Dan Tobacco The Mellow Mallard

(3.26)
The rich aromatic pipe tobacco - Sweet golden and brown Virginia leaf matured for extra smoothness.
Notes: Description from the German website: This tobacco is free from added flavours, and excites smokers whom prefer pure tobacco, as well as lovers of aromatics tobaccos. Here we carefully fermented and matured very tasty and flavourful sweet Virginias from Zambia The Mellow Mallard. Popular with old and young smokers, we couldn't wish for an attribute more suitable for this tobacco. The term describes this brown-flecked ready rubbed flake the best. Look forward to a wonderfully full and mellow taste, that's free from any harshness. Experience the rich, sweet Virginia aromas. Due to EU regulations, this is renamed and sold in those countries as "The Mallard".

Details

Brand Dan Tobacco
Blended By  
Manufactured By Dan Tobacco
Blend Type Straight Virginia
Contents Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Ribbon
Packaging 50 grams tin, 100 grams tin
Country Germany
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant to Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.26 / 4
18

10

5

2

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 35 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 10, 2019 Mild Extremely Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
For me the best moment to smoke this tobacco is late at night, when even the parrot has gone to sleep. It's too bland for mornings.

I can't smoke it when I'm distracted for two reasons. Because the Mallard is so mellow I need to concentrate on it otherwise I'll puff away and it'll bite my tongue horrifically. The other reason is that it burns all by itself and will burn down to fine grey ash - what with the last bit being rather harsh the experience will spoil.

That being said, it's a fine tobacco, never dull, not aromatic in the sense of fruits or vanilla but with deep, dark and natural notes. It's taste then reminds of dark chocolate, then of the smell of tropical hardwood, sometimes even of sweet liquorice. Again, it'll only develop when smoked calmly, with attention.

I think it's a wonderful smoke, one I usually look forward to. I keep a stock and never want to run out of this
Pipe Used: Pot and wide, shallow flake pipes
PurchasedFrom: DTM, Hamburg, Germany, "DanPipe"
Age When Smoked: 2 years plus
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 07, 2015 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
EDIT: They have taken off the "Mellow" and left "Meh". The latest version of this is much rougher, less sweet, pretty mediocre. Don't go out of your way for this duck.


Ridiculously under-rated sleeper virginia.

This tobacco has "aromatic" written on the tin. It's not. It's virginia, period. And a top-notch offering in the category.

When Hamborger-Veermaster is MIA, you can rely on the Mallard to stand in.
Pipe Used: various
Age When Smoked: unaged
26 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 07, 2013 Mild to Medium Very Mild Medium Tolerable
First I must preface my comments by stating that I have had the opportunity to go through a bit of this tobacco. The tins description says its an aromatic-well to me its not. What I find in this is a straight forward rich and delicious Virginia Tobacco. Upon opening the tin a nice waft of pure Virginias enters the nose. I detected no casings in that smell. At a glance its a ready rubbed tobacco-nice goldens and dark flue cured ribbons and broken cake. I crimped some together to note the moisture content in this recent tin is spot on. So I placed some on a paper towel to dry briefly until it did not clump when pinched. Loaded the pipe and the charring light was grand as the first thing I got was a nice sweet mellow yet natural flavor of the tobacco. As I relit and continued the tobacco behaved nicely and slow easy puffs yielded a nice sweet tone right down to the bottom. At times there were subtle notes of sweetness that reminded me of a birthdaycake or cookie. It is noted that this is subtle and most likely the natural aged tobacco sweetness. All along while this is going on the lemon, grassy hay tones also are coming through--not too strong and not too weak for this Virginia tobacco lover. It is important to note that for those who do not like Virginias in general or find them bland--well you want to move on to another tobacco. That will leave plenty of this great stuff for me--ha-ha. Anyhow the room note also exhibits the sweetness of the tobacco and as I finished the pipe and dumped the pipe I had a nice gray-white to darker ash. I will also state that for those who fear the Virginia burn from pushing these types of tobaccos by puffing a little hard--well first off--don't do that it will destroy the natural flavors going on and will result in that dreaded burn. Over all--I usually keep this in my rotation as I love just straight ol' Virginia tobaccos and this is a great one offered up from Dan Tobacco.
22 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 07, 2017 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
The various Virginias offer a lot of very tart and tangy citrus, plenty of vegetative grass, straw and hay, a little floralness and acidity, a hint of dark fruit, a bit of tart lemon and wood, a small amount of sour tea and earth, and a pinch of spice. The strength and nic-hit are a couple of steps past the center of mild. The taste is a slot past that, just falling short of the medium mark. Won’t bite, but can burn a little warm, and does have a couple rough edges that may lead to a harsh note or two for the fast puffer. Here and there, you will find a dull note or two as well as some dry sourness. Not as complex a blend as it seems, but it burns clean and fairly cool at a reasonable pace with a mostly consistent sweet and mildly sour flavor from start to finish. Leaves little moisture in the bowl, and requires a few relights. Has a short lived, lightly sour acidic, sweet after taste. Can be an all day, kind of monochromatic smoke. It does have a little richness, but lacks enough depth to give it three stars. Two and a half stars. Age will improve and uhhhh... mellow this mallard out.

-JimInks
19 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 21, 2017 Mild None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant
Dan Tobacco - The Mellow Mallard.

Because of the funky name and word Aromatic printed on the tin I'd wrongly assumed this was to be a heavily cased, overly false, smoke, with very little, if any, natural nuances. Wrong. I'd also expected a presentation synonymous of every other sweet aromatic: black, sticky, wet, ribbons. Also wrong.

It's a coarse broken flake, which is a fairly dark brown in colour, the moisture's good, and the aroma's a naturally sweet Virginia one.

The smoke. It's rich, fairly sweet, tangy, Virginia. There's just enough citrus sharpness to keep things fresh, but in no way does this flavour lead. Similarly, there's a vegetative note, but it doesn't give overly sharp, monopolizing, zealous, grassiness, instead a milder hay note emanates. After half a bowl a doughiness becomes more of a certain flavour, and confirms this as a four star blend. On the whole I find the flavour not as sharp as many Virginias, not as heavy as some are, but a dead-on middle weight. I get no problem with the heat or speed of the burn, and it doesn't bite me.

Nicotine: quite mild. Room-note: pleasant.

The Mellow Mallard gets an easy four star rating from me:

Highly recommended.
Pipe Used: Vauen
PurchasedFrom: Smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: Three months
13 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 19, 2017 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant
When a sample of the Mellow Mallard arrived along with my (nearly) monthly DTM order I was quite surprised when I sticked my nose into the sample-baggie. I was awaiting a citrusy-sweet, grassy scent, like most straight Virginia blends have. But contrary to my expectations I perceived a rich spice that also has some peppery quality to it. Not much of sweetness, little hay-ish scent. A whiff of full-rye and black bread is also there to me.

Mallards ready rubbed cut is easy to handle and I rubbed it out a tad more. Condition from the sample for perfect for instant smoking and as my tin of Cabbies needs some serious drying time, I loaded up a clay pipe full of the Mallard first.

In the first few puffs I got a pretty bready aroma, of full-rye and black bread. A slightly sweet, a bit more citrusy dimension quickly joined the flavour-profile. The spiciness from the odor test is also the be found, but a tad more subtle. It has some pepperiness to it, as well as other spices I can't really name individually. Tangy, tart and surprinsingly rich in spice for an straight Virginia blend. Progressing through the bowl I also perceive a earthy, almost woody quality that's in the back and harmonizes well with the spiciness. Little hay-ish aroma too, if I'm looking for it. Very little sweetness.

If I wouldn't have known, I would've never guessed it's a straight Virginia! I don't know how they managed to create such a full-bodied, and spicy blend out of the Virginias used, but it's either real spices added to it, or they used some really nice Virginia leafs, which I would love to know what they are.

A lot of people consider this "THE blend for breaking in a new pipe" and I can see why. I can't imagine that this blend will ghost a pipe, as it tastes natural tobacco-ey. This will form a solid coating in a pipes bowl, without affecting the flavour too much.

I find it to be medium in strenght in flavour, more mild to medium nicotine-wise. Easily suitable for any kind of pipe smoker, who wants a "tobacco-ey tobacco", as a change of pace for English or Kentucky lovers, and also Virginia lovers will find pleasure in this I guess.

3/4 stars - this Mallard iis not overly complex, but solid with a pleasant taste and is well worth trying if you think this might be up your alley! Won't make it into my personal rotation tho.

Pipe Used: Clay Pipe
11 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 06, 2017 Mild None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant
If you can smoke this slow enough it has some nice flavors. Sweet hay with some depth to it and some citrus notes. A little bready note. Smoking slowly though yields only wispy smoke. Increasing the pace gives more smoke, but the flavor gets real grassy and a bit harsh. Also makes it burn hot. Recommended only for slow smokers that don't mind a wispy smoke.

Mild in body. Mild to medium in taste. No flavoring detected. Seems to not want to burn readily even when bone dry.
Pipe Used: MM Little Devil Cutty, Little Devil Acorn, Marcus
PurchasedFrom: smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: fresh
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 27, 2018 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Mellow Mallard consists of ready-rubbed broken Virginia flakes of mostly darkish brown color. Tin note is subtle and natural – no added flavors detected. The aromas are on the bready/yeasty side of the Virginia spectrum. There are some fruity notes as well like orange rind coming from the tobacco only. Moisture is a little above medium, you can smoke it as it is, but I prefer to dry for a few minutes. I also rub out a little more the portion I am about to smoke.

The tobacco lights easily and behaves well without producing any particular tongue bite and no harshness. Strength and nicotine are just around medium and mouthfeel rather smooth for a Virginia. The flavor is bready as expected and completely natural. It is quite sweet in a honeyed way but not overtly so. There are some bitter and yeasty elements (not in a bad way) that balance the sweetness. Does not produce a cornucopia of flavors but that is something to be expected from a straight Virginia. It does not have a wow factor as some Virginias do (FVF, or 5100 both of them more obviously cased though) but it is a solid good quite rich and full bodied natural Virginia.

It is quite good on its own but for me it really sings when I add a little Oriental leaf for condiment. So it’s good on its own but can also serve as a basis for blending. No other Virginia comes to my mind as similar – maybe Gawith’s Best Brown Flake – so I fully recommend Mellow Mallard as a unique variation on the Virginia theme. Room note is quite tolerable, not cigaretty at all.
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 23, 2015 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant
Virginia lovers and beginners should consider Mellow Mallard. It is everything but a lame duck.

This ready rubbed straight mix of Virginias has no added flavors according to Dan Tobacco, thus matured in a way to give the impression or feel to be an aromatic or at least close. This is executed extremely well here. I was surprised not to find Black Cavendish in there when I first smoked it.

It is smooth and mild to your tongue, without the slight tickle/piquant edge most Virginias have. The taste remains full and pleasantly fragrant, naturally sweet with some spicy and subtle earthy tones. In the last quarter of the bowl I also get some impressions of grass and hey, very soothing. Could also be called “easy peasy lemon squeezy (mellow bright VA in the press)”.

I always keep a tin at hand for it is perfect to reset my taste buds or even clean out pipes form crossovers. IMO this is best smoked rather fresh, aging (2 yrs) didn’t do anything to it that I was able to perceive.
Pipe Used: Various with and without filter
Age When Smoked: fresh to 2 yrs
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 10, 2020 Mild to Medium Extremely Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
This is tobacco. Not tobacco with other flavors added. It has that wonderful natural taste that makes smoking a pipe the pleasure that it is. I am usually a Virginia smoker with an occasional Latakia blend here and there. The Mellow Mallard is a literally a mellow tobacco that is easy to smoke with no bite. It stays lit and burns well without even having to think about it. Smoking slowly brings out the best flavor and the most mellow part of the smoke. It is possible to smoke it faster and get a more profound and spicy flavor but there are many other tobaccos that can do that without having to smoke hard. I did not notice a difference between char, mid bowl and bottom of the bowl. It stayed mellow and relatively light throughout the smoke. Definitely something I could smoke all day. Highly recommended for those that love natural, on the light side tobacco with a real tobacco taste.
Pipe Used: Ser Jacopo Hawkbill Maxima and Ben Wade
PurchasedFrom: 4Noggins.com
Age When Smoked: Fresh out of the tin
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 05, 2020 Mild None Detected Mild Pleasant to Tolerable
I am NOT a Virginia smoker, I smoke English and Balkan blends. However, I smoke Virginia tobacco when I'm breaking in a new pipe or when I have non-smoking company. Opening the tin is always a highlight; the glorious scent of raisins always makes me smile. Just like all Virginia tobaccos also require this one time and patience; impatience and absence of mind are punished immediately. Otherwise MM is a smooth, tasty, mild tobacco that tastes good; sweet and fruity (I personally feel mostly dry fruits) with a little spice. A little hay / grass and acidity is noticeable as in all V-tobaccos. My wife can stand this blend without any comments or remarks. I always have Mellow Mallard at home and always will have.

Pipe Used: Missouri meerschaum, Szabó, diverse bruyere pipes
PurchasedFrom: Gotterfermaten (SW), Estervals (D)
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"