Sutliff Tobacco Company Creme Brulee #701

(3.09)
This delicious gourmet blend was created for those who prefer a custard or pudding as the perfect end to a good meal. A rich creamy texture of vanilla, caramel, and honey applied to burley, Virginia, and flavored black cavendish insures a sublime smoking experience.

Details

Brand Sutliff Tobacco Company
Blended By Carl McAllister
Manufactured By Sutliff Tobacco Company
Blend Type Aromatic
Contents Black Cavendish, Burley, Virginia
Flavoring Caramel, Honey, Vanilla
Cut Coarse Cut
Packaging Bulk
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Medium to Strong
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Very Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.09 / 4
30

19

8

8

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 65 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 20, 2011 Very Mild Medium to Strong Medium Very Pleasant
On a whim, I ordered a 1.5 ounce bag of creme brulee when I refilled my stash of one of my usual aros (Count Pulaski). At a glance, my first thought was uh oh - how will this take a flame. It was drenched with topping. Anticipating the daddy of all ghosts, I lightly packed it into a throw-away cob and fired it up and I do mean FIRED IT UP!. I thought I started the whole pipe on fire. Make sure, if you have bangs, they are pulled back. It burned for about 10 seconds. How, I'll never know. It sizzled like frying bacon on every pull. Great billowy clouds of steamy smoke and a totally primo room note. Surprisingly good burn characteristics for this moist a blend. Didn't bother the cob, but I suspect it would gum up a regular briar shank and stem fairly quickly. Its the tobacco equivalent of a dessert wine. Really no tobacco flavor at all and it raised the blood level in my nicotine stream way too much. An interesting smoke and worth a try if for nothing more than the sizzle-effect, but for my after-dinner smoke, I need a nic-kick that would rip the average piper's head off. For sure I'll finish the bag but will leave this one to the aro-fan desirous of an outta-this-world bowl of candy and a room note that virtually anyone would adore. Recommended with reservations as above.
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 09, 2016 Mild Medium Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
The black cavendish offers some brown sugar. The molasses, earth, wood, and nuts from the burley is hardly noticeable, and the Virginia almost disappears, except for the mildest grass note. You’ll taste the caramel and vanilla toppings more than the honey. It also has a mild buttery sweetness. The very smooth, deeply rich flavor is consistent to the finish with the vanilla mostly taking center stage. The strength is mild, while the taste is just past the center of mild to medium. Hardly has any nicotine. No chance of bite or harshness. Needs a little dry time. Burns cool, clean and a little slow. Requires some relights, and leaves moisture in the bowl, especially if you’re a wet smoker. The after taste very pleasantly lingers, and the room note will make most people happy. An all day smoke.

-JimInks
36 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 21, 2015 Extremely Mild Strong Very Full Very Pleasant
MOLTO DOLCE.......just wanted to get your attention, and make a point. If you want a less expensive alternative to Molto Dolce, for which I have been searching.......this is it!

All the qualities of Molto Dolce, but ratcheted down a tad bit in richness. Not greasy, no gunk. Just needs to be dried out for a day or two. Burns straight down to the ash. Almost, the same casing, but absolutely no bite, unless you smoke like a train.

If you are a non-aro person, same advice as with Molto Dolce......stay the heck away, and smoke pine needles and peat bogs, with a bit of Oriental for taste.

For those of us who prefer creaminess and sweetness in the mouth, olfactory bliss, and wonderful room note, this will do it.

Very underestimated and for an inexpensive blend.

Pipe Used: Meer
PurchasedFrom: Pipes and cigars
Age When Smoked: Out of pouch, and dried. for a day or two.
30 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 07, 2009 Mild Medium to Strong Mild Very Pleasant
Fans of ultra sweet, non tobacco tasting tobacco will absolutely go bonkers over this Altadis offering. My local pipe club is sent a batch of Altadis' "Blend of the Month" each month (which we thank Altadis for doing), and this Cream Brulee was on the menu some months back.

A sopping wet blend out of the pouch, don't bother trying to dry it out because rumor has it (a rumor I am starting), that Cream Brulee is used to put out forest fires. Even though drenched, it burns mostly cool and tastes heavily of, well, Cream Brulee.

Please do smoke this blend in a pipe dedicated to aromatics as the "Ghost" of Cream Brulee will haunt whatever you smoke it in.
23 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 09, 2008 Medium Medium Full Very Pleasant
I requested this to be added to the review board. This is my #1 all time favorite tobacco.This tobacco I first tried as a sample back in 2006 at Pipes Unlimited and I have been hooked since. This is one of the best best tasting, best burning, best overall performance of a tobacco that I have ever had! This is one of those greasy type cuts of tobacco that is cased with flavor throughtout the whole bowl. From the first light which is a show all in itself to the last puff, it a winner! Creme Brulee is very much a dessert tobacco as well as a early morning tobacco which I smoke very early ever Saturday and Sunday Morning. The roomnote is very pleasant and sure to please the wife! This is a tobacco that I keep on hand fully stocked in my humidor at all times. If I had to choose just one tobacco to smoke the rest of my days. Creme Brulee would be it! I would highly recommend getting some for the upcoming Holidays! Enjoy this blend and Happy Holidays to all and to all a good ripper! MozzMann -08
12 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 10, 2013 Mild to Medium Medium to Strong Medium to Full Very Pleasant
This may be the wettest Altadis blend I've tried , which Is odd because their blends aren't wet like some poo pooers say . Does it gurgle and sizzle a little ? .. yup . Do I care ? .. Nope ! This stuff is so damn good tasting and smelling ..... it's crazy ! Anyone that likes Aros , especially one that are fully flavored , will dig this . I go through one pipe cleaner per bowl .. no big deal . The payoff is worth the one pipe cleaner . This is a dessert Aro smoke .. sweet and flavor . This is a blend that is carried at many a B&M . It's shame that it's wet for two reasons .. It probably doesn't have to be and , as widely distributed as this blend is , is probably responsible for the people who rag on aromatics as all being wet , which is in no way true .
11 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 31, 2011 Extremely Mild Medium Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
Had a fishing buddy bring me a pretty good size load (8 ounces easy) and said a drinking buddy of his didn't care for it too much and maybe I'd like it. Well OK... I smoke the Altadis J4 mild burley quite often and I enjoy it very much so lets see what Altadis put in this blend. Off I go to pipe reviews to check it out.

Burley, Black cavendish, virginia. sounds like the beginings a basic Aromatic to me even though there are blend out there like this that are not.

Flavoring: Vanilla, Caramel, Honey.

I'm long winded... so shoot me.

In the bag is smelled wonderfully sweet , moist and breakfast like. Walk into a resturant making pancakes and waffles and sausage with all that maple syrup being poured all over the place....... that kind of smell. No matter how NOT HUNGRY you are, you're up for a plate of whatever the guy in booth #1 is having.

MOIST MOIST MOIST! I rook a good handfull out and lay'd it on a dinner plate for examination. I can't believe how moist this is. I try to compress a handful just to see if it would ball up which it wouldn't. My hand was slick from handleing it too. I took my nose to hand routine to be a nice experience. Sometimes i do this next part with a new toby to get a feel for how it would taste in a bowl. This often works. I licked my hand a tad bit. Ok that was tasty.. it warranted a bowl now. So I loaded up my Savinelli starter with e fresh balsa filter. (cake free as I keep it pretty clean)

It lit up on first lite. Not blillowing smoke. A nice lite cool type. Stayed lit too. As I puffed I waited for some flavor to come through. Its very mild indeed. Eventually after about 10 puffs in came through. Definatley vanilla custard with a caramel topping.

But it was missing something I really wanted to be there. There is no Toby flavor comming through at all. Time for the next text.

Puff the majic dragon: Lets heat this stuff up real good. I held that lighter there for a good 5 puffs and billowed the smoke. Once I removed the lighter holding the last puff in my mouth so I could let it settle on my tongue and slowly release it I looked down and the toby was on fire. Oh sure I've seen this happen before but usually a near instantanious event barely worth mentioning. We've all seen it in our own pipes. But this didn't go out.

I lowered my pipe and just looked at it. 7-10 seconds latter it finally subsided for lack of oxygen in the bowl. My mouth being filled with Custard and caramel I was still wondering where the Toby flavor was. So I puffed that bad boy with a vigor and vim another good 5 puffs. Where there should have been tongue bite there wasn't thanks to the Balsa filter. No gurgle, nuttin like you'd expect. the finally I could detect a slight pepper flavor trying to come through which would be the cavendish. But it never peaked out and just stay'd in the back ground.

The odd thing after I put the pipe down to assess the flavor a lil more was I noticed this oil slick on my tongue. This definately is not a pleasureable sensation. At least not to me. I'm sure this was engineered in there to giev the comsumer the sense of a creme flavor and in fact its an illusion. Rotten sensation to be honest.

I couldn't get my mind off the flame thing. So I pulled out a couple of pinches and packed it together and took a lighter to it. Didn't take but 2 seconds and a flame slowly rolled across the surface of the pile and eventually suffed itself out while hardly burning the toby.

Oh well. I cleansed my palate with some tea and pulled out the Cob. Simply put... same thing. Fire ball. Same flavor.... same oil slick on my tongue.

Can't have this. I hate to waste toby so today I Grabbed some mild burley and Creme burlee. I took a good sized pinch of CB and added 4 more of Burley and tossed it around for a good 15 min. Oh gees...... this stick muck stuff saturated the burley. I lit it up and definatly had a better time of it since now I could taste the burely and the cavendish. The custard flavor came through but it was part of the background. No it didn't work flavor wise. Try making some custard and putting a pinch of toby in with it. It don't work. Almost Nauseating..... but man that oil slick was back and its very hard to get rid of even with tea.

Strength: Extremely mild. If it weren't for the fact that the Cavendish came out to play I wouldn't have known this was tobacco.

Flavoring Medium. Tastes just like a spoon full of artifical custard. (Omitting the oil slick tongue)

Room note: Very very pleasant. This would make a great potpourri if you cook it in a potpourri warmer. Just imagine your home smelling like warm custard and caramel.

Taste: Mild to medium. But I'm confused with this one. Am I supposed to review food or tobacco? Tastes like dessert and not tobacco.

Recommendation: -4 stars. Due to the danger of small fires destroying your pipe and the oil slick on the tongue and the fact that this tastes nothing like any decent pipe tobacco I should submit a bill of services to Altadis just for trying this crap out.

But if you do wanna try it still....... keep a fire extinguisher and a tongue scrapper close by. Propylene glycol vapor definately burns.

It the cellar? I think not unless I find I have a few rats to kill.
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 26, 2020 Mild Medium to Strong Mild Very Pleasant
Similar to Molto Dulce, but a bit more vanilla and a little less caramel. Fairly wet out of the pouch and requires a good bit of drying. Smooth and has no bite. An excellent all day smoke. Recommended to those that love Molto Dulce as it is a similar blend at a much reduced price.
Pipe Used: Briar, MM
PurchasedFrom: pipesandcigars.com
Age When Smoked: Fresh
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 11, 2018 Mild to Medium Strong Medium to Full Very Pleasant
The flavor is mostly vanilla, due to the casing and cavendish together. There is some tartness in there that comes in and out, doing a fair job approximating the dessert. There is some honey flavor over the course of the bowl. The caramel dances in and out; it seems like caramel and honey swap roles in prominence. There is an overall buttery quality to the smoke.

You can view my video review of this blend here:

https://youtu.be/qfYaHSNxbL8
Pipe Used: Missouri Meerschaum Bent Country Gentleman
PurchasedFrom: Smoking Pipes
Age When Smoked: 7 Months
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 11, 2018 Mild Strong Mild Pleasant
Sutliff - Crème Brulee.

I was going to post this yesterday but my computer wouldn't let the review save. So here's my second attempt!

Just opening the pouch lets out a paroxysm of 'I'm heavily cased'! Something else congruent with a heavy aro' is the moisture. It's soaked!

The smoke's sweet, very sweet. Behind the honey and caramel is a flavour similar to a custard slice. Don't expect much from the Burley and Virginia, these don't play the game, the vanilla black Cavendish rules the roost. I find the smoke's temperature cool and I get not one spot of bite.

Nicotine: mild. Room-note: good.

Crème Brulee? My kind of aromatic. Highly recommended:

Four stars.
Pipe Used: Stanwell Blowfish
PurchasedFrom: Smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: Four months
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 07, 2019 Mild Medium to Strong Medium Very Pleasant
The context of my review is that I have approximately 25 different aromatic blends, plus straight Cavendish, Latikia, and perique. I have switched up types and flavors and brands over the last 50 years. My grandfather smoked pipes. I like experimenting.

IMHO, creme brulee #701 is my personal favorite aromatic. I agree with most other reviews on this blend. I like this combination. HOWEVER, I recommend you let it dry over night, never over pack the pipe, and char longer at first light. Light around the edges of the bowl after first char. It is a sipper, not a puffer. Nice lingering scent in my mustache. People love the room note. Ashes tap out of my pipe easily. Vanilla raisin caramel to my senses. No fruity or rum notes.
Pipe Used: Gourd calabash meerschaum.
PurchasedFrom: 4noggins Sutliff
Age When Smoked: Four months
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"