Dan Tobacco Skipper's Flake

(2.93)
Full bodied Virginia flake tobacco.

Details

Brand Dan Tobacco
Blended By Dan Tobacco
Manufactured By Dan Tobacco
Blend Type Straight Virginia
Contents Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Flake
Packaging 50 grams tin, 50 grams pouch
Country Germany
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant to Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

2.93 / 4
2

11

1

1

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 15 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 05, 2022 Mild None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant
After the reading the reviews I ordered several cans . The first can displayed a really nice looking display of light colored virginia . No tin note , just fresh smelling and inviting looking tobacco . The big problem with this blend is being presented very , very dry . I thought it might have been poorly kept . Lighting up presented a very hot burning inferno that gave me rapid tongue bite , too harsh to complete the smoke . Too bad because this is a really nice rendering of what we love in Va flakes . I tried another can some time later and it was really too dry to smoke straight so I mixed it with other Va flakes and could taste some hay and natural sweetness . The third can was also too dry to smoke so I hydrated it but not pleasing . I wonder if Dan made it dry for a market that demands dryness . If you like a hot smoke this is the one for you . If not , just let it pass .
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 23, 2015 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
The light and dark Virginias offer some tart and tangy citrus and ripe, tangy dark fruit, a fair amount of earth, wood, mild floralness, a pinch of bread, and hay/straw/grass. At times, the latter aspect is more obvious than the earth and wood. There's an occasional spice note, as well as a slight sharpness at times. It reminds me of a less sweet Sam Gawith Medium Virginia Flake without the sugary-type topping. The strength is just past the center of mild to medium. The taste is a slot past that mark. The nicotine is almost as potent as the strength level. Has a light rough edge. The flakes break apart very easily. Burns mostly cool and very clean at a slightly less than moderate rate with a very consistent flavor, though it is best smoked at a slow, steady pace. It doesn't bite me, but I could see a fast puffer getting a very light harshness. Leaves virtually no moisture in the bowl, and requires some relights. Has a lightly lingering, pleasant after taste and room note. An all day, fairly uncomplicated Virginia.

-JimInks
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 03, 2020 Medium Extremely Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Skipper’s Flake is essentially comprised of bright Virginia with minimal casing which is only obvious in the tin note. It is rather smooth with medium strength and typical bright Virginia aromas like hay with a few grassy and citrus notes and even a suspicion of honey. It has a natural taste and to me it belongs to genre of straight Virginias very reminiscent of Samuel Gawith’s Golden Glow, C&D’s Opening Night and G.L. Pease’s Union Square. It is quite good on its own, especially as a first smoke in the morning, but it also lends itself to mixtures especially with oriental tobaccos. It’s similar also to Orlik’s Golden Slices, and I have to say that I prefer Skipper’s Flake to it.
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 02, 2017 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant
Dan Tobacco - Skipper's Flake.

I bought this from the Danish Pipe Shop, vintage section, but like a dingus forgot to note the age which qualified it for their selection of aged tobaccos. This was over a year ago, and judging from the oil stains on the surrounding paper insert I'm guessing it had a fair bit of age on it.

The flakes are part-broken, not anywhere near being ribbons/rubbed, but a little un-whole. The tin has an aroma of sweet dark fruit, suggestive of a rich Virginia smoke. I can't fault the moisture.

The smoke: I can't identify as much sharp citrus as I can dough/bread, hay, and sweetness. Out of these flavours, to me, the hay takes the crown, with the dough/bread offering a gracious support, and there's just enough sweetness to brighten the flavour; not like a 'casing', but coming from ripe Virginia. Skipper burns at a slow-ish speed, giving a cool, bite-free smoke.

Nicotine: medium. Room-note: pleasant.

Skipper's Flake? Mostly a 'rugged' Virginia with just enough vivacity/sweetness to garnish the flavour without taking over. Three stars:

Recommended.
Pipe Used: Freehand
PurchasedFrom: The Danish Pipe Shop
Age When Smoked: ??
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 31, 2018 Mild None Detected Mild Pleasant
Straight virginia flake. Grassy, hay and tea like tin note. Easily can be packed. The taste is quite simple, grassy virginia with no after taste. Can bite if smoked quickly. Recommended for an all day straight virginia tobacco.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 07, 2018 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
Nice smelling tobacco, very tea like . The flakes separate and pack quite easily and the moisture level was good enough to smoke right away.

The flavors are very diverse, citrus, hay, dry figs and some brioche accompany the smoker in that order, as the bowl burns down, it leaves a pleasant aftertaste also. A slow burning Virginia flake that could bite an inexperienced tongue especially if smoked fast. A new favorite of mine.

Virginia lover
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 20, 2017 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant
I chose this as one of three sample from my last Dan Pipe order. The smell from the baggie is sugary-sweet, but not in a overwhelming or overpowered way - pretty pleasant sweetness to me. With a bit of citrusy-freshness, that reminds me of iced-tea somehow. A decent share of hay I found when I dipped my nose deeper into the bag. Pleasing and interesting.

The condition is flawless and intriguing appearance of the flakes. They were made without glues, like all DTM Flakes, so they crumble apart pretty easy. No problem, you can still stuff and fold if you're a bit nimble-fingered. Otherwise rub it out and enjoy like this, too.

Skipper's Flake taste is much different than the smell from the unburnt tobacco in the baggie. It's rich in spices,with a rather dark tone to the flavour. Peppery, slightly sharp in a good way, like spicy sharp. Sometimes yeasty notes, with full-rye-bread like tones. Very natural tobacco taste, not much of a casing to detect, if there's one I'd say maybe just a hint of sugar-water. A gentle citrusy-freshness and just a whiff of brown-sugary/molasses sweetness are balancing the power of this force of nature. Don't get this wrong - it's not a Powerhouse Nicotine-wise, but the taste is on the upper medium scale , in terms of richness I'd say. Gains a bit of power while the bowl progresses!

This blend is reminding me of a less sweet-ish and as there's no Perique in Skipper's also less fruity-sour verison of "Salty Dogs" Plug (almost black Va/Per Plug) by DTM. I guess they share some of the Virginia leaf maybe?

Burns pretty cool, and won't bite that easy. Comes in a bit too moist condition for my taste, 30-45 minutes will do the trick for me, so it's somewhere between moist and dry.

A pleasing experience, and I will surely get a tin of this by times. The next staright Virginia blend, that was really a joy and full of flavours. 3,5 stars for now, I wait till I finish the sample and then make a final statement. Take this as a "Review in Progress" (RIP... :-P)
Pipe Used: Clay Pipe
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 20, 2009 Medium to Strong Extremely Mild Mild to Medium Tolerable to Strong
UPDATE FEB19/2009:

I'm keeping to practice the same protocol of smoking intensively one tin at time during the working week. This week was reserved to Skipper's Flake.

I basically confirm my first review and maintain the same rating.

Just: 1) room note rating has been a bit revised, on the other hand the wife's rating never exceeds the simple toleration... 2) after five days in the leather bag SF is not dry yet, meaning that some humectant has been used - that's typical of Dan's; I notice a very faint note of anise her and there.

I have to admit that SF is near the top of my preferences, but also find myself bit bored... not to the extent of SG's BBF. The smoke is unidimensional, but the strength is very satisfying even in the morning.

I have grabbed and cellared a couple of tins.

ORIGINAL REVIEW: This is a very good fellow, of the likes of SG's FVF or CAO's Patriot Flake, or McConnell's Scottish Flake. Not very complex, but a completely satisfying medium to strong smoke. The kind of thing You would smoke in the afternoon after having smoked Capstan in the morning, just a darker and rustic continuation. Full bodied plain Virginias, the label tells, that's simply what this very good and honest flake is, to be smoked into small to medium bowls. I look forward to reading very soon some deeper reviews of the more experienced men at TR! Skipper's deserves. Three stars out of four.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 29, 2024 Mild None Detected Very Mild Pleasant to Tolerable
A pleasant but somewhat tasteless tobacco, think Sam Gawiths Golden Glow light, very light. Golden Glow has a lot more taste and flavour, but more importantly, Golden Glow has a lot more vitamin N. The notes I read on it from Dan tobacco claimed it was medium to strong, I think they were smoking something else as mine was niether strong or medium. There is a hint of a nice mild tobacco, free of additives which is a plus, so I’m going to put this down to the tobacco being a bit green. Fortunately, I have a sealed 250 gram pouche still sealed, so I’m going to save this until the summer is upon us and revisit it then. For the moment, I’d give it 2 1/2 stars, the leaf is obviously quality, but it just seems to lack everything else. Having said that, this tobacco is slowly growing on me, therefore 3 stars
Pipe Used: Various Briars reserved for virginias
PurchasedFrom: Estervals
Age When Smoked: New
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 29, 2017 Strong None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
A light bodied smoke with strokes of grass, honey and pepper that is (considering the body) surprisingly strong. I like this combination; if I feel like having a strong yet subtle smoke this is a fine option. By all means, try this one but be wary of the punch it packs - don't be misled by its gentle presentation or you may be ambushed.

Taste: Very grassy off the top, maybe hints of hay but mainly a dominant taste of fresh cut grass. Very light body, not much power or creaminess in this at first. About half way through the bowl it picks up some sweetness, like a green tea with a touch of honey. Bottom third adds some pepper to the mix and increases the intensity. Body thus goes to a medium and this part is really tasty, a fine full virginia smoke. I would say that the complexity in this one is low, the flavours are all quite evident here.

Mechanics: A loose flake, maybe even a broken one, that comes at a smokable moisture level right from the get go. Easy to keep lit, it does require some restraint when smoking or it will bite. Strong in nicotine.
Pipe Used: Savinelli Tevere Rustica Bent 606
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 11, 2014 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Tolerable
Well it was my first flake tobacco. I must admitt i wasnt really into it at first. It is strong at first but mellows out after a while. No flavoring to say the least, burns slow and even. After my third or fourth smoke I started noticing some sweetness from the virginias and a the pure taste of the quality tobacco.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"