Cornell & Diehl Bayou Morning

(3.25)
This Virginia/perique blend is composed of red and bright Virginias and 25% Louisiana perique. Bayou Morning is a perique lover's delight and an all day smoke.

Details

Brand Cornell & Diehl
Blended By Bob Runowski
Manufactured By Cornell & Diehl
Blend Type Virginia/Perique
Contents Perique, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Ribbon
Packaging 2 ounce tin, 8 ounce tin, bulk
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium to Full
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.25 / 4
71

49

22

6

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 148 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 08, 2019 Medium to Strong Extremely Mild Full Tolerable
Perique is the hot sauce of tobacco. I love Perique, and I love hot sauce.

EDIT: Spent some more time with this one, and I’m upgrading a star. After sitting in a jar for a few months, it appears that the Perique wallop has dissipated to a point where I’m now enjoying things much more. Maybe a little extra time to meld was all this blend needed. These days, I’ve enjoyed the smoke, the Virginias are smooth as butter and the perique compliments in a BIG way.

It could also be that my recent love affair with Old Joe Krantz (oh, that sounds weird, eh?) has sensitized me a bit more to perique, I don’t know. What I do know is that Bayou Morning can be a wonderful and unique perique (I need a third word to rhyme) experience and I would recommend it to someone looking for a blend heavy in the Louisiana stuff.

ORIGINAL REVIEW: Continuing that analogy, I find Bayou Morning to be equivalent to a tablespoon of hot sauce on a saltine cracker—the monstrous amount of Perique just overwhelms the bright and red Virginias, masking their flavors and making this blend just a blast of Perique burn, and I found it to be unpleasant and even a bit uncomfortable to smoke at times.

Now, I’m a big fan of strong blends. Gimme lots of flavor, please, and enough nicotine to kill a moose. I’m also a big fan of hot sauce. But I like my hot sauce to add to the flavor, not as a main dish.

Maybe some age will mellow things out a bit, or allow the flavors to meld a bit. I’ll revisit this blend in a few months.
Pipe Used: MM Cob, Savinelli Poker, Comoy’s Prince
PurchasedFrom: Smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: New
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 18, 2013 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
I usually smoke stronger blends than Bayou Morning, but this blend has completely won me over. The first half of the bowl makes me feel like I'm licking on a cool stick of butter, make that butter with a splash of citrus and a dash of pepper. It's light and refreshing at the light and builds in strength and flavor all the way down. To my tastes, it balances the flavors of the virginias and perique perfectly. My only problem with this one is that I have a hard time doing something else while I'm smoking it. I constantly stop and say, "Damn, that's good!" It annoys my wife tremendously.

As an aside, I cracked a jar recently that I put away from my first pound over a year ago. It was fantastic. I can't wait to see what 5 years away from oxygen does for this blend.
69 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 21, 2014 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable to Strong
The earthy, woody red Virginia adds a sharp, tangy dark fruit sweetness and is well complimented by the earthy, woody, darker fruit quality of the brown Virginias. The lemony, grassy, tart and tangy, citrusy, lightly floral and acidic, brighter Virginia is more of a condiment in terms of effect. The perique is strongly peppery, plumy and a little figgy in taste, and dominates the proceedings. There are no toppings, which allows the natural flavors of the varietals to shine. The strength is a step or two short of the strong level, while the taste is a rung past that. The nic-hit is almost in the center of medium to strong. It burns cool and clean at a reasonable pace and dry, and smokes with some ease, though at times it has a mild harsh and dull spot or two in addition to a little sour hit from the perique. It won't bite, but it will tingle your tongue. It requires few relights, though I recommend a moderate smoking cadence. Leaves almost no moisture in the bowl. The lingering after taste is spicy sweet. Designed for those who want the high perique content, and if you do, this is an easy three or four star blend. I rate it at two and a half stars because of the occasional harsh spots, mostly after the half way point as the blend picks up some strength.

-JimInks
61 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 25, 2014 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium to Full Strong
I love this stuff. A VaPer with a serious attitude, this stuff is not for the uninitiated. Red Virginias, black Virginias, and a healthy dose of Perique, Bayou Morning has flavor that you will taste for a half hour after you smoke it. Now, for certain, this is one of the smoothest and possibly one of the creamiest pipe tobaccos out there. It burns well, has loads of flavor, and has a wonderful mouth-feel. I almost feel like I can chew it sometimes, crazy as that sounds. If you're looking for refinement, this ain't it. However, if you like Perique (and you're gonna have to to like this), and are a fan of VaPers, this is the old, crotchety granddaddy of them all.
56 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 22, 2010 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
What names come to mind when you think of American blenders that do an incredible job of creating memorable Vapers? McClellands? Absolutely! Russ Ouelette? Oh, yeah! Well, add C&D to that list! This is an absolutely delicious Vaper that comes on strong at the match, settles down almost immediately and smokes so well that it's near-impossible to multi-task while smoking it. It demands and holds my attention throughout the bowl. I can't recall a more congenial Vaper! As tasty as this is, it's not overpowering with perique, even though it appears to have a healthy dose of it. It takes real talent to give a Vaper a good dose of perique without it stealing the show. Bob Runowski has done it!

This has probably the weirdest cut of any Vaper I've ever seen. It has cubes and chops and ribbons and all kinds of craziness. I'm not sure what if anything that does to the flavor, but I'm not complaining... just an observation. If you're a Vaper fan, this has to be on your short list. I just finished a tin of C&D's Kajun Kake and thought they couldn't outdo it. They did with this one!
40 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 05, 2014 Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
So my first review. A very little review , my englisch ecriture is to bad to describe all i want and google translate is not very accurate. Also here wy go : Like a little pepper in the nose. For me, a very pleasant tobacco to smoke filterless. When i smoke this very calm and attentive it is for me a very fine experience. Definitely a keeper.
Age When Smoked: 1 month
35 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 07, 2011 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
Mr. Runowski produced a fine combination here. It is a true Va/Per blend that carries some strength and peppery semi-sweet taste sensations as the smoke progresses. Not a great deal of flavor variation, but this combination works well and I imagine those who enjoy Va/Per blends with some backbone will enjoy this one.
28 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 01, 2014 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
I really like a good VaPer and with so many good reviews of C&D’s Bayou Morning I was looking forward to taking BM for a spin. Sadly, BM was a bit of a disappointment for me. It is a little rough around the edges and not as refined as other VaPers that I prefer. But in the interest of full disclosure, I tend to gravitate toward flakes rather than VaPers made with a ribbon cut, although I do enjoy Telegraph Hill. The dose of Perique in BM is forward and stays that way throughout the smoke. I generally don’t mind a good dose of Perique, but this blend just didn’t work for me. I tend to like a little more sweet with my Perique and that’s where I found BM lacking. I found the Perique overtaking the Virginias. On the plus side, BM does have a nice little kick to it. I am going to age some of this as I think that some time in the cellar may bring Bayou Morning closer to my wheelhouse.
Age When Smoked: New
27 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 01, 2016 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
Every Bob Runowski blend I have smoked has a slight rough edge. This is a feature of his blending genius I think. Bayou morning is no different. You know you are smoking tobacco, and there is just something about it that that satisfies.

Pouch note is dried fruit and a little earthiness. The tobacco came at an excellent level of hydration. It seems to be roughly equal parts black, brown and tan mostly short medium ribbon. To keep you guessing, there are a few hunks of short wider ribbon in there too.

Smoked, it has the tart fruit of a good red Virginia as a base. The edginess is with the perique. It it peppery and adds some plum. There is a lot of it, and when puffed you get a slightly sour taste with a perique tingle. It really works and there is just a lot of VaPer flavor in there.

This is easy to recommend for fans of VaPers. You have to want a heaping serving of perique, and you can't be expecting the most refined of smoking experiences. It punches a lot of my buttons. I have not yet bought a pound of this but I will. It is a solid 3.5 on the scale.

This will not be for everyone, but it is very good.
20 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 28, 2014 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant
Since this is my first tobacco review on this website, I'll start with a little background. I never liked aromatic tobaccos as I could never taste anything other than chemicals, so I naturally thought I'd be an English smoker. After trying countless English blends and experiencing varying degrees of disappointment, I discovered Virginia and Virginia/Perique tobaccos. Bayou Morning is my first step into the world of Va's and Va/Pers.

Now for my thoughts on this delightful tobacco. Cornell and Diehl's Bayou Morning is the first tobacco I've ever loved. I ordered an ounce on a whim, and seeing as most of that is now gone I plan on ordering more.

Upon first whiff of the aroma from the bag, my senses were confused by a strange smell I had never encountered before. I have a hard time describing it, but I find it delightful. The first time I lit a bowl of Bayou Morning, I experienced the delicious sweetness of the Virginia tobacco. (I had previously had a hard time tasting anything from English blends, even with stronger blends such as Night Cap) I was pleasantly surprised by the amount of flavor immediately apparent in BM. The smoke has a creamy texture, and despite what a few reviewers have said, burns relatively cool unless puffed on like a madman. As I worked my way through this tobacco, I became enamored of its sweetness and the subtle tasty spice of the perique. This blend is (in my six months of pipe smoking) Nirvana in a pipe. It has become the blend that I actually look forward to and get excited about smoking. So much so that I haven't touched any of my many English blends since I fell in love with this one. I highly recomming this tobacco to anyone and everyone. If someone has never tried a Va/Per tobacco before, there's a good chance they'll be pleasantly surprised. For someone who is a frequent smoker of these kinds of blends, they will be delighted by the wonderful experience provided by Bayou Morning. As to the amount of nicotine in this tobacco, it has just the right amount. Perfect for relaxing at the end of a hard day and not too much as to make someone nauseous. If you get a chance, you should absolutely try this.
Pipe Used: MM Corn Cob, Czech basket pipes
Age When Smoked: Couple of weeks
18 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 02, 2012 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Being a smoker of English/Latakia blends and heavily cased Burleys, I find this blend to be light and sweet, and refreshing!

From the outset it is sweet from the Virginias, and then there is the spice/ subtle bitterness from the Perique.

Enjoyable. As I progressed, the flavor becomes deeper and darker, but continues to be a light smoke for me, compared to the Latakia's and Burleys I'm used to.

I felt dizzy by the end of the bowl, from the nicotine. So I smoke this in my smaller pipes.

I like this tobacco. I'd recommend this to those who want to try a Va-Perique blend.
16 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"