Mac Baren 7 Seas Gold Blend

(2.67)
A golden blend of tobaccos. A soft and exceptional mellow smoke. Delightful aromatic taste. A true pleasure journey.

Details

Brand Mac Baren
Blended By Mac Baren
Manufactured By Mac Baren
Blend Type Aromatic
Contents Black Cavendish, Burley, Virginia
Flavoring Other / Misc
Cut Ribbon
Packaging 100 grams tin weight, 100 grams pouch weight, bulk
Country Denmark
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

2.67 / 4
18

18

20

10

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 66 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 24, 2010 Extremely Mild Strong Mild Very Pleasant
A good well priced aromatic, nothing new though. In no way memorable.
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 20, 2015 Mild Mild Mild Pleasant
I am trying out all of the MacB 7 Seas blends. This is my second tin after smoking through 7 Seas Regular.

At the tin, this blend has a nice, vanilla-caramel almost confectionery aroma. Soft, golden, not too moist, consistent ribbon-cut. Packs easily, but I've had a bit of a challenge getting it going after the charring light. Once it is going however, it is worth the journey.

Very pleasant room note, lightly aromatic. Plenty of tobacco taste, with just a hint of the topping coming through as you smoke. Easy to smoke and for me, I want more after the bowl is done. I don't get the gloopy comments. For me it burns fairly clean and dry.

Much better than CB Gold. No real chemical taste or aroma, and far better quality tobacco. Easy on the tongue and those around you. Leaves a sweet and pleasant aftertaste. Great for beginning pipers and all day smokers like myself. Will keep this one in rotation!
Pipe Used: Briar, meer
PurchasedFrom: pipesandcigars.com
Age When Smoked: 6 mos.
16 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 11, 2016 Very Mild Mild Mild Very Pleasant
The cavendish processed Virginias are tart and tangy citrusy, lightly grassy with minor earth notes, along with some honey, sugar and toasty bread. They form base of the blend. The burley may be processed in the same way as I notice less nuts, wood and earth than expected, and virtually no molasses from it. It shows more a little more after the half way point, but it's essentially a supporting player. The mildly applied toppings are a little hard to define, but I get some fruit (perhaps apricot?), a little caramel, brown sugar and a touch of vanilla. They tone down the tobacco just a little, less so than what you often see in aromatics. The strength and nic-hit are very mild. The taste is mild. No chance of bite or harshness. Not a complex blend, it burns at a reasonable pace, cool and clean with a mostly consistent, very smooth, light, sweet flavor. Requires very few relights, and barely leaves any moisture in the bowl as it easily burns to ash. The pleasant after taste and room notes are short lived. An easy going all day product that makes lots of smoke, but the taste is so mild it may not satisfy an experienced are smoker. Three stars in the very mild aromatic genre, and two stars for lack of flavor depth.

-JimInks
15 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 16, 2013 Very Mild Medium Mild Very Pleasant
Mac baren classic blends(such as Mixture, plumeCake, Va No1, etc...) are not made for new pipers, these tobaccos require a very experienced pipe smokers with good technique in packing the pipe and an extremely slow smoking pace, however, if you are new to pipe smoking then I would recommend you to start with the 7 Seas blends.

This is a bright Va processed in Cavendish, sweet, fragrant and mild, very enjoyable with minimum tongue bite for fast puffer, similar to CB gold, maybe with a bit more vanilla casing. Highly recommended for new pipers.
11 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 03, 2015 Mild Medium Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
This tobacco smelled wonderful upon opening my new tin. I get the aroma of apricots, no vanilla or chocolate like most others described *shrug*. Anyway it might have been just a bit moist, but I packed it lightly and lit'er up. It took to the flame and burned well, I did have to relight a few times, but oh well. It burned ok but I ended up with a bit of soggy dottle when I dumped my pipe. I think it would have burned ok to the bottom with a relight, but I had somewhere to be :(. I was pleasantly surprised with this tobacco and I enjoyed it very much. I have tried over 70 different tobaccos and this one rates in the top 10, maybe even the top 5 for me. I do enjoy my aromatics. I would highly recommend this tobacco. I loved it.
Pipe Used: Vintage BBB Tasman 725 billiard
PurchasedFrom: Stogie's B&M Billings, MT.
Age When Smoked: New
10 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 15, 2015 Mild Mild to Medium Medium Very Pleasant
I received this as a gift and upon opening the pouch I really couldn't discern what I was supposed to get out of it as far as flavoring. I detected a sweet undertone but to be honest can't say what it is. The gold and brown tobacco cut was very nice and packed easily. A fine looking cut. The consistency was perfect - Not wet, goopy, and quite frankly was just right. This smoke lit easily and really was quite enjoyable all the way through. A nice sweet essence was maintained and pulled through providing interest and enjoyment all the way through. Again, I was unable to determine a specific flavor note, but the sweet hue was definitely present. It didn't burn hot and certainly didn't have an over-the-top aromatic sensation like so many that try too hard. I have to say I was surprised by this smoke. I wasn't expecting much and never heard about it until I tried it. I almost feel like giving it 4 stars. You know what, I enjoyed it and if I feel like giving 4 stars, maybe I should. Pleasantly surprised. I think I found my morning and evening Houston rush hour commute tobacco for the next few weeks. Glad it was gifted, I probably never would have ordered it on my own otherwise.
Pipe Used: Bjarne Viking Sandblast Yellow#3
PurchasedFrom: Gifted via P&C
Age When Smoked: 6 mos
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 24, 2015 Extremely Mild Mild Extremely Mild (Flat) Pleasant
It is unusual to find a Mac Baren's aromatic that processes Virginia into cavendish form, and that made this an interesting smoke. The Burley also came through for backbone but the sweetened leaf was pretty soggy and did not burn dry. I suspect this one was made to satisfy the aromatic crowd that enjoys the lightest of enhanced taste and flavors. It fell flat on its face with me. Not a lot of flavor, and not enough bottom to produce any interest at all.

Pipestud
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 07, 2017 Mild Mild Mild Pleasant to Tolerable
Mac Baren - 7 Seas Gold.

Another of my early reviews where I decided I could do a better job:

After a few bowls the one descriptive phrase that comes to mind is 'hard work'. The added flavour's mild, but gives the smoke quite a harsh top-note: citrus with maybe a hint of nectarine, or something of the like. The burn from 7.S. Gold is horrendous, unless it's packed very loosely; without doing so mine won't stay lit. The tobaccos' taste fairly decent, but as light as the topping is, it ruins the flavour. The smoke's medium in temperature, and it can give me a slight bite.

The nicotine qualifies as being mild, and the room-note's pleasant to tolerable.

I bought a new pouch to re-do my first review, now I wish I hadn't bothered!

Not recommended.
Pipe Used: Cob, for this, but various over time.
PurchasedFrom: My Smoking Shop
Age When Smoked: New
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 08, 2015 Mild Medium Full Pleasant
Mild and delicate tobacco that tastes like some vanilla or toffee. Room note is good and I've been told that it smells like baked cookies.

Great for beginners, easy to smoke.
Pipe Used: Missouri Corn Cob
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 01, 2013 Mild Mild Mild Very Pleasant
Blend really good, it burns well and does not burn your tongue. In the room is a very good smell for the wife .... one of my favorite tobacco. 4 stars
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 29, 2012 Mild Mild to Medium Very Mild Very Pleasant
It is very mild, slighly chocolate smell. in the Room note, but during smoking, not very flavoured.

good for begginers, Tt seems (is similar or related) to certain Borkun Riff Blends, but better quality,

Not dried,unless, is wet in the just, desired point (as Essence of Vermont).

Compared with the Captain Black Blends, is much less sweet.

I agree with wenkrush: have much more flavour than taste!

Good tobacco.

Only one not good issue: It burns so hot and fast.

I revised my point of view: Although this is a excelent aromatic tobacco (Merits even 3 or 4 stars).

Unfortunately, it cause severe tongue bite after 2 or 3 bowls! (other MacBaren's Blends also!), from this, I`m obliged to reduce score to 2 stars!
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"