Cornell & Diehl Habana Daydream

(3.29)
A flavorful blend of Virginias, perique, unsweetened black cavendish with a dash of latakia and a spoonful of rich cigar leaf.

Details

Brand Cornell & Diehl
Blended By Robillard / Tarler
Manufactured By Cornell & Diehl
Blend Type Cigar Leaf Based
Contents Black Cavendish, Cigar Leaf, Latakia, Perique, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Ribbon
Packaging 2 ounce tin, bulk
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium to Strong
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium to Full
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.29 / 4
33

19

14

0

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 66 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 17, 2018 Medium to Strong None Detected Very Full Very Strong
Very enjoyable cigar leaf blend, with caveats... It doesn't have the sweetness that Billy Budd has, but you will definitely get the cigar notes. I've found though (like most tobaccos) a super dry pipe makes all the difference with the cigar blends. I'm sure I'm not alone in having two grades of pipes at my disposal: "nice" pipes that I reserve for my relaxing with a movie or book...and my "yard" pipes that are suitable for fishing, yard-work, etc. This blend is just a face slap of burley unless I use a pipe (any pipe) that's been left on the rack for a week or so. All in all, it's good, but it's not Billy Budd.
Pipe Used: Rossi Rubino billiard, Grabow Grand Duke, cobb
PurchasedFrom: Smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: ranging from fresh bulk to 1-3 months jarred
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 26, 2015 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable
The earthy, woody, lightly spicy, herbal, vegetative, tea-like, floral cigar leaf has some boldness, and doesn’t over power the other tobaccos. It is the lead component. The red Virginia offers tangy dark fruit, wood and earth in a supporting role. The earthy perique is a minor player, but adds a little spice along with raisin and fig notes. Sometimes, it’s not very noticeable, and at best, adds some complexity. The Cyprian Latakia is lightly added for smoke, earth, mustiness and wood. The unsweetened black cavendish helps smooth and temper the blend with a little brown sugar. The reason this well balanced mixture works so well is because the supporting players add enough of their inherent qualities to take the edge off of the cigar leaf. The strength is a couple of steps past the medium mark. The taste is in the center of medium to full. Has a medium nic-hit. Burns cool and clean at a moderate rate, fairly smooth with a little creamy sweet, floral, savory, rugged, mostly consistent flavor to the end. Has no harsh or dull spots, and won’t bite. Has few rough edges. Has no bitterness at the finish. Hardly leaves any moisture in the bowl. Requires an average number of relights. Has a pleasantly lingering after taste and pungent room note. Three and a half stars.

-JimInks
44 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 21, 2010 Medium to Strong Extremely Mild Medium to Full Very Pleasant
Habana Daydream is a must try tobacco. Similar blends? Well, maybe Robusto if you tossed in some extra Perique. I found this combination of flavors to meld perfectly. I did taste the cigar leaf, the Latakia, the Perique and the Virginia in varying waves. Some puffs left me with the impression of sweet Virginia. Other puffs left me with an almost Dunhill Nightcap type of sensation with Latakia and Perique.

This one has a lot of muscle, too. Nicotine content is indeed high. And as for taste, once the bowl is consumed you'll know you just had a smoke.

Good job, C&D!
35 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 02, 2012 Medium to Strong None Detected Full Pleasant to Tolerable
I received a couple ounces of this blend a few months back in a sampler that also contained Key Largo. I "jarred" the tobacco and cellared it away. I smoked some of the Key Largo and liked it so much that I ordered a few more tins. I finally got around to trying the Daydream last night and it was a wonderful experience. The smoke was smooth and the flavor was quite good, both during the smoke and afterwards. The Latakia is with you through the bowl and the Perique sort of jumps in and out at frequent intervals. The cigar leaf lends itself to my memories of a few fine cigars I smoked years ago but this is still fine pipe tobacco and smokes as such. The smoke is so smooth, mellow, and satisfying that like a really good story you just don't want it to end. There was definitely nicotine in the bowl but I didn't find it overpowering. If you're looking for a great, well-rounded, flavorful smoke I highly recommend Habana Daydream.
20 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 06, 2010 Strong Very Mild Full Tolerable
This is my first review for this site. After a 20+ year hiatus, I am rediscovering the joys of pipe smoking. After spending a couple months sampling over a dozen different blends, this is the one I keep going back to.

I originally called C&D to order some Billy Budd, from the recommendation of PipefriendCHS. The nice lady at C&D included Havana Daydream in the sampler pack, thinking that if I liked Billy Budd, I would also like HD.

I tried the Billy Budd, and was not really impressed. Because of that, I didn't really want to try the HD, thinking if I didn't like BB, I wouldn't like HD. Well, how wrong I was!

HD is a great smoke! Full-bodied, smooth, cool burning. I'm enjoying a bowl as I type this, and I really love it. Yes, you can taste the cigar leaf, but it's not the same as smoking a cigar. It's definitely a pipe tobacco: rich, flavorful, and very satisfying. I can't detect the Latakia in this blend at all.

I recently acquired a tin of Dunhill Nightcap via eBay, and the comparison can be made between HD and Nightcap, in that they are both full-bodied, complex blends. However IMHO, HD wins hands-down. When my 2 oz baggie runs out, I'm calling C&D for more.

I love a smoke with coffee in the morning, HD would not work well in that context. It's also not an all-day smoke for me, not yet anyway. But after hours, when it's time to relax and contemplate life, HD really shines. Try it yourself and see. Two thumbs way up for this outstanding blend.
15 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 19, 2013 Medium to Strong Extremely Mild Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
As close to a cigar as I've been able to find in a pipe blend. It's still a far cry from a cigar. Complex and flavorful, it's a very satisfying smoke. When I want a change of pace from the English, the Balkan, the Virginias, this is what I go for. A great blend.
13 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 24, 2013 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant
Getting back into pipe smoking after being away for 25 years, I thought I'd enjoy aromatics as in the past, and while I do, I'm very surprised at how much I enjoy this non-aromatic.

I smoke an occasional cigar but truly prefer the pipe and this is a great smoke that gives itself to that of a cigar., But I'm not certain what cigar is actually this good. Unlike a cigar that I find goes rancid towards the end; Habana Daydream stays wonderful from beginning to end.

My wife tells me that she enjoys the smell of this tobacco, reminding her of what her dad and uncle use to smoke many years ago.

Buy a Bag and enjoy.
10 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 30, 2010 Medium to Strong None Detected Full Pleasant to Tolerable
Update: I've always been a piper who, for decades, always smoked several different blends, never really stopping on one for long. This, however, is now pretty much all I smoke now with an occasional pipeful of something english. Flavor is great, never ever been bit. Smooth as a babies butt. Truly a great blend and very highly recommended for those who like a unflavored straightforward smoke where the flavor is all tobacco. Wow!!

I've waited a long time, smoking this for several months, before offering any opinion. I've got a bowl going right now....

Interesting looking in the bag....looks like mostly light VA with some darker leaf and yes some cigar leaf. Tends to smoke better when a tad on the dry side. Easy to load, I prefer a "medium tight" packing though looser seems to let some flavors out. Stay lit with only a few relights. The taste is mysterious, almost difficult to describe. I get the VA's out front and they are top quality. The perique and any other leaf, including the cigar leaf hangs out near the back, always there and helping the overall flavor. It's a rich smoke, on the strong side, always satisfying. The first few bowls I wasn't too sure about this stuff but on a daily basis I find myself reaching for this, especially at night when hanging out in front of the computer and my radios. I don't detect any casing or flavoring, just 100% really fine tobacco. "Cigarish" yes but not at all like smoking a stogie, just a gentle hint there. Smooth, creamy, never been bit. Yep I really like this stuff and imagine it will be at the top of my rotation. Highly recommended.
10 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 19, 2011 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable to Strong
Gentleman, you can stop searching for underrated great blends right here. Habana Daydream is a fantastic smoke! If you're a pipe smoker, this is a must try. It's a cleverly crafted bit of cigar leaf tobacco. Personally, I'm a fanboy and I order HD in the 8 oz tin. I find this to be a full body, complex and heavy blend that is tremendously satisfying. It's on the opposite end of the spectrum as a straight Virginia. One might say the yin and yang of pipe tobacco.

The flavor is robust, complex with main notes of creamy cigar leaf, grassy Virginia, smokey Latakia and plumy Perique, complimented by faint nutty, earthy and sugary molasses notes. You taste the hint of cigar in every puff, along with the sweet grassy Virginia. The creamy and smokey Latakia flavor is farther in the background but steady and present, the perique shows up randomly with a bit of pepper. The Cavendish smooths the edges of this blend nice and silky. After reading it only has a spoonful of cigar leaf I was surprised how upfront and at attention the cigar tastes. I keep going back and forth on whether I think this, or Billy Budd, is more robust. In the end, with the perique peppery flavor, this ends up being slightly more robust in taste. It has loads of flavor without tongue bite no matter how hardily puffed.

This is a blend with some balls. The nicotine is medium/strong, which I love. If the vitamin N has you in its grasp, you enjoy a little cigar note and you're needing a stress pipe, this flavorful smoke will really hit the spot and leave you extremely satisfied. --- Four Stars!

Good job, C&D!
Pipe Used: Bari Giant
PurchasedFrom: Various
Age When Smoked: New
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 11, 2011 Strong None Detected Full Pleasant to Tolerable
To me this should be be called Heavanly Daydream. This is my favorite smoke by far. Its like a wonderful vaper with some cigar that adds to the complexity of this smoke. I used to smoke cigars but I made a deal with my wife that I could smoke more if I give up cigars. This is the perfect compromise. It is a very full blend that will knock your socks off, not for the novice smoker. Someone before said don't drive while smoking. I have done this without any issues but the Vitamin N will get you so smoke with caution. It is a sweet smoke and the perique is deffinately present wich helps prevent tongue bite. I wouldn't say it's like a cigar but the cigar leaf makes it self known. I like Billy Budd so this is a nice alternative to that, but personally I like it better than billy budd. If you like a good, hearty, full smoke with a nic kick this is one to try. Highly, highly, recommended.
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 10, 2014 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium Tolerable
My supply of Habana Daydream was limited to a three pipe sample so take it for what it’s worth. I find HD to be a contradiction to my taste. Here’s the good; it burns cool, without a whisper of bite. To my memory, it seems a little sweeter than Billy Bud by C&D, and HD has great pure tobacco flavor with some strength. The sweetness reminds me of the underlying sweetness found in smoke ropes and twists, rather than the sweetness that I get from a good Virginia blend which is often more of the molasses or sweet hay side of things. Now the bad; HD offers no complexity, which in itself isn’t terrible, but based on other cigar blends on the market, I prefer this blend the least. One reviewer called this flat and I would agree. Compared to Compton’s Cuban Mixture, Stoogie, Pease’s Robusto or Robert Lewis 123 Mixture, this simply doesn’t compare. It’s not bad, but I would spend the cash for anymore.
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"