Cornell & Diehl From Beyond (2023)

(3.50)
Taking inspiration from the popular, Lovecraftian The Old Ones series, Cornell & Diehl's Small Batch: From Beyond is a rich, potent, and incredibly complex English mixture that captures Head Blender Jeremy Reeves' impression of a wonderfully aged, 1990s-era tin of Dunhill Nightcap. Balancing full flavor with robust strength, it's handcrafted using a host of rare tobacco varietals: Eastern NC Red Virginias (2017), Bright Canadian Virginias (2017), Turkish Izmir (2018), Greek Basma (2019), Turkish Latakia, and genuine St. James Perique. The flavor is dark, rich, and subtly sweet with an smoky, incense-like quality evocative of shadows in the woods.

Details

Brand Cornell & Diehl
Series Small Batch
Blended By Jeremy Reeves
Manufactured By Cornell & Diehl
Blend Type English
Contents Latakia, Oriental/Turkish, Perique, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Ribbon
Packaging 2 oz tin weight
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium to Strong
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant to Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Full
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.50 / 4
6

1

0

1

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 8 of 8 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 02, 2023 Strong None Detected Full Tolerable
It’s times like this that I wished I had started smoking a pipe years ago so I could have a cellar with these old blends like this one is based on. As I have never smoked the original Dunhill but only the Peterson version, I can say this is truly a fantastic offering.

I am not a huge fan of Perique, but it is in the background, occasionally popping up and going back into hiding. The Latakia is present in every draw but again it is in harmony with the rest of the flavors. There is definitely some nicotine and it makes this a great evening smoke. Had the occasional relight and no tongue bite.

Wish this was not a limited edition but available all the time. But sometimes that makes things special as I will now only smoke it less regularly and it will be a delight each time.
Pipe Used: Rattray Goblin 99
PurchasedFrom: Smoking pipes.com
Age When Smoked: Brand new
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 02, 2023 Medium Medium to Strong Very Full Pleasant to Tolerable
A superb blend this year. The talent of the blend keeps your palette busy as you sip this.
https://youtu.be/L0zqbzcSOn8?feature=shared
Pipe Used: Peterson Dracula series
PurchasedFrom: Country Squire
Age When Smoked: New
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 11, 2023 Medium to Strong None Detected Full Strong
It\'s good. The \"new\" Turkish Lat and their process is what sold me on it. Despite what I\'ve heard on other reviews, I actually find this new Lat to be smokier than the lat from Cyprus. Not a bad thing! It does have a wine like flavor in the background which is nice.
Tastes great, well balanced, behaves well and has a decent amount of nicotine. Pairs extremely well with a good coffee.
A solid, high quality full English.
Moustache note: 8/10
PurchasedFrom: SP
Age When Smoked: Fresh
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 28, 2023 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable
Tin note of sweet fruity wine and smoky. Tobacco is a ribbon cut of tan, dark brown, brown and black. Moisture content is great. No drying/prep needed. Burns moderate with few relights. The strength is medium to strong and nic is medium. No flavoring detected. Taste is medium to full and moderately consistent, with complex notes of sweet herbal spices, tart and tangy dark fruit, smoky, toast, bitter orange zest, wood, dry earth, grassy floral, very savory, a sour fermented and peaty vegetation background note, and a very peppery retro. Orientals is leading with Virginia, Latakia, Perique supporting. Burley (not mentioned on the tin but listed on websites) seems to be supporting from the side lines. Room note is tolerable, and aftertaste is great.
Pipe Used: Peterson Junior Rusticated Billiard
PurchasedFrom: smokingpipes,com
Age When Smoked: 4 months
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 21, 2024 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Let me start by saying that I am not a big Latakia guy.
I dabble from time to time, but I couldn't call myself a connoisseur.

However I was intrigued by the fact that this blend has Turkish Latakia, so I decided to give it a shot.

And boy, was I happy I did!

On popping the tin you can smell all the components.
Tangy and bready VAs
Floral Orientals
Raisiny / Peppery Perique
nuttiness from the Burleys
and a measure of sweet and smoky Latakia .

It's important to highlight, that From Beyond isn't a lat bomb.

The smoking notes are consistent with the tin note.
Very well-balanced blend with a lot of things happening.
The components are playing well with each other.
It's a nuanced blend and the more I smoke it, the more I appreciate it.


Didn't bite once, and burned clean and cool.

Really happy I stocked up on it!

FOUR STARS!


Pipe Used: Peterson 107
PurchasedFrom: smokingpipes dot com
Age When Smoked: Fresh
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 17, 2024 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Cornell & Diehl
From Beyond (2023)

Blend notes: “Taking inspiration from the popular, Lovecraftian The Old Ones series, Cornell & Diehl's Small Batch: From Beyond is a rich, potent, and incredibly complex English mixture that captures Head Blender Jeremy Reeves' impression of a wonderfully aged, 1990s-era tin of Dunhill Nightcap. Balancing full flavor with robust strength, it's handcrafted using a host of rare tobacco varietals: Eastern NC Red Virginias (2017), Bright Canadian Virginias (2017), Turkish Izmir (2018), Greek Basma (2019), Turkish Latakia, and genuine St. James Perique. The flavor is dark, rich, and subtly sweet with an smoky, incense-like quality evocative of shadows in the woods.”

I’m usually not one to get on the small batch bandwagon but gave this bad boy a try. Wow. You get this intense incense-like quality mixed with what I can only say tastes like BBQ’d brisket.

Blend notes: “Eastern NC Red Virginias (2017), Bright Canadian Virginias (2017), Turkish Izmir (2018), Greek Basma (2019), Turkish Latakia, and genuine St. James Perique.”

The spice comes from the Izmir and Basma. The Virginias give the bready, toasty, almost floral taste. The Latakia is at best a minor supporting player. The Perique seems to add to the spice fest.

This most recent version of From Beyond is barely an English blend. Yes, it has all of the elements for the definition, but it is way more spice forward than most English blends. I’d argue it’s in the Balkan category, or its an Oriental with some small amount of Latakia.

If you are the kind of smoker who enjoys Orientals and the way Perique can blend into that party, and you are not a huge lover of Latakia, then From Beyond (2023) could be a good choice for you. It is mild in its flavor profile, though when scanning the reviews of others, most want to see it as medium or strong; I just don’t get that.

In my view, this is a 3.5 out of 4 star blend.
Pipe Used: IMP Meerschaum
Age When Smoked: Sept 2023
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 11, 2024 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant
Cornell & Diehl - From Beyond (2023).

Remarkable!

The tin holds a medium size ribbon, pieces from light to dark brown in colour, with a 'musty' English smell. This tin has a good level of hydration, so on with the smoking.

The smoke has a good amount of flavour. It isn't a Lat-bomb, but is rather complex. Yes, the smoky, woody Latakia is easy to pick out, but it isn't that much heavier than the Oriental leaf. The Oriental/Turkish gives a vibrant floral note, this is quite an uplifting character. I get more of the piquant, sharp bright Virginias, than the fruity red Va. I find the Perique present, albeit this takes more 'detective skills' to identify; it isn't plummy, but gives a cold-spiciness. The burn is good, although it can become a touch fast if strained. I don't get even a smidgen of bite from it, with the smoke remaining quite cool in temperature.

Nicotine: above medium. Room-note: heady but not offensive.

From Beyond? A definite four star blend:

Highly recommended.
PurchasedFrom: Smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: August 2023
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 19, 2024 Medium Strong Extremely Mild (Flat) Tolerable to Strong
Rubbery and processed tobacco that holds it's excess moisture very well. Once appropriately dried the tobacco has a staled preservative taste when burnt.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"