Cornell & Diehl Bayou Morning Flake

(3.07)
A Virginia/perique lover's delight! The folks at C&D start with old belt red Virginias, add 25% perique and press the whole thing before slicing it into Bayou Morning Flake.

Details

Brand Cornell & Diehl
Blended By Bob Runowski
Manufactured By Cornell & Diehl
Blend Type Virginia/Perique
Contents Perique, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Broken Flake
Packaging 2 ounce tin, 8 ounce tin
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium to Strong
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.07 / 4
39

32

22

5

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 98 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 13, 2014 Medium None Detected Medium Tolerable
I really don't know why I stray from Perique; or C&D for that matter. Perique has got to be most perfect form of tobacco to ever grace humanity. Bayou Morning, while good, isn't great for me. It has the nice plum sweetness Perique offers, but not enough of the pepper IMO. It's definitely a pleasure to smoke. But I could be biased; I prefer most of C&D's tobacco. I think this leans more towards the Escudo style vapers. Nice, pleasant and tasty. It's good enough I doubt vaper fans would regret buying it.
Pipe Used: MM Country Gentleman
PurchasedFrom: pipesandcigars.com
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 16, 2013 Medium None Detected Very Full Pleasant
Va / perique blends have, over the years, been my overall favorite tobacco. Something about that tart, acrid and "figiness" smell that just drives me crazy. My 2 most favorites are Escudo Navy and Bayou Morning Flake, with the later taking second. I will generally warehouse all my Va/ perique blends for at least 14 months before opening. I recently opened a tin of Bayou Morning that was 2 years old (lost, but then found)and to say it was fantastic would be an under statement. I also let the tin sit open for a day or two to dry it out somewhat. No doubt about it Cornell & Diehl have a winner with this one. This tobacco pairs well with an aged Merlot (181 or Robert Mondavi Private Selection or Reserve)or a cup of black, slightly cooled, Columbian Supremo.
27 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 23, 2016 Strong Very Mild Medium to Full Very Pleasant
Cornell & Diehl - Bayou Morning Flake.

This is another blend I received in a recent trade with Gentleman Zombie; it's absolutely fabulous!

As a few other folks have said, the tin-note is sublime; it just beseeches you to fill and light! The flakes aren't too broken, and are at the smaller end of the scale where length and width are concerned, however they lean more towards the larger end regarding the thickness. I'm not sure whether the moisture content may vary from tin to tin, but mines very good.

Once it's been crumbled, loaded, and lit, I'm blown away; it's EXACTLY what I want from a pipe tobacco: I wouldn't recommend it to those who aren't keen on Perique though; it has a very clear taste of it, but the dark fruitiness outweighs the sharpness; it's not as formidable as I often find many VaPer's can be. The Virginia offers some flavour: mild hay, and a little wood, but it isn't in the same league where the strength of flavour is concerned. As a few other's have said, it can pack a hefty punch of nicotine, but to tell the truth, unless the smoke's deliberately inhaled in big puffs, I don't find it to be anymore than strong. To finish, everything else about Bayou is impeccable: a great burn, lovely note, and no tongue-bite.

Thanks Franck, highly, highly, highly recommended! 😉

Four stars.
Pipe Used: Levent Meerschaum Claw
PurchasedFrom: Traded with Gentleman Zombie
Age When Smoked: New
21 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 27, 2010 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
I recently purchased an 8-blend sampler pack directly from C&D and since I told Chris I was a huge fan of Bayou Morning, he threw in a sample of this. I've finished it and enjoyed it but thought that it bore only a slight resemblance to BM, and I see my tastebuds are confirmed with the tin description above.

Perique is so difficult to work with, and it requires a deft hand to produce results that are close to perfection for my taste. Bayou Morning does that, BMF doesn't quite get there. This is still an enjoyable smoke, but the perique was applied a bit too liberally and it's slightly overwhelming. This reminded me of Solani Silver Flake on steroids - good tasting but a bit much for me to take. I still recommend this for those smokers with a stouter constitution than I possess. BMF produces a mouth-filling smoke and the flavor was enjoyable. I finished the sample with no complaints or ill effects but I believe I'll stick with regular Bayou Morning, a blend I consider one of the 4 or 5 best VaPers on the market. I'd recommend you start there and go to this one next.
18 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 01, 2005 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Mr. Runowski produced a fine combination here with a twist to the original. This one is a true Va/Per blend that carries some strength and peppery semi-sweet taste sensations as the smoke progresses. Not a great deal of flavor variation, but this combination works well and I imagine those who enjoy Va/Per blends with some backbone will enjoy this one. And, the flake form burns much more slowly and a little cooler than the original. Both are good blends.
18 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 24, 2008 Extremely Strong Very Mild Medium to Full Tolerable to Strong
A good straight Va/Per blend. My main observation was its strength. I don't smoke cigarettes so maybe I'm less tolerant to nicotene than most, but this stuff seemed to really pack a whollop. It did light easily and burn well after being dried a bit, and had a good taste, if not a little heavy on the perique IMO.

Then, about 3/4 of the way through the bowl it hit me. I mean it litterally reached its muscular arm out out the bowl and punched me right in the head. Hard. I dropped(read: gently set down) my pipe and slowly crawled back into the house, whimpering and leaving a trail of tears behind me. I curled up on my couch in the fetal position, cursing all thing tobacco and sobbing like a little girl until the pounding in my nugget stopped.

POST-RECOVERY: I now smoke this blend much slower and in smaller doses, and do still enjoy it. Although I now wear a helmet in case it tries to attack me again. If you like strong blends with a little extra Perique try this stuff. You'll love it.
13 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 03, 2016 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium Tolerable
I was expecting something similar to BM here and was pleasantly surprised to find something completely different. No point trying to compare the two. This is a fine flake and a bit of a powerhouse. This is for Perique lovers. The Virginia just gives a little support and roundness. Here you get the full flavor of Perique along with a nice dose of spice and...yeah...a boatload of nicotine. It's also very smooth with no harshness or sharpness. Very easy on the retrohale. Very satisfying.

Medium to strong in body. No added flavorings. Medium in taste. Burns very well after some drying time.
Pipe Used: Ropp pot, MM Little Devil Cutty
PurchasedFrom: pipesandcigars.com
Age When Smoked: fresh
11 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 24, 2018 Medium None Detected Full Pleasant to Tolerable
Holy buckets! This stuff is fantastic... the first American va/per I've tried that gives the Europeans a serious run for their money.. the tin aroma first of all- wow! In your face dried fruit... intense flavorful kick in the face. It smokes just as well... beautiful cool flavorful. Lots of perique... yet somehow the Virginias are able to stand up and hold things together. I have got to get my hands on more of this.. it's proved itself in a way I never expected. It is bold but don t be fooled... you can find nuance.
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 07, 2017 Medium to Strong None Detected Very Full Tolerable to Strong
TOP-NOTCH-VA/PER! This is like a holy grail in terms of Va/Pers to my personal preference! Not most complex, but just very refined taste that flatters my palate like no other Virginia/Perique blend.

We were ordering in the US with friends and by accident they bought me the Bayou Flake, instead of the Ribbon-Cut - and thank god for that! From the lovely tin art, that makes me wallow in fantasies about a man rowing down a Bayou on his boat, thinking of home, the lovely scent of frehsly baked bread, the sparkling eyes of his children and a relieved wife that's happy to have her man back at home. Keeping the pipe in the corner of his mouth, while the few shafts of sun tickle his tired eyes.

The tin note is wonderful and appetising. Fruit bread, stoved, dark fruits and lots of pepper. Very distinctive aroma. Perfectly manufactured flakes, mostly broken, but some are still in tact are waiting inside, that are a joy to handle and break apart quite easily. Still they can be folded to little "balls" and stuffed in the pipe like that, which I prefer.

In the smoke you instantly get lots of pepper and spice. The tin-note pretty much transposes one-to-one into the smoke aroma. Dark bread, stoved and dark fruits create a distinctive aroma, that is unlike any Va/Per I had before. Rather "dark" in flavours, this isn't grassy to me at all. Fruity, bready, peppery, spicy. The 25% of Perique result in a good nicotine punch, that gets you going in the morning. Only little sweetness to it, yet noticeable. I like that, most Va/Pers are sugary-sweet. I don't consider this an All-Day smoke due to the rather high strenght, but for some it may be!

I absolutely love this blend, too bad it ain't available in bulk, because ordering tins from the US to Germany isn't quite convenient tbqh. But it's totally worth the effort and cash! This is some very unique Va/Per blend with its very own merits and aroma. If you like Va/Pers with decent strenght and dark-toned arom - try it, it's heavenly!
Pipe Used: Clays, Cobs, Briars
PurchasedFrom: 4noggins
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 26, 2015 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
Opening the tin reveals a very familiar, fruity, fermented, figgy aroma that is characteristic of Perique-heavy C&D blends. I love this smell. I also noted some chocolate and acetic notes at times. No indication of a top dressing, just complex, delicious Virginia and Perique.

Smoking this blend is a real treat if you love VA/Per blends. The bowl shows a nice progression from fruity and sweet on light down to deep and savory aromas at the end.

I found this blend to have more nicotine than expected, perhaps due to the high Perique content.

I bought this blend over six years ago, and just tried it for the first time. Now I wish I had bought more, because I would love to see how it further develops with more age.
Pipe Used: Various briars dedicated to VA/Per
Age When Smoked: Six years old
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 21, 2018 Strong None Detected Medium to Full Very Pleasant
This soft and broken flake is very handy to stuff the pipe, providing a slow, cool burn. I used to smoke the “regular” Bayou Morning, the Ribbon Cut, and I find them very different, although they have the same name, which normally implies being the same mixture. Check my other review of the BM Ribbon Cut and compare it with this one.

BM Flake is deep, dark, matured, harmonious, without any peaks and edges. Excellent choice of Virginias and they are the star of the show here. There is a healthy dose of Perique, but it has been gagged in a sense, as there are almost no typical Perique flavours around. Perique is there to enhance the Virginias, donating some power and strength to this mixture, what I appreciate a lot. Soft, pleasant nose-tingle on retro-hale. No tongue-burn at all. I cannot tell which one I prefer, the BM Ribbon Cut, or the BM Flake, They are very different to me, both very tasty four star blends. Get a tin of each and find out for yourself which one YOU prefer.
PurchasedFrom: Synjecco's Pipe Smoker's Haven, Brissago/Switzerland
Age When Smoked: New, out of tin.
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"