Mac Baren Golden Ambrosia

(2.67)
Golden Ambrosia is made from an almost equal mix of golden brown Burley tobaccos and the Modern Cavendish made from ripe Virginia tobaccos. The tobaccos are pressed together and then stored for numerous days in which the tobaccos marry into a uniform taste. Then the tobacco is cut into big slices and partly rubbed up, so Golden Ambrosia contains larger pieces of pressed tobacco. You can choose to fill your pipe like it is or you can rub it up a little more. In any case the pressed tobacco secures a slow and cool burn. The taste is light fruit notes in perfect combination with the sweet Cavendish and the more bold Burley taste.
Notes: Introduced in 1985.

Details

Brand Mac Baren
Blended By Mac Baren
Manufactured By Mac Baren
Blend Type Aromatic
Contents Burley, Cavendish
Flavoring Fruit / Citrus
Cut Ready Rubbed
Packaging 50 grams pouch, 100 grams tin
Country Denmark
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant to Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

2.67 / 4
4

8

7

2

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 10 of 21 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 20, 2005 Medium Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
In a visit to the Albayzin, the old Arab quarters in the magical Spanish city of Granada, I suddenly found this most picturesque ?estanco?, lost in the middle of one of those narrow, cobbled-stone streets, that offered some pipes and pipe tobacco. Why not? I had left mine at the hotel, so in I went and I bought a very interesting straight billiard, part of the bowl and the shank covered in leather. But when I looked for something to put inside, I only saw Borkum Riff, Amphora red and a couple of Mac Barens'. I though this tobacconist may have some French Caporal hidden somewhere, or a Spanish version of the old Napoleonic troops' pipe tobacco, but nothing doing.

As I was not planning to go back to the hotel anytime soon, I decided to try the Mac Baren tobaccos, and bought some Mixture Aromatic and Golden Ambrosia.One must hand it to them: as far as merchandising and distribution go, Borkum Riff and Mac Baren can be really found ANYWHERE (if only Dunhill or Rattray had the same market oriented strategy!).

I then found a small café, with a magnificent view to the Alhambra on the hills in front and, down below, to the rest of the city. Lamenting my lack of prevision (what an excellent time this would have been to smoke an Oriental mixture! I thought to myself), I asked for a ?cortado?, took a seat and proceeded to fill in and light up, as I took in the wonderful views that so inspired Washington Irving and Lord Byron.

Mid morning, balmy weather, blue skies above, almost no other tourists in sight, I sipped my coffee and then lit up the pipe. I had chosen Golden Ambrosia. In the pouch it had a fruity aroma, but nothing to really put me off. It was more of a topping than a casing. Not at all moist, the tobacco was supple enough to be rubbed up a little more, making the loading process rather simple. I followed the suggestions from other Mac Baren reviewers and packed it in a little loosely, to help in the cumbstion process.

Expecting the traditional incendiary experience from Mac Baren, I was surprised to try instead a gentle, mellow, yet very well structured tobacco taste! Slightly sweet, yes, but nothing compared, say, to Borkum Riff or Captain Black. This is in fact a medium strength tobacco, cool, with excellent burning characteristics. It is a mixture in almost equal proportions of aged Burley-the predominant flavour-and Golden Virginias, with some Black Cavendished Virginia leaf. The tobacco is of a dark brown hue with some black strands, partly rubbed, partly in broken flakes, very similar in texture to Mixture or Virginia No 1.

I don't know what the topping in Golden Ambrosia is. It has a winy, fruity undertone, very gentle and discreet, that, in my opinion, does not really interfere with the tobacco flavour. As I was sitting in an open terrace, the aroma quickly dissipated, but I was complimented on its smell by some of the locals (huele bien, señor, huele bien). Tasty, rich, slow burning, the agreeable sweetness of Golden Ambrosia complemented perfectly the dark, roasted coffee (I drink mine with no sugar). The flavour is rich and nutty, and surprisingly gentle on the palate, provided you puff in slowly and calmly.So I just sat back, enjoyed the flavours and let my self be carried away by the views and the whole experience.

If you like slightly aromatic tobaccos, and are willing to puff in gently and slowly, you may find Golden Ambrosia is a very nice change of pace. I plan to buy some more in the future. Not at all a bad choice.
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 05, 2014 Mild to Medium Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Due to the fact, that this tobacco is cut into ready rubbed, he belongs (without any exception) in pipes with significant large capacities. Who takes this fact into account will have perhaps one of the most good-natured and good-tasting pipe experience ever.

Once this noticeably flavored tobacco is placed in a suitable pipe, the smoking characteristics change into a cold, good-natured and easy to control burning. This tobacco tends to extinguish quickly and because you have to pull demanding to keep the glow up, he is very suitable for beginners (the Mac Baren Goden Ambrosia reacts very generous and gentle to hungry, greedy and hasty pulling).

Taste is debatable. For me this cool aromatic tastes of powdery bergamot and fruity freshness. This delicate and exquisite tobacco is rounded off with a vanilla finish of the high-quality Virginia. The tobacco is a revelation and my most significant discovery of the year 2013.

Serve with a good Earl Gray tea and life is a paradise.
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 26, 2014 Medium Strong Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
MacBaren tobaccos were the ones I remembered smoking from my first relatively brief foray into pipe smoking back in 2005, (thats if I exclude the real true first foray back in around 1982 when at the age of 9, my grandad gave me a puff on his pipe - no doubt after relentless pestering from me. Lots of people say they have the best grandad in the world but they couldn't because I did - best grandad ever!!!!) Anyway, back to MacBaren, this blend was my No. 1 favorite back in 2005 with Vanilla Cream a close second. So i sought it out in 2013 when I restarted pipe smoking and struggled to source a pack and was eventually pleased to be able to order some in from overseas. It duly arrived, and on opening, the aromatic smell was great, as remembered, but the tobacco was very dry - not as remembered. The smoke was hot yet kept going out, and very harsh with bite but not with any of the lovely pouch aromas coming through. I think my pack was maybe old and the tobacco stale and this may partially account for lack of enjoyment i got from the smoke. Or maybe I have just been spoilt with superior blends since restarting in 2013. Either way, it is rather like going back to the school reunion to find the girl you always fancied has turned out fat and ugly - bit of a disappointment and a shame to tarnish warm memories, but no big deal - move on.
Pipe Used: Vesz Bent Billiard
PurchasedFrom: JN Barber, UK
Age When Smoked: Newly opened pouch
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 28, 2014 Mild to Medium Mild Medium Pleasant
Mac Baren Golden Ambrosia.

it’s good in the moisture department, gives off a vivacious aroma which contains a fusion of both sweet and almost floral attributes and the pieces are brilliant to look at as they really vary in size from tiny to some about an inch long. This also gains points in the igniting sector, it takes to the flame first time and delivers a VERY even burn which does not require a re-light often, at all. The smoke is fabulous, a fairly cool smoke that doesn't bite and it is also thick in build. Vitamin N? ... Great, not strong and not weak but just right (for me, think Rattray Highland Targe strength) and if you inhale it then it's a joy to do so. Flavour now , I know there is some added flavour but all I get is a full taste of Burley and Virginia with a vanilla/floral touch in there too. Due to the fact the additives are delicate it only leaves a small ghost unless heavily smoked with very little cleaning. Don't get me wrong, the aromatic side is noticeable, all I mean is that it is more gentle and gives a little space for you to enjoy the tobacco flavours, for this reason it would make a great entry into the aromatic world. Final area to mention is room note: fairly light with a sensual floral touch.

Four stars.
Pipe Used: Peterson
PurchasedFrom: Smoke King
Age When Smoked: New
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 09, 2009 Medium Mild to Medium Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
In the past months I have learned to appreciate many Mac Baren tobaccos, and some have entered in my regular rotation. So, it's weird that I am not particularly enjoying what is considered one of their finest achievements.

My impressions are based on a 100g tin: some people complain that the pouch version is often on the dry side, but the tin verson does a much better job in preserving the moisture and aroma of the tobacco. I would even dare to say that my tin could actually improved after a few days due to a slight drying of the content.

The tin aroma (and also the taste of the smoke) has something familiar to me. It's a similar smell to the one that I have experienced with other flavored Virginias/Burleys: it has the same earthy fruitiness of Dunhill's Three Years matured Virginia (though less sweet), and it also reminds me a bit of Peterson's University Flake, Erinmore Flake, or St. Bruno. Luckily, Golden Ambrosia will prove to be actually better, to my taste, than each of these tobaccos (not that Erinmore Flake or St. Bruno are bad tobaccos: simply they are a bit overwhelming in flavoring and nicotine content for my personal taste). If I had to say what the flavoring is... well, it's hard to tell, but to me it smells like bergamot, like an intense Earl Grey tea. Sure, one can detect other fruits too (berries?) and a hint of vanila.

My tin was not particularly "golden" in color. The tobacco was more on a brown reddish tone, with a good appearence consisting of broken flakes partially rubbed out. Definitely a coarser cut than other aromatic mixtures, and the tobacco seems of high quality. No cavendish, as far as my eyes can tell.

At the test of fire, it burns fine like most Mac Barens do. Quite slow, thanks to the cut, and producing little moisture. No tonguebite at all. The smoke is thick, very rich, and (surprisingly for a Mac Baren) with a stout body and intensity. Even nicotine content seems higher than other tobaccos from this brand, although this certainly isn't a heavy smoke. Anyway, it's exactly the opposite of Black Ambrosia's light and breezy character: here you can distinctly feel the raw tobaccos used. The taste is intense, and the flavoring does quite well to enhance the tobacco (nice mature Virginia sweetness, earthy Burley)... if you like this kind of flavoring. Personally I am not crazy about this kind of taste: mind you, it's not bad, or nauseating, or irritating. It simply doesn't make me want to have another bowl of it soon. A minor complaint is that there is a slight fermented/astringent taste in the second half of the bowl, with some of the same "dirty" feeling that I got with the Dunhill Three Years Matured or the Peterson University Flake. Nothing really bad, anyway.

So, I won't rush to buy another tin, but if you are looking for an aromatic with a fruity/citrusy flavoring and still having an intense toabccos backbone... give it a try!
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 02, 2006 Mild Very Mild Mild Very Pleasant
If this were a little more powerful in the taste department, I would have given it four stars. As it is, this is a very fine Virginia/Burley blend with a somewhat fermented fruit topping that was pleasant without interfering with the true taste of the tobacco.

I submit that those of my briar brothers and sisters who enjoy lighter fare with added flavoring will find this particular Mac Baren offering to be tasty.

All Mac Baren blends seem to burn evenly right down to the bottom of the bowl and this one is no exception.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 22, 2022 Extremely Mild None Detected Extremely Mild (Flat) Pleasant
Tobacco itself and smoke both smell nice like dry fruits and raisins. And that's it. No taste, it is very wet in a pouch, so needs to be dried, and extremely tongue bites. I will not buy it again.
Pipe Used: Briar
PurchasedFrom: local tobacco store
Age When Smoked: fresh from pouch
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 06, 2017 Very Mild Mild to Medium Very Mild Unnoticeable
A very generic sweet mild burly blend. Not much character, really, but nicely done in its way. Its mild mild mild mild mild. Dont know what else to say.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 08, 2016 Medium Mild Medium Pleasant
I bought this years ago during a Holiday in Ibiza and Formentera... and forgot it in my cabinet.

The tobacco is dry but still pliable. The colour is some medium brown with some lighter and darker specs. The cut is unmistakably a ready rubbed.

I guess time has worked (very nicely, for me...) to mild the flavouring in some way. What I got is some fruity (would say: mainly peaches and pineapple) pouch note. That is detected in the flavour too, but in the far distance. Tobacco flavour, primarily of Burley, is the main player.

Smoked in Castello's with large bore, it offers a very pleasant and mellow smoking experience, and an unexpected rate of strenght. I've experienced no bite and no insanely hot pipe.

I would see myself choosing this when on the sweet tooth, if only were available in my Country,

Recommended.
Pipe Used: mainly CASTELLO's
PurchasedFrom: tobacconist in Ibiza Spain
Age When Smoked: 5 years
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 15, 2015 Very Mild Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant
I came across three little 5 gram sample packs of Golden Ambrosia, just enough for 3 medium-sized bowls. It states on the package that it is a light aromatic pipe tobacco and that it is... moderately light and pleasantly aromatic. It has a delightful flavoring in proper proportion to the normal tobacco flavor; the flavoring agents allow some natural tobacco flavor to shine through. It just gets better as you get deeper into the bowl. It smokes cool and stays lit fairly easily. Close inspection of the tobacco reveals high quality leaf, no stems, veins or midribs.
Pipe Used: Orlik billiard, Missouri Meerschaum
PurchasedFrom:
Age When Smoked: >10 years
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.