Cornell & Diehl Purple Cow

(2.86)
A classic blend of burleys, bright Virginia ribbon, Latakia and Maduro cigar leaf.

Details

Brand Cornell & Diehl
Blended By  
Manufactured By Cornell & Diehl
Blend Type Cigar Leaf Based
Contents Burley, Cigar Leaf, Latakia, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Ribbon
Packaging 2 ounce tin, 8 ounce tin
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium to Full
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

2.86 / 4
19

19

9

9

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 56 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 08, 2022 Medium to Strong None Detected Full Tolerable to Strong
To give you a hint from where my below impressions are coming from; I favor aromatic blends (vanilla being my favorite), although I am finding I enjoy English/Scottish blends more frequently, which I could not stand when I first started smoking a pipe. I have been trying more of the English/Aromatic combo blends, which I have found being more and more of that I am reaching for for my everyday smoke

Opening the tin I smelled the Latikia right off the bat, it was noticeable but not overpowering. I was the singular scent I smelled.

The flavor I tasted was the cigar leaf's spiciness, in the background was the burley and the Latikia poked its head out shyly in the background.

Out of the tin the tobacco was dry. Was able to light this without issue and few relights were needed. I did have a little tongue-bite with this blend.
Pipe Used: Nording Metal Compass
PurchasedFrom: smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: new
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 31, 2007 Medium None Detected Full Tolerable to Strong
Well, now that this blend has been featured on the History Channel, I simply must put forth my thoughts in hopes of being thought cool by association.

Had it not been for the Ogden Nash reference and the name of Bob Runowski attached to this blend, I doubt if I would have ever given Purple Cow a moments thought. All cigars taste the same to me, that is to say taste bad, and I have never understood the intention behind grinding them up and putting them in otherwise pure, unoffending pipe tobacco. The name Runowski, however will always give me pause. This man is responsible for all of my favorite blends from Cornell & Diehl. His Pegasus and Haunted Bookshop are my constant companions because he understands the wonders of Burley, and thus the fullness of what tobacco can offer. Whether a blend contains cigars or cough syrup; if Bob Runowski had a hand in it I'll give it a shot.

Once again, the good gentleman has delivered. This is one of two blends with both wonderful Burley and questionable Latakia wherein I can taste both of them and they both taste right. The soft, toasty Burley starts out the smoke, the meaty yet well-mannered Latakia drops in to say hello now and again, just as it should be. Virginia provides a reassuring tang throughout the smoke but never takes over. The cigar leaf is the greatest accomplishment of all. It comes into the overall smoke now and again. When it does, the taste is like that of a cigar when it is first ignited, which I actually find somewhat pleasant. The joy of the cigar leaf in Purple Cow is that this flavor endures throughout and never takes on that taste that comes about in all other cigars and cigar leaf blends I have had, which is something like overcooked zucchini.

I never saw a Purple Cow.

I hope I never see one,

But count myself a lucky bloke

In that I have now have smoked one.
28 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 17, 2011 Medium None Detected Medium Very Pleasant
I see we have a "love it or hate it" blend on our hands here. Well, the tin art is marvelous and the contents are (IMO), quite nice although not a "bell cow" smoke for me.

As usual, C&D blenders did a very nice job combining the components and I was able to detect the flavor presentation of all the various types of leaf. The Latakia was pleasant, the Virginia was mild, the Burley provided some punch and the Cigar leaf made for an interesting overall presentation.

I've never smoked a cigar leaf blend that really reminded me of a good cigar (of course, I've never smoked a coffee topped blend that reminded me of a good cup of coffee either).

It is obvious from reading through the reviews that C&D accomplished exactly what they wanted with Purple Cow, to provide a Cigar leaf pipe tobacco blend that would be very pleasing to some of our hobby's pipers. Congrats C&D!
17 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 28, 2015 Very Strong None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable
This is by far my favorite of the cigar blends to date. Not because it tastes like a cigar; it don't. It is just because of the fantastic taste that it delivers the pipe smoker. It is kind of like Habana Daydream in that it has a lot of components, but where that one can come off as harsh and usually does, this one is smooth.

The smoothness can easily lull you into thinking that this is a mild blend, but don't let the smooth taste fool you. This sleeper is loaded with nicotine.

This is also an easy one for me to rate as I have recommended this blend to a lot of people and have received favorable feedback nearly every time. If you like deep bodied blends that are smooth to smoke and pack a good nic wallop then this is the blend for you. I will be ordering a lot more of this one.
12 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 27, 2014 Medium None Detected Full Tolerable
This blend may be considered a cigar based blend but I have to disagree. In my opinion Purple Cow is a burley based blend. The cigar leaf makes its appearances from time to time throughout the smoke. The latakia adds its nice smoky latakia flavor in the background throughout the smoke. The virginia adds a touch of sweetness but the main flavor is the dark, nutty burleys.

For the room note... well.... to a non smoker this blend is nothing but fowl. However to a smoker of non-aromatic pipe tobaccos or cigars this blend actually gives of a nice scent. A bold combo of and english pipe tobacco and a nice mellow cigar.

Allinall, Purple Cow is a great blend of burley's, virginia's, latakia and bold sweet maduro. An excellent blend for pipe smokers who enjoy an occasional cigar, pipe smokers looking to work their way to cigars, Cigar smokers who enjoy an occasional pipe, or cigar smokers trying out pipe smoking. A great mid way blend between pipes and cigars.
Pipe Used: Nording Freehand Signature
10 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 20, 2018 Strong None Detected Full Tolerable
Cornell & Diehl - Purple Cow.

This isn't as strong with cigar leaf as I expected. The cigar's a definite addition, but doesn't rule the roost. The Burley and Virginia give a sweet nuttiness and there's a touch of Lat-smokiness. The burn from it's good, and the smoke's of a medium temperature. I get no tongue bite but the nicotine reduces the enjoyment: too strong.

Somewhat recommended.
Pipe Used: Peder Jeppesen Free Hand
PurchasedFrom: Smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: 6 months
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 09, 2017 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable
The earthy, nutty Burley holds a slight lead over the smoky Lat. The Virginias lend a touch of sweet hay. The Cigar Leaf adds an earthy spice that stays mostly in the background, but steps toward the front on occasion. A pretty nice smoke that benefits from sipping to bring out the best flavor. Has enough strength to easily satisfy. Burns cool and steady.

Medium in body. Medium to full in taste. No added flavorings. Burn is excellent.
Pipe Used: MM Dagner Poker, Country Gentleman, Marcus
PurchasedFrom: smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: fresh
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 18, 2014 Extremely Strong None Detected Full Pleasant
I'm pretty new to smoking pipes, but not cigars.

I've tried and have really enjoyed a few house English blends from a local B&M. I'm beginning to get the impression they are very mild nicotine wise.

I have very recently tried "Old Dog", which is similar to the blends from my B&M, and loved it.

I really enjoyed one bowl of night cap, which gave me a real good nic hit, which i did not expect at all, but was fantastic.

This blend on the other hand... I picked it out because, coming from cigars I wanted to try something with cigar leaf. I originally wanted to try Dominican glory, but 4noggins only had a larger tin, and i didn't want to buy that much when really all I wanted was a sampler. I was unsure I'd like it anyways, so I opted for this, and hey, I'd get to try a burley too.

Well, pretty sure I don't like it.

First impression, smelled fantastic in the tin, very different, almost plummy or nutty.

None of that translated into the smoke, all I got was cheapo cigar/cigarettes. At this point I don't know if that's the cigar leaf, or just the burley.

The real thing I got from this though, was my ass kicked by nicotine. I tried three times but could never finish a bowl without feeling sick.

I've got this in a mason, and maybe I'll come back to it. For now, I'm excited to try some more English/Balkan blends, and the tin of Dominican Glory I found in a 2oz tin.

Pipe Used: Briar - Brigham 2-Dot
PurchasedFrom: 4noggins
Age When Smoked: Just Opened
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 21, 2013 Medium to Strong Very Mild Full Tolerable
This has a strong maduro cigar leaf body to it. It is not full of plums and raisins like Three Nuns, nor a Christmas mass censer like Sasieni (meaning that the latakia isn't the main note), nor is it a MacBaren mouth mousetrap of tongue bite. It's a fairly slow smoke, unlike Carter Hall which disappears like magician's paper. For about 2/3 of the orchestra, I'd have to say, "Cigar."
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 08, 2017 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
A good smoke for the burley lover, of which I am one. Hell, I love it all, but on with the notes. Predominantly good nutty burley with Virginia, Latakia and Muduro leaf playing lesser roles and in the order afore mentioned. Takes to the match well and smokes clean from top to bottom. No bite for me but I smoked at a moderate cadence. The Virginia helps to take some of the edge off of the burley with its grassy quality. The Latakia played a minor role for me with undertones of smiley camp fire and the dark oily Maduro becomes more obvious as the smoke proceeds. Overall a smoke worth trying. Less pronounced and not quite as strong as BillyBudd, but an overall solid 3 here for me. One note, if you are looking for this to taste like a Maduro wrapped stoggie, that ain't happening. The only true way to get that in a pipe is to smoke a cigar in the pipe. Pairs well with strong black coffee and good tea. Not my everyday smoke but one I will keep on hand for a change of pace.
Pipe Used: Cobs and falcons
PurchasedFrom: Pipes and cigars
Age When Smoked: New and jarred for several months
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 20, 2017 Medium None Detected Medium Tolerable to Strong
This is a surprising blend in that it takes a little while to adjust to off the light.. that sweet/acrid Maduro cigar Leaf is different but in a good way, earthy smokiness when combined with the Latakia and some dark chocolate on the finish.. some subtle hay and fruit from the Virginia, the burley provides a nuttiness, molasses and body on the front end. Last bowl I smoked, I paired a strawberry white sweet tea and it was wonderful. Burns well, little moisture..As for room note.. I live alone and open the window, can't really comment so I'll guess. 4 star blend for me, as a cigar smoker it's a nice alternative when I want the pipe experience without the same old va/burley or lat heavy flavors. But I can see how it wouldn't be for everyone.
Pipe Used: Multiple cobs.
PurchasedFrom: Smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: 1 yr
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"