Cornell & Diehl Autumn Evening

(2.86)
Our proprietary red Virginia cavendish is lightly cased with a delicate maple flavor resulting in our best selling aromatic blend. The smoker will appreciate the taste of Virginias while those around will flock to the warm, inviting fragrance.
Notes: Jeremy Reeves and Chris Tarler mentioned this to be the best selling C&D blend!

Details

Brand Cornell & Diehl
Blended By Craig Tarler
Manufactured By Cornell & Diehl
Blend Type Aromatic
Contents Cavendish, Virginia
Flavoring Fruit / Citrus, Maple, Rum, Sweet / Sugar, Vanilla, Whisky
Cut Coarse Cut
Packaging 2 ounce tin, 8 and 16 ounce tin, bulk
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Very Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

2.86 / 4
98

115

63

40

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 316 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 05, 2017 Medium Medium Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
I'm not an aro smoker but this is one of my exceptions. The maple flavor is excellent and comes through in the smoke but the Virginia cavendish blend still plays a part. It's a sweet and well rounded blend and excellent on a chilly evening.
Pipe Used: Savinelli 316ks
Age When Smoked: New
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 18, 2013 Medium Medium to Strong Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
First, you smokers of old camp fires and used leather goods, why do you buy something that claims to contain maple flavorings, sugar rum, vanilla,whisky, and citrus flavors, and promptly start whining that it is too sweet. Why are you spending your hard earned money buying tobacco that you don't like unless you simply want to bash.

On to the tobacco, it does not get ashy. I've went through two large tins, one older and one newer. It never happened. Next guess what? The tobacco was sweet, maybe very sweet. You know why? Maybe because it had maple flavorings, sugar, whisky, citrus flavors, rum and vanilla. It is exactly what it says it is. Now that that is resolved, lets review this tobacco based on what it is supposed to be. It's strength is somewhere between medium and strong. The older tin I had was somewhat milder than the newer tins. Also the nicotine was a little more than I expected from this tobacco. The room note was fine for me but I live alone. I could see how it might be too much of a good thing to some people. As far as taste goes, I like it. Guess what? It had a taste similar to sweet maple since it has in it maple, sugar, rum, vanilla,citrus flavors, and whisky. A fine tobacco which might be over the top for some tastes. If you like blow out taste and aroma, you will love it. It is what it says it is and is really good. 4 stars An aside, Wilke Maple is another maple flavored tobacco you might enjoy. Softer and some what more complex. Not better; just different. I enjoy them both.
119 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 27, 2010 Mild Mild to Medium Mild Pleasant
Making a decent aromatic pipe tobacco is probably the easiest thing for a blender to do. Making a great one is probably the hardest. This one is probably as close to perfection as there is in an aromatic.

This came overly moist in my sampler bag but only required a 10 minute drying period. The bag aroma was wonderfully subdued. I did find the room aroma to be pleasant but it was a little more aromatic than I prefer. As for the flavor, it was delicate but pleasing. I tasted the aromatic agent, but I'm terrible at placing non-tobacco tastes in pipe tobacco. To me, it seemed more like butterscotch than maple, which was fine with me! I found myself wishing that the flavor was richer but that seems to be a tenet of good aromatics. The poor ones are usually the heaviest tasting while the best ones taste of tobacco along with the flavoring agent.

This burned cleanly with no heavy moisture, tasted like sweetened tobacco and did not offend those around me. It never turned sour or bitter down the bowl and it was a satisfying smoke. I'm not the world's most prolific aromatic smoker but I'd like to think I can recognize genius in a blend. For aromatics, this is it, folks. If you love aromatics, this one needs to be part of your next order. Take a huge bow, Craig Tarler! Few have accomplished what you have on this blend.
55 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 22, 2014 Mild Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant
When I look at all the added flavorings, I see why I had a little trouble picking them out. There's so many that some crowd out the others. I thought the maple flavor was very tame between it being a light addition, and the number of aforementioned toppings that offer some competition. I got a few whiskey and rum notes, barely any vanilla, no citrus, and a light honey cavendish, and a little grassy, tangy dark fruit, tart citrus, woody earthy Virginia presence. Burns cool, clean and smooth with a fairly consistent taste. Barely leaves any moisture in the bowl, and requires an average number of relights. Won't bite or get harsh. Has a very mild nic-hit. The strength is mild, while the taste is a couple of steps past that mark. Has a weak after taste, and not much of a room note. It's a decent starter semi-sweet aro for someone looking for a mild blend, but there are stronger maple mixtures if that's what you're looking for, though they may not give you a few of the flavors this one does.

-JimInks
53 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 30, 2014 Mild to Medium Medium to Strong Very Full Very Pleasant
I purchased sixteen ounces of bulk on this. It cellared for almost four full years. The initial tin note smoothed out from the intense maple aroma I remember when I jarred it. But upon opening it was still a rush of delicious maple syrup. Typical Cornell and Diehl quality in the blend and leaf. No garbage stems and such. Just nice smokable leaf. The taste and smell is so much like a church pancake breakfast. That's why I bought it.

I've read a lot of reviews complaining of a heavy ash taste. Intentionally I smoked this very fast and hot. It produced this result. My normal slow approach and several light tampings produce the same favorable results every other time.
Pipe Used: Peterson System Standard XL307
PurchasedFrom: Allegheny Smokeworks
Age When Smoked: 4 years
50 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 19, 2013 Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant
It's interesting to read the extremely positive reviews of this blend. It makes me wonder if somehow I managed to end up with a bad tin, as what I received was rather dry, crumbly and somewhat harsh to smoke. Truthfully, the tin note smells like maple syrup slogged onto damp cardboard.

Once lit, I get decent mild tobacco flavor and yes, the room note is nice. No tricks here, the maple comes out as the primary top note flavor. The first portion of the bowl is enjoyable, but further down the flavor becomes papery and has a tendency to bitter.

Altogether Autumn Evening is an okay smoke. I do appreciate the effort that goes into producing it, especially considering the fact that Cornell & Diehl makes the Red Virginia Cavendish in house. However, this blend isn't for me.
28 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 18, 2017 Mild Medium Mild Very Pleasant
Cornell & Diehl - Autumn Evening.

I posted a review on this blend a year ago, when I read it I vehemently disagreed, so since it's become part of my aromatic rotation I decided to delete it and re-post.

The tin-note is sweet, maybe caramel-like, with a touch of fruit. I wouldn't call it Coarse Cut, the pieces are very fine in build, and from a fresh tin the moisture's faultless.

I enjoy the smoking, like I find with the tin's aroma, the sweetness wins. This sweetness is a kind of an amalgamation of honey, sugar and maple, with a slight creaminess from the vanilla. I don't recognise any whisky or rum, sure, the rum may be adding molasses to the sweetness, but any alcohol piquancy is absent. The fruit/citrus present the same problem, I can't identify any! The tobacco note is defunct of any fresh or sharp Virginia traits, like with the added flavourings, the sweet side wins. Due to the delicate build of the tobacco, a long smoke relies upon the bowl being fairly well packed, loose packing makes it burn too fast. It gives a cool, independent burn, with bite-free smoke.

Nicotine: mild. Room-note: great.

Cornell & Diehl Autumn Evening: a wonderful aromatic. Highly recommended:

Four stars.
Pipe Used: Peterson Kenmare #X220
PurchasedFrom: Various
Age When Smoked: New
23 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 07, 2013 Mild Extra Strong Mild Very Pleasant
(This review is from an aged bulk sample, so tins may vary to some degree - at least in moisture content and burnability)

Presentation is a dark, somewhat fine cube-cut. Jar note is overwhelmingly sweet and bursting with maple. The maple flavor is so intense as to make the blender's description almost comic ("delicate maple flavor").

That said, this is everything an aromatic should be, and everything the majority of aromatics are not. Takes a light from the beginning - no relights required. Burns well, and burns fast. But it's not overly hot. And burns surprisingly dry for such an obviously heavily flavored tobacco. Best of all, the flavor here, while not complex, is in fact maple. And delicious. With little to no heat. And no tongue bite or chemical taste. Amazing. I was most surprised by the lack of goop or dampness in the pipe after smoking this. It may have had to do with the drier, bulk tobacco. But I still expected some goop in the pipe. I would, however, have to assume that this would ghost a pipe and would be careful about smoking this blend in other than a pipe dedicated to aromatics.

Why more blenders can't seem to figure out how to make aromatics like this is beyond me. For the style, for what it is, absolutely four stars.

Warning: the maple flavor here is intense in the beginning. Almost overwhelming. Syrupy. If you don't like maple, skip this one.
21 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 24, 2013 Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
I am writing this review as i am smoking this great offering from c&d. I just got this in the post today and was very excited to try it. Now i am a pure latakia junkie and really have no time for aromatics and tongue bite i usually get from them but boy was i surprised with this one. On with the review upon opening the tin i was hit with a very strong maple casing delicate it was not, i thought i was heading down a slippery road! Moisture was fine can do with a little airing out. I grabbed my meer and loaded it up first impressions was a sweet taste from the red va's but not sickly. I can't taste anything chemical at this point and my tongue is fine. Flavor is the same until half of the bowl and the room note very nice the wife was loving it and i was enjoying myself puffing away. And then it hit me pancakes and maple syrup thats what this stuff tastes like wow!!

After the second half all i could taste was a lovely pancake flavor and the sweetness now has died down but ever so gently in the background. Guys try this one out it really does deliver and great for a change of pace look its not complicated but it is what it is. I will be buying more of this just to liven things up. Well done C&d and thank you for this wonderful experience! I felt like a kid again and it brought back some wonderful memories.
21 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 26, 2008 Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Imagine walking into an IHOP at 3 AM and being seated in the smoking section. There's nobody else around, but a heavy odor of stale tobacco lingers in the air as you tuck into a Pancake Platter. If this is your idea of paradise, then Autumn Evening is the blend for you.

The quest for a good aromatic continues -- I still haven't found anything to beat Pipeworks & Wilke. Autumn Evening is perfectly good tobacco, no nasty PG or anything like that, and it's smooth as butter. But I found it nauseating. There's a certain indefinable unpleasantness to it, deriving perhaps from the slightly cloying sweetness plus the Log Cabin flavoring (I love maple syrup and maple sugar candy, having grown up in New England, but this taste is more reminiscent of maple- flavored breakfast cereal). Two stars for the basic quality of the leaf, but think twice about buying this stuff if, like me, you're an English/Balkan guy looking for something you can smoke around the house.
18 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 25, 2004 Extremely Mild Mild Very Mild Pleasant
While waiting upon the full review promised above, I thought I'd go ahead and share my own impressions of Autumn evening. Bland, mild, no nocotine kick. I do think I detected some sort of flavoring - although Maple would not have been my first guess. A real winner for light aromatic fans.
16 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"