Cornell & Diehl Junkyard Dawg

(3.28)
A revival of a classic American blend that smokers of 30 years ago will instantly recognize. Contains burleys, Latakia and bright Virginia.
Notes: Reminiscent of old Barking Dog blend.

Details

Brand Cornell & Diehl
Blended By Craig Tarler
Manufactured By Cornell & Diehl
Blend Type American
Contents Burley, Latakia, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Mixture
Packaging 2 ounce tin
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.28 / 4
19

14

6

1

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 10 of 40 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 19, 2004 Extremely Mild Extremely Mild Mild Tolerable
C&D has put it's own spin on the House of Windsor's Barking Dog. The two are extremely similar. In fact, the biggest difference may be the pooch on the tin. Windsor's dog is a regal looking Boxer while C&D's canine is a rather nasty looking English Bulldog with heavy jowls.

The second biggest difference between Junkyard Dog and Barking Dog is the fact that the former does not contain any Perique while the latter boasts just a smidgen. Junkyard Dog is a no frills Burley/Virginia/Latakia mixture that pleases me. It is heavy on quality Burley with the Virginia leaf sitting in the backseat and the Latakia in the trunk. Upon opening the tin, I did get a slight whiff of Latakia, but at the match that condimental leaf stayed deep in the background.

This is not an elegant blend, but then, it doesn't pretend to be. It is at its best when smoked while wearing jeans and a sleeveless T-shirt.
23 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 11, 2016 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
You could very nearly classify this as a VaBur, but I do get a very mild woody smokiness from the Latakia. A VaBur with a mild twist, I suppose. The Burley used here is outstanding, offering smoothness and pretty much equal amounts of nuttiness and earthiness. The Brights offer a perfect sweetness with just a hint of hay. Overall, very pleasant to my pallette. Love this stuff.

Mild to medium in body. No added flavorings detected. Taste is medium. Burn is nearly perfect, quite often a one light affair.
Pipe Used: MM Little Devil Cutty, Little Devil Acorn, Marcus
PurchasedFrom: smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: fresh
15 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 01, 2007 Medium to Strong None Detected Full Tolerable
I put in my semi monthly order to the good folk at Cornell & Diehl. I had known for years that I was going to try Junkyard Dawg when I got around to it. It was one of their premium blends and was priced as such. That and the extremely negative experience that I had had with Barking Dog, the blend that it was supposed to mimic, made me hold off from ordering my usual one pound tin. I ordered two two ounce tins among a few other pounds and was satisfied. My order arrived in good time and I found that I had been misheard. There were two one pound tins among the others that I had requested. I did not complain, I merely opened them and smoked them. This is among the best decisions I have ever made.

From hearing of the ingredients and reputation of Barking Dog I had always assumed that I would like it just fine. I was born too late to smoke any Barking Dog than that which was blended by the House of Windsor. That alone was enough to make me say that it was a bad tobacco from a bad company. All the same, the notion of Burley, Virginia, and Latakia together was enough to make me continue to search for a better expression of the same. Craig Tarler of Cornell & Diehl has never served me wrong and when I found that the good gentleman had concocted a clone of that American classic I decided that I would give this breed another shot.

Mr. Tarler succeeded where House of Windsor failed. Junkyard Dawg is simply a marvel. C & D's famous Burley makes for a soft yet substantial base of woody and creamy flavor. Bright Virginia adds an intermittent sweetness and tang. All of this with a Latakia that behaves itself, adding a robust and meaty kick where it is needed. Junkyard Dawg is not as complex as many true English blends, but, then again, it doesn't have to be. It big and broad and simple. This is a combination that does my heart good. No one component is preeminent in this blend, yet you know that every one of them is there. The chunkiness of the cube cut Burley makes for a slow, cool burn that I imagine defined the American classics for so long. I am glad to have discovered it. Two one pound tins don't seem like enough now.
13 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 10, 2011 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
This is a fantastic blend that is highly enjoyable. I enjoy burley blends that have a nutty and earthy note and this is one that hits both of those areas. I'm an unabashed fan of C&D burleys and they really have taken burley from disdain to a place of honor.

The tin I opened was about a year and half old and I really think that C&D blends need at least 3 to 6 months of rest time before you can get a true sense of the blend. They can be a little harsh and muddled in flavor when they are young and this probably leads to some of the bad reviews on here. Patience is a virtue with these blends. In any case an array of colors stared back at me from dark black to light tan. The bright virginias were pretty easy to pick out as was the latakia. There appeared to be a little bit of cube cut burley along with some dark and white burley. There was a definite tin note of earthy burley along with latakia.

If you want a heavy or even medium latakia smoke... move on to a different blend. The latakia is just there for a meaty background support. This is a burley blend through and through with the bright virginias offering a supporting role of sweetness which is still quite subdued. The smoke progresses with increasing richness but never gets harsh and any bite is minimal at worst. I honestly think that any bite I got was from moisture and smoking just a bit too fast. When I had a nice slow cadence then all was right with the world.

If you're a burley smoker then by all means get yourself a tin. If you usually smoke Virginias or English blends then this could be a wonderful change of pace from your usual rotation.
10 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 29, 2004 Mild Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Junkyard Dawg is a nice balanced blend with the nutty, cool burley, the sweet Virginias and the nice but lighter flavor of the Latakia making their presence known. Pipestud, above me, puts the Latakia in the trunk. I will put it in the back seat. It?s there and flavorful but not as pronounced or overpowering as in heavier English blends. I would classify JD as a light English blend but some folks may categorize it as a medium English blend. Junkyard dogs are supposed to be mean and nasty so the name for this blend puzzles me (OK, it?s a facsimile of Barking Dog). This blend is quite the opposite in demeanor of a junkyard dog. JD will be nice to you. It has excellent burning qualities and no bite no matter how hard or fast you may puff. JD is a very pleasurable smoke, indeed, and another great offering from the nice folks, Craig & Patty, at C&D. This classic American blend is definitely worth a try. Even if you are not a fan of English blends, you may like this one.

I rate this tobacco 9.0 out of 10
10 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 26, 2019 Mild to Medium Extremely Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
The nutty, earthy, woody, dry, sour and sharp burleys are the lead component. The Cyprian Latakia provides some smokiness, wood, earth, and hint of mustiness and occasionally plays just above the bright Virginia in terms of effect. The grassy, citrusy bright Virginia is alway evident, playing a little above the condiment level and competing with the Latakia for positioning the mix. The strength and nic-hit are a step past the center of mild to medium. The taste is a slot past that mark. Won’t bite, but it does sport a rough edge at times, and if you puff fast, you may encounter a harsh note. Burns cool and clean at reasonable pace with a fairly consistent, lightly sweet and savory flavor from top to bottom. Leaves little moisture in the bowl, and requires an average number of relights. Has a lightly lingering, decent after taste that has a bitter note near the finish. An all day smoke. Two and a half stars because of the bitter touch. It’s a lot less sweeter than Barking Dog was, has less Latakia, and no rum topping. Doesn’t deserve the comparison.

-JimInks
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 06, 2016 Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant
In my opinion, this is C&D: Old Joe Krantz lite. I like this (and Old Joe) a lot. Like Old Joe, Junkyard is a hearty blend that lets you know you are smoking something of substance. However, this one has not kicked my ass like Old Joe has in the past. (See my review of Old Joe) It has a strange sour smell in the can, but that does not transfer to the smoke. And while it does deliver a strong smoke, it does not have any tongue bite to it. My wife loves the natural non sweet smell in the air as I smoke this. And it smokes very dry – no gurgling here. If you like Old Joe – You’ll like this. If Old Joe kicked your ass one too many times – you may wish to try this. If you’re an English smoker looking to try something a bit beefier; this American blend is one to try.
Pipe Used: Corn Cob - and a veriety of Estate Pipes
PurchasedFrom: Pipe and Cigar
Age When Smoked: 3 months
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 29, 2008 Medium to Strong None Detected Full Strong
First, let me say that I love Burley tobacco. Second, let me say that I like my tobacco on the stronger side. I love this stuff! I've only tried Barking Dog once and that was a long time ago. This blend is far superior. There is more Latakia and a lot more Burley. I am reminded of C&D's Evening Rise, but with Latakia added. The tobacco lights well and stays lit. The smoke is thin, but full of taste. And, unlike most of the tobaccos out there, this stuff smells like it smokes; smokey, a touch of sweetness, and nutty. The ash is fine and white like all good tobacco should be. The nicotine level is just about right. But, a typical Burley tobacco contains more than most. For reference, it has a little more than Prince Albert, but not as much as Royal Yacht. Your pipe is left dry and ready to go another round with the Dawg. This smoke is not for everyone. An aromatic smoker will find this to be too strong. An English smoker will find a lack of sufficient Latakia for their taste. However, if you enjoy a true American English, this one is the best. And, if your not sure if you like American English tobacco, try it. The only thing that keeps this one out of my daily rotation is the price. Barking Dog is a lot cheaper, but you get what you pay for here.
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 16, 2008 Strong Strong Extra Full Overwhelming
Ok here goes. I guess i'm hooked? I got this blend because of the dog on the tin looked cool. A perect image for a blend that has plenty of bite like a junkyard dog. This blend comes right up to you and bites you on the tongue. Now a blend with bite is not always a bad thing. NO WAY !!!!! I would not consider this blend Mild or Medium. It is FULL and Strong like a Junkyard Dog. It is about as strong as it gets. This blend is not that stuffy or boering. JYD is describe as a unflavored Plain tobacco. A good American Blend that was popular about 30 years ago. That is by C&D. I was expecting a blend more like SIr Walter Raleigh or Granger but I was wrong. Thank God because why recreate a blend like SRW or Grangerhtese are done so perfectly already. Now I can't say that I remember any blends like this 30 years ago on the shelves of the local candy stores. Or I am sure I would have stuck with it through the years. I would say that this blend is close as you can get to REVELATION or BARKING DOG. Athough JYD has no Perique like REVELATION dose. And yet JYD is much better then both BARKING DOG/REVELATION BY FAR. This blend actually is closer to Maiden Lane by Barclay Rex but the cross cut is easier to pack and has a fuller taste then the Barclay Rex Blend. JYD is a good smoke for those who have the balls to smoke a blend with bite! I understand that C&D call it an American blend due to the Burley which can give JYD an Ameircan twist. But I am sure that will be considered an English Blend by many. As for myself I to will agree with C&D and consider it an American Blend. For the simple reason that JYD stands up proud and strong and will bite you with no regrets. The Cut of the leaf will remind you of those House of Windsor Blends. But this is the only comparison to House of Windsor soggy weak blends. JYD Burns perfect right down to the bottom of the bowl every time. There is no worry about this blend drying out in the tin as this would not make any diference. As far as the aroma here is a tip make sure your "Old Lady" ain't around because JYD will leave the room smelling like a Wet Junk Yard Dog. JYD a Good smoke for walking the Dog. This dog has plenty of BITE so BEWARE OF DOG. Don't be affaid try it. Ruff Ruff! Good stuff a real tough guy blend it's about Time. this Blend is Not recomended for the armchair pipe club aficionado who all seem to like the same blends anyway. If you are not part of this set then Try JYD I am sure you will enjoy it. I just got my order another 8oz tin from C&D and I'm just a luvin it must be the dawg in me. Packs well and stays lit easlily.ANd this blends onyl gets better as it gets older!
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 14, 2008 Mild to Medium Extremely Mild Medium to Full Tolerable
From the first bowl I knew I really liked this blend. Almost sweet, but not quite, excellent burn quality right out of the tin, heavy mouthfeel without being predominately Latakia, and just an overall pleasant smoking experience. I will smoke this often with my other favorites in the Latakia range as well as stashing a few tins for the future.
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.