Brebbia Latakia Flake Mixture No. 9

(3.39)
Natural sweet Virginia and a generous amount of Cyprian Latakia that is pressed and aged together.
Notes: Blended originally with Syrian Latakia now replaced by Cyprian.

Details

Brand Brebbia
Blended By Planta
Manufactured By  
Blend Type Virginia/Latakia
Contents Latakia, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Flake
Packaging 50 grams tin
Country Germany
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.39 / 4
13

13

2

0

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 10 of 28 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 13, 2015 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant
I believe I enjoy Syrian Latakia more than the Cyprian variety due to the more naturally sweetness and spice of Syrian. That is why I really like Brebbia Latakia Flake. This one is a thick cut flake and takes FOREVER to finish a bowl due to the slow burn. It also required a lot of re-lights, even though I was rubbing the flakes into ribbon form. The Virginia flavor is there, but the slow sipping I tried with this one really caused the Syrian leaf to come to the forefront. I think this is a "Sleeper" blend as it is as fine as any English style blend that I have ever smoked.
29 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 01, 2014 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable
I confess. I love a good LatVa blend. In particular those that contain Syrian Latakia. This one has a little something extra to it that makes it stand out. Along with the usual smokiness and sweetness is a wonderful amount of spice. Some may be from the Virginias, but most seems to be of the Oriental variety. This is some really smooth, smoky, spicy, Latakia. I just love this stuff. Although there is a little complexity, it's mostly a simple, delicious smoke that doesn't require a lot of concentration to fully enjoy. It's very relaxing in that regard.

Ready to smoke out of the tin. Medium in body. Medium to full in flavor. Burns perfectly. Most bowls require only one match. A really great tasting LatVa flake.
Pipe Used: MM General, MM Country Gentleman, MM Freehand
PurchasedFrom: smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: 1 month
23 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 06, 2015 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
The Syrian latakia is the star component: very smoky, woody, and is very rich in flavor. Syrian latakia is not as sweet as it is here, and often possesses no creaminess, but this flake is smooth and does have some creaminess, leading me to believe some or all of it is Cyprian latakia. The Virginia is a supporting player and never rises above that level, but it's earthy and natural sweetness makes an important contribution. There is a hint of spice here and there, too. It isn't a lat-bomb, nor does it have much complexity. Burns very slow and cool, requires relights, has no bite, no dull or harsh spots, and the flavor never wanes. Leaves virtually no moisture. Three and a half stars.

-JimInks
16 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 02, 2014 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant
Predominantly mid brown tobacco with bright highlights throughout. This flake is quite dry and crumbles to the touch almost like cinnamon bark. Altho the flakes are whole, they are so compressed and fragile that keeping them that way is almost impossible. I'd almost call it a Scotch or broken flake.

The latakia on the nose is quite delicate, if this condimental tobacco can ever be described so. There is a lot less of it here than in Brebbia's Balkan Blend and it is a long way from being a Lat bomb. The balance with the Virginias is very well done imo, the two elements work together harmoniously.

Takes a light beautifully and produces huge volumes of creamy smoke. There is some significant pepper on the tongue, suggesting perhaps that a good part of the Virginia is matured leaf. This can at times tend towards the harsh, but a slow cadence will keep the smoke on the right side of well mannered. Otherwise this is quite a sweet tobacco with a caramel or butterscotch note. I would attribute this to the conditioning of the tobacco rather than a result of any additives, but I will leave the final word on that to those better equipped than myself. Burns rather quickly.
14 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 07, 2013 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable
Stumbled across this and some bulk F & K Lancer Slices at almost the same time and thought I'd had twins. Well, fraternal if not identical. Quality leaf. Great manufacturer. Creamy, enveloping, rich smoke that is far, far smoother and lighter than the tin aroma or the room note. Plus, I'm a sucker for flakes, especially in round tins (OK I'm weird, who would've guessed). Highly recommended to anyone who enjoys a taste profile ranging from light English to more full-bodied Balkan/Latakia mixtures. No oriental listed above, but either there is some or it's a who-needs-it tobacco. I really enjoy and now always look forward to smoking it.
12 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 02, 2021 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Unnoticeable
I guess one of the advantages of this forum is that it is not open to discussion and one’s views is just that. That way there is no arguing over what I am about to say. 😊 This may have had Syrian Latakia at one point but those days are gone. This had absolutely no semblance of Syrian in it, none, nada, etc. I was graciously given two bowlful samples and what I detected was a mild to medium Cyprian Latakia/Virginia. In all honesty I probably should have taken a smoking break from this one as I had over did it the other day. I have had other blends with just Latakia and Virginia and most are good but do take a little bit of getting use to as for me there is very little sweetness in the blend. I had some Savinelli - Giubileo d'Oro from a tin dated Sep 2015 that I enjoyed more. With that being said, and with the limited amount I was able to try it is a decent smoke, nice dark flakes that I folded and stuffed into my pipe this evening. The Syrian issue aside, not bad at all. P.S. I am open minded and if I ever hear from Planta that I am wrong I will retract my statement but am not going to hold me breath.
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 20, 2019 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant
This stuff is delicious! The Virginias are sweet and rich (bright and reds I think). The Syrian Latakia is more subtle than its Cyprian cousin. It is less smoky and adds a mild sweet spice. This blend contains no orientals but, nonetheless, it is about the closest to Penzance I have smoked. Due to the high Virginia content and Syrian Latakia, I believe this blend will age beautifully. So far I have only smoked it fresh but I have several tins cellared so we will see...
PurchasedFrom: TobaccoPipes.com
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 24, 2018 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Basic brown with some black flake and a hefty tin aroma of latakia upfront and a little dark VA underneath. I ended up rubbing this out.

Typically I'm not a huge fan of VA/Lat blends, preferring my latakia to be more subdued and surrounded by succulent Orientals. This one won't change my mind, but it was a pretty well-rounded smoke considering. The latakia was Syrian, which may account for that sense of balance. No creaminess or smokiness, this was Syrian's more dark and delicate spice-filled signature. The Virginia was barely sweet and more of the FVF variety - more wheat and bread and less sugar and tang. The latakia didn't overpower the Virginia. It seriously tasted like an even-handed measure of both rather than my getting one or the other in different puffs. This was a fine blend that tasted good but it lacked the roundedness that orientals could provide, and suffered as a result. But that's my personal opinion. I don't know if this will still be made, since Syrian latakia is no longer produced, but if you can score some, it might be worth it to see how you like it. It took me awhile to finish the tin, and I always pay attention to that measurement. I guess I just got bored with this one over time
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 23, 2014 Mild Extremely Mild Mild Tolerable
A lighter Old Ironsides, I detect a slight topping in the mixture. Way too light for me and lacking in flavor. I like the presentation, the smell in the tin is very nice, the crumbled flakes looks very interesting, all meaty and oily but unfortunately Latakia Flake No.9 falls short of my expectations. Maybe a good Latakia Flake for a beginner.

Virginia lover
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 25, 2011 Medium to Strong None Detected Full Pleasant
I recently bought a tin of #9 and have not been disappointed. This blend though is at the very edge of my tolerance for nicatine, for this gives a pretty good kick. If you love latakia blends, try this! Smells like a campfire out of the tin which is a plus for me. And the aroma as its smoked is bliss in my book. Will bite if your agressive. On the edge of being a bit to bold for me but I plan to keep this in my rotation for those days that I am looking for something with a punch.

Update 4/26/2016 Since my initial review of #9 some years back, and 3 tins later, this has become my favorite blend. For latakia fans I would highly recommend this blend. It is a straight foward uncomplicated blend for any time of day, and an excellent winter smoke. Treat it kind in the pipe and you will be rewarded. Changing to 4 stars.
Pipe Used: Homemade Walnut Churchwarden
PurchasedFrom: Pipes and Cigars
Age When Smoked: new tin
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"