewhat of a stretch, however. Respectable nonetheless, this blend is more categorically a Latakia product offering period. Specifically, the scale is heavily weighted to emphasize and feature the bold-faced smoky Cyprian. That fact is entirely appropriate given that this was the design intent of the JM Boswell blender.

With that Railroad Station therefore is not an overly complex mixture nor does to exactly measure up to crafted rounding respective to the English genre standards. The flavor is consistent and steady without question. And although the spicing is colorful and robust it tends to be channeled and little too narrowed to be badged as a well-balanced English specimen. Again, this is primary a Latakia blend with marginal complementary influences.

Some fundamental strengths realized in the scoring assessment showed that Railroad Station exhibited considerable depth of body, the experience is quite meaty to say the least. Similarly, the strength, fullness and intensity are ideal for experienced smoker and most definitely for one looking for a Latakia dominant excursion. With so much push from the Latakia, Railroad Station tends to impart a bit of roughness on the palate. This does not equal to a bite necessarily but more so a harsher sensitization of the mouth cavity with prolonged smoking. The ensuing nicotine is naturally low given the recipe.

On a final note, in recognition of the fact that the blend does lend itself to a relaxing enjoyable occasion, this one is not a casual smoker with all due respect. Yet the consistency of the noted flavor and general savor, strong as it may be, speaks volumes to the quality of JM Boswell’s craftmanship, noteworthy indeed. So, if you are a bona fide Lat zealot I’m quite confident that this mixture will be most pleasing towards your preferences. Here’s your stop, the conductor has called it, Latakia Central don’t miss it. Another fine JM Boswell offering worthy of your consideration in my opinion.

Objective Measured Scoring (basis- genre attributes, mechanicals, & cost): 146/184 @ 79% (3.03) Personal Subjective Rating: 3.1
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"