Boswell Pipes & Tobacco Countryside

(3.38)
Countryside is our medium English blend. A Virginia base with Latakia and select Orientals. It is a delicious, smooth-bodied blend with no tongue bite. A wonderful balance for an enjoyable all-day smoke.

Details

Brand Boswell Pipes & Tobacco
Blended By JM Boswell
Manufactured By  
Blend Type English
Contents Black Cavendish, Latakia, Oriental/Turkish, Virginia
Flavoring Alcohol / Liquor, Other / Misc
Cut Ribbon
Packaging 2 ounce tin, bulk
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant to Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.38 / 4
21

13

4

1

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 39 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 18, 2014 Medium Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Fantastic medium english. This is something special. Rich and creamy, sweet and smoky. A little oriental mustiness in the back ground.

Very complex and incredibly smooth. Light on the latakia but very flavorful. Cavendish sweetness is very prominent, possible lightly ased with vanilla. The tobacco is very nuanced.

Overall a very sweet and creamy tobacco with a little blast of latakia in the forefront which fades on the exhale.

A must try!
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 29, 2013 Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Medium Very Pleasant
I can't say that I'm a huge fan of Boswell's aromatics at this point, but I can say they know how to make a phenomenal "American English" blend (or, if you prefer, a "crossover" English).

Whatever you call it, Countryside is a remarkably tasty smoke. I also must say that I'm not sure I believe that it actually contains Virginia, Latakia, Oriental and Cavendish as the ingredient list on this page says. If I were called to guess, I'd say it contains burley, cavendish, latakia and perhaps a splash of some bright Vas. I don't taste any specific flavoring agents, but it's clearly been topped with some type of sauce that manages to add sweetness rather than flavor. The effect actually brings out some of the tobacco flavor, which is one reason I suspect there is burley in here -- it's a warm, nutty flavor that I normally associate with burley blends.

The latakia is applied with a light hand but is still definitely noticeable. In fact, the latakia taste is heavier here than in, say, GL Pease's Chelsea Morning or Dunhill's Early Morning Pipe. On the downside, there is no complexity to be found here and there is relatively little nicotine. The moisture level and texture of the tobacco signal the presence of some PG, but not an absurd amount. It doesn't impact the flavor much, and this stuff lights and burns like a dream. I've detected no bite with it, even when it burns a little bit hot.

Basically, Countryside seems to be an archetypal American English blend, that fading genre of OTC pipe tobaccos that once included the likes of Revelation, Blue Boar, and Barking Dog. Of course, if it contains no burley it can't really be counted among those blends, but I have my doubts as to the accuracy of the ingredients list supplied on this Web site. In any case, if you have a fondness for sweet latakia blends or the American English genre, give this a shot. I'm not sure you could do better and I guarantee you could do a lot, lot worse.
23 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 24, 2014 Mild to Medium Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
The best Latakia mixture I have smoked.

I very much enjoyed its sweet earthy latakia taste, which I have been searching in other tobaccos such as Dunhill - My Mixture 965, or Samuel Gawith - Skiff Mixture. Countryside, is my choice.

It has rich and round taste, the smoke will treat the throat very gently and the overall experience is very neat and enjoyable as you can expect from a high quality mixture.

Countryside, is a light smoke without much nicotine. There is, however, Northwoods which can serve as the stronger version of this tobacco for more “advanced” smokers.
Pipe Used: Briar
18 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 30, 2013 Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant
Agreed, a tad lighter than Northwoods but every bit as good. Yet another English that has me wondering how long I'll have all these aros kicking around for?!?!

First tried in a fairly wide bowl and it was nice. Real nice. Smooth with very little detectable bite potential. This is more of an all day smoke (I think). Next tried in a taller chimney and it just got better and better the deeper into the bowl.

I detect an earthy undertone, more so than I'm able to detect in Northwoods. I'm a rook for sure. I am starting to understand (and detect) the latakia element however and I can really see how people eventually make the move away from aros to the HEnglish.

Lit easily, burned evenly right to the bottom. I should mention that I do let the bags breathe for a bit before packing. Burned very cool as well. Not picking up on the liquor element (as described above) just yet.

The War Department approves.

I love it!!!
14 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 21, 2012 Very Mild Extremely Mild Mild Unnoticeable
This is a good tobacco for morning smoking, for pipe smoking begginers, and it seems to contain only a small ammount of Latakia. May be good for people that is curious about Latakia containing mixtures, but not can, at first time, to be submitted to the strong Latakia flavour. In the general tast and flavour the Oriental Tobacco totally surpasses the Latakia scent. May be considered good for smokers that enjoy Oriental Tobacco,but not so good for people experienced with the strong Latakia mixtures.
10 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 22, 2017 Medium Mild to Medium Mild Very Pleasant
Countryside or as I would call it "Northwoods lite" is just another outstanding blend from the artist at Boswell. For those of you who feel Northwoods is a little too strong or aggressive then countryside should suit you perfect. Railroad Station is a blend for those who want something stronger than Northwoods and Countryside is just the opposite. It is a very nice mild blend that you could smoke all day or all night. Just another great blend from Boswell that simply can't be outdone by anyone in the industry. It burns very cool and has a wonderful room note. Frankly I don't think any tobacconist can touch Boswell's English blends period!
Pipe Used: Nording freehand
PurchasedFrom: www.boswellpipes.com
Age When Smoked: Fresh from tin
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
LV9
Dec 16, 2010 Mild Mild Mild Pleasant to Tolerable
This a crossover blend for people that are just atarting to develop a taste for Latakia, it' easy to pack, and forgiving with over aggressive puffing, this blend contains the vanilla/cavendish taste that most boswell blends have, but is only noticeable towards the bottom of the bowl, the latakia is always on the background, overall it's kinda of a boring blend if you are not a aromatic smoker, very good quality if you are a aromatic smoker. Overall would I buy this again: NO, I already did my time in the aromatic department and this blend offers nothing that wants me to go back.
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 14, 2012 Mild to Medium Medium Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Excellent...excellent...excellent! The Boswells have great pipes, great service, and obviously great tobacco. I love their Northwoods blend and I have tried their Bear Blend. This one seems to be a milder version of an English blend. It's almost a combo of an aromatic and an English. I swear I caught hints of chocolate while smoking. It burns perfectly with lots of creamy smoke. It is an English though without a doubt...there are the hints of Latakia and orientals throughout the smoke. It's wonderful and automatically became one of my favorites.

Cheers Boswells!!!
Pipe Used: Billard
PurchasedFrom: http://www.boswellpipes.com/
Age When Smoked: New from store - 1-3 months
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 05, 2014 Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
After smoking the Boswell English blends I started not to like the casings which give them sweetness. But I've noticed that I'm starting to dislike most aromatics, with the exception of Germain's Plum Cake Mixture which is starting to grow on me.

I don't know. I guess this review is pretty subjective, but I find I just don't like it. On the other hand, MacClennan Frog Morton's Cellar is excellent.
Pipe Used: Dr. Grabow Omega bent
PurchasedFrom: Boswell
Age When Smoked: a couple of month old
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 18, 2022 Medium Mild to Medium Medium to Full Pleasant
Better than Northwoods! More English in character with bigger body and complexity than NW (imo). This blend is still sweet and I’d consider it an aromatic English but if you’ve had 965 it’s pretty much a sweeter version of that.

Won’t have a place in my regular rotation but it’s a welcome treat in the wintertime. If you’re an English smoker considering Northwoods, be sure to pick up Countryside as well.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 24, 2020 Mild to Medium Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant
Boswell's Countryside is a solid American or Crossover english. The Latakia is prevalent but does not over power the more delicate Orientals. I enjoy smelling this tobacco as much as I do smoking it. Vitamin N to me is right in the middle and is most noticeable at the bottom of the bowl.

It's not what I would call an all day smoke but a great English crossover on the more mild side. It's in my rotation for now.

It gets 3.75 stars from me
Pipe Used: Dunhill 3103
PurchasedFrom: Where else?
Age When Smoked: < 1month
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"