Torben Dansk Blue Note

(2.72)
Mild, golden Virginias, that possesses a naturally high sweetness, are mixed with a mild black cavendish. A fresh flavor of exotic fruits and a touch of bourbon vanilla is added to make this an extraordinarily mild blend.
Notes: Bourbon Vanilla is a variety of the vanilla plant. There is no bourbon (alcohol) in this blend.

Details

Brand Torben Dansk
Blended By Dan Tobacco
Manufactured By  
Blend Type Aromatic
Contents Black Cavendish, Virginia
Flavoring Fruit / Citrus, Vanilla
Cut Ribbon
Packaging 50 grams tin, 250 grams bulk
Country Germany
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Medium to Strong
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Very Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

2.72 / 4
56

76

54

32

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 218 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 06, 2004 Mild Medium to Strong Mild Pleasant
I must say that I purchased this tin from the reviews of another website, let just say that the reviewers over there must have completely different tastes.

Moisture content was a little moist in the tin but a few days in the jar worked wonders. The aroma was full of fruity sweetness enhanced by vanilla, enough to make your mouth water.

Blue note packed easy, held a light nicely and smoked straight through the bowl leaving a light-gray ash.

Emerging flavors were vanilla, vanilla, vanilla, and a fruity sourness that progressed all the way up the bit. The tobacco did seem to burn a little hot around the mid bowl but mellowed back down (almost like I just had packed it slightly tight mid bowl).

So far the only comments I have received were that blue note carried the ?traditional pipe aroma?. If you are looking for a crowd pleaser this may work. In the right crowd this would definitely be a pleaser but you can never make everyone happy.

I would recommend this to those who like the fruity aromatics, but I don?t plan on stocking it in the future?. But don?t get me wrong if I found a tin in my mailbox or received it as a gift I would find a way to enjoy it!
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 11, 2012 Mild to Medium Medium Medium Very Pleasant
The smell is great when you open the pouch or tin, and the people around you love it when you smoke it. Of course, that's not a reason to buy this, so here's your reason to consider it: it's a strong aromatic with a multiplicity of flavors in it. The grassy, citrus sweet Virginias are of high quality and form the base of the blend. The toppings have a deep fruitiness, and the bourbon vanilla has some depth, though it's mildly applied, and works well with the sugary black cavendish. The coconut topping is mild, but always noticeable. The toppings greatly sublimate the tobaccos, but you will still observe them in the background. The strength is a couple of steps past the center of mild to medium, while the taste is medium. The nic-hit is mild. Won't bite or get harsh. Burns at a moderate pace with a cool, clean, creamy sweet consistent flavor that translates to the pleasantly lingering after taste and room notes. Has no harsh spots or weakening of taste. Leaves a little moisture in the bowl, but no dottle. Requires an average number of relights. Not quite an all day smoke, but one that may bear repeating during the day. A different twist in the aro genre.

-JimInks
30 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 17, 2011 Very Mild Strong Mild Very Pleasant
Oh my...what an aromatic, and that's aromatic with a capital A. This is the sweetest blend I have ever tried and certainly one of the most unique. It is not goopy or gunky, just plain sweet. I smoked a whole tin in just three days because it was so different.

Having said the above, I will never purchase this blend again. Once was enough. I personally enjoy pipe tobacco that tastes like tobacco. Blue Note is cotton candy disguised as tobacco.

Aromatic fans, listen up. This will be your creme' de la creme'! Don't let Sherlock taste it though, he'd turn over in his grave!
20 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 11, 2011 Mild to Medium Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Tastes like ice cream, but with strong tobacco flavour. A little sweet, but very nice. Buy more
16 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 13, 2017 Mild to Medium Medium Medium Very Pleasant
The smell is great when you open the pouch or tin, and the people around you love it when you smoke it. Of course, that's not a reason to buy this, so here's your reason to consider it: it's a strong aromatic with a multiplicity of flavors in it. The grassy, citrus sweet Virginias are of high quality and form the base of the blend. The toppings have a deep fruitiness, and the bourbon vanilla has some depth, though it's mildly applied, and works well with the sugary black cavendish. The coconut topping is mild, but always noticeable. The toppings greatly sublimate the tobaccos, but you will still observe them in the background. The strength is a couple of steps past the center of mild to medium, while the taste is medium. The nic-hit is mild. Won't bite or get harsh. Burns at a moderate pace with a cool, clean, creamy sweet consistent flavor that translates to the pleasantly lingering after taste and room notes. Has no harsh spots or weakening of taste. Leaves a little moisture in the bowl, but no dottle. Requires an average number of relights. Not quite an all day smoke, but one that may bear repeating during the day. A different twist in the aro genre.

-JimInks
13 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 08, 2012 Mild to Medium Strong Full Very Pleasant
Ya can't go wrong with Dan Tobacco. This isn't just a review of Blue Note but all their blends in general. I am primarily a non aromatic smoker as I love the natural taste of tobacco but every now and then everyone needs a change of pace. This is where Blue Note, Black Velvet and DaVinci come in. They give an excellent flavor where the tin aroma actually translates to taste. So far in my 4 year search Dan produces some of the finest Aromatics(along with Sillem's Back...both German.) they also have some delicious English blends. So if you're an English kinda guy lookin for a good aromatic. Ya can't go wrong with Dan Tonacco. Every blend I've tried thus far is a hands down 4 stars!
11 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 08, 2014 Extremely Mild Mild Mild Pleasant to Tolerable
I bought a tin of this due to all the favorable reviews. I don't know what other people were smoking, but it couldn't have been this Blue Note.

This tobacco has zero tobacco taste or smell. It burns hot. There is a vague smell and taste of fruity boiled sweets, but otherwise this thing is so mild it's like smoking fresh air with a slight fruity taste.

By all means try this 'tobacco' (I hesitate to call it that because apart from looking at it in the tin, there's no actual smell or taste of tobacco), but why not save some money and just buy a tin of boiled sweets and suck fresh air through your pipe - you'll get the same result and save a lot of money.
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 03, 2014 Medium Medium to Strong Full Tolerable to Strong
Well, I've never considered myself a connoisseur of tobaccos, just a smoker who enjoys rich aromatics. I love Sutliff's Molto Dolce and Lane's Black Raspberry in particular. I'm a solid Cavendish lover with no particular liking for Virginias and a dislike of most burleys--except the ones I grow myself. I bought several tins in a combination "try them" sale and absolutely loved this one. Usually I stay away from anything that indicates it has a citrus content because they always smoke hot for me, but not this one. The taste is enticing and almost as pleasant as the smell, which is divine. I can't really say why I love this blend, just that I do. It's different from all the others and kept drawing me to it until I hit the bottom of the tin. Must have more. It's habit forming in the best way I know. Hot smoking? No, not at all. Burns well and leaves a clean ash with no wetness.
Pipe Used: Masterson freehand volcano and others
PurchasedFrom: pipesandcigars.com
Age When Smoked: Fresh
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 05, 2010 Medium to Strong Strong Full Very Pleasant
This is it! This is the aromatic you have been looking for! This here tobacco will appeal to the non-aromatic smoker. It's the ONLY aromatic that I've found where the smell actually translates to taste. It's wonderful! I find it to be a great morning smoke, as I reach for it 7 days a week. Of course, it did take some time before I was truly blown away, it kinda creeps up on you and then becomes positively addicting. It's nothing like all the other countless aromatic tobaccos I have tried before, this actually tastes like tobacco. So if you, like me, have been wanting to find a good aromatic to throw into your rotation, than look no further. Essential.

*Edit* 9-17-16 I bought a pound of this stuff in early 2010 and I'm just now finishing it. I took a couple of years off from smoking Blue Note but now that I've made my rounds and have tried hundreds and hundreds of different blends I have built up an even higher appreciation for it. This stuff is gold! And it ages very well and the top note holds. I can't say enough good things about this blend! It really satisfies my nicotine cravings as well.
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 06, 2008 Medium Medium to Strong Medium to Full Very Pleasant
ORIGINAL 1/25/2007~ I love this Stuff!!!!!! Blue Note has a distinctive aroma and taste that are hard for me to describe without just saying "FANTASTIC". And I'll use my wife's description for its tin note, "Smells like Fig Newtons." Yeah but it smokes like a dream! Treat it nicely and you'll fall in love with it too!

UPDATE 10/22/2008~I think my pallette has matured, Ino longer find this to be as phenomonal as in the past.I still love the smell and taste, but for some reason the quality between tins is horribly varied, this one bites like a rabid goat. I'm docking it a star. If you only smoke aromatics, still give it a shot.
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 22, 2014 Mild Mild to Medium Mild Very Pleasant
My favorite aromatic blend. It has a faint but noticeable tobacco flavor instead of the "dry air" most people experience with aromatics. The room note is AMAZING. Vanilla, coconut, custard, bourbon whisky. This is a great aromatic that every pipe smoker should try at least once. A great example of what an aromatic can be.
Pipe Used: MM "Washington" Cobb, CAO Meerschaum
PurchasedFrom: Briar Shoppe (bulk)
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"