Cornell & Diehl Berries & Cream

(2.80)
The same tobaccos as Apricots & Cream, but flavored with blackberry brandy. It's different and mild.

Details

Brand Cornell & Diehl
Blended By Craig Tarler
Manufactured By Cornell & Diehl
Blend Type Aromatic
Contents Black Cavendish, Burley
Flavoring Brandy
Cut Coarse Cut
Packaging Bulk
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

2.80 / 4
2

4

4

0

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 10 of 10 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 15, 2006 Medium to Strong Medium to Strong Medium to Full Very Pleasant
Having smoked a whole pound of C&D?s apricots and cream and finding it time to reorder, I decided to try this. I saw it was very similar to the above mentioned with the addition of blackberry brandy. This sounded great to me so I jumped on board. This is a very unique tobacco and it is very good. I did not pick out the blackberry flavor as I had hoped and found it very similar to apricots and cream, however It seems to me the burning characteristics where not quite as good with this one. It tends to go out more often and possibly burns a little quicker when you do keep it lit. I do enjoy it but when it comes time to re-order I will probably go back to the Apricots and cream. None the less , this is a super tobacco and I think you would be hard pressed to find better aromatics outside of the C&D line.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 20, 2014 Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
The blackberry brandy tastes pretty decent, and sublimates the tobaccos a bit. I can taste some toasted, nutty burley as I go along, along with some brown sugar from the unsweetened black cavendish. Has almost no nicotine. Won't bite or get harsh. Burns fairly dry and a little creamy at a reasonable pace with a mostly consistent flavor. Needs an average number of relights, and leaves a little moisture in the bowl, but no dottle. Has a very pleasant after taste and room note. Can be an all day smoke.

-JimInks
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 04, 2020 Mild Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
First thing I noticed about this blend was the berry flavoring from the first light. I could taste some sourness I assume from the brandy (never having tried brandy I'm not 100% sure), and a little creamyness as well. As I smoked on, I started to get a bit of artificial berry taste, almost like a cough syrup feel, and it put me off for a bit. I never got that same taste from the apples & cream which I believe is made the same way as this but apple brandy instead of berry.

After leaving it for a couple weeks I tried it again, and still get a bit of that artificial hint from the flavor, but it wasn't as bad as I remembered from the first bowl. The rest of the ounce I bought I will smoke rather than try to get rid of, but I doubt I'll make this one a regular purchase. I give it a somewhat recommended as it's not a bad smoke aside from that slight taste I don't like much. Didn't get any bite, though I smoke aromatics slowly, and hardly had to relight.
Pipe Used: MM Corn Cob Missouri Pride
PurchasedFrom: SmokingPipes.com
Age When Smoked: Bulk
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 06, 2018 Very Mild Medium to Strong Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
Cornell & Diehl - Berries & Cream.

The pouch smells clearly of blackberry brandy and in keeping with the smell the ribbons are fairly wet. The colour of B&C is very dark brown.

At first the blackberry brandy's a little too sharp/acidic tasting; too much alcohol, not enough fruit. This is only for the initial part, but after only a short while the Green River Burley placates the sharpness, somewhat, making for a more enjoyable experience. It burns at a medium speed, is cool, and doesn't bite.

Nicotine: very mild. Room-note: very pleasant.

Berries & Cream? Sure, it isn't abhorrent, but I wouldn't have it as a regular aromatic. Two stars:

Somewhat recommended.
Pipe Used: Altinok Lee Van Cleef: Friday pipe
PurchasedFrom: Smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: two months
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 26, 2011 Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Mild Pleasant
this was the first tobacco I brought home with a Nording rusticated 1/2 bent, smoked alot of this learning how to pack and load, how to smoke cool, and how to clean and restore my pipe. Good beginner and everyday type smoke. If not pushed, smokes cool and flavorable. If pushed, becomes stinging goopy mess, both in the bowl and on your palate. so beware not to smoke this hot. She Who Must Be Obeyed likes the room note. Its ok on special occasions and late at night.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 12, 2003 Mild Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant
It is berry, it is creamy. In that C+D does not lie.

I tried this on the request from the S.O. to find a nice, "fruity smelling" tobacco. I gave this a shot on the basis of loving blackberry brandy and the occasional aromatic tobacco.

It is an exceptionally dark and smokey looking blend. The smell in the bag is right on as far as "candy aromatic" but void of chemicals like most mass produced blends. There is a liquor sweetness that creeps into the flavor, but is mostly present in the aroma. The wafting white smoke is sure to please most bystanders. Though I avoid fumigating animals I've found that oddly enough, my dog loves the scent. He actually has tried to snatch the smoke in his mouth. I naturally do not encourage this.

There is the underlay of earthy and grassy burly and cavendish. This through out the smoke is the predominant taste with the sweets peeking in. Berries and Cream hasn't yet developed into that "nasty burly" bitterness even at the end of the bowl and it is a cool draw, though I do recommend stopping while ahead and not taxing the tobacco toward the end of the smoke.

I do think that you *must* like aromatics for this one. It isn't quite like some of the more subtle aromatics that can achieve a cross-over appeal. However if you like a dessert tobacco, this one is high quality and well blended. I'll finish off what I've got, but may stick with slightly more savory blends that seem to coincide with my current tastes.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 30, 2013 Mild Mild Mild Pleasant
301 - Berries & Cream

Star Rating = 3.00

Rating Scores - 10 is the Best and 0 is the Worst

Pouch Note = 8

Room Note = 8

Flavor = 8

Bite = 8

Burn = 8

After Taste = 8

Raw Score = 48

Rated Percentage = 80%

Comment = Fruity Flavor, smokes a little hot, this just a "so - so" smoke
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 10, 2012 Mild to Medium Medium Medium Pleasant
I found this to be an exceptional aromatic. The pouch aroma had a hint of berries but not overpowering. The taste was like eating fresh blackberries off the vine. There was even a hint of the green stem present. From the pouch, there was no goopyness like there is with many aromatics and can be smoked straight from the pouch but I found that about 30 min. drying time made it even better. The room note was quite plesant but not too strong. Burned fine, smoked cool all the way through. At just over the halfway point the sweetness bbecame aomewhat subdued. I would highly recommend this to aromatic lovers and would recommend it to those wanting to give aromatics a try. It is a high quality smoke, as are all of the C&D blends I have tried.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 09, 2012 Mild to Medium Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
This was my first foray into non-drugstore aromatics. Having smoked Captain Black Cherry and wanting to try something with a bit fuller flavor, I ordered a few ounces of this. Upon opening the bag, I was met with the candylike scent of blackberry brandy. I packed my pipe and had very little trouble lighting and keeping it lit. The berry flavor and tobacco intertwined throughout the smoke, and after leaving the room and coming back I noticed that the room was now filled with the sweet scent of this tobacco. The wife and cats agree with the scent as well, which is a definite plus when I don't feel like braving the cold winter weather to step outside for a smoke. A keeper for sure! I will definitely be ordering more of this when it's time to restock!
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 26, 2021 Mild Medium to Strong Medium Pleasant
I like C&D’s black cavendish. It taste like cavendish tobacco. Add in a hefty dose of blackberry brandy and this blend’s flavor profile should be discernible to all. Berries and Cream is heavily cased and the flavor is very, very nice.

I like listening to how it crinkles and pops as you smoke it.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"