Cornell & Diehl Irish Blessing

(2.73)
An all black blend that tastes like Irish Mist right to the botom of the bowl.

Details

Brand Cornell & Diehl
Blended By  
Manufactured By Cornell & Diehl
Blend Type Aromatic
Contents Black Cavendish
Flavoring Irish Mist
Cut Coarse Cut
Packaging Bulk
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Very Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

2.73 / 4
6

11

5

4

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 26 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 17, 2024 Mild Very Strong Full Very Pleasant
A great(very rich) aromatic. The liquor ? Irish Mist is very noticeable throughout the blend. It stays consistent throughout the smoke. Although it is very goopy and wet, it does can burn without dry time (though I would still recommend some to tame it a bit).
Full review here:

https://youtu.be/6d3DLy7ZTXI?feature=shared
Pipe Used: 2024 Peterson St Patrick’s Day pipe
PurchasedFrom: The Country Squire
Age When Smoked: Fresh
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 12, 2019 Mild Strong Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
Cornell & Diehl - Irish Blessing.

Coarse ribbons, black in colour, with a herby/sweet/alcoholic aroma, and in keeping with a strongly flavoured aromatic arrived too moist.

The smoke from Irish Blessing isn't anything complex. Instead it's a basic, clumsy, sticky, aromatic. The honey-sweet, slightly herby, whiskey-sharp, Irish Mist leads in the flavour. This sits on top of the bungling, heavy, vanilla black Cavendish; with the honey from the 'Mist this completes the mucilaginous, gloppy, glutinous, character. But, I admit, in an aromatic I enjoy this 'indulgent' feeling! It burns cool, going at a slow pace, without any tongue bite.

Nicotine: mild. Room-note: lovely.

Irish Blessing? If you like your aromatics to be strongly flavoured, giving a gummy smoke, you'll enjoy this, I do! Highly recommended:

Four stars.
Pipe Used: Rattray's Six Friends Oom Paul
PurchasedFrom: Smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: New
10 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 31, 2003 Mild Medium to Strong Mild Very Pleasant
This my friends, is a black cavendish aromatic pure and simple. And whew, is it aromatic! Both in flavor and room note.

Irish Blessing was the sixth blend included in my recently acquired Cornell & Diehl sampler pack. Being of Irish decent myself, I was hoping to bond with this tobacco. No such luck. It may be a step up in quality from the "Captain Black" types, but its a small step.

On the plus side, Irish Blessing does burn a bit cooler than most goopy aromatics.

I personally prefer my tobacco to taste like, well, tobacco. Frankly, I think this stuff will taste better if you use a spoon rather than a pipe. It was not a blessing to this Irishman.
10 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 25, 2014 Extremely Mild Very Mild Extremely Mild (Flat) Unnoticeable
I bought an ounce of this in bulk to try because of the reviews I had read about it. Upon opening the bag you are met with this wonderful scent of Irish creme and vanilla. Admittedly, I do tend to smoke strong non aromatics most often, but do have some aromatics in my rotation. Having said that, I have tried three different types of Cavendish from Cornell and Diehl and while they smell great, they don't taste very good at all. This had an almost unsweetened chocolate flavor to me that was very unpleasant and ghosted my pipe. I don't know what the other reviewers tasted, but my experience was horrible. I don't tend to smoke all Cavendish blends, but of those I have smoked this is absolutely the worst. I have tried several Cavendish aromatics from Cornell and Diehl and Expresso is the only one I have had that tasted like it smelled. I am sure they make good tobaccos, I just haven't had one yet that I would recommend.
Pipe Used: briar, cob
PurchasedFrom: Smoking Pipes
Age When Smoked: fresh
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 20, 2016 Mild Medium Mild Unnoticeable
I keep hoping that I will find am Irish Mist/Cream tobacco that really tastes like it says...but alas my search continues. Irish Blessing had a pleasant tin note, but not much more. Once lit, it tastes more like a chemical that alcohol. I had to stop half way through the bowl because I just couldn't take it anymore. Irish Blessing is not a blessing!
PurchasedFrom: pipesandcigars.com
Age When Smoked: New
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 17, 2015 Extremely Mild Extremely Mild Extremely Mild (Flat) Pleasant
I bought 6 ounces of this at low country off of some bad information from the clerk. She told me it was an English blend with a kick of lat. I left it in in bag and just got around to opening today. First off it is in no way an English blend. Smells very nice on opening. It is sweet and light black cavendish. It was very dry so I lightly sprayed it in the early am. Loaded into a very old fat Peterson pipe. On first char it lit quick. A little to quick if you ask me. I tamper it down and reliable again. Smoked it for an hour and a half. Light flavor was the most I could get. No strong flavor notes here. This is a great starter smoke for some one new to pipe smoking. Never burned hot. Left a very good ash. Had two relight during my smoke. In all I will jar the rest and mix it with other tobacco. I need more kick but it was still a nice gentle smoke. Left a strong room note and smell was on me as well. So I knew I really did smoke it. Bulk price was very cheap!
Pipe Used: Peterson
PurchasedFrom: Low Country Pipe and Cigar South Carolina B&M
Age When Smoked: Bulk direct from store
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 05, 2010 Mild to Medium Extremely Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
In an effort to recreate the sweet taste of "Irish Mist", a popular OTC pharmacy and supermarket blend of years gone by my tobbaconist recommended C & D Irish Blessing # 309. So I treated myself to an increasingly harder to find 8 oz. can. The broken flake cut is a far cry from the sweet ribbon cut of old Irish Mist but its a nostalgic and adequate substitute.

Like other customers I found this C & D tobac to be rather dry on the opening. I squeezed a couple of aluminium covered clay disc moisturizers into the can and let them work for a week or so. They did the job. I would have preferred this aromatic to be a tad sweeter on the casing, but I find Irish Blessing works well when mixed with my other "Irish Mist" near replicates like Country Gold found at Habana Premium on the Internet and Abenaki's Irish Cream.

Its a good kicker upper mix and does the job I want in a continuing search for a sweet perfect Irish Mist tasting aromatic. Happy hunting.
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 20, 2008 Medium to Strong Medium to Strong Medium Very Pleasant
I will star with dryer is defiently better for aroamtic blends. I have been looking for a rich and smoke blend. A full good aromatic that dosen't leave me flat. And I found it with Irish Blessing. No more saying Hail Mary's oh where is a good aromatic? Now when I think of Irish blends I always think very sweet and wet and sticky. THe flavor is of Irish Cream and Coffee. Actuall a good blend to have with a piping hot cup of Joe. Irish Blessing isn't it is very dry and easy to li, puff slow burn very quick and easy to clean out of your pipe with a tap or two thats all it will take. The taste is sweet yet musky and very woodsey at times. Sort of reminds me of a campfire scent. taste. The aroma is wonderful pleasant to both the smoker and the passer by. The flavor starts out sweet and stays sweet and dry but every now & then gets a little spicy and new tasting about 3/4's of the way through the bowl which makes IB a very interesting smoke. IB will always smokes dry and not wet. Get this, just when you think you had enough of IB. You will then look to relight your bowl again at this time you relize you have smoked the whole bowl. And need to pack up another. I think that says it all? Good Stuff. The tobacco is all first class as always with C&D. Smells good in the tin and better lit.
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 22, 2005 Mild to Medium Medium Medium Very Pleasant
I have been smoking this blend off and on along with another Cornell and Diehl aromatic (Berry Good) for a couple of months now and find it very unique and verry pleasing both to myself and my family. this tobacco smokes like a good old summertime burly blend however it also has a good aromatic quality and room aroma. I think this summer I will contact Craig and Patty and try some more of their aromatics and for the first time in my smoking history I will not here my wife complain that she can't wait for winter so she can smell my vannilla cavendish. Blends like this should provide year round happines for all concerned. I do find I have to mist this tobacco quite frequantly however this is not a problem as I am learning to like my tobacco a little drier these days.
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 10, 2023 Extremely Mild Medium Very Mild Pleasant
Bag note smells pleasant. Chocolatey. The cavendish ribbon feels wet. Requires relights. Flavor profile is very flat and one dimensional. Irish mist flavoring is detectable but not very sweet. Won't purchase this again. Bottom of the bowl is gloopy. Almost no nicotine. Meh. 1 Star.
Pipe Used: Savinelli 673 KS
PurchasedFrom: pipesandcigars.com
Age When Smoked: New
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 20, 2020 Very Mild Medium Mild Pleasant
I'm a straight VA, Va Per and English smoker for the most part. Occasionally I wander off the reservation, which includes this blend. I hate to give a low score to a blend I typically don't buy, but I still must be honest.

The good: Cool burning, not too sweet, nice room note and none of the flavors overwhelm.

The bad: This is so gooey goopy, I had to wash my hands after filling a bowl, which I had let dry for an hours. Many many relights. Tobacco flavor is nearly absent.

A very mild, almost mundane smoke for an experienced piper. Nothing offensive, but nothing stellar. If not for the super gooey nature, it would get a better ranking from me.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"