Peter Stokkebye Black Currant Cavendish (No.45)

(1.91)
Gentle fruity black currant and fresh apple flavors underline this unique mixture based on smooth tasting black cavendish. Gently pressed and fermented ready rubbed Virginia and burley together with sparkling bright wild cut Virginia create the perfect composition for this exquisite blend.

Details

Brand Peter Stokkebye
Blended By  
Manufactured By  
Blend Type Aromatic
Contents Black Cavendish, Virginia
Flavoring Apple, Blackcurrant
Cut Ready Rubbed
Packaging Bulk
Country Denmark
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Strong
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

1.91 / 4
0

4

2

5

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 11 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 19, 2016 Mild Strong Full Pleasant
I don't think that this blend is the exemplar of everything that's wrong with a certain style of aromatics, but it shows most of those faults. It's very heavily treated, which I never care for, but this can be overlooked or ignored if there is some pleasure to be had in the taste, aroma, or smoke; none of those things are here. Black currants are a refined dried fruit, a haute raisin for lack of a better term. Whatever the flavorings used, it in no way resembles currants and this is just a huge turn off. The description perhaps gives it away mentioning apple. In my book there is no need to add an apple component to a currant blend, and the synthetic apple flavoring is horrific anyhow. Really poor stuff and not worthy of Stokkebye.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 14, 2015 Medium Medium to Strong Medium Very Pleasant
The Virginias are grassy and a little dull. The burley is slightly nutty, and the black cavendish adds a very mild vanilla. The apple flavoring is not as noticeable as the black currant, and I got a very mild sourness with the sweet, more so near the finish, which also affects the after taste. Has little nicotine. Burned decently, somewhat cool (though I recommend a moderate pace as it can burn a mite warm, but avoids bite), and leaves a little moisture in the bowl, but no dottle. Needs a few relights. Not an all day smoke.

-JimInks
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 13, 2013 Medium Medium to Strong Medium to Full Pleasant
Probably Stokkebye's most visually striking blend, as the dark cavendish is contrasted against the bright virginia in a pretty dramatic fashion. The drama continues with the scent, which is very strong and very sweet.

Fortunately, the pouch note is much more subdued on the palette, much like the other Stokkebye aromatics I've tried. And like the other Stokkebye blends, the smoke is rich, deep, and full bodied. There's a touch of sweetness (much less than the pouch note would lead you to believe) and ample vitamin N (very ample, in fact).

I realize I've said "just like the other Stokkebye blends" several times, but after trying six or seven of them, I've noticed a pattern. They make them big, rich, and full bodied. Always with a touch of sweetness, always with a bit of nuttiness. If that sounds appealing to you, then just pick a casing. Personally, I don't think Black Currant Cavendish will become my "everyday" blend simply because the apple and currant casing (or really any fruit) isn't exactly in-line with my tastes (although, I do like it occasionally), so I'll be sticking with the Stokkebye whiskey. But, if your palette leans more toward fruit flavors, then Black Currant Cavendish is a really good one.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 22, 2009 Medium Medium to Strong Medium Very Pleasant
I'm suprised the reviews aren't better for this blend . It's an aromatic but not wet at all.The room note is off the map . you can taste what everyone else smells . It burns fine . I wouldn't smoke it all day / every day . It's a little warm at first but cooled for me . I'm a big scottish mixture fan and this type of aromatic I don't go for in general but this was a nice suprise
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 10, 2008 Mild Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
I recently bought an ounce of this at my local tobacco shop. It smelled very good in the jar and the moisture was about right. The taste is sweet. However, let me say that the sweetness is not your typical "candy" type of sweetness. Don't think of cherry, but rather think of raisins. The flavor is consistent through out the bowl. Remember to puff slowly or there will be a bite. It can be forgiving on that score, though. There are too very important factors that make me totally recommend this blend: The room note is very pleasing to my wife. This is her favorite, so far, next to Retriever from Nording. The other thing to note is the kick of nicotine that surprises you about half way through the bowl. This fact reminds me why I smoke in the first place. If I was overly concerned about flavorings I would go out and get a bag of actual currents and eat them. The tobacco taste is somewhat over-shadowed by the sweetness, but the little nicotine hit kind of makes up for that. All of this is to say, when your wife loves it and you can get satisfaction from it, this puts a tobacco in the "go-to" catagory.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 29, 2017 Mild Strong Mild to Medium Pleasant
Peter Stokkebye - Black Currant Cavendish (No.45).

It's quite a coarse ready rubbed mix, meaning the smoke would probably be cool should it not arrive brittle. But it came dry as a bone. One point down before the smoke had begun! The pouch smells strongly aromatic.

The flavour from the additives is fairly strong, and also too sharp. The blackcurrant domineers, with the apple sitting a little behind. The apples don't particularly offer sweetness, instead it's a sort of sour cooking apple flavour. I only get a smidgen of flavour from the tobaccos, the topping masks them quite well. The burn's evil: red-hot. And it bites like mad.

Nicotine: mild. Room-note: the best point.

I don't like this, and I won't recommend it:

One star.
Pipe Used: Cob
PurchasedFrom: Cup O' Joes
Age When Smoked: New
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 28, 2013 Mild Mild Mild Pleasant
Peter Stokkebye - PS-45 Black Currant Cavendish

Star Rating = 3

Rating Scores - 10 is the Best and 0 is the Worst

Pouch Note = 8

Room Note = 8

Flavor = 8

Bite = 8

Burn = 8

After Taste = 8

Raw Score = 48

Rated Percentage = 80%

Comment = Smooth, Mild, has a Fruity Berry Flavor from Start to Finish
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 06, 2008 Mild Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
BLACK CURRENT CAVENDISH...7th-03-2008.

"FORGET IT" Just nothing to enhance it in anyway! "Question?"(Where are the currents???" "SORRY"
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 03, 2008 Mild to Medium Strong Medium to Full Pleasant
Oh how I wanted to like this blend. I received a small sample that came with my batch of BCA. I tried it in a small freehand and thought what a great blend. The base had a dominant mix of black cavendish and smoked great. So, I order a pound to use as a change of pace!! The blend I received was mostly blond tobacco and did not resemble the sample at all. The taste is so-so and the tongue bite will drop you to your knees!! Stokkebye really missed the mark on this blend. I think I will stay with Lane for now. I sure miss Century Tobacco and Hollco Rohr, that used to be in the San Fernando Valley.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 03, 2008 Very Mild Mild to Medium Mild Pleasant to Tolerable
Pleasant smelling in all categories and good flavor, but merciless on my tongue. Strange, since I smoke with pleasure Larsen's Signature Blend, all made in the same factory I believe and of very similar constituent leaf. If your mouth tolerates Danish blends, such as Mac Baren, you'll likely have no problem with tongue bite.

Overall, I do think PS is doing a fine job with these Danish Black Cavendish-style aromatics. They are smoother, more natural-tasting than what Lane tends to offer and cooler temperature-wise than Mac Blowtorch. Pipeworks & Wilke still hold the number one place when I want Black Cavendish, such as 191.

I am smoking Solani 633 as I write this review and aromatic Black Cavendish blends just do not hold a candle to it, imo. I love Virginia/Perique flake.

...makes the world go round...
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 01, 2008 Mild Strong Mild Pleasant to Tolerable
Ever have a Jolly Rancher hard candy? This tastes just like an apple Jolly Rancher, with five or six packets of saccharin.

I enjoy some aromatics, as well as VAs, Burleys, Balkans and English blends. But this aromatic has no redeeming qualities at all...oh, ok, it doesn't bite. That's not enough to save this horrid blend.

It is the most heavily-cased blend I've smoked, and the flavor is unappealing. It tastes mostly of vinegar and sour apples with a little bit of sour cherry, covered with a wet blanket of artificial sweetener. Think bad fruit buried under Sweet 'n' Low. Eee Gads, what a monstrosity!

If you are looking for a fruit-based aromatic, there are many, much better ones out there; Affordable Pipes' "Decadent Chocolate Raspberry", MacBaren's "Cube", and Pipeworks & Wilke's "Cherry Cavendish" are all far superior to this Stokkebye offering.

Not recommended at all.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"