Dan Tobacco St. Bernard Flake

(3.50)
A medium to full strength blend of finest selected sweet Virginia leaf with a pinch of mature Louisiana perique for a pleasant rich aroma processed in accordance with classic English tobacco traditions.

Details

Brand Dan Tobacco
Blended By  
Manufactured By Dan Tobacco
Blend Type Virginia/Perique
Contents Perique, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Flake
Packaging 50 grams tin, 250 grams bag
Country Germany
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium to Strong
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant to Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Full
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.50 / 4
15

9

2

0

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 26 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 06, 2023 Medium to Strong Very Mild Medium to Full Pleasant
So what attracts you to buying a tobacco that you've never tried before ? In my case I look for a flavour profile that I know works for me. A VaPer usualy floats my boat more than other genres so that's a good place to start presumably. I have been disappointed in the past however, but this time it has been the exact opposite and my expectations were not only met, but exceeded. Estervals had a bit of a mad sale on so I bought 250gms of this as a treat not knowing quite if I'd like it. I need not have worried since on opening the vacuum sealed mylar baggie, I was met by a gorgeous aroma of sweet Virginias (mainly reds) and a wonderful feast of fruity goodness from the very generous helping of Perique. Plums raisins saltanas figs and a sort of malty melange of the very best that perique has to offer. Presentation is a bunch of long flakes loosely held together in such a way that you end up with a jar of broken flake that exudes quality. After a couple of days exposure to the air it has really awoken and now smells like an alcoholic malt loaf with a sherry cask aroma added for good measure. For the review I used my usual rubbed out method and allowed half an hour drying time as is a tad moist and benefits from this. It lit without too much fuss after a couple of false lights and immediately it was obvious that the blend is on the fruity/bready end of the spectrum with a molasses and brown sugar sweetness and a hint of black pepper going on, but very subtly. The smoke lasted for over an hour with various interplays between the flavours, but largely getting sweeter and deeper with adaquate strength for those who like a fuller blend with a fair ammount of nicotine but not so as to overwhelm. It maintained its good nature to the end and with a couple of relights along the way, didn't overheat or get harsh or threaten to bite. The room note is that of a proper VaPer tobacco which I find pleasant. After taste and beard note are also good. This has all the qualities that I look for in a blend and (for me) no weak points. My usual choice of VaPer is Deluxe Navy Rolls or Solani 633, and this is as.good if not better and a mere fraction of the cost. Well done Dan Tobacco. I will make an effort to cellar this one as age will make what is a stellar smoke even more remarkable.
Pipe Used: Falcon
PurchasedFrom: Estervals Pipe House
Age When Smoked: Fresh
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 27, 2014 Medium to Strong Very Mild Full Tolerable
The Virginias are grassy with a bit of bold earthiness, a little tart and tangy citrus, light bread and floralness, and a lot of tangy dried dark fruit as the lead components. The perique is strong, offering some plums, figs and raisins with a sharp spiciness in every puff. There's a prevalent musty, leathery, bitter quality that, depending on your personal preferences, either clash with or compliment the very consistent, deeply rich sweet and sour flavor. Despite all of that, you'll notice a creaminess from the topping that keeps this from becoming harsh, though I suspect a pinch or two of dark cavendish is present. In some ways, it's a bolder, sweeter, spicier, rougher version of Dunhill Navy Rolls with some different flavor hits. The nic-hit is medium, and the strength and taste are a little past that level. Won't bite or get harsh, and has no dull moments. Burns clean, cool, and slow, and needs a little dry time. Leaves a little moisture in the bowl, and requires some relights. Has a pleasantly lingering after taste and room note. Made for the experienced smoker, and is not an all day smoke.

-JimInks
18 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 17, 2008 Medium to Strong None Detected Full Pleasant to Tolerable
a "deep" tin aroma. quite a bit of perique, with its sour/sweet notes.

dark brown flake cut with lighter and even yellow streaks. packs and lights easily.

this is a fine tobacco indeed, with a very "clean" taste. the virginia is only semi sweet and with deep flavours akin to the fine lakeland virginias; it also makes me think of the kind of virginia used for will's medium capstan. or is it rather a bit like the ancient cut blended plug? medium/medium-strong. the perique gives it the typical stoved fruit taste and flavour. it burns slowly, as will all quality flakes, and it dgt's beautifully. i will certainly get hold of a lot more of this, for smoking as well as for aging.

a bonus is the kinda old fashioned tin; the same size, i think, as cope's escudo. very charming

ps: i should add that in spite of the fine flavours, it could probably do with a couple of months more in the tin, as there's a kind of rough edge to it. a bit of aging will no doubt even out that edge.
12 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 29, 2013 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
My Girlfriend got this for me for Christmas last year and the tin was empty 2 weeks later. Another 2 weeks after that, I'd opened and half-smoked my 2nd tin...

I'm lucky enough to have quite a few very good tobacconists in the area that all have DTM tobaccos (I'm in Germany...), so this is easy to get for me and also relatively affordable. Let's say it's good value for money.

The tin note upon opening is very very sour and slightly sweet. The sourness coming from the Perique and assumingly partially the very dark virginias as well. It smells almost rotten, but in a good way, if that makes any sense at all... When I open a tin of this, my mouth immediately starts to salivate. The flakes themselves are also of a delicious dark brown chocolate or black coffee color with few lighter strips in between. They're loosely pressed, so they almost fall apart, hence making them perfect for fold and stuff after drying out for about an hour.

First light reveals a sweet, earthy, musty, creamy and slightly plum-like aroma. As the bowl progresses, it gets spicier and sweeter, but also slightly bitter and I like that. I prefer sipping this in short puffs, as that really gets out all the great flavors to be had here...

This is so so so delicious, I'm going to go have a bowl right now!
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 19, 2015 Medium None Detected Medium Tolerable to Strong
I just finished a nice sized sample of this a friend sent me. I can see why he smokes this blend so much. It is a very well balanced VaPer and gives you everything you would expect from such a blend. By well balanced I mean that the blend has the perfect amount of Virginia sweetness combined with the perfect amount of Perique spice. It makes for a fantastic smoking experience at least as my tastes and expectations are concerned.

If I had to pick a negative it would be that judging upon my wife's expression after I finished my bowl, it must have a horrible room note. This would stand to reason as burning or even unburnt Perique are both pretty repulsive smelling and the perfect amount of perique to me is probably a little higher than what the average piper would prefer. I would put this right there with Escudo and would have trouble picking a favorite. As such it is four stars for me and I will be buying more for certain.
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 21, 2019 Medium to Strong None Detected Full Pleasant to Tolerable
Really nice, full tin aroma. It's sweet, sour and grassy, with a good amount of stewed fruits. Plenty of Perique, both in smell and taste.

Some drying time required but not a lot. Packs and lights easily; burns at a slow pace.

At first, you get a lot of sweetness with hints of fruity perique (figs, raisins, roasted plums) and some spiciness. Then, the tobacco gets a little stronger, but also develops a nice, well rounded creaminess. The Virginia is always in the lead, but is not overly sweet and never bites. I get some bitter notes from time to time, but not in a bad way. Feels like a high quality smoke from start to finish. Leaves only grey ash and very little moisture in the bowl.

A very solid VaPer at a reasonable price. I can't really find anything negative to say. Flakes aren't as pretty as Mac Baren's, but who cares?

Highly recommended!
PurchasedFrom: Dan Pipe
Age When Smoked: new
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 11, 2020 Medium None Detected Full Tolerable
I got a generous sample of this tobacco when I visited the Dan Pipe Shop, because I was curious about this tobacco, but I wasn’t sure if I need another tin of Virginia/Perique blend in my cellar. After the first few puffs, I have known that I need a full tin of this tobacco. It outstands the other VaPer blends I’ve tried from Dan Pipe. It’s fuller in taste and delivers a vaster flavor profile. The Perique, which is noticeable in all puffs, delivers pepper, raisins, figs and overall a pleasant spiciness. From the Virginia I got quite a bit earth and hay, but there is as well sweetness and some citrus notes. From time to time I even think I can taste honey. In other puffs there is a malty taste. Even the tin note is quite strong. It’s spicy, fruity and a bit sour.

If you are an VaPer fan, you should try this tobacco. I will probably order this blend in every Dan Pipe order from now on or I will buy it in the shop if I get the chance to swing by again.
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 28, 2020 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
An archetypal VaPer, very spicy and dark flavoured and with full taste. Cannot sense any added flavoring. Quite bitter but very smooth. Excellent with strong black coffee. Not my first choice for early in the morning, though it's not particularly strong, but it’s a fine evening blend. The flakes in the tin were well formed and dry. Smokes well even if very dry without any harshness. If you like this sort of peppery tobacco, St. Bernard is for you.
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 08, 2019 Mild None Detected Mild Pleasant to Tolerable
The last time I reviewed St Bernard it must have come from a bad batch . After reading the other reviews I gave it another chance and I'm glad I did . A very nice looking dark brown flake in nice little slices sort of lightly stuck together and perfectly ready to lite up . The virginia seemed very good quality by today's standards There was a very light perique presence , no more than a suggestion , not enough to call it a VaPer. I would say the perique flavored the virginias and made it a stronger smoke but no figs and raisons . A good VaPer should be balanced and this one fell short but there is some good news . This turned to be a hell of a good virginia flake smoke with a little kick from the perique . My 4 stars is awarded is on my enjoyment of the smoke as it was , not if it lived up to the description . I notice that I am more drawn to Dan products lately . This tobacco will become part of the day.s round to follow .
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 12, 2018 Strong Mild Medium to Full Strong
This Va/per differs from the typical taste other similar blends offer and you realize it once you open the tin.a strong sour and sweet smell comes out preparing you for a nice experience.the bright and brown flakes are dry making the rubbing easy.they also break easy if you prefer smoking a broken flake.either way the blend lights easy with a few relights needed.while smoking the flavours are natural and strong.virginias are sour,citrusy,earthy with some grassy notes.perique adds lots of sour and plumy notes accompanied from spices.a sweet topping softens the experience preventing it to be harsh.generally the flavours are married natural giving an almost full flavoured result.burns at medium speed,medium hot to ash with some unburned parts.the nicotine level is medium and the aftertaste sour.no tongue bite present if treated gentle with a strong room note.depending from your smoking mood it can be an all day smoke.generally this blend differs from the typical va/pers you mostly find in the market by giving a full flavour experience.
Age When Smoked: Fresh
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 21, 2017 Medium to Strong Extremely Mild Full Pleasant
I ordered a sample of this, just to satisfy my curiosity why this is a blend a lot of german pipe smokers like and love. As a big Va/Per fan, and having made mostly good experiences with Va/Pers from Dan Pipe, I thought I'd give it a try.

From the first smell of the sample baggie I knew I chose right! A sour-fruity note is gushing out of the baggie, with a hint of fruity sweetness to it. I find it noticeable, that the smell is very acidic, but in a pleasing and refreshing, lemon-sour way. Reminds me a bit of "Black & Gold Crumble" by Motzek, which also has this pungent sourness to it.

The flakes appearance and quality is top-notch. Medium- to darker-brown, with golden/yellow inclusions. Pretty dark coloured, inviting a joy to handle. Comes a tad too moist and for my taste it needs 15-45 minutes of drying for a optimum smoke.

St. Bernard Flakes taste is very refined and rich. Pretty powerful for a Va/Per blend. On first light I perceive a slightly bitter and acrid flavour, which vanishes pretty fast and makes room for the deep fruity notes of the Perique, which are reminiscent of plums, figs and raisins. The Virginias contribute a fresh and pleasing citrusy, slightly sour and sweetish dimensions to this flake. There's a gentle, and never overpowering honey-like sweetness, as well as a toasty note. By times I perceive bready notes too, which harmonize well with the fruity flavours and remind of fruit-bread. This flake offers a lot of spice and tanginess. Peppery spice, slightly bitter-ish, pleasingly tart. The rich and creamy smoke it offers will also satisfy the smoker who prefers a full-bodied smoke.

I'm not quite sure if there's a casing or topping. If there's one I'd guess it's just honey, or sugar-water, something from that alley. I can't imagine there to be an artificial/chemical topping of some sort, as the taste is very natural and true to the unspoiled, pure tobacco taste.

To be honest, I diddn't expect that much of this blend, as I find a lot of Dan Pipes Virginia+Perique blends taste very similar and are rather mild to medium. St. Bernard is full of flavours, rather medium to strong in taste, upper half of the medium scale nicotine-wise. Gains a bit of spice in the 2nd half of the bowl. Not overwhelmingly strong, yet enough power to keep me satisfied.

3/4 stars, as it doesn't stand out between the countless excellent Va/Pers available. Recommended for anyone, who likes Perique and isn't scared of a Va/Per that has a bit of punch and power to it. It won't be a revelation, but it's a solid Va/Per blend.
Pipe Used: Clay Pipes / Various Briars
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"