Blender's Gold Rich Vanilla

(2.00)
A rich blend of imported and domestic tobaccos. Smooth vanilla flavors. Long cavendish cut. Superbly aromatic with no bite, guaranteed mild and pleasing.

Details

Brand Blender's Gold
Blended By Sutliff Tobacco Company
Manufactured By Sutliff Tobacco Company
Blend Type Aromatic
Contents Cavendish
Flavoring Vanilla
Cut Ribbon
Packaging 12 ounce bag, 12 ounce tin
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

2.00 / 4
0

9

5

9

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 10 of 23 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 16, 2015 Very Mild Mild Mild Very Pleasant
I have lived in close proximity to a Walgreens whether it was on the East Coast in NJ or recently in Las Vegas so I am very familiar with Blender's Gold. Years ago they were cheap, PG laden, dollar an ounce mess that did do in a pinch when I was in need (or a poor college kid). Now that I am older and can afford what I want, I see these BG tins now having replaced the large bags so I buy a tin of Rich Vanilla. Wow the PG level is wayyy down and the quality of leaf has greatly improved. 1Q aroma and not sticky to the touch. I am liking Sutliff's transformation of BG and will try the other flavors in this series. I really like to support my Walgreens because if my B&M closes and internet sales are nixed, at the very least I can grab a tin of BG Natural Cavendish and smoke a decent Burley blend that mixes with any Black Cav... (I'm a simple easy to please guy)
PurchasedFrom: Walgreens
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 24, 2015 Mild Medium Mild Very Pleasant
The vanilla taste is why you buy this. Well, that and the price being very reasonable. There's no real tobacco flavor here, but if you want a decent all day mild smoke, it will do. Makes a decent mixer. Dry it first or expect dottle. Even dried, you'll have some moisture in your bowl because there's a fair amount of PG present. Has virtually no nicotine. Won't bite or get harsh. Burns a little slow with a consistent flavor, and needs some relights. Has a pleasant after taste.

-JimInks
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 07, 2009 Mild Mild Very Mild Pleasant
Another Blender's Gold product rendered unsmokeable due to the insane amount of humectamt applied.
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 30, 2018 Mild to Medium Medium Mild Tolerable
This stuff burned my mouth. Like seriously burned the roof of my mouth to where it bled when I brushed my teeth. Felt like sandpaper in there. This almost has put me off pipe smoking. I even dried it on parchment for a good while and it seemed a good smokable moisture. Didn’t taste too great but not bad, tasted chemical and sizzled... much like other Sutliff products I have tried. I will give the rest of the pouch away. There are way better OTC pipe tobaccos like Sir Walter Raleigh Aromatic, Half and Half, etc that don’t have the chemical Propylene Glycol sizzle, taste, or burn. Room note mainly cigarette. Save your money and buy something decent. Unfortunately this has completely put me off all Sutliff products.
Pipe Used: Missouri Meerschaum Cob
PurchasedFrom: Walgreens
Age When Smoked: From the pouch dried a goodly bit.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 20, 2012 Very Strong Strong Extra Full Extra Strong
I once had to buy this one before when I could not find the brand that I was looking for. Well when I got it home, I noticed how moist it was. It was almost like wet. When I tried lighting it, I had difficulty getting it to stay burning. All I can say is that it definately has a bad bite, and is very synthetic. It is very bad tobacco and I would never recommend it to anyone.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 09, 2020 Very Mild Mild Very Mild Pleasant to Tolerable
I smoke aromatics exclusively, and don't often get tongue bite. This bites like a threatened pit bull !! No nicotine, wasn't expecting any. Wonder if Walgreens is discontinuing pouches, or this blend. I bought 2 pouches on sale for $1.39 each, regularly $5.59 I taste vanilla, but no sweetness. Just slightly damp, so I let it air out on a plate for 24 hours. Now it is much better at staying lit
Pipe Used: Briar, with paper filter
PurchasedFrom: Walgreens
Age When Smoked: fresh
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 17, 2018 Very Mild Strong Very Mild Pleasant
This was my first-ever pipe tobacco and I thought at first that I liked it. Now that I come back to it, though, I'm realizing that it just isn't a very pleasant smoke. For reference, mine was the version that comes in a gold-colored pouch.

The vanilla topping is heavy-handed but I guess that's to be expected given the name of the blend. It's far too moist out of the pouch; I got some really nasty spitback a few times while smoking this before trying to dry it out. There's an unpleasant tangy note to the flavor. The vanilla topping lasts for at about half of the bowl before it turns into something pretty tasteless.

If you aren't careful, it'll bite due to how moist it is. The smoke it produces is thin with little mouthfeel. There's zero nicotine hit to be had here. The one plus is that the room note is quite pleasant. Overall, I can't recommend this.
PurchasedFrom: Walgreens
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 16, 2012 Mild Mild Mild to Medium Tolerable
This is brown burley ribbon. Natural Burley taste. Better flavor than some bulks I've paid $3.5 per ounce here in Cal.

The bad: There are others much better for the same price. I should have gone with the toasted cavendish. It looks black and like a real Cavendish.

Too much PG. Propolyne Glycol. Greasy to the touch when I pulled some out to dry. Must be dried. That took about one hour in the sun and I still get too much pipe goop.

Too bad they didn't use real vanilla or some good topping for this decent burley tobacco, but then it wouldn't be 1.16 per ounce would it?

But you know what;I'm smoking this. I put a wind cap on my pipe and smoke this very slowly and it's not bad. I'm going to try to find something that this mixes with.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 28, 2011 Mild Extremely Mild Medium Tolerable
Just like others who reviewed this. I thought it tasted like plastic. smoking the bag it came in may even be better that the tobacco itself. I am a very frugal(CHEAP) guy so I really wanted to like but, I can not force myself to smoke this stuff. It was very very wet and sticky. I thought if it were dryer it would be better. I spread it out on a cookie sheet lined with a couple layers of paper towels. I then put it in the oven on warm for about 30 min turned the oven off cracked the door of the oven open a little. Let it cool down to room temp. This helped but it was still wet. Back in the oven it went for a second time. It was better but still not dry. I tried another bowl and still it was a plastic flavor with no hint of vanilla flavor. Which I do not understand as it had a great scent threw the bag in the store. I will not buy this again.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 23, 2010 Mild Mild to Medium Mild Pleasant
Although I enjoy other blends by BG, I really don't care much for this one. It's the vanilla, not one of my favourite flavours and in this case is just a bit overdone for me. Drying it out for a few days helped somewhat but not much.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"