Solani 131: Red Label

(3.00)
For Solani's Red Label, a touch of single malt Scotch has been added to selected bright and red Virginias from the"Old Belt", ripe burleys and mellow, sweet black cavendish for a"Tropical Aroma--delicious. Wild Cut.

Details

Brand Solani
Blended By R.L. Will
Manufactured By Kohlhase & Kopp
Blend Type Aromatic
Contents Black Cavendish, Burley, Virginia
Flavoring Whisky
Cut Ribbon
Packaging 50 grams tin, 100 grams tin
Country Germany
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Very Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.00 / 4
9

18

5

2

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 34 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 25, 2015 Mild Mild to Medium Medium Pleasant
This blend smelled great when fresh. With time, the aroma and the taste got even better instead of fading. The tobacco is a moist ribbon when new, and improves with a little airing. Smoking it is a pure pleasure. Although the topping is reasonably noticeable, it is pleasant and does not distract. The cavendish emerges as the main flavour with virginia and burley in the background. The flavour mix remains constant throughout the bowl. While slightly sweetish it is not cloying and displays malt-like overtones which reflect the name. It is a pleasant blend of high-quality tobacco. It is not particularly complex but is very dependable, does not bite, and will be in my regular rotation.
Pipe Used: several Stanwell briars with 9mm filter
PurchasedFrom: 4noggins
Age When Smoked: from fresh to 6 months old
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 17, 2014 Medium Medium Medium Very Pleasant
The lighter, grassy, tart and tangy citrusy Virginias are fairly subdued by the very pleasing topping, though part way through the smoke, the tangy dark fruity, earthy, woody red Va. taste pops up once in a while. The same can be said for the nutty, earthy, woody burley, though that seems a little more noticeable the red Va. Overall, the sweet, honey and sugary cavendish is the most prominent tobacco taste I got, though it still plays second fiddle to the topping. The scotch whiskey is deeply rich, and the main reason to buy this as it greatly sublimates the tobaccos. Sweet, malty, and intoxicating, if you'll pardon the pun, it needs to be sipped and not puffed fast. The strength and taste levels are medium. The nic-hit is a step past the mild mark. Won't bite, and has no dull or harsh spots. Burns cool and clean at a reasonable pace for a flake with no weakening of its very consistent flavor. It may require some drying time. Leaves just a little dampness in the bowl, and requires some relights. The lingering after taste and room notes are exceptionally pleasant. Not an all day smoke.

-JimInks
20 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 16, 2002 Mild Mild to Medium Mild Pleasant to Tolerable
The only tobacco blend flavored with scotch whiskey that I've appreciated is Peterson's Irish Whiskey. It has been the only one where the casing did not overpower the "natural" flavor of the tobaccos.

Solani has made a terrific effort here - and while it will not become a regular smoke in my rotation, it will receive attention from time to time.The leaf is supple and reeks of quality, but the flavoring does make its presence known the moment the lid is popped. You will smell a wonderful bouquet when you open the tin, and you might even be tempted to pour this blend into a shot glass rather than your pipe!

The good news for me (and great news for you aromatic fans) is that this blend is quite cool while burning, and very flavorsome too. It's just a bit over the top for my everyday consumption. Don't get me wrong, the blend does have some nice qualities. For instance, I found it makes a nice after dinner smoke. It satisfies my sweet tooth without adding any calories. Hey, I'm liking this stuff more and more already!
13 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 01, 2017 Mild to Medium Medium Medium Very Pleasant
The critics caught my attention so i had to try this blend!when you crack the tin you get a very pleasant flavour of whiskey and vanilla.the moisture is higher than needed let it dry out for an hour.the lighting needs a bit effort.while smoking the flavours come out with malt whiskey and sweet vanilla.the burleys give a nuttyness with a very earthy flavour wich i don't like.the virginias are drowned from the topping and the burleys.burns very cool and slow.the moisture level is ok.the room note is very pleasant.the nicotine level is ok for an all day smoke.i don't give 4 stars because though the flavours are great they are not balanced.
Age When Smoked: After dried out for 1 hour
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 09, 2015 Mild Medium to Strong Mild to Medium Pleasant
Solani - 131 Red Label.

This gives a strong aroma from the mix, I get whiskey but there is also an extra sweetness in there. Mine appears to include a healthy amount of each tobacco, it's an even mixture.

Once lit I wouldn't say it tastes like your usual whisky aromatic, the whisky is really faint. The main false taste is just like the sweet nougat I remember I used to eat as a kid, it tastes different to anything I have had so far! The Burley and Virginia are a little lost in the flavour, out of the tobacco tastes the only one I can identify clearly is the black Cavendish. All the way through the flavour stays the same, there's no fluctuation with either the tobacco tastes or additives. I find the nicotine mild in this one, I don't think it would be much good for a hardcore nicotine lover! I can't pick much out in the room note, all I really get is a simple tobacco one, not offensive but not special! My tongue has remained bite free all the way through, it has been a very comfortable smoke. The burn is a good with Red Label, it is a proper sit back and relax smoke!

As I said earlier, this tastes different to other blends I have smoked but DIFFERENT doesn't necessarily mean bad, hence four stars!
Pipe Used: Strambach Vienna Calabash
PurchasedFrom: G.Q Tobaccos
Age When Smoked: New
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 05, 2014 Medium Strong Medium to Full Very Pleasant
I lean towards light aromatics and selected this blend as a freebie with the purchase of a new pipe. They had an open tin as a sample, and the aroma was very strong, a combination of sweet and whiskey. Not a fan of the way whiskey smells or tastes as a liquor, and was dissapointed it was in my tobacco. I would not have purchased this because of the strong whiskey aroma. I thought it would sit, unopened, and use it to trade, but curiosity got the better of me, and glad it did because i found an excellent product. Although i can taste the whiskey, it is subtle and just flat out works in this blend. I dont smoke it every day, but i make sure i always have some on hand. I was pleasantly surprised all around ay how well it smokes, biurns, tastes and smells to others.
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 01, 2018 Extremely Mild Mild to Medium Mild Very Pleasant
Very high quality smoke, perfect whiskey flavored tobacco and one of the best in aromatic line. Clean and dry smoke without tongue bite. Personally for me bit to light in nicotine and taste. Overall highly recommended for everybody at least to try it once.
Pipe Used: Various
Age When Smoked: 3 years in vacum tin
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 16, 2013 Very Mild Medium Mild Very Pleasant
Really liked the tobaccos, milder Virginias and lighter burley. The single malt flavoring is noticeable; but it's there almost as a afterthought. Don't get me wrong, this is a aromatic type tobacco, but for me, the taste is an accompaniment. Not a major player. Although one would swear it is the point of the tobacco. I liked the way the tobaccos presented themselves while smoking. Each inhale/exhale produced flavors of hay, grass, and there it is, the tooty fruity flavor I so enjoy in Vas. So, excellent flavors, will reorder.
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 29, 2014 Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Medium Very Pleasant
Yummy yummy yum. Excellent selection of tobaccos. Packs perfect, nice burn. Taste of Carmel a hint of vanilla, and scotch wiskey. What could be better? If you are going to try an aro. This should be one for sure. Peace.
Pipe Used: Peterson/ Sherlock Holmes
PurchasedFrom: Canadian natives
Age When Smoked: 2 years
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 12, 2011 Mild to Medium Medium Medium Pleasant
The tin aroma & is out of this world. This one should please those preferring aromatic blends. However, the room note is very subtle... not like some of the aromatic blends that leave a lingering, intriguing aromatic room note. It is fairly comfortable on the palate for an aromatic but will bite a little if puffed too hard, especially toward the end of the bowl. The palate is bathed with a little of the enticing, sweet flavoring that comes through while smoking & leaves behind a pleasant aroma. This Solani 131 blend seemed a little similar to Torben Dansk Blue Note but tin aroma has a stronger aromatic essence & left more of an aromatic aroma behind. What you smell in the tin is transferred to the palate during smoking but not much & it didn't taste all that sweet. It leaves a lingering taste that I wasn't real crazy about. I just wanted to try it out since it received some favorable reviews but I doubt I'll purchase this again.

The tin aroma is such that one might be enticed to find a spoon & dig right in. It leaves no goopy dottle in the bowl but it will leave a ghost in there for the next couple of rounds. I don't smoke many aromatics these days & this review is based only on the merits of an aromatic blend. Therefore, IMHO, Solani's 131 blend earns three stars.
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 05, 2014 Mild Strong Full Pleasant
An old acquaintance calling my name from the shelves of the B&M. It was one of those moments when strange things and crazy actions suddenly seem perfectly normal. Traveling abroad, becoming drunk from friendship and beverages, not enough sleep, beautiful old houses, carpe diem, maybe fall in love. So you buy a tin of Solani 131, just like that. Later you sit home with - just that - a tin of frea-king Solani 131 blend of Virginia, Burley and Single Malt Scotch Whiskey thinking "Why?"

Why, this is the tobacco most of you would coin as "change of pace". That's what it is, you change the pace to the opposite direction and run! Run for your life!

Actually I'm quite curious to find out exactly which Single Malt Whiskey reeks cooking fudge at home, so I would know to strictly avoid the label. The tobacco tastes like the combination of decaying flesh and toffee, quite an achievement as such. Also it produces an ocean of gurgle when smoked. If smoked, I mean.
Pipe Used: next briar
Age When Smoked: fresh
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"