Mac Baren Capstan Gold Navy Cut

(3.33)
This blend is a composition of select, bright, sun cured Virginia leaf. Pressed, stored and cut into flakes. Capstan Gold Flake with the natural Virginia sweetness is a must try for everyone who appreciates a good, straightforward Virginia Blend.
Notes: Formally blended by Orlik and originally by W.D. & H.O. Wills. See W.D. & H.O. Wills for reviews of the original Capstan Gold Navy Cut. Produced by Mac Baren since 2006.

Details

Brand Mac Baren
Blended By Mac Baren
Manufactured By Mac Baren
Blend Type Straight Virginia
Contents Virginia
Flavoring Fruit / Citrus
Cut Flake
Packaging 50 grams tin
Country Denmark
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Very Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.33 / 4
33

23

9

1

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 66 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 08, 2024 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Tolerable
Tin note : Tin note is very faint... though if i try to smell closely, There are hints of citrus and grass. Very little pineapple.

Cut : Thin, Neatly cut flakes. Very nice presentation. easy to rub out and pack. Really straightforward to work with.

Mechanics : stays lit relatively well.

Flavour Profile : More grassy and hay notes compared to the ready rubbed. There is citrus and lemon notes but not as much as the ready rubbed. Jim Inks stated they are the same blend. It could probably be the aging of tobacco at work. Perhaps this tobacco is quite young. Not much of a complex blend. Easy all day smoke on a hot day.

Tongue Bite : Upon opening the tin, there was some bite. Rarely bites now. Advise to keep the tin open or perhaps let it rest in a mason jar for a week.

Will I buy this again : glad I got 5 tins on offer and hope it last me for quite some time. Will go for the ready rubbed version next time.

My thoughts is it might need more age. Might try to keep a tin or two to age for atleast 5 years before coming back to review this blend.

3.5 stars

Pipe Used: Tekin topkapi meerschaum, al pascia meerschaum
PurchasedFrom: Smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: 1 year
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 08, 2013 Mild to Medium Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
A moderately sweet and easy to rub out flake with a little sugar and some citrus toppings complimenting the tart and tangy, citrusy Virginias. The Virginias offer a bit of grass, some hay and bread, plus a pinch or two of earth, and wood. Has a light floral quality as well. The strength and nic-hit are a couple of steps past the center of mild to medium, while the taste almost reaches the medium mark. No chance of bite or harshness. A rather uncomplicated blend that burns slightly less than at a moderate pace, cool and clean with a smoothly, tart and tangy sweet consistent taste from start to finish. There are several kinds of Virginias in this to create a well balanced blend. Requires a few relights, leaves little moisture in the bowl, and will burn to ash. Has a lightly lingering, pleasant after taste and room note. An all day experience that works for the smoker who wants a gentle, sweet flavor without the most of the earthy characteristics darker Virginias provide.

-JimInks
48 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 24, 2013 Mild Very Mild Mild Pleasant
A lighter bodied and lighter colored cousin to the blue tin I smoked recently. Similar tin nose but this one had a bit more citrus and less spice. Both things showed up in the taste. This had more sweetness from the citrus and less of the blue's subtle spiciness - more high notes here, but not so high as to be screechy or annoying, as in some bright VA flakes.

Comparisons with other tobaccos are almost unavoidable. First, this also seemed a cross between Mac Barens VA flake and Dunhill Light Flake but moved closer (than the blue tin did) to the Dunhill fruitiness. Neither is overbearing on the fruit but the Dunhill provides an extra oomph from the spice that this one doesn't possess (the blue tin follows suit, more a bit more subtly). A second comparison is that I might have enjoyed this one more if I hadn't just smoked F&T's Cut Virginia Plug, which realizes the possibilities of a gold VA flake more perfectly for me. This was far from a bad blend, it was just a bit forgettable by comparison. If you have no such biases, try this one if you enjoy some fruit tang without wanting to go overboard, coupled with some light grassy flavor and more than just a hint of sugared something-or-other. It's not overblown on any of those things. In fact, it's pretty middle-of-the-road for me. I prefer the blue tin, but this is still a solid 3 star blend - just one I probably won't buy again.
40 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 11, 2014 Mild to Medium Very Mild Mild Tolerable
Geez, reviewing this after DK seems a fool's errand.

I'll offer 4 stars as opposed to 3, though my thoughts are VERY much in alignment with DK - this is a slightly fruitier, slightly less bodied version of the Capstan. It's delicious and easy to get along with. I found it more interesting than OGS and better tasting with smoother edges than Cut Virginia Plug. CVP is great, this is.... pure and special somehow.

So, again, a great virginia, clean tasting, easy burning. A little one dimensional? Sure, and if you smoke this after something stronger it won't have much appeal. Clean pipe, clean palette, I can't think of many better offerings.
Pipe Used: all sorts - big, small, straight, bent
Age When Smoked: fresh
39 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 30, 2013 Mild to Medium Very Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
After smoking the blue version flake I moved on to the yellow. Most everything said about the blue can be said about the yellow with regard to presentation, handling, smoking characteristics, etc. It is a bit lighter in the tin than the blue and its tin aroma is more on the bright side, but not extremely so. Some have said it reminds them of Orlik's Golden Sliced, but I would disagree on that one. For starters, this Capstan flake was darker in color and it lacked that characteristic tin note of GS; nor was there any present in the taste thankfully, as I quickly grew tired of that in the GS. Overall, the yellow-tinned flake was less spicy and not quite as full-tasting as the blue, however, it is still one superior smoke. Like the blue, I can smoke this one every day if need be. I enjoy both the blue and the yellow equally - sometimes mixing them. I enjoy that spiciness I described in the blue and the slightly fuller body to the smoke. As with the blue, a stellar, 5 star smoke. Hat's off to Mac Baren as both will be in my weekly rotation for sure and in my favorites category as well.
23 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 10, 2013 Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Medium Pleasant
This is one good flake. Nice stacks. Easy burning with minimal rubbing. Cool. Dry. Quite sweet in a good way.

Enjoyable and superior flavor. Reminds me of the old days with Edwards' Honey Cavendish, but this is a more meaty flake.

It's not as strong as Capstan blue lable, and is sweeter to me than new Dunhill Flake is. It is somewhat comparable to Orlik's golden slices (latter being more orangy).

However, it's ready rubbed sibling (gold label) smokes too hot to me. The flake is cool and for me. A desirable smoke.
18 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 23, 2016 Mild to Medium Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
As many have stated here this is a simple flake. It's also delicious. The natural flavors of hay and citrus mix very well with the added flavors of more citrus and a slightly darker fruit. I think StevieB suggested plum and that may be correct. That darker fruit flavor has the added benefit of rounding this out nicely. It can burn a little warm, but not enough so to deduct points for it. Flavor is consistent, but doesn't evolve much and for that I'll deduct a half point. This is a 3.5 smoke for my taste and I'll round up to 4.

Mild to medium in body and taste. Flavoring is mild. Burns like a champ. This is a very nice smoke.
Pipe Used: MM Little Devil Cutty, Little Devil Acorn
PurchasedFrom: smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: fresh
14 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 05, 2013 Mild to Medium Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
A beautiful mild,tasty flake that satisfies. What a delight. I can't contain my joy while smoking this. This is the McBaren version. Cool burning and extremely delicious with a lovely dry hay-like taste from the all lemon leaf. I enjoy this and the Blue equally. Why did we have to wait so long.

Update: The more I smoke this, the more I like it. I think this and the Blue are the blends I've been looking for all these years. These are my first 5 star blends.

Update: I find that a year of aging does wonders for this already excellent blend. Also excellent mixed 4 to 1 with Wessex Brown Virginia Flake.
11 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 04, 2009 Mild to Medium Extremely Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
An honest unpretentious tobacco, Gold Navy Cut is the same as Mild only in the more PC euro tin. A very fine quality leaf ranging from bright yellows to almost reds, a flake cut and uniform in the tin 2x3 inches if measurements are required.

In the past, I would pack and light straight from the tin, nowadays, I tend to dry out my tobacco's for about 24 hours before lighting. For this review, I opened a tin and air dried for an hour or so. Still rather moist for my ever changing taste, this still rubbed out well and took easily to the match, gentle puffing produced a slightly sweet fruity taste which soon dissipated and left me with a fine virginia and the occasional hint of Lemon or citrus, but only just. As I tend to smoke alone, I find the room note tolerable, that is, when I can smell anything.

I didn't note any huge voluminous clouds of smoke, but I never look for that anyway, being more interested in taste, flavour and strength, of which all three I find satisfying.

This is not a complex tobacco but nor is it a monochromatic smoke either. It will not bite unless pushed, and burns cool in the pipe after only moderate drying. I find this an excellent tobacco in warm and humid weather, particulaly first thing in the morning or at the end of day when I've been smoking too much of the stronger stuff and want "just one more pipe" before retiring.
11 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 13, 2021 Medium Very Mild Medium Pleasant
I don't mind a topping on my flakes as much as I do on ribbon cuts. There are plenty of good examples of topped flakes I could give you from Escudo, to St Bruno, to PS Navy Flake. I think the pressing makes the topping a background character for a lot of these and thus I don't hear the same gripes said about them as I do with true aromatics.

The tin is the same as the Capstan Blue Flake and you get about the same amount of flakes in the tin. The tin note has a lot of Virginia hay, breadiness and citrus. This is harder to light than the blue flake, and so stuffing about the same amount as I do the Blue, I like to leave this in the bowl overnight so that the top takes a light easier. Once lit it will need a few more than average relights so keep in mind this is a little fussy.

The tobacco is nice and sweet, similar at first to HH Pure Virginia. There is a lot of hay and grass, with some Virginia Bread in the background. The topping doesn't cover the tobaccos and I can barely detect it but there is a slight citrus on the retrohale. The burn is just as cool as the Capstan Blue. I'd also say that your room note is just as pleasant.

The taste is a touch milder than the Blue but not enough to drop it from medium. The strength is a happy medium, no bells and whistles but that's fine. This makes for a nice morning blend, if you refine the dry time this could be an all day smoke. This is a nice example of the more citrusy and sweet end of Virginias. I give this four stars as well. I would buy more given the chance.
Pipe Used: Peterson Aran 107
PurchasedFrom: Smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: New
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 03, 2017 Medium Medium Medium Tolerable
The best all day tobacco I have found.

My son brings this home from Spain (oh it's so cheap over there) you can't buy it in the UK. And before you start, giving me places all over the country where you've seen it, I've been in tobacconists the length and breadth of the country and online and never seen it, ever.

Reminicent of the wonderful Golden Glow from Gawith's it sends out a gorgeous roasted tobacco scent that assails you from the tin. Straight from the tin, anyway you like, rubbed out or rolled it's a consistent treat. A sweet, tasty virginia flake.

It's a solid, reliable, no-nonsense blend that satisfies everytime. Never had a bad bowl.

If you see it, buy it, whether you cellar it or smoke it straightaway, just get it.

The only complaint is the tin's too small.
Pipe Used: All of them
PurchasedFrom: Spain
Age When Smoked: New
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"